Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.3

Awesome: 14.97%
Worth A Look: 11.56%
Just Average: 10.88%
Pretty Crappy: 13.61%
Sucks48.98%

6 reviews, 111 user ratings



Scooby-Doo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Someday, Freddie Prinze Jr. will appear in a good movie. But not today."
2 stars

Scrappy-Doo is in this movie, too. He urinates on Daphne. In another scene, Scooby and Shaggy have a belching contest that regresses into a flatulence contest.

Now, why were you thinking of watching this? Nostalgia, was it? Or were you hoping the film would mock the TV series, the way the "Charlie's Angels" movie did? In either case, you lose. The film imitates many ideas from the cartoon without capturing any of the spirit, and it is only occasionally self-aware enough to kid itself.

I frankly don't know what the concept was here, except to appeal to little children. It does that, I'm sure, with lowbrow humor, simple jokes and a plot so convoluted that only kids could forgive its not making sense.

It begins with the Scooby gang breaking up for nebulous reasons. Nerdy Velma (Linda Cardellini) is upset because Fred (Freddie Prinze Jr.) always takes credit for her ideas that help catch the bad guys; beyond that, there is not much apparent reason for the split. Fred goes on the lecture circuit, Daphne (Sarah Michelle Gellar) takes up martial arts, Velma does nerdy science stuff, and Shaggy (Matthew Lillard) and Scooby (voice of Scott Innes) head to the beach to be slackers.

They are all reunited within five movie minutes, each amateur sleuth having been separately invited to pursue a mystery at an amusement park called Spooky Island. The owner, Mondavarious (Rowan Atkinson), is worried because teens are leaving the island as mindless zombies, something apparently having influenced them during their stay.

Producing a live-action version of a cartoon puts it into reality, which forces you to ask questions that can go ignored when you're watching animation. Why do Scooby and Shaggy get so excited about Scooby Snacks, for example, when they can apparently be purchased at any grocery store? And why are they called Scooby Snacks? Was the dog named after the snack, or did Scooby's ghost-catching exploits become so famous that they named a snack after him? (In that case, he should have a free lifetime supply anyway.)

And you'd think they stop being scared of ghosts after a while, considering they turn out to be imposters 100 percent of the time.

And let's not forget something else: Scooby-Doo is a TALKING DOG.

Not to be a spoil-sport, but if you're going to make a movie in which everyone talks and acts like cartoon characters, why not just make a cartoon? Movies like this have a strong smell of "stunt" about them, like someone thought it would be funny to find real-life actors who look like beloved cartoon figures, and then didn't think much beyond that point.

As much as I have never enjoyed a Matthew Lillard performance in anything, I have to admit he's a good Shaggy. He captures the voice and the body movements perfectly, and you'd never know most of his acting was opposite empty air (Scooby having been inserted later, of course). Linda Cardellini is also somewhat interesting as Velma, and Rowan Atkinson is amusing in virtually anything.

Meanwhile, as much as I love Sarah Michelle Gellar as Buffy (you know, the vampire slayer), she's pretty bland as Daphne. Ditto her boyfriend, Mr. Prinze Jr., who is, surprise surprise, a waste of space as Fred.

This movie is not for people who grew up watching "Scooby-Doo" cartoons in the '70s and '80s. It will not entertain them, unless they are still the same age they were then. If this movie is for anybody -- and that is open for debate -- it is for young children. Their parents would do well to cram earplugs in their ears and put pillowcases over their heads for 87 minutes.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4824&reviewer=247
originally posted: 06/13/02 16:49:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

4/13/17 Susan Denise Nymm The Scooby Movie didn't break me. Having Scrappy be evil broke me. Some of us like him! 1 stars
10/29/09 wow im high this movie is aweful when your high... why is scrappy doo evil?? i mean i hate em. 1 stars
10/19/09 Barker What happened to Velmas Breasts?!?! That was Sarah M Geller?!?!?! Horrible acting/script/pr 2 stars
8/12/09 Jeff Wilder Scooby Doo run run away from this awful movie! 1 stars
12/04/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
10/14/08 PAUL SHORTT COMPLETE LACK OF ORIGINALITY, CLEVERNESS OR EVEN VISIBLE EFFORT 1 stars
9/11/07 Steph Loved It!!! Dudes don't be jealous that your not on tv 5 stars
6/18/07 ian strange I absolutely hated it. 1 stars
4/12/07 David Pollastrini Never was a big scooby fan 3 stars
2/09/07 Joe Matthew Lillard's got Shaggy pretty much nailed, but that's the only bright spot here. 1 stars
9/30/06 zaid-ur-rahman rahman 1 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen At least they acknowledged that Scrappy Doo is evil 2 stars
6/20/06 George It was okay 4 stars
4/02/06 JM Synth It's not like the original was THAT good, anyway 3 stars
12/20/05 miss patience 5 it is ok =) =( 4 stars
11/25/05 hunt the movie was dorky and nasty but kinden fun 1 stars
11/25/05 cr This movie mess up the mystery inc. and acting was pretty good, story alright, crappy 2 stars
8/29/05 ES Didn't like scooby-do as a kid, like it even less an an adult 1 stars
8/24/05 Eden Why set it on an island? Why have real monsters? Why have Scrappy Doo? 2 stars
8/04/05 ^podo i used to love this movie.... 3 stars
7/21/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! 1 stars
6/20/05 darick Makes the cartoon look riveting in more ways than one (CGI, acting, plot, etc.) 1 stars
3/11/05 crandall101 I like this one 4 stars
2/19/05 Jeff Anderson MATTHEW LILLARD & ESPECIALLY LINDA CARDELLINI'S PERFORMANCES SAVE THIS! A BAD FILM VERSION! 1 stars
9/17/04 American Slasher Goddess A medicore cartoon padded out into a crapfest live action remake. 1 stars
8/25/04 jan horrible. loved the tv series, but this? they stole me 90 minutes of my life. smg=just bad 1 stars
8/21/04 Anthony G Fuck, thelma is so fucking hot, I love me a nerdy bitch! 3 stars
7/06/04 WestJay Scooby at his best! Great graphics! I loved it!! 5 stars
7/04/04 kelsey lehmann freddie prinze jr. is sexy 5 stars
7/04/04 spritely Forget the plot; see it for Matt Lillard and the humor 5 stars
7/04/04 Brian C0urtney Silly but hilarious 5 stars
4/28/04 Jamie A very good movie. 5 stars
4/10/04 Coco Chanelle My favourite movie, and i cant wait to see the next one 5 stars
4/02/04 da hood what the fuck are they thinking? i had to get shitfaced immediatly after i saw this shit!!! 1 stars
4/01/04 Jeff A disaster pure and simple. Hollywood needs to stop with the damn cartoon/TV remakes. 1 stars
3/30/04 re It was grear 5 stars
3/21/04 Littlepurch So bad it was good. Hate that saying but it applies here. Atkinson was good. 4 stars
2/29/04 ME THIS FILM ROCKS 5 stars
2/05/04 tatum Idiotic fluff, why did you people plunk down $ to see this?? 1 stars
11/15/03 KR Who knew Velma could be so hot in real life? The movie still licked balls, though. 1 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Such a neat concept: animating human shit and watching it try to entertain. 1 stars
10/06/03 neasa Its my fav movie so shut-up 5 stars
10/02/03 Samuel Justus Ebert & Roeper say everything suck, so i dont even listen to critics anymore! 4 stars
9/27/03 snowconehead I admit velma has everything to do with my rating 5 stars
5/31/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
5/19/03 Jack Sommersby It's at least more spirited than the ultra-lame "Spider-Man". 2 stars
5/16/03 olivia great 5 stars
2/28/03 ME THIS FILM ROCKS 5 stars
2/06/03 123 bad acting, bad plot, bad humour 1 stars
2/03/03 Turtle It did what it was supposed to, and did it pretty well. I'd gladly see it again! 4 stars
1/08/03 Movie-Going Public ... And we hate you too, schism. Also Linda is uber hot. Pleez take off ur clothes thx. 4 stars
12/06/02 BAM NOT AS BAD AS THE PEOPLE SAY 5 stars
11/12/02 Andrew sucks like that attack of the craps this summer 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The screenwriters didn't emerge from the haze of marijuana smoke to see the original. 2 stars
10/20/02 Bruce Hollendonner Like a cartoon turd hawking perfume at 8 bucks a ticket. 1 stars
10/18/02 Ken Lillard born to play Shaggy. A bad cartoon makes a terrible movie. 1 stars
10/17/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite 'Neath lotsa ornate window dressing, it's just another girls-don't-fart fantasy. 3 stars
10/14/02 Joana It could be SOOO much better!!! 2 stars
10/13/02 palaboy101 GOOD IDEA marred by a RIDICULOUS script (Scrappy-Doo planned world domination thru aliens!) 2 stars
10/13/02 STEVE NOT THAT BAD NEITHER IS IT GOOD THOUGH...LOVED THE GCI SCOBBY 3 stars
10/11/02 qtpie YOU ALL SUCK THIS MOVIE ROCKS 5 stars
10/11/02 C Anderson It sucks!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/06/02 Russ. OZ, 3 Stars!? WHY, Ah hell, we all get drunk and do something stupid everyone and awhile. 1 stars
9/15/02 blakers The best movie ever 5 stars
9/01/02 J I believe I'm going to go with OZ on this one of sorts. 3 stars
8/31/02 Jessie I really liked this movie! I thought it was really good!! 5 stars
8/28/02 viking an embarrassment to the Aussie film industry. 1 stars
8/25/02 Turkish gay as shit, jus like everyone that gave this movie a good rating 1 stars
8/24/02 Helen Freddie Prinze Jr. cannot act and the plot was so stupid 1 stars
8/16/02 AJ Very disappointing 2 stars
8/16/02 Andrew Patrick This Might Be The Best Worst Movie I seen 3 stars
8/12/02 What a bleeding, pus-filled, infected hemorrhoid! Gellar is fuckable. Cannibus 1 stars
8/12/02 Max No way this movie should be taken seriously. As such is hilarious 4 stars
8/10/02 Michael Carruthers Great fun, some jokes aren't that funny, but still worth a look. Lots of fun! 4 stars
8/07/02 Bobmer00 i concur, the movie sucks ass 1 stars
7/28/02 Jon Spitting on the cartoon's grave. Since when did scooby doo have real ghosts in? grr... 2 stars
7/27/02 Kino I liked it... probably just because I was stoned off my ass. 4 stars
7/23/02 Titus Shaggy and Scooby stole the show. Not great, but fun. 4 stars
7/17/02 Rod Williams I laughed at the trailers & more in the movie. Scooby & Matthew = hilarious. Movie sucked. 2 stars
7/13/02 Phoenix I kept looking at Sarah Michelle Gellar's breats, could barly watch the movie though. 2 stars
7/12/02 ! nice movie! 4 stars
7/11/02 bob leather jacket Mis-casting and poor script 1 stars
7/11/02 Veronica Foxx I could make a better movie with puppets, cardboard sets and a friggin' kaleidoscope. 1 stars
7/08/02 iambubby Ruh, ro! What a piece of rhit! 1 stars
7/08/02 Linda Cardellini Why oh why did I agree to do a movie with Prinze Jr. 1 stars
7/05/02 Joe Bacon Where's the Odorama Card when you REALLY need it???? 1 stars
7/04/02 RIC B JUST PURE KIDDIE CRAP 1 stars
7/01/02 KMG I didn't see it but wanted to just lower the score even more! 1 stars
7/01/02 J. I'm with tad on this; the movie sucks! 1 stars
6/27/02 K its supposed to be fun... it is 5 stars
6/26/02 J I've somewhat changed my mind, this is a decent at best movie. 3 stars
6/26/02 bullit17 Where is the "0 Star" rating on HBS when you really need it? 1 stars
6/24/02 Rhesus Any one who gave this above a 1 STAR should get a kick in the nuts(or the cunt; it may be.) 1 stars
6/23/02 Gary Vidmar's Illegitimate Daughter, Gladys I've always hated the cartoon, but with the addition of Prinze Jr., this is 10x worse. Bad! 2 stars
6/21/02 Law great kids flick 4 stars
6/21/02 gunter simple retarded fun 4 stars
6/19/02 Chris Oh, Come on. It's more annoying than the TV show and it's crappy and old. 1 stars
6/18/02 Mr Math Unbelievably bad. Are film fans really so easy to please? For crying out loud, people! 1 stars
6/18/02 Ken Kopin Roaring great fun, with and ending you have to admit you did NOT see coming. 5 stars
6/18/02 Roy Smith Linda and Sarah....rowr! Actually not too bad, stupid but fun. 4 stars
6/17/02 Angry Black Man Has anyone noticed that its the cast of "Scream" repackaged? 1 stars
6/17/02 Brian Great fun for fans. Everyone else, go away. 5 stars
6/17/02 Nessus Not as bad as I was expecting. Some good in jokes. Mostly retarded. 3 stars
6/16/02 Lexy Z Not nearly as bad as it could've been with Mr. Prinze Jr. I actually was quite entertained 4 stars
6/15/02 MyztiQ i loved it 4 stars
6/15/02 Flick Chick boring/dumb for adults,scary for little kids, brats ages 8-10 will like it 2 stars
6/15/02 Rampage WTH was that! And worse than the movie trailer! 1 stars
6/14/02 MArijuana Dogg What were the directors smoking? This was terrible! 1 stars
6/14/02 William Hanna My God, here's the proof that the Anti-Christ is alive and well. 1 stars
6/13/02 The Chronic Mastubator For the mere fact that they used a bunch of teenybopper faves to get the twerpy teen dollar 1 stars
6/09/02 Scooby DON'T! Saw a preview screening, worst movie since Rollerball 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jun-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast