Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.98

Awesome52.36%
Worth A Look: 21.26%
Just Average: 8.27%
Pretty Crappy: 8.66%
Sucks: 9.45%

11 reviews, 188 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Matt Mulcahey

"Smith Strikes Back at Hollywood and embraces movie geeks"
4 stars

“Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back” is a movie filled with every offense known to man, and even some that aren’t yet. It’s a collection of bad taste, full of excessive vulgarity, sexual lewdness and all manner of political incorrectness. Writer/director/actor Kevin Smith is aware of all of these things. Actually, he exults in them.

He embraces and wallows in the fact that his film has no redeeming social value whatsoever. This is a film whose sole purpose is to make the adolescent 13-year old in all of us rejoice in its childishness.

It’s a film for those who haven’t yet become too cynical or pseudo-intellectual to enjoy the things that made them chuckle when they were in junior high.

The heroes of this raunchy exercise are Jay and Silent Bob, a pair of drug-dealing slackers who spend each day hanging out in front of the Quick-Stop convenience store peddling ganja to anyone and everyone who crosses their path.

The pair end up on a crash course with Hollywood when they learn that Bluntman and Chronic, a comic book based on the two of them, is about to be made into the movie. But their motivation isn’t the likeness check they are owed. They want to get the movie shut down so people on Internet chat sites will stop insulting them.

But the story isn’t really all that relevant. The movie is really an excuse for Smith to tie up all the loose ends of his New Jersey Chronicles, of which Jay and Silent Bob have appeared in all four prior installments (“Clerks,” “Mallrats,” “Chasing Amy,” “Dogma”.)

“Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back” includes many of the characters from Smith’s past films, and contains countless cameos as well. To give away who shows up would ruin half the fun, but the numerous in-references for film buffs are what will make the movie a cult hit.

One of the film’s weaknesses, however, is the main characters themselves. Jay and Silent Bob are a matter of taste, and they are easily the least interesting inhabitants of Smith’s New Jersey world. The constant parade of more interesting characters from past films is only a reminder that most of them would be better suited for a full-length film than these two bungling idiots, who end up somewhere between Beavis and Butthead and Cheech and Chong on the evolutionary spectrum.

“Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back” is the perfect example of the two sides of Kevin Smith.

On one side you have the comic-book loving dork who never grew up. On the other side you have a writer who’s produced some of the best film dialogue of the past decade.

Instead of trying to reconcile these two halves like Smith did in Dogma, he unabashedly and unashamedly embraces the lowbrow nature of his comedy. And once the duo hits Hollywood, the film really starts to connect.

It’s easy to take cheap shots at others, but Smith has guts and sense of humor enough to laugh at himself. In fact, the films favorite punching bag is Miramax films, the company that released this picture. There’s also inspired self-mockery from Ben Affleck, Matt Damon, James Van Der Beek and many more.

“Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back” is not a film everyone is going to enjoy. It’s a movie for film fans. It’s a movie for Kevin Smith fans. It’s a movie for anyone still in contact with the adolescent humor the young at heart never outgrow.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4714&reviewer=255
originally posted: 08/27/01 15:43:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/09 Dane Youssef The ultimate movie fan geek's pleasure. One of Smith's best. 4 stars
8/09/09 Jeff Wilder Funny. But not as good as Clerks or Dogma. Jay and Silent Bob are best as supporting player 3 stars
1/17/09 Samantha Pruitt the story falters but jay and bob are great, their lines make this movie watchable 3 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner This was a funny movie. 5 stars
11/19/07 AwesomeGuy "A jay and Silent Bob movie... Who would pay to see that?" -Look's at Camera- 5 stars
8/02/07 fools♫gold Great hilarity the times I didn't watch with people who laugh at the stupid things. 4 stars
1/23/07 del The absolute WORST Smith film. Yes, even WORSE than MALLRATS. I mean, a chimpanzee?!?!?!? 1 stars
8/11/06 nicolecrom2678 If you like Kevin Smith films you will love this one 5 stars
9/10/05 matt has its moments, but too many cameos, the worst of the j&sb movies 3 stars
5/17/05 Tracie Smegelski Had to be explained to me during the entire course of its run time. Just didn't get it :( 2 stars
12/14/04 Tom Benton Mostly for the fans; not you're average Smith flick, but funny and dumb as hell 3 stars
11/22/04 Littlepurch Any film that can get so many actors to mercilessly take the mick out of themselves is gr8! 5 stars
11/14/04 LeeAnn Rafferty It's a fun movie, let it be fun 5 stars
10/10/04 Jacinta Excellent movie! Everyone should be required to see it! 5 stars
9/26/04 Andrew Jay & Silent Bob prove, "Freedom of speech does not mean you won't get your ass kicked" 5 stars
8/29/04 Emmy i love this movie..it is as funny as hell!! 4 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G p. rodriguez is a faggot, this movie owns 5 stars
5/16/04 DM Desperately unfunny at times, but I do love Kevin Smith 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. A good way to end a GREAT series of films... Kevin Smith, you're a genius!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/15/04 "Meth Labs" for DUMMIES BOYEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/20/03 I Would Well, at least it's better than Mallrats. 2 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee In my opinion, it's a masterpiece, and Jay and Silent Bob should never be forgotten! 5 stars
10/17/03 Charles Tatum Please see Smith's other films before watching this, assholes 5 stars
10/12/03 Lamar This movie was awsome and if you didnt understand the punchlines your an idiot. 5 stars
10/08/03 P.Rodriguez I used to love K.Smith films but this one is a turkey 1 stars
10/06/03 Enu It's great for View Askew fans, but the inside jokes will go over anyone else's head. 4 stars
9/08/03 TheDude Jack Sommersby needs to be shot and hung by his balls. 5 stars
8/10/03 Geo2847 Everything is good, except the tedious road trip portion. 4 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus Funniest Movie Ever!!! This movie makes House Party look like House Party 2 haha 5 stars
6/11/03 Jack Sommersby Self-indulgent mess hasn't an iota of sharp wit. A disaster. 1 stars
6/02/03 Alice Acquired taste? Sure. But for those of us in on the joke, it's a blast. 5 stars
5/17/03 The Grinch As encouraging as it is unfunny..if Smith can get 20mil to make a movie, anyone can 2 stars
5/13/03 jungle love jay and silent bob are gonna kill you fucks 5 stars
5/12/03 joker-smoker-toker pro's: will ferral & jay & silent bob. con: shannon elizabeth 5 stars
4/03/03 Gray Jay+Bob=comic relief for Kevins films this movie shouldn't have been made but it was fun 3 stars
2/24/03 cock knocker this movie is the mad note! 5 stars
2/12/03 steve amazing movie, clerks rules! 5 stars
1/30/03 NWO4LIFE Starts out good, then drags ad drags, then gets hilarious when they get to hollywood. 3 stars
1/28/03 Justin Deforest Schott This movie is the best. It will not get old at all. 5 stars
10/31/02 justin the greatest 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Not Smith's best work, but Mark Hammil as "Cock Knocker" was awesome. 2 stars
10/26/02 slimshady1980 This movie was the best one that kevin smith has made so far. 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 "You are the ones who are ball-lickers, we're gonna fuck your mothers while you watch..." 5 stars
10/21/02 Ken I think Kevin Smith was abducted and replaced with a bad-movie-making double. 2 stars
10/07/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I love this movie! Kevin Smith, u rock! Snoochie boochies. 5 stars
9/26/02 jeremy i love the scene where the hitchhiker "gives head" 5 stars
9/03/02 Joe Zappa Hilarious and fun. I'm glad Jay & Silent Bob are back. Only 1 flaw: WAY too much cussing. 4 stars
8/31/02 AshFan Wait a minute, was that a word that WASN'T a cuss word? Whoa! 1 stars
8/17/02 Scott To all those who didnt like it: IT IS YOU WHO ARE THE BALL LICKERS!!! 5 stars
7/26/02 Matt Crav Does not live up to the standards of Kevin Smith! This movie is full of fart jokes. 3 stars
7/25/02 Matthew Sanchez I can't belive that someone would clame to like kevin smith with out loving this movie. 5 stars
7/23/02 Roy Smith To sink this low after something like Chasing Amy is sad, even Domga was better. 1 stars
7/20/02 sdjfsdkjf had it moments, but his others were better. Loved the "pansy red shoes" argument. 3 stars
7/19/02 gemma black completely up to the standard kevin smith has built for himself! 5 stars
6/29/02 hum lots of good stuff if you have seen previous films, but tons of rubbish to get thru 2 stars
6/10/02 Me What were the makers of this film thinking? God, Kevin Smith has no brain. 1 stars
5/30/02 Phoenix I was laughing all through this hilarious film. 5 stars
5/18/02 Chowie snoochy boochies! 4 stars
5/18/02 Peter vanHaaften In the words of Jay 'I Love The Cock'. I hope a fat man in an overcoat will lick my asshole 5 stars
5/12/02 Matt Mother mother fuck, mother fuck fuck, mother fuck mother fuck, noise noise noise 5 stars
4/25/02 Shane Robert Myers If you dont like this then... Fuck YOU TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! best movie EVER!!!!!! 5 stars
4/24/02 Streppy recycles jokes that have been beat to death....smith's worse 1 stars
4/20/02 stoolie-bird if you liked "Dude, Where's My Car?" and "Rat Race" you'll love this....and i pity you. 1 stars
4/19/02 Akira_773 Way to send it off, Mr. Smith! 5 stars
4/15/02 Dave annoying beyond belief 1 stars
4/07/02 Relic827 this movie kicks major ass 5 stars
4/06/02 jason fucking awsome 5 stars
4/02/02 annie kane this movie is fucking awesome!!!!!!! jay and silent bob are fuckin hott!!!!! 5 stars
4/01/02 lauren mccreight self indulgent and boring 1 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy Now who's Stupid you dirty Sheep Fucker 5 stars
3/28/02 Ashly Well i think the guy that plays "jay"is fucking sexxy 5 stars
3/22/02 stuff_it!! on the contrary, kevin smith is a hack, but this is one damn funny movie. 5 stars
3/17/02 The Bomb 69 too good to be true, all the naysayers need to STFU!!! 5 stars
3/16/02 Trish The Dish I think this movie kicks MAJOR ass. Jay is fucking funny- plus, I love Kevin Smith!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/16/02 Trish the Dish Movie kicks fuckin ass ne one who doesnt find the shit mad howls can lick fuckin balls...!! 5 stars
3/13/02 Ryan Mehaffey Jay and Silent Bob kick fucking ass 5 stars
3/04/02 Jim Has Kevin Smith lost his mind? A few good bits but mostly disappointing. 2 stars
2/28/02 Angel all kevin smith movies rock 5 stars
2/28/02 Chowie Snoochie boochies-im sad to see that this is the last movie involving darling jay&silentbob 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Uneven at times, but it's still funny. and Eliza Dushku really needs to do nudity. 4 stars
2/25/02 Butterbean You have to be a Kevin Smith fan to appreciate it. And I do appreciate it! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Not very inspired. Characters were more interesting in Dogma. 2 stars
2/09/02 Valerie Cameron Ali Larter has played smarter, / But still dazzles as the farter! 5 stars
2/09/02 Carly FUCK!!SHIT!!CUNT!!! I AM AN ASS!!! Don't take advice from morons, this movie is wretched. 1 stars
2/09/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is so F*%#ing awsome & how ever says its crap can eat my shit, this one RULES!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/03/02 Cameron Ovo "SNOOCHIE BOOCHIES" This movie rocked 5 stars
1/23/02 The Moorhen SNOOTCH TO THE MOTHERFUCKING NOOTCH! 5 stars
1/07/02 Zwack Not even a movie, just a collection of references to inside jokes. 1 stars
12/07/01 mattyg funniest movie ive seen in a while, laughed from start to finish!!! 5 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle Kevin Smith is funny. This Masturbatory offal is not-9 times out of ten. 2 stars
11/29/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) JAY AND SILENT BOB KICK ASS! THIS IS THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/29/01 michael foley this movie kicked ass and anyone who said it sucked should be beat to death with the script 5 stars
11/20/01 derek deems a great way to bring all the other films together--should be taken at face value 5 stars
11/19/01 Barry The best of the lot! can you have 6 stars? 5 stars
11/19/01 Jimmy Kentino Almost as good as Pretty Woman! 3 stars
11/16/01 Scott C Way to save the best for last !! 5 stars
11/16/01 Frank Staiber Funny to a point,but all in all a pretty good flic 4 stars
11/15/01 Maryann Niles A Kevin Smith valentine to View Askiew. Fans of his work will get the inside jokes. 4 stars
11/15/01 berly silent bob is funny/intelligent, jay isn't, loved Dogma, survived this one 3 stars
11/15/01 Roy Smith I loved 2 of his previous 4 and liked the other 2, but this was really a let down. 2 stars
11/15/01 Raymond Ocampo I am a fan of Kevin Smith. Have all his DVDs. But this latest film sucks big time!!! 1 stars
11/14/01 j man the funniest movie ever 5 stars
10/20/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) HILARIOUS! FUN! AWESOME! IT'S ABOUT TIME THEY GOT THEIR OWN MOVIE! 5 stars
10/14/01 Schmidty72 Like a greatest hits album for the line of fantastically amusing Smith films. 5 stars
10/07/01 Mark Davidson Unbelievable lame! Dogma & Clerks were brilliant; this was crap, crap, crap! 1 stars
10/07/01 Hogwash My least favorite View Askew picture to date, but hey, I've only seen it twice so far. 4 stars
9/30/01 Poot Jay and Silent Bob, leave us not! 5 stars
9/28/01 Mohammad J. What the fuck is the internet? 5 stars
9/16/01 Bri Awsome! Babes hot! 5 stars
9/16/01 Poopy-trim I haven't laughed so hard in a long time....... Oooh..... NAVY SEALS!!!! 5 stars
9/12/01 E-Rock Snoochie Boochies!!! 5 stars
9/11/01 derek deems a great ending for the jay and silent bob series . . . exactly the movie it should be. 5 stars
9/10/01 malcolm funnier than i expected. if ur not already a Smith fan, you'll miss a lot of jokes. 4 stars
9/10/01 Unanon Nice Matt Damon/Ben Afflack self-deprication. I can always go for that. Ooh! An ape too!! 4 stars
9/10/01 bockharn Kevin Smith's pleasant yearbook video for his Viewaskewniverse, but I laughed not once. 3 stars
9/10/01 puckfreak Hilarious! Funniest Smith movie? 5 stars
9/07/01 Ian Maloney Great movie, I saw it twice. 5 stars
9/07/01 Heath This movie was hilarious, even more so if you've seen Kevin Smith's other great films. 5 stars
9/06/01 Jake Use your brains (or get one). Another piece of trash for the year 2001. 1 stars
9/06/01 Beth loved it 5 stars
9/05/01 Bob gotta bring down the average, this is bullshit 1 stars
9/04/01 Josh Culmination of an awesome series of comedies 5 stars
9/04/01 ajay you are all ball lickers! 5 stars
9/04/01 JB Pretty damn funny if you've seen the other Kevin Smith movies. 4 stars
9/03/01 Bartender24 The best damn comedy ever made! Period. 5 stars
9/02/01 Elise Doobie snacks,who can ask for more? 5 stars
9/02/01 svetlana complete and total wonderfulness 5 stars
9/01/01 Roy G Biv They're fucking clown shoes. Fuck them up their stupid asses. 5 stars
9/01/01 siro Could have been better; but could have been ALOT worse. All in all, I liked it.... 4 stars
8/31/01 Butterbean Could have been a lot better than this. At least have Morris Day say a couple of lines. 3 stars
8/31/01 escherIV Anyone who thinks this movie was less than great is obviously only looking at the surface. 5 stars
8/31/01 The Beyond I fucking hate this shit, i hate every movie gay and silent fag were in besdes clerks :) 1 stars
8/30/01 maliu Any Kevin Smith movie is better than most of the movies out there today. 5 stars
8/30/01 G-Man You gotta be fucking kidding, worst movie I think I have ever seen. 1 stars
8/29/01 spaceworm Also enjoy the tune over the closing credits. 4 stars
8/29/01 Catlin Bree Movie rocked from start to finish, too bad it was their last movie. 5 stars
8/29/01 Rick Derris Kevin Smith's funniest movie to date 5 stars
8/29/01 Nick Kevin Smith just keeps gettin' better and better! Can't wait for Clerks Sellout! 5 stars
8/29/01 Fish Eye So funny, I shit in the movie theatre - In someone's face! 4 stars
8/29/01 Chuck Craig My throat was raw for 3 days! 5 stars
8/29/01 Muad'Dib 4 Stars for View Askew fans, probably only 1 or 2 for others. 4 stars
8/28/01 Lee Funny while watching, but funnier thinking back on all the references afterward 5 stars
8/28/01 Daphne Aguilera This movie fucking sucked. J&SB truly love the cock 1 stars
8/28/01 Brad hillarious 5 stars
8/28/01 Lynda Loved it!! 5 stars
8/28/01 donald One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. For Smith fans only. 5 stars
8/27/01 fudge Twas Shit Hot!! The panty wearing goof beside me wouldn't shut up 4 stars
8/27/01 Melissa in NYC Extremely funny....I'm going to seriously miss View Askew Films. 5 stars
8/27/01 Gentle Fury Damn, what an awesome movie, and just one thing, Jud Nelson was fucking harsh 5 stars
8/27/01 Mortis Run to see this movie! I laughed so hard that I had a headache for two days. 5 stars
8/27/01 Frank Stallone I only say Worth a Look because it's Kevin Smith--Dissapointing--Has he stopped trying?? 4 stars
8/27/01 Roy Smith Too, too, too much Jay - and Shannon Elizabeth and a fucking ape? WTF? 3 stars
8/27/01 Handsome Dan Kev sux. 1 stars
8/27/01 empaler Rocks, Kevin Smith is a comic genius. 5 stars
8/26/01 The Bomb 69 raunchier than the rest, great nonetheless, like South Park movie with people!!! 5 stars
8/26/01 Steve Micallef Kev says its the last flick for Jay and Bob. Too bad. Great Flick 5 stars
8/26/01 Girl 9 Great flick, even greater if you're a Smith fan. 4 stars
8/26/01 saturday disaster Kevin Smith is a talentless piece of crap. 1 stars
8/26/01 Skiv Stay till the end of the credits- it's a surprise 5 stars
8/25/01 Been A. Flick It was THIS donky dick sucking movie that sent me into rehab!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/25/01 Will it was chuckly, but come on, people. 3 stars
8/25/01 Matthew Peters A great film - I hope it isn't pinned as a bathroom-humor flick, there's much more going on 5 stars
8/25/01 Jason Kallelis A fitting end to the "trilogy"...and really fucking funny. 5 stars
8/25/01 mcf great movie 5 stars
8/25/01 Emily awesome 5 stars
8/25/01 rogue it was too great! an excellent end to the kevin smith saga. i freaking loved it! 5 stars
8/24/01 frank i might have liked it if i was 14. 1 stars
8/23/01 Dammit Why can't films be worth seeing any more? 1 stars
8/23/01 Melissa Another awesome flick!!! 5 stars
8/23/01 steve aubin when i eat chips i piss like a girafe 5 stars
8/23/01 Perry Ferrel one of the funniest movies Ive seen in a while...Smith rocks ass 5 stars
8/23/01 Mik This was the fuckin shit, you are a cunt if you don't think its awesome 5 stars
8/22/01 Karla Kicks Ass!!!! 5 stars
8/22/01 Jason You'll laugh early, laugh hard, and laugh often. The real comedy gem of this summer. 5 stars
8/21/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble one good movie eons ago, and they think they're movie stars. Only in America 3 stars
8/21/01 Sarah Totally hilarious 5 stars
8/20/01 P.Rodriguez God they're soo funny. This is better than Clerks 5 stars
8/20/01 TimmyJ Fucking great....I've seen it twice already 5 stars
8/20/01 Manny Vega Great Movie 5 stars
8/19/01 Ashley Kevin Smith is a god! 5 stars
8/19/01 Yeeeeeeee snoochie boochies 5 stars
8/19/01 mercedes soooo fuckin' funny 5 stars
8/19/01 jocelyn himmelreich awesome best comedy of the year 5 stars
8/19/01 Martyr Hamartia If you liked his other movies, you'll LOVE this one. 5 stars
8/19/01 brent young One of the funniest movies ever. Kevin Smith is a genius. I'm gonna see it a few times. 5 stars
8/19/01 Dakamus A fitting end to the View Askewniverse. Salud, Mr. Smith! 5 stars
8/17/01 Darren Shea Relentlessly funny, although at times it's too clever for its own good. 4 stars
8/14/01 TheRock the funniest movie I've seen in a while...hands down! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Aug-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Jan-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Kevin Smith

Written by
  Kevin Smith

Cast
  Kevin Smith
  Jason Mewes
  Jeff Anderson
  Jason Lee
  Brian O'Halloran
  Chris Rock



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast