Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.53

Awesome44.33%
Worth A Look: 23.71%
Just Average: 1.03%
Pretty Crappy: 2.06%
Sucks: 28.87%

4 reviews, 73 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fraud by Jay Seaver

Their Finest by Jay Seaver

Tommy's Honour by Jay Seaver

Colossal by Peter Sobczynski

Fate of the Furious, The by Peter Sobczynski

68 Kill by Jay Seaver

Inhumanwich! by Jack Sommersby

Life (2017) by Jay Seaver

Going in Style (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Void, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Gummo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by JonnyAngel

"Why?"
1 stars

This is a film that really didn't need to be made, it shouldn't have been made. I can't believe that someone with the money and resources to make a movie would actually waste it on a project like this.

Gummo is easily one of the worst movies ever. I won't go into the plot, because there isn't one. There's no real acting either. It's just some "different" looking people doing stuff. Stuff that includes: killing cats, putting electrical tape on nipples, riding bikes, paying to have sex with retards, talking about nothing, getting drunk, confiding in midgets, and much more.

There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever. The whole thing has a feeling of sickness to it.

If you still think you're gonna like Gummo, you probably will.

Such trash it boggles the mind. 0 stars rounded up to 1.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=475&reviewer=89
originally posted: 05/26/99 17:36:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/22/14 Mark Gummo's one of the best films I've seen: powerful, uncompromising, ultimately heartbreaking 5 stars
1/10/12 Samson If you do not see the chaotic beauty in Gummo, you and I will never agree on anything. 5 stars
8/24/11 louise what a load of crap 1 stars
1/22/11 PAUL SHORTT ABYSMAL AND PLOTLESS 1 stars
12/02/10 Colton Bose A brilliant debut from one of the only true geniuses at work in modern cinema. 5 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Pseudo documentary about inbread mutants in Ohio. 4 stars
5/04/10 J There's an in-between of Hollywood films and this crap..Shocking doesn't auto. mean good 1 stars
3/19/10 dancing lizard lasting trauma effects feeling/being lost, forgotten, dirty, w/o direction 4 stars
3/06/10 SmoothEdgy Appease your shadow! Watch this film! 5 stars
2/18/10 Dave Schniedberg Harmony korine is an aboslute moron. meaningless art. infer all you want, its accidental. 1 stars
11/03/09 a random girl one of the weirdest and most interesting movies i've seen. 0.o 4 stars
4/19/09 belike This movie reminds me of blue velvet. 4 stars
4/19/09 mr.mike Strangely fascinating but the endless parade of oddballs eventually becomes tiresome. 3 stars
4/01/09 Anonymous. i was surprised i liked this... 4 stars
11/30/08 Chunga not enough stars to rate.best movie ever !!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/01/08 Tiffiny This movie, although disturbing, was amazing. Gods forgotten children. The realism of life. 5 stars
6/13/07 Sugarfoot Offensive not because of its content but because of it's unwatchability factor. 1 stars
1/22/07 buckwheat korine nurtures it out of the womb and feeds it bacon. he weeps for the bastard child. 5 stars
8/26/06 M. Mirliss A buffet of memorable scenes a unique and brilliant cinematic voice of our time. 5 stars
5/31/06 molly People aren't seeing the point of this film. It shows reality and uniquness. 5 stars
5/25/06 andrew great movie should be a sequel 5 stars
12/17/05 Jintan Mental Syrup of Ipecac. 1 stars
6/10/05 peroxide harm is genius 5 stars
4/04/05 EclecticEnnui I love it. 4 stars
1/02/05 Chris This movie is so self important and shallow not to mention bad that its funny 1 stars
11/28/04 Ur Reviewer Sux A marvelous piece of art. To understand itn 5 stars
10/26/04 Jon It's just some fucking NYC kid's false perception of what middle America is like. 1 stars
10/08/04 Zach Good film, takes a brain and open mind to enjoy! 5 stars
8/17/04 Gabriel saw this movie high, thought it still sucked. 2 stars
8/11/04 safri 'break(ing) the waves & dance(r) in the dark-rock on harmony! 5 stars
7/25/04 Christopher Moore Love it or hate it, it's not about Xenia, Ohio. A culmination of all small towns. 4 stars
6/21/04 neubauten Harmony Korine is a no talent turd and people who think he's deep are so fucking deluded 1 stars
4/19/04 coreyhaim I wouldn't even give it one star if I wasn't being FORCED! This movie is ass! 1 stars
4/18/04 Jack Sommersby Like Korine's-written "Kids", it confuses grittiness with "truth". 1 stars
2/25/04 Agadil Truly and deeply one of the best films I have ever seen. Amazing. 5 stars
11/24/02 heather go beyound the boundries. god dammit. 5 stars
11/17/02 alex aeQea ariumn humans rule 5 stars
10/07/02 chris listen to the director's comments on the dvd...you'll at least understand what he's doing 5 stars
9/30/02 James Superb originality, korine's off at a great start 5 stars
9/27/02 division_joy harmony korine should be dismembered and burned for this shit 1 stars
5/29/02 JD without a doubt, the absolute worst movie ever made. Korine is a worthless sack of shit. 1 stars
4/04/02 John Freedom The movie is very close to the experience of my childhood. I grew up in a place like that. 5 stars
3/10/02 Brad Streep This film makes my nippples HARD! I LOVE IT! 5 stars
12/02/01 Caiphn Well I love my little rooster and my rooster loves me 5 stars
11/15/01 Rufus McGunner GAG! Total and complete Horseshit! 1 stars
9/23/01 Elgyn I never get tired of this movie. A classic. 5 stars
9/11/01 Rob Banfitch a unique movie that defies convention and holds you the whole way through 5 stars
5/09/01 Ro Disturbing and brilliant 4 stars
4/26/01 WhiteGutterTrash This Movie was a sick and evil joy ride...!!! 5 stars
4/07/01 Toktela Finally some originality 5 stars
2/26/01 perverted pixie Ugly, beautiful...Maltin opinions are dinosaur. Haters of this film are voidoids... 5 stars
2/24/01 Rob Banfitch a mishmash of erratic genius 5 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Ugggggggh 1 stars
11/14/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr disturbing with a few amusing parts 2 stars
10/24/00 Jacob Smith One of the most important film's of our time. A piece of pure mastery. 5 stars
10/15/00 fm hmmmmm..... 4 stars
8/03/00 daymia kelley alive, dynamic, different stab at white trash rural life. 5 stars
7/25/00 Basil Sooo weird I just had to go out and buy it. 5 stars
12/27/99 Bigs Obvious raw talent 5 stars
11/05/99 will an interesting trip that goes nowhere but the scenery is nice. pretty nifty. 4 stars
10/24/99 kim Had my best laugh of the week! The last line of Jonny Angel's review. Wonderful and apt! 1 stars
10/21/99 Annah Integrity all the way 5 stars
9/16/99 strike Nothing happens, but still a strangely intruiging piece of Americana. 4 stars
7/13/99 machine disturbing but very cool 5 stars
7/02/99 Arlene childishly sadistic - moron with a camera 1 stars
6/19/99 mr. peepers You say potato, I say genius.... 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson My god this movie is like two bags of shit! 1 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Whipping dead cats is good clean fun. 5 stars
12/08/98 Shadow Raider Don't waste your last moment on this shit. Pretentious trash for everybody! 1 stars
11/21/98 Miss Elaineous Awesome, the funniest movie I've seen in a long time ! 5 stars
10/31/98 Bad Kosh If you watch that shit, don't say I didn't warn you, 'cuz it sucks crap. 1 stars
8/31/98 Harrison Long Let my suffering be a warning to you, do not waste a moment of you life on this shit 1 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Korine is a hack. A no talent. Pretentious shit. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Oct-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast