Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.94

Awesome: 15.09%
Worth A Look: 22.64%
Just Average25.47%
Pretty Crappy: 15.09%
Sucks: 21.7%

8 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Saving Silverman
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"This movie is not smart. But man, it's funny."
4 stars

When I tell you that "Saving Silverman" is very funny and entertaining, please don't think I'm saying it's not stupid, because it is. The people who made it would surely be first to admit that fact.

They'd be proud, too, and rightfully so. "Saving Silverman," about a young man whose friends try to save him from his possessive girlfriend, is a curious duck. It's not a gross-out teen comedy (except for a few brief instances). It's not a sex comedy (except for a few brief instances). It's not a satire of those genres, but it was obviously made by people who have seen them.

It's mostly a dark comedy -- the two friends kidnap the girlfriend and consider killing her -- with characters who are too good-natured to be the black-hearted denizens one normally sees in such a film.

Jason Biggs plays Darren Silverman, the poor shmoe stuck with Judith (Amanda Peet), a two-dimensionally domineering woman who won't have premarital sex and is prone to wearing tops that leave her breasts half-revealed. His friends since childhood are pest-control specialist Wayne (Steve Zahn) and musician J.D. (Jack Black). All three are in a Neil Diamond cover band, until Judith puts a stop to that and all of Darren's other fun.

Coincidental with Wayne and J.D.'s ill-hatched kidnapping plan (they chain Judith to a car engine in their garage) is a reunion with Sandy (Amanda Detmer), whom Darren loved in high school and, until recently, insisted was his one true love forever. With Judith apparently out of the way, all they have to do is get Sandy to forget her decision to become a nun and hook up with Darren instead.

I was struck with how much of a caricature Judith was. She literally had no human qualities, and I thought that was a mistake. Eventually, the film proved itself to be two-dimensional all the way through, and not in a bad way. The finale is fantastically over-the-top absurd, complete with a ridiculously happy ending (the real Neil Diamond is involved), and everyone behaves idiotically throughout. The broadly drawn characters are that way on purpose. It's not laziness on the part of the writers; it's a style, and it works well. Once you accept that it's all for laughs and not grounded in reality, it truly is very funny.

Biggs, Zahn and (especially) Black are talented comic actors when given the right material. There are several moments when all three seem to be floundering, swimming upstream against a flow of lame jokes. After that, though, the script catches up to them and Black and Zahn become a hysterically dumb comedy team, with Biggs as straight man.

There is some unforgivable crudeness, and certainly some badly conceived ideas. There will surely be funnier movies this year, but so far, this one's at the top.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4700&reviewer=247
originally posted: 02/09/01 01:38:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/28/10 wman sheer genius; hysterical 5 stars
5/23/10 Ben You apologize way too much for liking this awesome movie. 5 stars
6/03/09 art FOOLISH! 1 stars
12/22/08 Juice Palomino Horrible movie, absoloutly horrible. But I can't take my eyes away... 2 stars
10/03/08 Lenny Zane Spottily hilarious, but AmandaPeet as villainous fits about like PeeWeeHerman as JamesBond. 4 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
6/15/08 PAUL SHORTT A SHAPELESS, WITLESS MESS AND ABOUT AS CONVINCING AS A CARTOON 1 stars
5/07/08 Matt Utterly silly but raises a surprising number of laughs. Better than average fare. 4 stars
3/15/08 mousehunter absolutely horrible, but in a funny and enjoyable way 3 stars
10/15/06 Sugarfoot I never laugh at recent comedies but I tell you truly, I was giggling through out. 4 stars
10/06/05 Clubber lang Should be complete garbage, but somehow works way better than it should. 4 stars
8/12/05 ES I've actually had that nacho conversation (pre-movie)= ok 3 stars
7/21/05 tony Nothing too new. So it is a bad one 2 stars
7/01/05 Eddie Just another PG-13 comedy 3 stars
6/09/05 Rock-Steady Fa sho, this is about as funny as a kick in the nigger. what? 5 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson A mean spirited, but absolutely hilarious comedy. Steve Zahn & Jack Black are a riot. 4 stars
9/22/04 Joe Hall Personally, I love this movie. Every time I see it I just get happier! 5 stars
6/12/04 Kayla wasn't the best. wasn't the worst. 3 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr I HATE THIS MOVE! I HATE IT! I BUTTF*CKING HATE IT! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH! 1 stars
10/23/03 Roscoe THIS MOVIE IS HILARIOUS, WHY ARE PEOPLE BASHING IT 5 stars
10/19/03 cinkcool alright 4 stars
6/25/03 Chiend Abominable. Everyone involved with this rancid shit-fest deserves censure. 1 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty decent. Some failed gags, but the majority of it is amusing. 3 stars
3/23/03 Renee Keener Awesome. Jason Biggs should've won best actor! 5 stars
3/16/03 Cameron Slick Worst Movie Ever. 1 stars
1/03/03 John Aster Habig steve zahn and jack black save the film 4 stars
12/13/02 Jimmy Jamez the hand of god couldnt save this film 1 stars
8/13/02 Bryan Brooks Surprisingly amusing. 3 stars
8/12/02 P.Rodriguez I must admit kinda like it. Biggs is great 4 stars
7/14/02 darth brett this is shite in the extreme 1 stars
6/24/02 Tom Kelley I don't get these Reviews, I loved this movie, Steve Zahn and Jack Black are the funniest! 5 stars
4/15/02 Film Guy Biggs-American Pie, Black- Orange County Zahn- Joy Ride. Much Better than this 1 stars
3/28/02 Renay I loved it, Steve Zahn is the best 5 stars
3/28/02 Renee Keener Awesome. Jason Biggs should've won best actor! 5 stars
3/16/02 Some guy The person who reviewed this has no sense of humor. 5 stars
3/07/02 Diamonds in the Rust, baby! Neil Diamond friggin rocks, man!!!! 4 stars
2/20/02 Cherie I think Neil Diamond is too sophisticated for your review and this movie is just plain fun! 4 stars
2/17/02 Butterbean Not as bad as critics say. The coach and Jack Black saved this one. 3 stars
2/14/02 Carmen Crowe Jason Biggs for best actor! (More worthy than Renee Zellweger for best actress!) 5 stars
1/29/02 Jeremy funny as hell 5 stars
1/25/02 Carolyn (big Neil Diamond fan) Groovy, although coach shitting in yard is over the top 4 stars
1/16/02 FrEaKsO BaBe! it's so funny! although script wasnt so deep..but overall its good! 4 stars
1/10/02 Jenna Its best watched with a sense of humour 4 stars
1/08/02 Spyguy2 Had no expectations going in...funnier than I expected with some big laughs 4 stars
12/09/01 Andrew Carden Jason Biggs Really Failed With This One. 1 stars
9/28/01 HM3 Makes Dude, Where's My Car? look like Gone With the Wind. 1 stars
9/17/01 Bri wacky, and fun 4 stars
9/15/01 chris it was ok... better if amanda peet took it all off 3 stars
9/06/01 Monday Morning Sophomoric humor, but great sophomoric humor. Very funny. 4 stars
8/09/01 chouck very silly 4 stars
5/22/01 Lohsandt Pretty Damn Funny 5 stars
5/12/01 samira good 5 stars
3/20/01 Brandi Terry Sophomoric Comedy 2 stars
2/12/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi But I saw this immediately after "O Brother...", so I was rather jaded... 3 stars
2/10/01 TimmyToday Everyone should see this crap today!!! 5 stars
2/10/01 miyax What the hell...? 1 stars
2/09/01 frankko i thought Black was pretty stupid. he was so much better in HIGH FIDELITY. 2 stars
2/04/01 TDlove Jack Black is awesome, if you like Tenacious D, you will love this movie 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Feb-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Dec-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Dennis Dugan

Written by
  Hank Nelken
  Greg DePaul

Cast
  Jason Biggs
  Steve Zahn
  Jack Black
  Amanda Peet
  Amanda Detmer
  Neil Diamond



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast