Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.14

Awesome: 14.45%
Worth A Look: 9.25%
Just Average: 9.25%
Pretty Crappy: 10.4%
Sucks56.65%

6 reviews, 137 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Freddy Got Fingered
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"The beginning of the end of Western civilization."
1 stars

Centuries from now, when American civilization has completely collapsed, historians will look back and say: "What caused this great society to fall? How could a culture so rich in the arts, so advanced in government, so efficient in its distribution of Girl Scout cookies, have come to such utter ruin?" The answer, they will determine, will be this: "Freddy Got Fingered." On April 20, 2001, when that film was released in theaters, American civilization officially began its decline.

Oh, sure, our society had its occasional downturns before. We had Guns 'n' Roses, for example, not to mention "Full House" and the years 1970-1979 inclusive. But we always rose up again. With "Freddy Got Fingered," we have reached the point of no return. We have leapt from the Empire State Building of culture and now await the inevitable splat on the Fifth Avenue of ignorance.

I don't mean to say this is the worst movie ever made. I cannot make such a declaration, as I have not seen every movie ever made. But I have seen a couple thousand of them, and as sure as the sun hangs in the sky, as sure as no one has ever looked good in a mullet haircut, as sure as Drew Barrymore is a vapid trollop who deserves to be married to Tom Green, it is certainly the worst of those I have seen. There is no question.

Is "Freddy Got Fingered" worse than "Battlefield Earth"? Certainly: "Battlefield Earth" at least was amusing for its unintentional camp value. Is it worse than all the movies ever featured on "Mystery Science Theater 3000"? Exponentially: Those films were made by people who, while incompetent, at least seemed to be trying. Is "Freddy Got Fingered" worse than passing kidney stones made of barbed wire? Yes: At least that would kill you quickly. This movie lasts 90 minutes.

Tom Green is a Canadian immigrant who had a show on MTV for a while, as part of the once-relevant network's ongoing mission to prove its own obsolescence. On the show, Tom would go out in public and do crazy things to annoy strangers, capturing their reactions on videotape. He would also do gross things like violate dead animals, earning cheap guffaws from ... well, the kind of people who watch MTV and think violating dead animals is funny. It's a show that takes zero creativity and zero talent, putting Tom Green in competition with a piece of bread in terms of who is best qualified to do it.

"Freddy Got Fingered" is sort of a big-screen version of Tom's TV show. The difference here is that he's "playing" a "character" named Gord Brody, a 20-something loser who wants to be a cartoonist. (Or a cartoonist who wants to be a loser. Six of one, half-dozen of the other.)

But the movie is really just a series of puerile skits featuring Tom Green committing a host of atrocities. He sexually harasses a horse and an elephant, for example, making you wonder why PETA wastes its time on people who eat animals. He whacks his paralyzed girlfriend in the legs with a stick. He falsely accuses his dad of molesting his younger brother. He delivers a baby against its mother's will. He sacks Rome in A.D. 455. OK, that was the Vandals. But I'm not entirely convinced that all bad things that have ever happened should not be attributed to Tom Green.

As a movie critic and an American, I have no particular problem with filth and depravity as long as it's entertaining. "Freddy Got Fingered" is boring, though, as were its recent gross-out cousins, "Say It Isn't So," "Tomcats" and "Joe Dirt." What have we come to as a society when we make a TV star popular enough to get his own film despite his being utterly worthless? Why do we keep encouraging people to make movies that are both figuratively and literally covered in excrement?

Because we're morons, that's why. You and me, we're all morons. We'll watch anything, read anything, talk about anything, regardless of whether it's entertaining, uplifting or even tolerable. I take some comfort in knowing "Freddy Got Fingered" made only $7 million its first weekend, but not much. That means 1 million people did see it, which means 1 million more people with whom I cannot be friends. (It was a lengthy list already.)

It's the beginning of the end, I tell you. The sidewalk's coming up fast, and the tourists are already gawking. "Freddy Got Fingered"? My friends, we've ALL been fingered.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4713&reviewer=247
originally posted: 04/26/01 13:07:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/26/16 Ken For those who like this can fuck off! 1 stars
3/11/14 dr.lao I'm going to be generous and assume they were trying to make the worst movie in history 1 stars
2/20/14 Justin R. This film doesn't make any sense at all! Plus, whoever likes this is a total retard! 1 stars
1/23/14 Quigley One of the worst movies (nay, things) I've ever had the misfortune to witness. 1 stars
1/24/13 MatthewThompsonDalldorf Anti-comedy done right. The closest thing I've seen to a mainstream John Waters flick 4 stars
6/29/11 art Marisa coughlan stold the movie as Handicapped Betty! 3 stars
1/07/10 Crazy Carney This is not a movie its a bowel movement 1 stars
10/10/09 Bethany Cox Awful, like a root canal but without the anaesthetic! 1 stars
7/28/09 The Dead Linda I never laughed so hard. 5 stars
6/27/09 CTT This is why God gave Green cancer 1 stars
3/31/09 belike I love the fact that this movie actually pisses people off. 5 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
5/02/07 john I think this is the most underrated film of all time. 5 stars
4/27/07 Total Crap This movie is so bad it's funny.. but what the hell is up with Tom and cheese sandwiches? 3 stars
2/25/06 dupadoit it blows 1 stars
1/20/06 your worst goddamn nightmare "Daddy, would you like some sausage??" 5 stars
1/02/06 Daveman Perhaps the only mainstream comedy to tap into contemporary postpostpostmodern irony 3 stars
11/30/05 bill bohobins i bet all you people who hate this movie are old... to me you have no opinion 5 stars
11/25/05 Movielover This movie is a hilarious and brilliant film-no wait, I was thinking of another movie! 1 stars
11/07/05 Jake I rather give Bill Clinton a blowjob than watch this wrecked piece of DOGSHIT EVER AGAIN!!! 1 stars
8/29/05 Dr. Zoidberg Wretched, but in a strangely fascinating way 2 stars
6/21/05 Manu Ginobli Celtic Pride was better. That's how bad this shit sucks. 1 stars
6/14/05 Jeff Anderson The most retarded, moronic & disgusting "comedy" ever made, but watchable in a strange way! 3 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady This is without a doubt,the biggest piece of shit to EVER make it to the big screen.dogshit 5 stars
3/22/05 indrid cold One brain dead vignette after another, some of them are bizarrely hilarious. 3 stars
3/14/05 Andy Endean Some truly hilarious (but bad taste) moments 4 stars
3/13/05 Sven Worst movie EVER made. Bar None. 1 stars
11/16/04 Gooey you're a retard w/ a useless opinion if you rate this higher than 1 star 1 stars
11/06/04 Kyle Misunderstood, people dont "get" Tom and his sense of humour, totally amazing 5 stars
10/19/04 Nicole Isnor The Best Movie ALIVE 5 stars
10/12/04 Daveman An admirable rejection of all things deemed artistically acceptable, a guilty pleasure. 3 stars
8/05/04 ELI Is it bad when you feel nausious after watching a movie? 1 stars
7/21/04 Simon Khalil The Tom Green Show UNCENSORED!! It's freaking hilarious! F all the haters 5 stars
6/01/04 WoAh THIS MOVIE FRIGGIN ROCKS. idc what yall say...DADDY WOULD YOU LIKE SOME SAUSAGE??? =) 5 stars
5/14/04 Hal Galikakick Finally a movie worse than Ski School 1 stars
4/07/04 j-p Its a bunch of random, brainless shit. Greens career will soon be over 2 stars
3/23/04 Ken Stryker After Viewing, I ran down to the local church and became a monk 1 stars
2/01/04 Hey Wat NOw? worst movie ever 1 stars
1/16/04 LIAM JACKSON rip torn's charcter was seriously fucked up and insane 5 stars
12/22/03 Jiz .... I can't believe I even KNOW people who like this. 1 stars
12/16/03 James Quagmire When Tom Green eats the umbilical chord - ss this funny, sick or hilarious? I say hilarious 5 stars
12/05/03 Carly Phair Funniest movie ive seen 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel Really stupid! The worst movie on the face of the earth!He jerks off a horse and elephant! 1 stars
8/23/03 I Would Will leave you in fits of laughter!!! 4 stars
7/28/03 Collin Tom Green Is An Embarasment To The People Of Canada 1 stars
7/26/03 Monster W. Kung Tries hard to be obnoxious, but the laughs are rare and the cinematography is abysmal. 2 stars
7/17/03 Hey Wat NOw? Best Movie Ever made!! and ive seen alot of fucking movies 5 stars
7/06/03 cinkcool Shitty 1 stars
6/24/03 Freddie's Fucking Finger Fuck Freddie - Tom is a fucking asshole! Wouldn't see this movie even if someone paid me. 1 stars
6/11/03 Jareth Credit is due to the film for Tom Green's determination to defy every movie convention EVER 2 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Not the best directing, or script, but very creative comedy bits. Good soundtrack. 4 stars
4/12/03 Vaughn Ignore those precious reviewers, this is one of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
3/11/03 Estevan Lapena I dont know whats worse having your eyes cut out with paper or this. 1 stars
3/02/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik I can't even call this a film. 1 stars
3/01/03 Rastabub Tom Green jerked off a horse. 'Nuff said. 1 stars
2/25/03 GMan Tom Green is Sooooooooooooooo fuckin' funny!! A must see!! (Read: Complete Shit.) 1 stars
2/24/03 y2mckay Tom Green is funny when spontaneous. Too Scripted, but not completely unbearable 2 stars
2/11/03 Joesco Possibly the worst movie I've seen for a year with Marisa Coughlan the only plus 1 stars
2/03/03 Chris Riley great film, so funny, had me in hysterics. ha ha ha 5 stars
1/25/03 Jack Sommersby Agile direction and some good individual moments make this fun. 3 stars
11/09/02 Monster W. Kung ??????????????????? 2 stars
9/13/02 STEVE .................................?!..................?..AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH 1 stars
9/12/02 Mac some funny parts with toms dad, but the rest is just...werid 2 stars
7/26/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa You think it's average, Tad? Fuck yourself, and Tom Green! 1 stars
7/18/02 artemishia i loved the tom green show but i never thought he would sell out in his own unfunny movie 1 stars
7/14/02 Kyle Let's kill Tom Green. 1 stars
6/26/02 officer 412/l sORRY BUT I MEANT TO GIVE IT A ONE STAR RATING 1 stars
5/21/02 officer 412/l pretty bad i know,but some parts are so over the top they do make you chuckle. NERVOUSLY 2 stars
5/21/02 Film Person What makes Tom Green think this is actually funny? Definitely not worth seeing EVER! 1 stars
4/23/02 Kat Balue An affront to humanity. Rip Torn must have been drugged off camera 1 stars
4/20/02 af Tom - please kill yourself you unfunny FUCKING ASSHOLE 1 stars
4/13/02 hum dont believe the "ironic" excuse. Its just very very bad 1 stars
4/03/02 Jake "I wanna eat chicken burgers!" Rip Torn throws Drew down into toxic cans. lol 2 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Freddy can go fuck himself 1 stars
3/26/02 Chris żĄ The Worst Comedy Every Made, it's right next to "Tomcats" on the shitlist. 1 stars
3/18/02 bradgray96 As a connoisseur of bad movies, I find this one offensive and insulting to the genre. 1 stars
3/15/02 Schlitze This film is a brilliant excursion into the surreal, avant-garde world of mental illness. 5 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I think this shit just replaced "Planet 9" AND "Battlefield Earth" as the worst movie ever 1 stars
2/13/02 Goon the movie is bad on purpose. its ironic and Americans dont get irony. genius. 5 stars
2/12/02 Valerie Cameron 1 purpose - JOE DIRT (out ~ same time) needed something to make it look good by comparison 1 stars
2/08/02 Meredith Harshaw False accusations of child abuse not joking matter (unless you're an elitist movie-maker?!) 2 stars
2/03/02 Clarance Jenkins A few good scenes from tom green saved this pitiful flick 2 stars
1/26/02 Lin Rainey Unequivocally, absolutely, without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen..ever! 1 stars
12/22/01 Ryan very good movie give a chance 5 stars
11/29/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Come on, dudes. It was funny. It was cool. The world just wasn't ready for it. 4 stars
11/24/01 Monday Morning I personally think Tom Green should be taken somewhere and summarily executed. 1 stars
11/14/01 Chris K. Peter Jackson's gross out horror comedy BRAINDEAD (1992; U.S. Title: DEAD ALIVE) is better 1 stars
11/12/01 Anus Goatse.cx is a masterpiece compared to this 1 stars
11/11/01 Jon C. Ericson Given Freddy the Finger. Not even Freddy Kruger Could've saved this. 1 stars
10/26/01 Uncathom I got the movie for the part of my collection labeled worst of all time 1 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny, Stupid, and Totally Mindless Movie That Goes Nowhere. 1 stars
10/15/01 Jeff Semlow Maybe the worst movie ever made. Garbage 1 stars
10/03/01 Andrew Garver Give it a try, multiple viewings will help you grasp it. Will be a classic in 10 years. 4 stars
10/03/01 jared mckee worst movie ever 1 stars
10/02/01 GreenSuxAss Green sucks ass, and so does this fucking retarded excuse for a "movie" 1 stars
9/09/01 M davids Great movie, love it!! 5 stars
8/24/01 Chris K. But AIRPLANE is better than FREDDY GOT FINGERED for God's sake! 1 stars
8/16/01 Sean Beastiality, cripple jokes, child abuse jokes, violence, can it get any better? Probably. 4 stars
8/08/01 Fish Eye Green accomplished his goal - make the grossest movie ever. But, it's still funny. 2 stars
7/31/01 Vixor the worst movie i have ever seen- period 1 stars
6/14/01 viking If you think this is funny, go see your shrink 1 stars
6/01/01 Jim Tom Green is a stupid fuckin' Canadian!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/27/01 siro you people are idiots. my life is shit. that is all. 5 stars
5/26/01 Moblin Vile isn't even the word for this piece of cinematic feces. 1 stars
5/22/01 name's are bad I'm a Tom Green fan. But this movie was just bad. 1 stars
5/21/01 Eric fucked up but funny 3 stars
5/16/01 zeitgeist OK so it's stupid, but tom green didn't make this movie to be nominated for an oscar 3 stars
5/11/01 Monkey A brilliantly funny film. 5 stars
5/06/01 Porkchop I said it before and I'll say it again. This movie SUCKS!!! 1 stars
5/04/01 Hatemonger PEOPLE WHO LIKE THIS FILM ARE THE PROBLEM WITH SOCIETY!!! THE MOVIE FUCKIN SUCKS! 1 stars
5/03/01 8 dollar Hype theft you reap what you sow! your money made this movie! burn it down and walk away! 1 stars
5/03/01 Evil Muffin IT ROCKS ITS FUCKIN FUNNY DONT LISTEN TO THESE BASTARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/02/01 tinabulator even for green's standards, it was extremely stupid, and just NOT funny. 1 stars
5/01/01 ffdfd It isn't that bad. It is way better than Driven. 4 stars
5/01/01 Zuwadza Hillarious in a Tom Green sort of way 4 stars
4/28/01 Sam One of the worst movies ever made, yet, the intention is to offend, wether funny or not. 1 stars
4/28/01 Jason S. Worst movie ever made!! 1 stars
4/27/01 William Baxter Hay I thought it was actually very entertaining, and confronting... left me smiling :) 5 stars
4/26/01 Brian "GAG! PUKE!" 1 stars
4/25/01 Acadia Obviously it'd be dumb, but recreated a new connotation for stupid. It left me angry. 1 stars
4/24/01 randy the worst film of 2001 1 stars
4/24/01 Chris Myst Aggravatingly stupid! I mean, I was *pissed* after seeing this. SAG/DGA/WGA revoked! 1 stars
4/23/01 Todd Tom Green should be killed. Now. 1 stars
4/23/01 Heather What does Drew Barrymore see in this talentless m/f?????? 1 stars
4/23/01 Thrillhouse what a load of nonsense 1 stars
4/23/01 David Well.... I saw about 3 minutes....(Against all my freind's warnings, I went and saw it anyw 1 stars
4/23/01 SmokeSerpent Very inspiring, an early Oscar favorite 4 stars
4/23/01 billy a complete bag of shit 1 stars
4/22/01 Misty extremely awful movie 1 stars
4/22/01 Eric Makes Battlefield Earth and 3000 Miles to Graceland combined look awesome. 1 stars
4/22/01 Rampage lame movie 1 stars
4/22/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) What fresh hell was this?? 1 stars
4/21/01 criticalmass This movie sucks donkey balls. If you see it, DEMAND your money back! 1 stars
4/21/01 Recently died at the movies Perhaps the worst movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
4/21/01 y2mckay it wasn't THAT bad, but I sure wouldn't call it good. Some laughs, but mediocre at best. 3 stars
4/19/01 Malcontent I'd rather get shot in the face 7 times than have to watch this fuckass fucking movie again 1 stars
4/16/01 Andy Knapp Worst movie I ever saw...tasteless, revolting. Pushing it too far. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Apr-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Jul-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast