Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome: 31.25%
Worth A Look38.75%
Just Average: 21.25%
Pretty Crappy: 7.5%
Sucks: 1.25%

13 reviews, 82 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Blow
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Like Goodfellas, but....um...well...like 'Goodfellas'."
3 stars

That's it. I am never reading another book that they're going to make into a movie EVER AGAIN. I will only read "Catcher in the Rye" for the rest of my life.

So, anyways, this movie is based on a true story, but since only the main character was willing to participate, they changed the name of all the other real people into new, completely fictional characters. Man, I hope someone makes a movie about a friend of mine, and then they give me a fake name. If I have any say, I would like my fake name to be "Sam Fantasta-terrific". Jerry Bruckheimer, take note.

Plot: George Jung (Johnny Depp) is a nice guy, but he keeps getting screwed over by evil, evil women. His mom narcs him out to the cops, his wife's a psycho coke fiend, and his daughter's mean and makes unreasonable requests, like "pick me up from school". This movie's pretty big into the "women = bad" thing. So he deals pot, coke, and makes lots of money. But it's bad and it doesn't bring you true happiness. Apparently, neither do women. Is this movie a subtle recruiting ploy for homosexuals? The only together guy is Derek Foreal (Paul Reubens), and HE'S GAY. Heterosexual America, take note.

Ted Demme is the director, and if he's half as talented as his uncle Jonathan, well, he's about half as talented. But at least he won't make a shitpile like "Beloved". He's a flashy, flashy fellow and uses all sorts of neato "director-type" moves that make us dizzy. Because, as you know, drug movies require large amounts of herky-jerky camera motion so that the acid-heads who watch the movies can feel morally superior. "I may be attending this movie with the cast of 'Hulk Hogan's Rock n' Wrestling', but at least I'm not on coke! That stuff fucks you up!"

This whole movie has a definite sense of "deja vu". First off, hiring Ray Liotta as Johnny Depp's dad is strike one. Getting Rachel Griffiths to channel Lorraine Bracco as Depp's mom is strike two. It's like "Goodfellas", but without the fun face-stomping and gangland whimsy.

The cast aquits themselves nicely; Depp is solid as usual, as well as very touching in parts, Liotta is actually making quite the comeback - with this, "Hannibal", and "Heartbreakers", I might actually be willing to forget "Turbulence" and "Unforgettable" (which would be a direct disobeying of the title, but it's necessary), and the women are all appropriately evil, with the exception of Franka Potente (from "Run Lola Run") who is nice but doesn't last long. And for all the hub-bub about Penelope Cruz, she's in the movie for about ten minutes, and she's got the face of a schnauzer.

And Paul Reubens rules. But you already knew that.

I guess having read the book beforehand allowed me to fill in the gaps that the movie leaves; it covers a lot of ground in two hours, and skips over a lot of necessary details. So it felt a lot more complete to me than it did to my viewing companions. "Blow" is a good movie, but it's been done before, and better. Ted Demme is no Martin Scorsese, or even Brian DePalma. Tony Montana woulda bitchslapped all of them.

It's a movie that moves really fast and you forget it immediately afterwards. George Jung was an unlucky putz, and that keeps you from really getting emotionally involved. You keep slapping your forehead whenever he screws up, but you don't really care all that much.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4720&reviewer=27
originally posted: 04/01/01 17:48:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell gritty but nothing special 3 stars
9/03/14 Celeste Garcia This movie was beyond the best. 5 stars
4/05/14 PAUL SHORTT UNINVOLVING BIOPIC DESPITE A GREAT STAR PERFORMANCE 2 stars
7/11/13 Jeff Wilder Derivative sure. But well-directed and fantastic performances from Depp and Liotta. 4 stars
11/11/10 Lundon johnny depp is amazing no matter what movie he does and blow makes you feel like your there 4 stars
4/02/08 Tiffanie I loved this movie! Its prolly one of the best by far 5 stars
1/04/08 Pamela White drug dealing and the paranoic life they lead 3 stars
12/09/07 SamanthaP johnny depp is good in anything! 4 stars
11/12/07 Ashley i love this movie very sad 5 stars
10/07/07 KNurse I have watched this movie several times.....awesome fucking movie 5 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman I loved this movie! i watched it 10 times 5 stars
12/18/05 Bree Outstanding all around. 5 stars
11/30/05 john smith it is ok 3 stars
11/21/05 Emily I can watch this movie over and over 5 stars
11/20/05 ad excellent 5 stars
10/30/05 Stephanie This is my favorite movie! 5 stars
9/14/05 shawn great fucking movie 5 stars
8/03/05 D.K. great cast, good grasp of the facts 5 stars
4/20/05 Evka cool movie 5 stars
8/17/04 Violeta perfect! 5 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz too much info. I didn't need 2 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face and may the winds of destiny 5 stars
6/22/04 Jack Sommersby Obvious, uninsightful and blandy directed. Depp is wasted; Liotta only bright spot. 1 stars
6/07/04 Darryl Stavena The most romantic way to see the life of a drug-dealer 5 stars
3/09/04 Ash Everything about this movie makes you a die-hard depp fan! 5 stars
2/22/04 8=====D COKE RULES!!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 R.W. Welch Familiar tale of rise/fall of drug lord, professional work tho. 3 stars
1/14/04 josh mentzer great movie 4 stars
1/07/04 Kim it was great and johnny depp was so sexy i loved it! 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel Great film, based on a true story and that makes it that much better! 5 stars
8/27/03 Mr. Hat One great film. Great acting, great directing, one powerful ending. 5 stars
7/31/03 Samantha Macias I thoght this movie was interesting, and very sad!! 5 stars
5/03/03 sleepy this film made me feel pity for a drug dealer! 5 stars
4/27/03 tyler reiter greatest fucking movie of all time 5 stars
4/17/03 George Jung One of the best biopics of recent memory. 5 stars
2/06/03 123 a shorter, less violent, inferior version of goodfellas 3 stars
1/07/03 val Fucking Awesome 5 stars
12/30/02 Tam Interesting depiction of a life ruined by drugs. 4 stars
12/30/02 Jack Sommersby Blow me! 1 stars
7/26/02 karen goldstein extremely entertaining - johnny depp deserved an oscar for best actor!!!! 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Depp, great but once Barb died boring. Penelope needs fucking English lessons, "hypocrite"? 3 stars
5/13/02 bubba ray dudley must see 5 stars
4/29/02 Andy (Big A) dis was one of the best movies ever big ups to my boy jung and soon you will be free 2015. 5 stars
4/09/02 Butterbean A wonderful movie! Far superior to that overrated Requiem for a Dream 5 stars
4/06/02 Cardo Elins Outstanding 5 stars
3/29/02 Victor Villalba Good with some assumptions 4 stars
2/20/02 luda hoe it was fun. i want to do coke now, but still, it was fun 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Jonny Depp - Great job - Depicted the harsh reality of how fucked up life can be 5 stars
1/29/02 Phil M. Afficianado Erik the Movieman states my views. Depp is terrific and ages realistically in the film. 4 stars
1/01/02 calvin cellars best based on a true story movie ever made 5 stars
12/27/01 Evil Bitchwoman pretty cool movie i guess so u should go see it. Cruz is a mental Slut though 4 stars
9/24/01 Monday Morning Great characters bring this story to life. It's not great but it shore is fun. 4 stars
9/04/01 Alan The Spanish bitch sleeps with everybody and I despise her. 3 stars
8/17/01 Obi Wan Wow! 1 of the best flicks I've seen in this movie tix inflation era! 5 stars
6/02/01 Richard Wright Does nothing to lift it out of a tired genre, overlong and dramatically shallow to boot. 3 stars
5/27/01 Connor Dueck a slightly different look at the drug game 5 stars
5/23/01 Christine It is the best movie ive ever seen!! 5 stars
5/19/01 A Williams I went in there expecting crap, but it was a really excellent movie, i recommend it 4 stars
5/15/01 Misa The movie was actually pretty great, definately not boring like I thought it would be. 4 stars
4/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) An aquired taste...and I suggest everyone acquire it... 4 stars
4/25/01 Todd Very cool, but if he hasn't seen his daughter while in prison, why did she act in the movie 4 stars
4/25/01 Brian After Pacino in "Scarface", all these other drug-lord movies pale by comparison 3 stars
4/23/01 Pete Sweet movie. Go see it. Johnny Depp is the best character actor in America right now. 5 stars
4/23/01 Girl 9 The Depp track record for making decent films sucks, but this one is worth seeing. 4 stars
4/18/01 Joe Awesome! Another movie Depp will be overlooked 5 stars
4/16/01 ChiefAlDog I wanted more explanation of how he avoided his parole officer time and again. 4 stars
4/14/01 Bill B Best I've seen in a long time. PeeWee was great. Tear jerker for any man with a daughter. 5 stars
4/14/01 Clarance A Cross between Trainspotting and Traffic...but BETTER! Fantastic and Powerful!! 5 stars
4/11/01 gabi Says it all--the good and bad of life; Depp incredible; very awsome film 5 stars
4/11/01 Nick A little on the depressing side, but a good film with an interesting comment on life. 4 stars
4/10/01 alanis I think you are very unfair with johnny, he makes an excellent performance, as usual 4 stars
4/10/01 scott awesome 5 stars
4/09/01 The Bomb 69 some cliches but overall an interesting look at a flawed and tragic character 4 stars
4/08/01 poetchuck Engaging story 4 stars
4/07/01 grunter If "Scarface" were a T.V. movie, it'd still have more substance and grit than "Blow" 2 stars
4/07/01 malcolm realest, most sympathetic drug dealer character in a while, maybe ever 5 stars
4/07/01 frankko nothing we haven't seen before. (and not enough paul reubens.) 2 stars
4/07/01 rue the whirl fairly dull and tiresome 3 stars
4/07/01 fishfry Last hour excruciatingly boring. Major disappointment 2 stars
4/06/01 brent young not given away in the previews, this movie was very good. worth a definate look. 5 stars
4/06/01 Megan Uninspired direction, a badly written script, and a horrible performance by Penelope Cruz 2 stars
4/02/01 Marcy Skenderian Per the WGA, it should read "Written by David McKenna and Nick Cassavetes" 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Apr-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Aug-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast