Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.72

Awesome: 19.63%
Worth A Look: 15.34%
Just Average: 17.79%
Pretty Crappy: 11.66%
Sucks35.58%

6 reviews, 127 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jason X
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Jason in space is a little funnier than 'Pigs in Space.'"
3 stars

Consider now "Jason X," the long-awaited sequel to Spike Lee's "Malcolm X," this time biographing the militant Muslim's even more unreasonable brother.

I am kidding, of course. No one could be more unreasonable than Malcolm X.

In truth, "Jason X" is "Friday the 13th Part 10," the 10th installment in the unending series of slasher films regarding one Jason Voorhees and his peculiar tendencies toward murder and antisocial behavior.

Part nine, which was called "Jason Goes to Hell" with the optimistic but false subtitle "The Final Friday," ended with Jason being dragged down to the Hades by what appeared to be Freddy Krueger. This occurred after much elaborate explanation as to why Jason had not been successfully killed before, and how it could actually, finally be accomplished. Several people went to a lot of effort to arrange the situation properly so that Jason's death would, indeed, be the end of things.

Imagine their disappointment, then, to find that in "Jason X," he is alive and well, none the worse for having spent some time in the realm of Lucifer. In fact, he seems positively invigorated. If I were the blood relative who killed him with a special knife in Part 9, I would be very angry to see him up and running around now.

Anyway, Part 10 skips the part where Jason comes back to life, the filmmakers apparently realizing that 1) no explanation would be plausible and 2) it doesn't matter. It is the year 2010, approximately, and Jason is being kept alive and studied by some scientists who are understandably impressed by his regenerative powers and seeming immortality. A hot young scientist named Rowan (Lexa Doig) warns them to simply destroy Jason before he breaks free and kills them all. They ignore her warning, and Jason immediately breaks free and kills them all.

Before he can kill her, though, Rowan leads him into a cryogenics chamber, where Jason and Rowan are both frozen solid. Next thing you know, it's 2455, and a group of science students on a field trip (I'm not kidding) stumble across the Crystal Lake Research Facility and the two Popsicles.

Let us discuss the teens of the future. Neither time nor evolution has diminished their libido nor their dim-wittedness; if anything, they are hornier and stupider. They are not camping by lakes anymore, what with Earth being uninhabitable. Instead, they are conducting research -- not in white lab coats, like real scientists, but in trashy teen clothing. Essentially, all we've done in 400 years is move from a summer camp to a spaceship laboratory.

Also, we've made some pretty life-like robots, including the fetching Kay-Em 14 (Lisa Ryder), who will prove to be Jason's most formidable opponent yet. But we are getting ahead of ourselves, because Jason and Rowan are still frozen.

Rowan gets thawed and warns everyone on the spaceship not to thaw Jason, because he will just kill them all. Her warnings go unheeded, Jason gets thawed, and he kills them all. The end.

OK, OK. The students' teacher, Professor Lowe (Jonathan Potts), wants to revive Jason and sell him on some kind of black market where unfrozen people from centuries ago are a hot commodity. (Apparently, once you've been frozen a few centuries, you become community property, free to be bought and sold by anyone who happens to stumble across you. The laws of the future are vague on the matter.) Professor Lowe is an amusing character in that his dialogue is limited to famous last words. He only says things like, "I'm sure everything will be fine" and "Finally, we can relax" and "There's no way Jason can get in here and cut off my head."

So Jason wakes up, and the big, dumb animal's as cranky as ever. Honestly, the guy is like Godzilla: If you'd just let him SLEEP, he WOULDN'T KILL YOU. Geez, you people!

"Jason X" continues the "Friday the 13th" tradition of introducing characters who are so loathsome we wish they would die, and then killing them. Among the characters are people with the names Crutch, Kicker, Condor, Kinsa, Dallas and Geko. You get the feeling they were just thinking of words and yelling them at people. I expected to hear, "Badger! Sofa! Get in here! Bring Stuffing and Bookend with you!"

We learn that Jason was captured and executed in 2008, after having killed "more than 200" people. Actually, in the first nine movies, which span a period of about 15 years, he kills 133 people. It's almost another 15 years before 2008, so either he slowed down his killing quite a bit, or else the person who said "more than 200" was not giving him the full credit he deserved. The number should be closer to 300, if not higher.

This is by far the most technically proficient movie in the series. It is not as hatefully grotesque as Part 9, and the screenplay shows evidence of having undergone some rewriting (as opposed to the previous movies, where they just filmed the first draft).

Still, you have to wonder what the point is anymore. They've given up on being scary or suspenseful -- seriously, "Jason X" doesn't even really try. And it's not self-referential enough to be satirical. So what is it? It's a movie where a guy in space kills some people. It's "Friday the 13th Part 10." What did you expect it to be?

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4747&reviewer=247
originally posted: 04/26/02 15:20:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/25/17 Langano Possibly the worst movie ever made. 1 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell jason in space pretty cool 3 stars
9/02/14 Doug Alien if it were written by a moron 1 stars
11/28/12 Ricky Where is the fucking blood? 1 stars
1/21/10 art BY RIGHTS THEY SHOULD HAVE STOPPED AT PART TWO! 1 stars
11/29/09 art the first FRIDAY and THE SECOND WERE THE BEST,THE REST HOWEVER SUCKED! 1 stars
11/26/08 PAUL SHORTT NEVER MANAGES TO GENERATE A SINGLE THREAT OF SUSPENSE 1 stars
11/05/08 stevieg actually quite fun 4 stars
8/14/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm It was funny at first then it just got retarded. Skip it 1 stars
8/02/08 Shaun Wallner Great Horror film!! Kept me on the edge of my seat 5 stars
6/11/08 Eric "Whats going on?" "Jason FUCKING VORHEES is what's going on!" 4 stars
4/15/08 art PUT AN X ON THIS MOVIE 1 stars
9/14/07 dude bad beyond belief 1 stars
4/29/07 Austin Wertman Lame.Stupid.Pointless 1 stars
3/20/07 man bad movie 1 stars
2/09/07 MP Bartley Slick. Not scary. Kinda pointless 3 stars
1/27/07 mets1986 Best Friday in awhile..... 5 stars
11/23/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
11/01/06 JM Synth Why are people complaining? It's a FT13 movie did they expect it to be smart? 3 stars
9/28/06 Jayson S The Android Terminatrix was awesome!! 4 stars
8/08/06 Doreen I definitely think the Producers were on drugs when making this film. NOT GOOD! 2 stars
7/23/06 Quazar best movie ever made 5 stars
1/16/06 Anthony Feor Jason in space, whats next another sequel 1 stars
11/23/05 cr visual effects good and few cool scenes other than that it stunk 1 stars
10/25/05 tony No Fucking Good! 1 stars
10/13/05 Darren O The Crystal Lake sequence is merely a reminder of how the series has declined. 1 stars
8/30/05 ES Hilarious, no where near scary but pretty cool 4 stars
8/29/05 Tom Burns An entertaining and very funny entry into the "Friday the 13th" series. Loved it! 5 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot Who knew the producers saw Leprecaun 4...Hilariously inept 1 stars
7/13/05 Brandy Harrington Awful. 1 stars
5/26/05 tony did they want people to hate these movies or are the producers on drugs??? 1 stars
5/14/05 Indrid Cold Given the ludicrous premise, it's a major acheivement that it doesn't completely suck. 3 stars
3/29/05 Mr. Majestyk Fuck you. I like it. 5 stars
2/24/05 ELI they only impale people. Need more interesting deaths... Oh yeah! the rest is shit. 1 stars
12/04/04 K. Sear It's really time to let it go. 1 stars
11/13/04 X $ % & ! Truly terrible. 1 stars
7/22/04 American Slasher Goddess The highlight was the robot fighting Jason, other then that, it's total and complete crap. 1 stars
7/21/04 magaafi the sleeping bag scene was its saviour...but it just couldn't b saved 1 stars
7/05/04 Littlepurch Wow this was really funny! That sleeping bag stuff had me in hysterics.Too many deaths tho! 4 stars
7/02/04 Peter Smit this one just plain sucks... it really does 1 stars
6/18/04 J Wow this is CRAP! 1 stars
6/08/04 paul bee awesome 5 stars
6/04/04 Stab Wounds Holy hell, what were the filmmakers thinking??? 1 stars
5/10/04 Croweater yes the sleeping bag scene is very funny...the films highlight. 2 stars
3/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Total and utter crap. 1 stars
3/28/04 true review - correct review everytime terrible movie, worst of the series, worst than jason goes to hell if thats possible 1 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern The worst one out of the entire FRIDAY THE 13TH series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/08/04 Whatevr The rating says it all. 1 stars
2/05/04 c.r It had pretty cool death scenes, not enough fear! 2 stars
1/31/04 mushroom Fuck you Jason Rules! 4 stars
1/23/04 Vinnie The sleeping bag death scene was Hilarious!!! 2 stars
1/06/04 George CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP 1 stars
12/30/03 Versin.1 wow 5 stars
12/08/03 Samuel I can tolerate to watch it, but its not scary or suspensful..sort of stupid! 3 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess The worst of the series. Ultra-lame. 1 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee I first saw this movie at 2:00 in the morning, and it kept me wide awake and entertained! 5 stars
10/15/03 Erik Van Sant A refreshing improvement over the last one. Miss the camp atmosphere, but it was funny. 4 stars
10/07/03 Double G Ya I can rate twice! 1 stars
9/02/03 Charles Tatum Really original, if you've never seen "Aliens" 2 stars
9/01/03 Gray would have taken effort for it to have been any worse 1 stars
8/29/03 Double G not scary, totally funny but I hated it!!!!! 1 stars
8/29/03 DARREN THE SERIES HAS GONE FROM GREAT HEIGHTS TO THIS LOW POINT OF DRIVEL. 2 stars
8/26/03 cosme terrazas i thought that this movie really sucks cock. 1 stars
8/23/03 Bob Dope it suck dog biscits the first jason movie were over 100 times better the this piece of carp 1 stars
8/20/03 chris martinez it was a good movie better than the other ones 4 stars
8/18/03 Jeremy Schultz It was TIGHT 5 stars
8/18/03 Patherat This film was one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune to pay money to watch 1 stars
8/18/03 demon882 tha movie was f**king gay it sucked 1 stars
8/17/03 stephanie scary as hell 5 stars
8/17/03 demon882 I think tha movie sucked it was f***ing gay 1 stars
8/17/03 Ross Mcalpin It was cool 5 stars
8/13/03 victor the movie is the best ever 5 stars
8/11/03 Troy Humphrey kick ass 5 stars
8/11/03 humail4u this is the best and horror movie of my life 5 stars
8/09/03 kayla i love jason he is cute and da bomb and i love horror movies with jason in it 5 stars
8/08/03 paulcorrell it was good and scary 4 stars
8/06/03 REIN I KINDA SUCKED COMPARED 2 THE OTHER MOVIES 2 stars
8/05/03 skydiver20032004 it was good...and the ones who thinks jason is ded...no jason never fu***** dies 5 stars
8/05/03 Erica The movie was somewhat good and dumb. 4 stars
7/28/03 Brian Moudry Best movie ever!!! 5 stars
7/28/03 Brian Moudry The movie kept me on the edge of my seat!!! 5 stars
7/23/03 M R D It was good but the ending sucked hope freedyvsjason is better 5 stars
7/21/03 Double G He finally died, he finally died, HE FINALLY DIED!!! Party at Crystal Lake!!! 1 stars
6/14/03 Jerry ***** 5 stars
6/13/03 Alice Jason X sucked big time 1 stars
6/03/03 Mike This and Jason Goes to Hell are the only good friday movies. 5 stars
5/21/03 Andrew Carden OK Effects, Hodder Is Great...but Overblown and Stupid Overall. 2 stars
5/19/03 Billy In space, no can here you scream 5 stars
5/11/03 Jareth It rips off a scene from what used to be the shittest film in the series. Fuck! That's bad! 1 stars
5/03/03 leon %%0qwe PLEASE MAKE IT STOP! I HOP FREEDY KRUGER ANNIALATES HIM IN JASON V FREEDY 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Who in the hell ever called it a "film?" Pretty amusing film. ** 3 stars
4/05/03 Dave The most pathetic of all slasher franchises reaches new lows. 1 stars
3/11/03 Tommy Linds Jason X is a piss poor effort. And to call it a film?? 1 stars
1/01/03 Chowie pppfffttt 2 stars
11/24/02 Jake Let's go in this dark room alone brain dead fools deserve to die 1 stars
10/31/02 klowns This movie ruins the friday the 13th movies. : ( lets pretend Jason X was never evented. 1 stars
10/17/02 Nevz Heeey wanna beeer? 3 stars
10/01/02 Jiz "Where is he?" Check the cameras. "Where'd he go?" Turn on the lights. Fucking retards. 1 stars
8/23/02 Nick If you are stupid, watch this movie. 2 stars
8/15/02 Shaun they must have had too much fun making it 3 stars
8/09/02 Tyner this fucking series has reached an all-time low 1 stars
7/13/02 HA AH this was so stupid, i mean jason in space? 1 stars
6/23/02 Joe This movie was great! I dont care what anyone else says!!! 5 stars
6/18/02 Brandon What a come back!! Jason Lives!! 5 stars
6/12/02 The Vegetarian Cannibal Futuristic vision of male-female relationships is as scary as Jason. What a snotfest! 1 stars
5/10/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I'm a fan of horror/slasher flicks, but I was infinitely disappointed they put him in space 2 stars
5/09/02 Film Guy I was cursing myself for even paying money for this shit. I would rather watch Halloween 6 1 stars
4/29/02 Banky Edwards Heh, the sleeping bag murder scene was worth my 8 bucks!! Plus I called half of the lines!! 4 stars
4/29/02 Janx Who said this was good? It sucks! More of the same shit, but what I expected 2 stars
4/29/02 Foggy B Not Campy Enough, Not Scary Enough 2 stars
4/29/02 Nick2k stupid/funny ass movie. but i'm buying the dvd when its out just for the 'sleeping bags'... 3 stars
4/28/02 Rampage Don't waste your money on this crap-fest. Jason in space? WTH?!? 1 stars
4/28/02 strider3700 It's a slasher flick people. Go to mock it not be scared and you'll love it 3 stars
4/28/02 Chris This film was absolute crap. They need to hire some writers with talent! 1 stars
4/27/02 Spyguy2 In the mood for a big dumb horror movie that's funny, cheesy, and over-the-top? This is it 4 stars
4/27/02 TimmyTomorrow Fun was had by all!!! 5 stars
4/26/02 esfse Fuck this crap! This shit sucks! 1 stars
4/26/02 Farty Being sodomized by a truck driver would be better than this film 1 stars
4/26/02 James Kick ass! Big improvement over Jason Goes To Hell. 5 stars
4/26/02 Julian Awesome! 5 stars
4/24/02 Roy Smith Remarkably well written/acted - did I say that? Who expected it to be this good?!? 5 stars
4/23/02 masin wolliams hot diggity damn! Jason is back! who needs a plot?!?! 5 stars
4/23/02 Wade Awesome movie!! Great kills and just plain fun. 5 stars
4/23/02 wintermute Holy Shit this movie was bad - I can easily see why it has been on the shelf for 2 years! 1 stars
4/21/02 NeuroManson Found it online a week early, some funny stuff, but don't expect MacBeth either... 3 stars
4/01/02 lauren mccreight the best of the bunch!! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Aug-2002


Directed by
  James Isaac

Written by
  Todd Farmer

Cast
  Kane Hodder
  Lexa Doig
  Lisa Ryder
  Jonathon Potts
  Melyssa Ade
  David Cronenberg



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast