Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.97

Awesome50.23%
Worth A Look: 20.19%
Just Average: 12.21%
Pretty Crappy: 10.8%
Sucks: 6.57%

13 reviews, 135 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Traffic
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Great directing, great ideas ... but no characters."
4 stars

"Traffic" is large in scope, presenting all sides of the drug war, from the users to the law enforcement to the suppliers. The only thing missing are characters we can relate to. Drugs are bad, sure -- so why don't we get to see how they affect people beyond just killing them?

Steven Soderbergh’s “Traffic” is a searing indictment of the so-called “War on Drugs” — a war which, the film says, cannot be won. It’s not a very cheerful prospect, to be sure, and the film’s insistence on keeping us at arm’s length from the characters’ emotions prevents it from being truly great, though the thought-provoking narrative makes it a pretty electrifying experience nonetheless.

Three concurrent storylines are presented, each intriguing and in some way related to the others. Ostensibly the main character is Robert Wakefield (Michael Douglas, finally allowing himself to look middle-aged and fatherly in a rich-guy sort of way), an Ohio judge recently appointed as the U.S. drug czar. His credibility is jeopardized somewhat by his daughter Caroline’s (Erika Christensen) addiction to an array of drugs, which she does with her fellow upper-class private-school snobs (including one played with amusing know-it-all rebelliousness by Topher Grace from TV’s “That ‘70s Show”).

Meanwhile, Mexican police Javier (Benicio Del Toro) and Manolo (Jacob Vargas) are drifting somewhere between mild unethical behavior and outright corruption. (Purely honest law enforcement seems to be a myth in Mexico.) They become involved with Gen. Salazar (Tomas Milian), Mexico’s new equivalent of a “drug czar,” who is intent on destroying the Obregón cartel that runs drugs through Tijuana and into the states. The competing cartel, Juarez, wants the same thing, and Javier — basically an honest man caught in the middle of some very desperate circumstances — tries to play all sides equally.

More meanwhile, San Diego socialite Helena Ayala (Catherine Zeta-Jones) is suffering embarrassment and financial ruin after her successful businessman-husband Carlos (Steven Bauer) is arrested for drug trafficking. He was fingered by Eduardo Ruiz (Miguel Ferrer), who ratted him out as a means of saving himself when DEA agents Montel Gordon (Don Cheadle) and Ray Castro (Luis Guzman) nailed him in a bust. With Ruiz as the only one who can send Carlos Ayala to prison, it falls on Mrs. Ayala to do what she can to stop him, and the DEA guys have him in protective custody just in case.

The characters from the three stories interact occasionally, making the film come together as a whole literally while the theme unites everything figuratively. Wakefield meets Gen. Salazar; Helena Ayala consults with Mexican drug lords; a Mexican assassin is brought into the states to do some dirty work.

It’s an ambitious film with some elements of true greatness. Its massive scope and gray-area “heroes” lend it respectability, as does the fact that all the scenes in Mexico are in Spanish with English subtitles.

It’s full of real events and real situations — but, unfortunately, no real characters. Michael Douglas’s character should be the example of how drugs affect individuals, but his behavior seems rote.

His wife, Catherine Zeta-Jones (who shares not one second of screen time with her real-life spouse, by the way), plays a character in much the same boat. Helena Ayala is in dire straits, and we get some sense of her frustration, but precious little of her emotions. Everything is dehumanized. It could be argued that dehumanization is the effect of drugs (and, indeed, of the “War on Drugs”), but that doesn’t help “Traffic” be any more engaging. As it stands, one is interested to know how things will turn out, but one is rarely put in suspense over the fates of the characters or their predicaments.

Too many characters and plots to develop any emotional connection, which hinders the film’s impact. One of the best-directed films in recent memory, though.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4722&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/04/01 17:28:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell a sharp look at the drug scene told from different points of view 4 stars
6/21/14 Richard Brandt Among Benicio Del Toro's many virtues : He nailed the Mexican accent, which wasn't his own 4 stars
2/20/13 PAUL SHORTT THOUGHT-PROVOKING, BRILLIANTLY MADE, INTELLIGENT THRILLER WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef The best film of 2000. And the best about the ripple effect of drugs ever made. 5 stars
8/25/09 yukers This movie was LAME and way too LONG!!! 1 stars
9/21/08 Samantha Pruitt amazing movie, totally intense! 5 stars
8/20/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini really confusing if you don't pay attention 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Some annoying acting and occasional preachy tone hamper this fine thriller. 4 stars
12/11/05 sweetgrrl1972 By the end you don't care about any of the characters especially the poor rich kids. 1 stars
11/02/05 R.W.Welch Innovative cinematography and standout perf by Del Torro. 4 stars
10/09/05 Agent Sands A brilliantly shot and edited epic. Also really entertaining. I heart Soderbergh. 5 stars
9/08/05 Indrid Cold A textbook example of how to address a complex subject with intelligence and style. 5 stars
6/01/05 jcjs fine stuff 5 stars
2/25/05 Gray I now jackass crack lovers who love this film 1 stars
1/01/05 Daveman A fantastic thriller, entertaining, affecting and compulsively rewatchable. 5 stars
9/25/04 Bucky Buckner Boone Benicio aside, this is too long, too unbelievable and too much CZJ overacting 3 stars
9/23/04 Naka Absolutely stunning from beginning to end. A true modern classic worthy of highest praise. 5 stars
5/02/04 Gobsmack A devastating, shudder-inducing rush. Worthy of the highest praise. B-R-I-L-L-I-A-N-T. 5 stars
4/17/04 ALBERT H. TAYLOR JR. I was engrossed in the movie from start to finish. 5 stars
4/15/04 gordon purcell Soderberg uses several filmstocks and looks to the themes, yet it's clear to follow! Smart! 5 stars
4/14/04 rojo Easy to get involved in this one, great acting. 5 stars
4/05/04 Agent Sands Powerful, realistic, & enjoyable with awesome cast, direction, camerawork, music, & script. 5 stars
6/15/03 rory excellent film.... well done 5 stars
3/04/03 Dr. Bitterpants Liked it 1st viewing, bitter taste 2nd. HATE cliche of poisoned room service - how Dragnet! 3 stars
2/05/03 spacecowboy man it painted a bleak picture for the future of the "war on drugs" 5 stars
11/14/02 Chiendog Amateurish tripe with more plot holes than a slice of swiss cheese. 1 stars
7/31/02 I Can't Swim Worth it only for Benicio, who gave the movie what little soul it had. Hey KMG, show me how 4 stars
7/04/02 KMG THIS MOVIE ROCKS HELL! If you disagree go fuck yourself! 5 stars
4/07/02 stoolie-bird just one of the most important films ever made 5 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo The most overrated film of the '90s...Some good acting aside, this film is a waste 2 stars
3/04/02 Jennifer Birkhead Michael Douglas best player by far; too bad his bride thinks her shit don't stink! 3 stars
3/04/02 Marcia Lartz I didn't even notice Benicio del Toro. Academy is off its rocker! 3 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Only the mexican sub-plot is worth watching. Everything else is crap. 2 stars
2/21/02 Jeff boring as all hell 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Depressing. Some prime acting. 3 stars
2/19/02 srm realistic???? white suburban kids always buy drugs at inner city crack houses. yeah right 4 stars
1/21/02 Spyguy2 Del Toro kicked ass as the Mexican cop...very good, but I heard the original is better 4 stars
1/12/02 hd the worst movie i ever saw i didnt understand 1 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden A Very Good Movie With Great Sub Plots and Acting. 5 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix Del Toro is a weird looking guy, but he sure is a great actor. Excellent movie. 5 stars
8/18/01 LawHog24 The Mexico part (and DelToro) kicks all ass...the US part is a bad USA Networks flick. 3 stars
8/15/01 Dakamus I paid seven dollars to take a two hour nap in my local theater!?! Suck-ass movie! 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Soderbergh helms this jumpy tale with a mastery foer the craft. Great film. 5 stars
8/02/01 G-Man Perfect. Very thought provoking. 5 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Del Toro was great, but the editing made me dizzy 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Definitely overhyped/overrated. Not very exciting. Great documentary though. 4 stars
7/28/01 Adam I thought it was a little dull, seems like a mix of very deep and very shallow messages. 4 stars
7/21/01 Phil M. Afficianado The accolates are well deserved. 5 stars
7/19/01 skye over-rated. good flick. been done. 4 stars
7/17/01 svetlana a good message...but damn does it drag on and on 4 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth Benicio saves this neverending shit-burger 3 stars
7/01/01 Jed overblown, overhyped Miami Vice crime saga. Soderbergh is a hack. 1 stars
6/30/01 Pop will eat itself loved it. although topher grace was fucking annoying. I kept waiting for M.D. to smack him 5 stars
6/21/01 Jim Renwick Over-rated 3 stars
6/19/01 Jake Del Toro only bright spot in this pretentious epic. Soder 1 stars
6/17/01 The Bomb 69 powerful is the best word to describe it 5 stars
6/05/01 Muad'Dib Probably should have taken Best Picture 5 stars
6/04/01 Monday Morning I was mildly disappointed that Catherine didn't take her shirt off. Movie was just average. 3 stars
6/01/01 greensweater Douglas & Zeta are lame. Eric Foreman steals the show. 2 stars
5/24/01 Jason Disappointing, overated coming out Blow beats it by far 3 stars
5/12/01 IM Great, great film....better than the boredom of the 5 hour miniseries 5 stars
4/24/01 Greg No, the comments came from people with pulses 1 stars
4/23/01 Skip Young The 3 comments below are out of touch with reality. 5 stars
4/22/01 Luke Me and my friend chucked fizzo lollies at people the whole time, oh it was very humerous :) 1 stars
4/19/01 Greg Very predictable, just like any other drug movie except no excitement. 1 stars
4/14/01 Bill B Simply the worst. 3 people were asleep in my row alone. 1 stars
4/12/01 Piz Del Toro & company are dizzying and compelling..it gets flat at times tho 4 stars
4/04/01 Hawkeye Gritty, realistic and anything but a "feel good" movie. Go see it! 5 stars
3/27/01 Matthew Bartley Deserved every one of its awards 5 stars
3/25/01 neil bartlett I sat riveted. A job well done. Del Toro deserves his Oscar 5 stars
3/25/01 zeitgeist oh, the futility 5 stars
3/23/01 Alex Benicio del Toro was amazing 5 stars
3/22/01 JB No great but good. Great cast. Cool arrangement of scenes. 3 stars
3/20/01 bjshrink Disappointing. Hedged its bets, then ended up with a sentimental, Hollywood ending. 3 stars
3/17/01 JB How come all the baddies are Mexican or black? How come there are no corrupt US police? 3 stars
3/12/01 viking A film we should all see 5 stars
3/07/01 Mike This guy made Erin Brokavich? 5 stars
3/03/01 Rael One of the most skillfully acted and directed films of recent years. 5 stars
3/03/01 Gini We're losing the drug war; that's a fucking revelation?! 1 stars
3/03/01 Suzz good but predictable 4 stars
3/01/01 manual_overide Loved it!! I live like 10 seconds from where they filmed the drug scenes in Cincinnati!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Fredy Not realistic enough. Where were the hollywood producers sniffing coke... hmmm? 2 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Agreed, one of 2000s best 5 stars
2/19/01 W. Sharif One of the best films of 2000 5 stars
2/17/01 Ken VERY long but VERY good as well. Watch it if you want something to think about. 5 stars
2/13/01 Artist Freak Complex, incisive film about a Gordian knot of an ignored problem. 5 stars
2/12/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Aside from the rather gag-inducing offscreen romance of CZJ & MD, not bad at all. 4 stars
2/12/01 bob buttons this movie fucking sucks way too long, too many subplots that no one understands. fuck it. 2 stars
2/11/01 Julie Loved it.......This movie shows the way it really is. 5 stars
2/11/01 john d(THE DUDE) A pile of shit 1 stars
2/10/01 astrotart Drug war movie tells you how it is without the use of dramatic overkill or happy endings. 4 stars
2/08/01 I Campbell Catch it on cable. Too forula and preachy. Del Toro is the only actor worth mentioning. 2 stars
2/07/01 Johnny Figaro Dash of style can't overcome 2-D characters and plot. In a better year would be ignored. 3 stars
2/07/01 ObiWan I've seen stronger epics. Del Toro, Cheadle were good, but OVERRATED 3 stars
2/06/01 Gordon Lawrie Like a 2 1/2 hour episode of "Miami Vice" nothing new here 2 stars
2/05/01 Bobby Too much hype 2 stars
2/04/01 Stuntman it was freaking awesome 5 stars
2/03/01 Owen Croak A 2.5 hr film ought to make some sort of statement in that time. Traffic doesn't. 2 stars
2/02/01 Kert Gartner Fucking awesome! 5 stars
2/01/01 Patrick Tiffany good good good good 5 stars
1/31/01 R Kramer Everyone needs to see this film. Is the drug war insane or what!!! 4 stars
1/29/01 Matthew Bartley Enthralling, terrific, suspenseful, intelligent, absorbing,thrilling what more do you want? 5 stars
1/28/01 rubber VERY mediocre 3 stars
1/25/01 Blubberbot It had some good parts and some bad parts. I'd rather watch a documentary on the subject. 3 stars
1/23/01 ObiWab Worth the price of a ticket to see Benicio Del Toro and Don Cheadle. The screenplay sucked. 4 stars
1/21/01 Unommon Sense Slept through much of it. No excitement, no suspense,little English.Too much subtitling 2 stars
1/21/01 Evan Price beautifully executed drug drama 5 stars
1/19/01 Marguerite absolutley loved it! Needed another 10 minutes! 5 stars
1/17/01 loser owns 5 stars
1/17/01 Jes Very artistic... 5 stars
1/15/01 Jim Kidd One part of me said it sucked but the other part bitchslapped that side and said it rocked! 5 stars
1/15/01 Silo It really sucks when the daughter dies at the end! 5 stars
1/14/01 Jefferson Darcy Stupid people walking out of the theater say "That was so boring". I almost hit them. 4 stars
1/13/01 orpy mostly great movie; depressing though 4 stars
1/13/01 rob Pretty damn good, but could be better 4 stars
1/12/01 bartv Exciting, engrossing, good acting. CZ Jones was a great villain. 5 stars
1/11/01 tnt Interesting and enjoyable...very real 4 stars
1/11/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble I'm so bored with drug flicks. I'm gonna have to get stoned to sit thru another one. 3 stars
1/10/01 DAVE Time and time again you'll think it's over, but it's far from it. 4 stars
1/10/01 Matt69 Great peformances by the coke head daughter and Benico del toro 5 stars
1/09/01 brian doesn't insult the audience... real people....not one dimensional hollywood characters 5 stars
1/09/01 puckfreak Over-hyped, surely not "Fucking Awesome" but worthy of a "Worth A Look" 4 stars
1/09/01 denise this is a bad ass movie! wonderful on many levels. 5 stars
1/09/01 Kiss My Grits damn best film i've seen in a long long time 5 stars
1/08/01 poetcdh Washed out colors are tedious, CZJ character makes big change from naive to player, how? 3 stars
1/07/01 Robert Goddamned good filmmaking. Exposes the realities of the failed war on drugs. 5 stars
1/07/01 Thor-Leo Too long. Neither engaging nor affecting. Too many characters, most of them poorly realized 3 stars
1/07/01 zak this is a true horror film, becasue it's quite possibly the world we live in 5 stars
1/06/01 Meagan A very realistic look at the drug problem without providing easy answers. 5 stars
1/06/01 frankko the best movie of 2000. 5 stars
1/06/01 Foreman One of the best movies I've ever seen. Everyone & everything is amazing, even Topher Grace! 5 stars
1/05/01 Harlan Pepper I loved everything about this movie. Even the music is cool. 5 stars
1/05/01 Schwartzy Great direction! Brilliant cinematography! 5 stars
12/27/00 Emily This movie is about to blow up like crazy! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jan-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Mar-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast