Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.94

Awesome: 9.09%
Worth A Look: 12.99%
Just Average: 3.9%
Pretty Crappy: 10.39%
Sucks63.64%

5 reviews, 47 user ratings



Jackal, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Someone stop Bruce Willis from sinking his career. Now."
1 stars

Ack.

Having never seen the original The Day Of The Jackal, I can't say if this is a decent remake. I can't imagine why anyone would intentionally remake a bad movie. Obviously, everyone involved thought they'd be improving upon the original. Unfortunately, they don't.

The casting is...interesting. Richard Gere as an IRA terrorist? Um, OK. Nice accent, pal. Bruce Willis as a terrorist for hire who's a master of disguise? Only if the object is to stick out in a crowd would those be good disguises. Only two actors are remotely close to good here: Sidney Poitier, who looks as good as he ever did at age 73 and who runs circles around the cast despite having only a sketchily defined character at best; and Diane Venora who absolutely smolders as a Russian agent.

But Bruce...yikes.

This could have been the part to make everyone forget Hudson Hawk. But all he does is glower behind his many crappy identities. We never learn more about the Jackal (Willis) or why he does what he does or where he came from, or, most importantly, what his connection is to Gere's character, which is explained in 15 seconds of backstory. If you're busy searching for that dropped Sno-Cap, you'll miss it.

And Gere, introduced as a would-be action hero with a cause doesn't even get the chance to go mano a mano with Bruce until the climax, an utter disappointment that results in a half-baked Mexican standoff in a DC subway terminal. Poitier shows more action than Gere.

Once again, this is a movie that tries (emphasis on the trying) to keep you guessing about the identity of the assassin's target. Let's see...it's gotta be...the Director of the FBI that every cop in Washington's been protecting! No, wait. It's the First Lady. Whoa! Plot twist! I certainly didn't see that coming!

In short, there's nothing we haven't seen here already. Plot involoving the office of the presidency? Black Sunday. The Pelican Brief. Murder At 1600. Absolute Power. Shadow Conspiracy (ugh, Charlie Sheen).

Bah.

The others are all better. Except for the one with Charlie Sheen.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=464&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/26/98 12:00:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/21/12 Ed Totleben Jr Interesting but not intense 3 stars
11/15/09 Glenn Irwin A dollop of excrescence from beginning to end ..... and that Bejaysus Oirish accent!! Gimme 1 stars
7/25/09 the dork knight Of course, today we would simply cast a REAL Irishman. A truly weird thriller. 4 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!!! 5 stars
8/13/08 Brenda boring. not a single likable character. 1 stars
12/14/07 Pamela White Willis shows how to evade by changing appearance 4 stars
6/03/07 John G It was this , or watching the Jerry Springer show 2 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan tough gusty action film the best movie of 1997 way better than titanic 5 stars
1/22/07 Sepi53 good one! 4 stars
5/22/06 tatum Certainly capable until awful finale; doesn't hold candle to original, though 4 stars
5/11/06 tommyjarvis Reviewers all have no sense of humour. This movie's great 4 stars
10/26/05 chris a great film worth watching i advise to all 5 stars
8/19/05 ES This movie actually would have been better if the lead roles had been reversed 2 stars
5/27/05 Naw Pay Zawgyi Poor Jack! Quaint Gere! 1st LAdy suspiciously hillary-like. 1 stars
11/08/04 Queen of cool The best fucking movie ever made 5 stars
8/18/04 courtney a decent movie with a sum what slow start and mid section but a great chase in the end 4 stars
7/29/04 Alan Another semi-classic turned into mindless drivel. 1 stars
7/26/04 DM What are Bruce Willis and Sidney Poitier doing in this mess? 1 stars
6/20/04 Samuel he way Jack Black died.the movie wasn't good, but it was great the way Jack Black died. 2 stars
11/28/03 john insulting and stupid and lousy action - there is a great original folks! 1 stars
1/15/03 Charles Calthrop Junk. Even Fred Z's version wasn't a perfect adaptation, but this pitiful flick... waste. 1 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Colorfully entertaining. Superbly acted -- Gere is wonderful! 4 stars
2/16/02 ACBCorp Totally unconvincing rip-off. Watch 'Day of the Jackal' and save money & frustration... 1 stars
10/09/01 jawsboy the ending is the most fun. bruce could have been better, as well as the story sfx. 3 stars
8/27/01 MIKE COBUNR WELL DON REALLY 4 stars
8/25/01 R.W. Welch Barely passable cloak and dagger stuff, not at all convincing. 2 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla I prefer watching the original than this piece of shit! I want my money back!!!!! 1 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin the plot has more holes than SWISS CHEESE 2 stars
5/28/00 Cooke Bruce Willis is awesome. 5 stars
5/07/00 RSW Great Movie! One of Bruce Willis's best preformances. 5 stars
4/11/00 the Grinch Bruce Willis is no Edward Fox. Do yourself a favor, rent Day of the Jackal..avoid this crap 2 stars
3/23/00 Richard Wright The film is horribly acted, its not suspenseful at all and the finale is laughable. Shit. 1 stars
10/12/99 Ataraxia All round, a decent movie 4 stars
7/23/99 Hagbard Celine SHELLEY, you must be joking or retarded. This is a complete dog. 1 stars
4/26/99 Lucas jackson This movie was great until the ending,the Jackal should have got away 4 stars
4/09/99 Shelley a great movie. if you had your eyes open you might see that i'm right 5 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart This movie blows and so does Mercury Rising. Doomed to failure. End of story. 1 stars
11/24/98 Fred The greatest assassin in the world ... who gets killed by Richard Gere. 1 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Braindead entertainment, which is at least better than Armageddon 3 stars
11/04/98 Lord Of The Dunce Oh LORD was this AWFUL!!!!!!! Not even for Willis fans. 1 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! hahahahahahahahahahaha....LOAD OF CRAP.....hahahahahahahahahahahaah 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo I'd go so far as to say this was WORSE than Speed 2 and Batman & Robin. 1 stars
9/02/98 pooky the bald The worst disguise in history 1 stars
8/29/98 Matt Willis tries to play a strong, silent type, and ruins it every time he opens his mouth 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Just lame. Not exciting, not funny, not necessary. 1 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Somebody stop this Bruce Willis thing. 1 stars
8/20/98 Pete I felt violated. And if I ever meet the costume designer -- an arse kicking for them 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Nov-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jan-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast