Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome24.75%
Worth A Look24.75%
Just Average24.75%
Pretty Crappy: 22.77%
Sucks: 2.97%

6 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Rush Hour 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"More of the same, but less so."
3 stars

I've never understood why people cheer when sequels repeat the same jokes and tag lines from their predecessors. It's nice that we recognize them, but shouldn't we acknowledge that it's a prime example of why sequels suck -- i.e., they're usually just a rehash of what we've already seen?

The two most famous lines from the 1998 buddy-cop film "Rush Hour" were from Chris Tucker. First, he warned Jackie Chan, "Never touch a black man's radio!" Later, he tried to get him to comprehend his fast-talking, whiny voice with: "Do you understand the words that are comin' outta my mouth?"

In "Rush Hour 2," Chan says these lines to Tucker! Can you believe it?! It's the ol' switcheroo! What will those geniuses in Hollywood come up with next?

This time, Tucker is vacationing with Chan, his LAPD partner, in Hong Kong. They get roped into working a big case involving a Chinese gangster (John Lone), an American casino billionaire (Alan King), a double agent (Roselyn Sanchez) and a kick-butt assassin (Zhang Ziyi, from "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon").

So Tucker gets to make all the fish-out-of-water jokes, wondering why people are selling live chickens in the street and desperately trying to speak Chinese. Are there the same old jokes where he THINKS he's saying something innocuous in Chinese, but when Chan tells him what he ACTUALLY said, it turns out it was something crude or nonsensical? Yes. Yes there are jokes like that. Yes indeed.

Jackie Chan's fighting scenes are as funny and impressive as ever; one wishes there were more of them. The talking parts, which can be amusing if you find Chris Tucker funny, are low-energy, focusing too much on the recycled action-movie plot instead of on verbal interplay between the two leads. And the jokes that ARE here all boil down to this: Black people and Chinese people are different!

The closing credits are accompanied by a very, very funny collection of outtakes. I laughed twice as much during this segment as I did during the rest of the film. My suggestion? Show up 95 minutes into the movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4712&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/06/01 00:08:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/14/10 LINDA DOWDY Good "action comedy"! 4 stars
10/13/08 PAUL SHORTT PERFUNCTORY, SOUR AND RACIST 1 stars
8/18/08 Shaun Wallner This movie is so funny! 5 stars
5/05/07 David Risser Another great Jackie Chan action flick! 5 stars
2/02/06 Anthony Feor A funny sequel, but brings down attention just a bit 3 stars
11/13/05 Jackie Tucker GOOD MOSHO 5 stars
11/13/05 J man Brett Ratnerís Choice of actors was out standing no other director could do a better job 5 stars
8/20/05 tony It was so funny. it was very good. 4 stars
7/01/05 Eddie Chan's worst role ever 1 stars
6/07/05 JD On an entertainment level, it delivers! 4 stars
1/23/05 keithers.. Another hollywood entry for Chan... 3 stars
8/30/04 john bale Tucker does Eddie Murphy, Chan does himself - predictable mayhem & kung fu stuff. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody about as good as the first...too many racist jokes 3 stars
11/20/03 rony awesome!!! makes me wanna visit hong kong!!! and electrifying Zhang Ziyi=ZZ^_^ 5 stars
10/31/03 Littlepurch Loved it! Haven't even seen the first one!!! 5 stars
10/13/03 Ian Hilarious! 5 stars
10/01/03 estheticaura Same formula. Different Scenery. 2 stars
4/18/03 Gecko Fanfoot Nice outing. Tucker and Chan are a great team. Tucker's a scream! 5 stars
2/02/03 Turtle Nowhere near as good as the original and has a terribly convoluted plot...FUN! 4 stars
12/30/02 John Aster Habig gees who knew jokes could be this dumb even racial humor 2 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Unexpectedly winning and entertaining. 4 stars
10/24/02 Interrog8 Oops, it didn't have the spunk of the first one. 3 stars
10/13/02 Bodine Harris Awesome 5 stars
8/13/02 Justin Better than the first! 5 stars
8/03/02 Ray McCoy John Lone should have had more screen time in this film!!! 3 stars
5/24/02 Film Guy Not funny ,not good 2 stars
3/30/02 Jeremy ACTION thats one of the main things i like 5 stars
3/18/02 Zargo wicked movie, Ziyi is a babe 5 stars
3/13/02 andrew howe its a classic 5 stars
3/06/02 Julia Cox Possibly unprecedented level of original-to-sequel improvement. Tucker almost not obnoxious 5 stars
2/23/02 Andrew Carden Scattershot Sequel Has Minimal Laughs and A Dumb Screenplay. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver While funny at times, it isn't as funny as the original. 3 stars
2/08/02 Jennifleur Best Jackie Chan Movie yet. Hope he keeps up the trend 5 stars
2/06/02 Phil M. Afficianado Sti[id film, done well 2 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent Not quite as good as the first one but pretty close 4 stars
1/16/02 Piz I could swear i saw this before, oh yeah, Rush Hour 1, but since the first was funny... 4 stars
12/24/01 Mogwai worth a look 3 stars
12/22/01 Bri funny, action is decent 5 stars
12/18/01 The Bomb 69 great popcorn movie, Infinifilm DVD made it better 5 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 A good time, better, funnier than part 1 4 stars
11/08/01 Christina Boe I think that Rush Hour 2 was a very good movie. I believe this movie was well put together 4 stars
10/15/01 kate This was a wicked film, definitely a film to watch again 5 stars
10/14/01 gus i loved it! it came so close to surpassing the original 5 stars
10/06/01 STEVE DUNN NOT NEARLY AS GOOD AS THE FIRST ONE. OK TO PASS THE TIME 3 stars
10/06/01 Hashbro iam an ultimate rush hour fan and i cant wait for rush hour 3..but i better this again! 5 stars
9/28/01 Jim Renwick Good show 4 stars
9/28/01 Phoenix I laughed all the way through this. Chan and Tucker are great together. 4 stars
9/18/01 cheuk kinda cool watchin it, but when ur out, u realize u jus wen n 2 c jackie chan, not da movie 4 stars
9/15/01 A.J it was the best movie ever its better then rush hour 1 i hope you put rush hour3 5 stars
9/14/01 Palaboy Forget Chris Tucker, Jackie is the real star of this film! 3 stars
9/05/01 elee the best =) cant wait til the next sequel 5 stars
9/02/01 Injew Tries really hard to be funny. I left after 40 minutes of this garbage. 2 stars
8/26/01 B. Merriweather It was a delightful, funny and witty comedy that I truly enjoyed. 4 stars
8/22/01 Baphomet Damn enteeeeeeeeeertainin' n' no pretense. It's fun n' Ziyi iz stunningly beautiful. 4 stars
8/19/01 Mike L Too funny!!! also cant resist Zhang Ziyi!!!!DAMN HOT!!!! 5 stars
8/15/01 Don Slomski loved the 1st one, maybe Tucker / Chan will be together in a film soon, this wasn't it. 3 stars
8/12/01 Roy Smith Not a great movie but Tucker and Chan are a great team! Charisma to spare!! 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Tucker handles all situations like some stand-up,but he's veryfunny & Jackie Chan is agile! 4 stars
8/07/01 Kimble Just... great! 5 stars
8/06/01 John Lyons not bad. Chris Tucker getting tired, but Zhang Ziyi is HOT! 4 stars
8/06/01 parkallan Pretty good film, action and comedy done well 4 stars
8/05/01 Y2mckay Same old shit, Tucker still kinda funny, Chan still fights good, Not worth a full review. 3 stars
8/05/01 Jed Complete Crap. Not the least bit funny. 1 stars
8/04/01 Brad this movie was awsome; better than the first 5 stars
8/04/01 Josh Tybur Hit and miss jokes, awesome action. Did they have to do that to Zhang? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-2001 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-May-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Sep-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Brett Ratner

Written by
  Jeff Nathanson

Cast
  Jackie Chan
  Chris Tucker
  Wong Fei
  Chris Penn
  Zhang Ziyi
  Alan King



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast