Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.43

Awesome: 26.61%
Worth A Look32.11%
Just Average: 14.68%
Pretty Crappy: 10.7%
Sucks: 15.9%

12 reviews, 255 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


A.I.: Artificial Intelligence
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Spielberg Actually MADE A Brilliant Kubrick Film"
5 stars

Headline Tragedies. Heartstomping break-ups. The JFK conspiracy. Nothing stirs my emotions as much as a film by Steven Spielberg. Whether it is from my eyes or from the large theater sodas, I’ve probably drained more water watching a Spielberg film than those working the bottom decks of the Titanic. And in the year of 2001 when the combined brain factor of 98% of the movies fails to produce as much intelligence as can be found in the mere title of Spielberg’s latest, its only fitting that he has chosen to realize the final sci-fi vision of his friend and colleague, Stanley Kubrick. Spielberg even goes one step further. He hasn’t just picked up where Kubrick left off. He hasn’t filled in the blanks and taken the words and storyboards of a great filmmaker to mount one last tribute. Steven Spielberg has actually MADE a Stanley Kubrick film.

Not that any film made by Spielberg can be without some of the signature Spielberg touches, but Kubrick’s spirit is present in just about every frame. We’re introduced to a world where the polar icecaps have left many of the major cities underwater and where robotics have advanced way beyond our years. Professor Allan Hobby works for such a corporation that designs worker robots and pleasure models. In a time when people (finally) need a license to conceive a child, due to the now limited resources of the planet, Hobby decides to build a child “mecha” that will love its parents/owners unconditionally.

The screening process for the first test unit turns to Henry and Monica Swinton (Sam Robards and Frances O’Connor), whose only son remains cryogenically frozen until medical science can catch up to his ailment. Monica is quite reluctant to give any of the love she has stored away for her son to the family’s new “toy”, David (Haley Joel Osment), but she is desperate to share her love with someone who can return it, so David becomes a part of the family.

In true Kubrick fashion, the surroundings of the characters from the medical center to their own home, is completely clinical and sanitized (as are usually their emotions), but this homelife turns out to be anything but Norman Rockwell. When misunderstandings turn to near tragedy, Monica has to “let go” of David in what is certain to be one of the most heartbreaking and disturbing scenes of the year.

David then sets off on a quest of self-discovery. Accompanied by the amazing walking/talking teddy bear, Teddy (certain to be the most sought-after wish-we-had-it toy since Robert Zemeckis introduced the Hover Board in Back to the Future 2), and enraptured by the tale of another boy creation, Pinocchio, David sets off to become a real human. After all, if he’s as real as everyone else, then he’s just as worthy to receive someone’s love.

Someone familiar with the creation of love, or the appearance of love, specifically to women, is Gigolo Joe (Jude Law). He’s (or It’s) another “mecha” on the run from the law and scavengers, led by Lord Johnson-Johnson (Brendan Gleeson), who enjoy a Thunderdome-like public execution of “artificiality”, which is as unsettling an answer as you’re going to find to such a debate.

Joe then plays Jiminy Cricket to David, aiding him in his quest for the “Blue Fairy”, the storybook character responsible for Pinocchio’s transformation and here, like 2001’s Monolith, a substitute for God. Joe’s a likable chap, dancing around and complete with a Fonzie-like jukebox in his head, but he’s also one with a dour view on his own existence in a world where the humans are inferior yet treated as the superior and it clashes somewhat with David’s more optimistic take on the world.

Some will, no doubt, point out the obvious similarities between David & Joe and Spielberg & Kubrick. One a cinematic visionary with a childlike innocence lurking behind a mantra of hope for the world in which we live and a second visionary willing to poke his head into the dark corners of human frailty and not necessarily finding all the answers. The fingerprints of both visionaries are stamped all over this creation, however, and it turns into a film lover’s “wish upon a star.”

Amidst all the heavy themes and plot threads being weaved together here, Spielberg knows how to take elements from the classic sci-fi storylines and never make you feel like he’s just throwing darts at a non-existent board. You’ll recognize ideas from Waterworld, Logan’s Run, The Day the Earth Stood Still (Monica “programs” David with a predetermined set of single words), Blade Runner, Night of the Living Dead, D.A.R.Y.L. and certainly Isaac Asimov’s “Bicentennial Man”. He’s also playful enough to deliver some of the landmarks we’ve come to recognize in both director’s productions, just as Kubrick slipped in a copy of 2001 in A Clockwork Orange’s record store. You get points for recognizing the giant moon, a Ferris wheel; a place called “Strangelove’s” and that Teddy talking in a monotonic voice to someone named David.

Kubrick put A.I. on hold for years (after seeing Jurassic Park), as he realized we were on the verge of a new age of computer-enhanced special effects. It may not have taken a visionary to see that, but it did take a master filmmaker to put such a vision on hold until it could be told properly and put into the right hands. The special effects in A.I. are nothing short of extraordinary. You may never trust your eyes again the first time a robot character (in human form) is revealed without a single noticeable edit. Images of half chewed-up robots and Manhattan buried up to its skyscraper roofs are ones you will not likely soon forget.

But like one of the film’s central motifs, where there is technology there are also humans and at the center of all the bright lights and gadgets is young Haley Joel Osment, who may arguably be the greatest child actor in history. It’s enough of a challenge to play all the subtle ticks of a mechanical creation, but to make us believe that and to then gradually make all the transitions necessary from happiness to loss of hope to rage in his pilgrimage to become a real person is an extraordinary achievement. Osment will be on the short list for Best Actor candidates next February. As Spielberg has said many times, without a story, special effects are meaningless. A.I., like many of Spielberg’s films, tries to take what is, in essence, a special effect (David) tries to make him “real” and gets the audience to believe in it (or him).

Equal praise can be given to Jude Law who supplies a playfulness and yet an intriguing menace to Joe. He gets several terrific speeches that may also have him looking at a possible nomination. John Williams' music is used in the same subtle way which it was in Saving Private Ryan. There is more music but never amped up to an operatic level or a recurring theme.

Good or bad, A.I. is a film that will certainly be debated and isn’t it just a treasure to associate the word “debate” with any movie coming out these days? Like a Stanley Kubrick film, it will most likely have to be experienced through multiple viewings to truly appreciate all the complexities lurking behind every celluloid corner. Because audiences are so predisposed to a 1-2-3 style of storytelling (especially from Spielberg), one viewing may do an injustice to convince someone of its power. (It’s Space Odyssey-like climax will likely lose some people.) There are scenes of intense emotional power and quiet poetry. It is creepy, heartbreaking and has numerous surprises. This is a Grimm’s fairy tale without the interference of a Disneyfication. There are discussions of God, family, our place in the world, and most importantly, the need for love.

Technology will improve. Humans will come and go and someday may even cease to exist. But love is the universal emotion. We all want to love something. Whether it is movies, sports, literature, a pet or our fellow man, we all want to be happy and will love anything that makes us so. We’re all searching for someone who can love us back as much as we love them, even if it is for only a single day.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4734&reviewer=198
originally posted: 06/27/01 19:50:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell very good very sad 4 stars
7/25/15 Jim Extremely underrated movie. Not all movies must be short. 5 stars
3/22/15 Anne One of the worst soap operas is better than this! 1 stars
3/09/15 stanley welles an enthralling piece of filmmaking 5 stars
10/08/12 leila wollman human questions without concrete answers, except for the ovtransformational effect of love 5 stars
9/28/11 Joel K. A little too long, and convoluted.... 2 stars
5/09/11 Sam Movie starts off amazing, but the ending is a little stupid... 4 stars
10/28/10 Rolly Hyatt Not a bad movie, but absolutely sad and depressing. As others have said, no happy ending. 4 stars
8/26/10 Bob Sharamatew It is number one on my list as the worst film ever made. Every scene is abysmal. 1 stars
8/22/10 leslie landberg This felt left me feeling angry and cheated. What sentimental tripe. Great premise. 2 stars
7/23/10 Khizer Haley Joel Osment, is the best child actor I have ever seen the movie is best of spilberg 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name Beatifully made, but ultimatlly draining. 4 stars
4/07/10 JBD Mesmerizing film that I keep watching...I'm drawin in every time. 5 stars
12/16/09 John Ko AI is the worst in a long line of simplistic over-wrought melodramas by Spielberg. Awful. 1 stars
9/24/09 george webster I enjoyed the film,but that kid(robot) was so annoying! 4 stars
7/11/09 the dork knight I was pretty pisse that the Teddy Bear didn't even get a "thank you" for all his hard work! 4 stars
5/12/09 Tim So misunderstood. That is no happy ending. Stunning. 5 stars
3/30/09 Nate Amazing movie! very sad, depressing, visually amazing. ending felt added on... but 5 stars
3/05/09 Elaine i liked this film.. but I didn't like the ending! but it worth the watch 3 stars
9/27/08 Samantha Pruitt this was long and boring, but with cool special affects 3 stars
9/04/08 Rachel This movie was so brilliant and so misunderstood. One of my favorite sci-fi films ever. 5 stars
8/31/08 Bored Viewer Dont even bother, I lost two hours of my life 1 stars
5/14/08 PAUL SHORTT A FRUSTRATING AND ULTIMATELY BORING EXPERIENCE 1 stars
3/02/08 ladavies I could not get into this movie, maybe I'll try again some day. 2 stars
1/31/08 Bonny S. I thought it was a good movie, maybe alittle slow. 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason The most boring sci-fi movie ever. Watching grass growing would be more entertaining. 1 stars
6/07/07 lockie Ending Sucks, mecha can't be turned off but destroyed instead!!?? 1 stars
4/20/07 om prakash nice 4 stars
4/15/07 VINAYAK RANJAN Its almost 7 year now to seen this movie, helps me lot in AI lecture classes @ MIT, Purnea 5 stars
3/15/07 johnnyfog VERY uncomfortable to watch. 4 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
1/12/07 Yoda It asks what life is, what love is. Spielberg's finest film. 5 stars
1/02/07 david anthony pretty sad at the very end i cried a lot because it was so sad 5 stars
11/05/06 Chris ok movie not as good as I thought it would be 3 stars
9/27/06 chris f a very good and interesting film i enjoyed it 5 stars
9/23/06 miguel it was pretty good but the at most times depressing 4 stars
9/16/06 ProSneakyD The most unusal but visually astounding sci fi film made, Osments performance was superb. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another future wridden techno obsessed popcorn flick thats watchable, like I, Robot. 3 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Totally pretentious - Thomas was better than Osment 2 stars
5/19/06 MP Bartley An oddity, but one that gets better with repeated viewings. Ending is actually very dark. 4 stars
12/12/05 jordz byron bangis i think dat this film is really just a piece of shit, to gazzette pipol fuck you 4 using me 1 stars
9/24/05 D Buckley Should have ended when he was looking at the Blue Fairy 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack sucks 2 stars
9/01/05 Eden It pretends to be over, then drags on for another 20 mins. This happens about 5 times. Dull 2 stars
8/04/05 Radmill The best movie - HJOsment is the best actor 5 stars
6/14/05 TheOthersFan this movie is so horrendously bad that it achieves a sort of bogus grandeur. 1 stars
6/01/05 A.I Fan The best I've ever seen 5 stars
5/01/05 Littlepurch About 6 different plots - all crap.WHY did Spielberg & Osmend do this!Bear was only gd bit! 1 stars
3/26/05 indrid cold Odd and failed hybrid. Not cold enough to be 2001 or warm enough to be ET. 4 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A filme about the sorce and value of human love. 5 stars
2/01/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old weird film at times it captures you. but by end of the film it comes short on being great 4 stars
1/23/05 Emily David is the enduring symbol and memory of humans. 5 stars
1/03/05 David The ending is very very crappy 2 stars
12/12/04 Nicole I liked it through about the first half. The "concept" in the second half lost me. 4 stars
10/29/04 HL Junk! Can't figure why anyone would like this movie. 2 stars
10/23/04 ODH Don't waste your time on this flick, BORING... 1 stars
9/27/04 Ray The 200 rating 5 stars
8/06/04 bored mom Not a good sign when the toy bear and the gigolo are more interesting than the kid. 1 stars
7/13/04 Daveman The film's weakest moments are when you can sense Spielberg putting his hallmark on it. 4 stars
7/08/04 tatum First half better than second, Spielberg obviously whitewashed Kubrick's ideas 4 stars
6/25/04 M Hate the kid!!!! but loved the movie! 5 stars
6/22/04 Daniel Oh God, just make it stop! 2 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva every time you thought it was going to end it didn't 3 stars
5/28/04 Will the third act was retarded. 4 stars
5/17/04 Jen Dreifort Amazing film. Very well acted 5 stars
5/14/04 Jack Sommersby Pretentious, amorphous Spielberg wank-fest. Law is superb but wasted. 2 stars
5/12/04 Vacha It's an emotional rollercoaster with amazing visuals and storytelling. Suck? NEVER. 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Mankind's inherent evil shown at its best! Really, really fantastic film!!! 5 stars
2/14/04 Y Amazing- very emotional to the point of heartbreak, confusion, terror, and joy. 5 stars
1/07/04 A F Great, Exciting, Astounding! Thats what I would've sad if it didn't suck 2 stars
12/30/03 EDWARD EXTRAORDINARY. AN EMOTIONAL RIDE AND I THINK THE ENDING WAS COOL. 5 stars
12/21/03 Snickerdoodle I would rent this again just to laugh at it. 1 stars
12/13/03 Wladyslaw Madejczyk, programer c++, instructor of japanese m.a. It is one of the best films I've ever seen. It will make your life better. 5 stars
12/12/03 human would you buy a device that can't be stopped once started? 1 stars
12/07/03 john endless stream of never ending boredom with rather superficial themes 1 stars
11/27/03 Joseph The ending wasn't as good as I hoped it would be, but otherwise the film was excellent. 4 stars
10/23/03 Kae Intelligent script, touching movie, HJO great actor! 5 stars
10/18/03 Littlepurch Teddy good. ALL ELSE SHITE!!! Depressing, boring, crap ending. Nothing good to say AT ALL! 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee I usually enjoy confusing movies (a.k.a Vanilla Sky) but this only had good special effects 2 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Two hours too long. Watch for the scene where Osment's face melts from spinach! 1 stars
9/20/03 Darryl The little kid was good, but overall this was a waste of my rental dollar. 2 stars
8/12/03 It's just me I love this movie. Haley Joel Osment is one talented kid. 5 stars
8/10/03 Nicole I had such mixed feelings about this movie. Most was OK, but I detested the entire ending 3 stars
8/07/03 pooface mcgee spielberg is a great director but also a sentimental, pussy old man 3 stars
6/16/03 Daniel i cared more about the teddy bear than about any other character 1 stars
6/13/03 Alice GOD THIS WAS THE WORST MOVIE I EVER SAW.It made me feel sick, seriously ! 1 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant Spielberg has gone off the deep end of being a fucking pussy. This movie sucks ass. 1 stars
5/11/03 WeeZLe A disappointment, given the hype. If it didn't have such expectations, it've been better 3 stars
5/05/03 Dave Very underrated, but still would have been better with Kubrick. Very atmospheric. 5 stars
3/30/03 Jim Gloriously sad saga of a boy and his talking teddy bear and his friend the robotic gigolo 4 stars
3/11/03 GMan Should have ended with him stuck with the blue fairy, waiting for the impossible! 4 stars
2/24/03 Edward Chong Very touching 5 stars
2/23/03 TheOthersFan easily the worst movie ever made. See "minority report" for a GOOD sci-fi film. 1 stars
2/20/03 Lara Tried to watch it again to affirm my opion and it still stands....this one sucks a fat one. 1 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Jose Luis Osbourne - Who gives a Rat's! 1 stars
1/21/03 alex breathtaking 5 stars
12/30/02 Flick Chick see it twice before you judge 5 stars
12/27/02 KOMUNYSTA Should have ended when he jumps off od building into water. Proof of his humanity. 4 stars
12/08/02 Allen Great looking, but average film. Wierdly dark. 3 stars
12/06/02 Kyle I was disappointed in this one. 3 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Another of Spielberg's Masterpieces! 5 stars
10/19/02 Paul Horrible, I thought it would never end. One of the worst ever 1 stars
10/05/02 TheOthersFan WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!!! 1 stars
10/01/02 John McNew Oscar-worthy acting, great special effects and a intricate story make it a hit! 5 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Jeez, I'd have had a better time at the dentist. 1 stars
7/06/02 mac One of the most misunderstood films ever. A fairyale for the 21st century. 5 stars
7/03/02 KMG I have never detested a movie so much. It was dreary, dreadful, and hope-sucking...AI: FU! 1 stars
6/21/02 Bart Not good. Too many endings. 3 stars
6/10/02 Me Underrated. I thought it was great! The kid, as usual, is sensational 5 stars
5/30/02 JesseL Great effects, nothing else. Triple scoops of sentimentality. Mommy mommy. Whine whine... 1 stars
5/20/02 Shrike A more patient, intelligent Sc-Fi film than most 4 stars
5/20/02 siro The most beautiful picture I have ever seen. 5 stars
4/18/02 Unanon It had me, then it lost me, then it had me again... whoops! Nope, It lost me!! 2 stars
4/15/02 Danielle Ophelia I've seen better in the Spielberg/Kubrik corner, but it works. Somehow it works. 4 stars
4/08/02 Keith Good, until hokey ending. Should've stopped when kid got trapped. 4 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto If only Kubrick had done it himself... the visual effects were great 4 stars
3/30/02 Goldman This movie should be given Oscars in all categories. Then, the world should end. 1 stars
3/30/02 Spyguy2 I had a lump in my throat...one of the deepest and most moving sci-fi pics ever 5 stars
3/29/02 othree sad, futile, clean special effects, loved the gigalos' performance 4 stars
3/24/02 Lana Are you kidding? What the fuck was that? 1 stars
3/15/02 JesseL Moving moments, some great scenes, but lost its focus 4 stars
3/13/02 Scott Easily the best sci-fi flick ever. Far underrated. 5 stars
3/08/02 The Bomb 69 Kubrick would have done better but solid nonetheless 4 stars
3/06/02 Alan Smithee While I'm sure the movie would have worked much better with Kubrick directing, it's solid. 4 stars
3/01/02 Chowie It was very good, but too long............................................................. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Way too long. This film needed better editing. 3 stars
2/16/02 Mitja Podgajski Crap 1 stars
1/19/02 Andrew Carden The Kid Is Awesome. 5 stars
1/14/02 Murray Castles The great director sets his sights in a new direction and once again shows his class 5 stars
12/11/01 slappy jacks speilberg certainly captured kubrik's style great work spielberg! 5 stars
11/28/01 Christian Best movie of the year. The end is very special. 5 stars
11/11/01 Jon C. Ericson Thank you Spielberg for turning Kubrick's film into a dark "E.T." 2 stars
10/29/01 titsboobyala i just cant find the words to describe how horribly bad this movie is 1 stars
10/25/01 Spock One either loves or hates this picture. I fall into the former category. HJO was awesome. 5 stars
10/23/01 Tony Leave the theatre when you think it has finished. 1 stars
10/22/01 Peter Richardson Excellent 5 stars
10/14/01 gus acting was great - plot,... a little lacking (to say the least) 3 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The last half hour is such a cop out! Fuck the blue fairy! 2 stars
10/08/01 James k what a pieceof shit...seeing it was a waste of time 1 stars
10/02/01 Matthew Bartley Thought-provoking.Great to admire, difficult to love 4 stars
9/29/01 Mohammad J. Exploitative piece of garbage. I walked out. 1 stars
9/25/01 Jim Renwick Worth a look but just the once. 4 stars
9/25/01 viking not bad. could have been a lot better. 4 stars
9/24/01 Jual Hmmm not sur ...., still..last night I dreamt Teddy talked dirty to me so ..? 4 stars
9/21/01 bornslippy a film with so many false endings. i find myself standing up and had to sit down again. 2 stars
9/17/01 Christina Asdel What the hell was that? 1 stars
9/17/01 Southern Blues Disturbing and unrelentingly sad. awful ending. 4 stars
9/17/01 Murray Castles Great film. 5 stars
9/16/01 Spankachu it was okay but the ending sucked ass 3 stars
9/16/01 The Horror Powerful and visually stunning film, until Spielberg annaly raped me with the ending. 5 stars
9/16/01 Belinda The first half 9/10 then it dies. Worse than total crap! 1 stars
9/15/01 Donald Kennedy Superb film. Message missed in USA, received in Japan, Europe to follow. 5 stars
9/14/01 Garrett Cain Osment was exciting to watch. The bear...scary! 4 stars
9/13/01 Dani Linnell Aliens! They weren't aliens idiots!! They were Robots it says it then!!!!!! 5 stars
9/13/01 matthew smith one of the most original and exciting films of the year 5 stars
9/07/01 ARC There were no aliens dozy! They were robots!! 4 stars
8/28/01 Ealasaid I thought it was absolutely amazing. Can't wait until the dvd comes out^_^ 5 stars
8/26/01 spaceworm What if it had ended with him wishing to the statue? Killer. 5 stars
8/21/01 Erica It was okay, although the process was a little slow. 3 stars
8/20/01 spankachu aliens? where the hell did they come from? 2 stars
8/18/01 VINAYAK RANJAN A TREND SETTER & DIFFERENT ONE TO WATCH. 4 stars
8/16/01 NEC Loved Osment and Law's acting....The Teddy was great! 5 stars
8/15/01 Dakamus What the fuck was with the aliens? What a fucked up ending. 2 stars
8/12/01 adrienne k loved it - teddy was the best actor (i want one!) 5 stars
8/10/01 auraka the biggest load of treacly crap to come oozing out of hollywood in ages - truly HORRID 1 stars
8/05/01 E-Funk Everything was going fine until Chris Rock was shot out of a cannon...I hated this movie. 1 stars
8/03/01 Mortis THIS MOVIE SUCKED SO BAD I MIGHT DIG UP KUBRICK & MAKE HIM WATCH IT!!! 1 stars
8/02/01 Big Peck This movie sucks pecker 1 stars
7/31/01 Vixor I thought it was brilliant. A couple problems- but overall very well made 4 stars
7/31/01 Andrew Domo The film is good emough but i find it inconsistent. It's overly sentimental but it's worth 4 stars
7/30/01 Monster W. Kung Messy plot. Very disturbing at times. It's clear that Kubrick and Spielberg don't mix well. 2 stars
7/30/01 Nicola Noon This film started well but totally lost its way 3 stars
7/30/01 Ro Sho Easily the best movie I have seen in theater this year, Sci-Fi how I like it. 5 stars
7/29/01 Bob jones Lets make a robot who can feel, and then TORTURE it! 2 stars
7/28/01 CDavis Spielberg answers the question: How will his own kids live happy lives after he is gone? 5 stars
7/27/01 Turtle A.I. really does try to be a classic epic, but it fails, although it is pretty good. 4 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Spent the last half hour shaking my head in frustration. Money, talent and pedigree = blah 2 stars
7/21/01 Willamanthea The Story this movie is based on is much more intriguing than this movie. It was too long 4 stars
7/20/01 Tracie Spielberg’s latest gig starts off with an intriguing storyline, then, it plummets. The fir 3 stars
7/19/01 Lucie B Visually stunning and emotinonally gripping. A very memorable picture! 5 stars
7/19/01 Reto Berna A.I. is the best movie I've seen sooo far! 5 stars
7/16/01 chouck A week later and this movie is still pissing me off 3 stars
7/15/01 Christine Good thought provoking idea about humanity, but way too long and drawn out 3 stars
7/15/01 Kellie Bonnici predictable, unenchanting. This movie did not even remotely draw me in-it needed to.. 1 stars
7/15/01 Bueller It's no Eyes Wide Shut, THANKFULLY! This is a thoughtful, disturbing homage to Mr. Kubrick. 4 stars
7/14/01 siro I've seen it twice. This is one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
7/13/01 BrainPan I'm . . . not . . . sure. I'll get back to ya. 4 stars
7/12/01 Hypotheses A Flawed Ambitious Piece, But Great All the Same 4 stars
7/11/01 Nise alltogether a stunning movie, full of insight and wonder 5 stars
7/10/01 Thomas wow! 5 stars
7/10/01 Bud Not for children this film probes all of mans questions about God, humanity, science and lo 4 stars
7/09/01 Anne I've been thinking about it ever since I left the theatre...that has to mean something. 4 stars
7/09/01 sdfk 15 mins too long; narration irritating; heart wrenching otherwise 4 stars
7/09/01 John Roberson Seriously flawed but still better than usual Spielberg 4 stars
7/08/01 Paul Meade If only Kubrick had lived just a while longer, and made this his final film,. 4 stars
7/08/01 Perry Ferrel pretty good,should have ended at the blue fairy =/ 4 stars
7/08/01 Vincent Uhg. Were they writing the script as they went along? 2 stars
7/07/01 Daniel Plainly awesome 5 stars
7/06/01 Doug Jablin Don't pay for it in the theater, wait for it on HBO or better yet, the late late show. 2 stars
7/06/01 bluebeena Laughably bad, cheesy, and slow. The best part was when it was over. 1 stars
7/06/01 Indelusia Spielburg should be taken out back and beaten for wasting my time with this cheese. 1 stars
7/06/01 INCUBATOR You think you know what`s real. Reality doesn`t think so. 5 stars
7/05/01 Darren Shea Those who complain the ending is too sappy are viewing it too literally 5 stars
7/05/01 Fenris Apparently test audiences didn't like the ending, so they tacked on some cheese n' sap 3 stars
7/05/01 Ryan Phillippe gets hit by a car and it rules! Like having sex with a really broke chick satisfying (sort of), but it takes too damn long. 2 stars
7/05/01 Erik North A brilliant movie. If you leave your brains at home, of course, it won't work for you! 5 stars
7/05/01 wintermute Like being raped by Spielberg for 2.5 hours 1 stars
7/04/01 Mongolian Beef I saw this movie bone sober and I hated it. Saw it again drunk and i liked it. 5 stars
7/04/01 gromm It had the potential to be a great movie, but Spielburg used his saccharine touch on it. 3 stars
7/04/01 E Thought provoking and emotionally powerful. Great visual FX. 5 stars
7/03/01 sexx ed Absolutely unforgettable, very Kubrickian. Don't listen to the cynics, the ending was bold 5 stars
7/03/01 dr bernie the words fucking awesome aren't very fitting but it's a great movie. 5 stars
7/03/01 jim dyer required comments is stupid really really 4 stars
7/03/01 Triumph, the Insult Comic The ending kicked ass! you people need to get a clue 5 stars
7/03/01 Rich Cirivilleri It's comforting to know that the L.L. Bean catalog will survive into the future. 4 stars
7/02/01 Ricky Tried too hard with the story, but visuals were top notch. 3 stars
7/02/01 jhodgins I through I have seen everything, but this movie was the worst ever. 1 stars
7/02/01 Elladan An ending that will leave you saying, "What the fuck was Spielberg snorting?!" 3 stars
7/02/01 DisappointmentThy NameIs It should have ended submerged. See it to say you have and decide on your own 3 stars
7/02/01 The Stuff Some great moments but overall average. Effects and acting all great. 3 stars
7/02/01 Chris I could have produced a better ending... 4 stars
7/02/01 Larry McMullen facinating but unfullfilling. 4 stars
7/02/01 Tara ruined my weekend 1 stars
7/02/01 Hotaine The ending was actually Kubrick's idea from the beginning! 5 stars
7/02/01 Stephanie Well acted, make you think movie. Message important. 4 stars
7/02/01 DrLauraIsABitch (doo dah, doo dah) Pinochio meets Clockwork Orange. Worth every penny of admission. 5 stars
7/02/01 Stephanie great performances by the cast 5 stars
7/02/01 ajay when you think it should be over, just leave. 2 stars
7/02/01 puckfreak Lame, had potetial, but the end sucked. 2 stars
7/02/01 Greyjack Great acting, interesting film, almost universally questionable ending keeps it from 5stars 4 stars
7/02/01 Quarath Great movie. Definently recommend it. 4 stars
7/01/01 parkallan Interesting idea, but rather dark depressing, made me want to watch something really funny. 3 stars
7/01/01 Thor-Leo Muddled, incoherent. Spielberg should be exiled. 1 stars
7/01/01 Suzl4 Hmmm, I'm not sure what to say...maybe, ODD!! 3 stars
7/01/01 beast dissapointing 1 stars
7/01/01 Krystal Enjoyed it, very thought-provoking 4 stars
7/01/01 Human Shield Leave at the 2 hour mark and it will be fine. Takes the Misson 2 Mars way out. 3 stars
7/01/01 Dave Sweeney Flawed movie that raises some interesting issues 4 stars
7/01/01 mahone Good. Better than the usual Spielberg crap. 4 stars
7/01/01 Michael Browne Spielberg, won't you please make movies more often? And Haley: brav-fucking-o! Incredible 5 stars
7/01/01 John The best film of the past 5 years, easily... A misunderstood masterpiece! 5 stars
7/01/01 Vance Special, Wonderous & Tear-Jerking. This is destined to be a classic! 5 stars
7/01/01 Matt WORST MOVIE EVER.....just go see it to see what a bad movie really is 1 stars
6/30/01 Roy Smith 3 stories: 1st one - blah, 2nd one - good, 3rd - totally stupid. Ruins the movie 2 stars
6/30/01 tigerlette young bot stalker! 1 stars
6/30/01 MaryAnn I wanted Spielberg and got Kubrick...bad Kubrick. Bad mix of ET, Mad Max & Clockwork Orange 1 stars
6/30/01 Gay Tooth Fairy This was an okay movie. Some of the visuals and effects were fucking crazy. Acting!!! !!! 3 stars
6/30/01 Carly sporadically good, but the schmaltzy ending nearly ruins the rest. law is great. 3 stars
6/30/01 Geebo Is there a 13-year-old who can act better? What's that? There isn't? I thought so. 5 stars
6/30/01 Fuck Hollywood I LOVE YOU A.I. has some good shit in it. But not a great movie. 4 stars
6/29/01 toulouse-laurtrec wonderful, one of the true masterpieces of the last ten years 5 stars
6/29/01 ERIC SHADRACK Un-fucking-believably great 5 stars
6/29/01 jurisenpai One of the most amazing films ever made 5 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Not Kubrick, but still brilliant 5 stars
6/14/01 Korey Calmettes Groovy Baby 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Sep-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast