Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.62

Awesome78.81%
Worth A Look: 13.84%
Just Average: 1.69%
Pretty Crappy: 2.26%
Sucks: 3.39%

18 reviews, 246 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Memento
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Back and Forth Required. A True Mindshag and One of the Year's Best"
5 stars

Memento is a film that people will be talking about. They will be talking when they leave the theater. They will create message boards and chatrooms on the Internet, which will lead to websites with the film’s timeline as people desperately, try to fit each piece of the puzzle in their appropriate socket. Just the way people still discuss “Pulp Fiction” with Marcus’ neck bandage and glowing suitcase, “Memento” will be dissected to the tiniest detail. Theories will be woven, confusion will be had and people will want to see it again and again. Mediaphiles will re-edit the film backwards (or forward) to gain yet another perspective on it. Philosophers will latch themselves onto its resolution and the significance of the collection of artifacts, which define and tell us who we are. If this film gets knocked off my Top Ten List of 2001, then we’re in for a truly special year. But we’re getting ahead of ourselves.

If you get up to go the bathroom during this film – do not bother coming back. You can’t come back in and ask someone what you missed because you then rob them the opportunity of keeping up themselves. Even when the film slows down enough for you to catch your breath and offer a little dimension of character, your brain is still working overtime to fit the pieces you just saw ten minutes ago. Save your questions and save you applause until the end of the film because people will want to talk about it.

Memento accomplishes the all-too-rare feat of playing fair with its audience. You will discover that the more you try to pick apart its logic, you’ll always find an answer. Some are already trying to tomahawk the syllogism of how Leonard can remember he has short-term memory loss when he forgets everything after his injury. The answer can be found in three little words: “Remember Sammy Jankis.” This isn’t David Lynch’s Lost Highway or The Sixth Sense where the audience is used like Will Hunting trying to decipher an unsolvable equation with tricks and loopholes bigger than Camryn Mannheim’s ego. Even The Usual Suspects’ mystery hinges on a story that is one great big lie. Memento is a dizzying array of brilliance and it’s only appropriate that two of the co-stars of “The Matrix” should be attached to this project as it is a true mindshag. Trust me when I tell you to go before you leave the house and pass on that large soda at the theater.

Is the memory loss syndrome a new concept? No. Dana Carvey used it to varying degrees of success in “Clean Slate” in 1994. Is reverse storytelling an original gimmick? No. The 1983 Harold Pinter adaptation “Betrayal” told its story from back-to-front and even more people will remember the Seinfeld episode a few years back where some of the gang traveled to India (or from) for a wedding that was titled poetically enough, “The Betrayal.” But it will go down as an original because nobody has been able to pull off this kind of straightforward (or straightbackward) revenge material with such brilliance before. Steven Soderbergh’s “The Limey” wove its avenging angel with flashbacks & flashforwards, but it doesn’t match its wit with Memento, which feels less like a gimmick and more like an exercise in brain stamina. Yet it plays fair.

A plot device by any other words is still a plot device. The discovery of how critics criticize the use of them by filmmakers is simple: If it works it’s good, if it doesn’t, we call it a plot device. Memento uses one to be sure, but its no more a device than making a city bus pace above 50 mph or a rain shower of frogs. Memento’s use of backwards storytelling is a huge step forward in any film year, even if it has been experimented with before.

The two faces that continue to pop up in this journey are the shifty Teddy (Joe Pantoliano) and the visibly bruised waitress, Natalie (Carrie Anne-Moss). Both of them have their reasons for helping Leonard, but are they noble or nefarious? Paralleling Lenny’s search for justice is the story he tells of a man named Sammy Jankis who suffered from a similar “condition.” Lenny weaves this tale to an unknown listener on a telephone and through the shift from color to B&W, we are left to our wits to discover what section of the timeline this conversation falls under. All conducted with the skill of an artist who eats Rubik’s Cubes for breakfast, it never feels like just another plot device.

If all that isn’t enough to jog your craw, then how about when you realize that opening photograph is fading instead of developing when being shaken around? With all the technological advances we’ve seen from Pixar to CGI, moviegoers have continually been subjected to the inverted steps filmmakers take to impoverish us from seeing a really well told story. Director Christopher Nolan has obviously recognized this and actually takes to telling his story…BACKWARDS! When one character is killed in the opening scene, even though it’s the beginning it’s really the conclusion and one never wants to reveal the ending. Or is it? Thus, the need to identify with our film’s hero is vastly simplified because we truly feel a sense of short term memory loss getting inside Lenny’s head with only a few notes and a couple of people to guide us through.

Guy Pearce stars in a dynamo performance as Leonard Shelby, an ex-insurance investigator who is on the hunt for the man who raped and murdered his wife. He knows the person’s initials. He knows their license plate number. He has various clues tattooed to his body. An obsession? Perhaps. But due more to the fact that Leonard has short term memory loss. He cannot form new memories and he only remembers events prior to the attack on him and his beloved wife. Aiding him in his quest (other than his tattoos) are a collection of photographs of people, places and objects each with little notes in the margins to remind him of what he believes to be real. And this is all just the beginning of the craw jogging.

My head is still spinning. Still spinning in a way I haven’t felt since, odd as it may seem, when I saw Field of Dreams. That was the last film I can remember where I got so engrossed in a story and the way it was being told with surprise after twist popping up every ten minutes, that it felt like being engulfed in magic. You realized something special was happening and you couldn’t wait to see where if finally took you. Memento is that kind of experience. It doesn’t fill you with the same kind of emotional joy that “Dreams” did, but with the sense of wonder and passion as a film lover that you’re witnessing greatness in the making. “Memento” is as great a film you will see this year or any year with one of the best subtle performances you’re going to see in recent memory.

Once in a blue moon a phenomenon creeps out of the cinema. I’m not talking about the big blockbusters we expect from Memorial Day, July 4th and Thanksgiving. I’m talking about something you hear of the festival circuit or a title that gets unanimous critical praise that slowly turns a limited art house release into a word-of-mouth sensation. A “Pulp Fiction”, a “Blair Witch” or even a “Shawshank Redemption.” A “Memento” comes along once in a blue moon when aliens are attacking. If this isn’t enough of an endorsement to see Memento and to give you just a hint of what you’re in store for when you strap yourself into the theater chair to make your head perform a Linda Blair 360, then just imagine reading this review the other way.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4848&reviewer=198
originally posted: 04/23/01 16:19:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell cool challenging film 4 stars
8/14/17 Louise Thanks Jack Sommersby - though I was the only one who didn't 'get it'. 2 stars
3/31/16 Aj wales Great. watch once only type of movie. 4 stars
5/21/15 stanley welles a brilliantly told mindbender 5 stars
8/31/12 Sean Harrison Absolutely brilliant, my favorite Nolan film. 5 stars
8/30/10 RLan An amazing piece of film making. A must see!!! 5 stars
7/31/10 Sam Christopher Nolan's best film 5 stars
7/17/10 allan hovland wonderful stuff 4 stars
4/16/10 Omar An amazing film that has to be viewed more than once or twice. 5 stars
8/29/09 CTT Spectacular, fascinating stuff 5 stars
6/14/09 Tram interesting 4 stars
4/02/09 Dane Youssef "Memento" is unforgettable. I know that's a cheap pun, but you've gotta give me that one. 5 stars
3/04/09 Norbert Terrifically original & mind-boggingly complex.A wonder to behold. 5 stars
5/28/08 MP Bartley Much more than a novelty; there's a tragic layer of manipulation that bears repeat viewings 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT A BLEAK DIABOLICAL PUZZLE 1 stars
5/07/08 aeneas23 I watched the movie a couple of minutes ago, i alredy wana watch it again... This was great 5 stars
1/03/08 Bozofreak If you ask me, Memento is the most overrated movie, of any genre, ever made. 1 stars
12/02/07 davidbobo20 excellent movie! 5 stars
9/10/07 gamma one of the best you will ever see 5 stars
9/02/07 Double M Original, intelligent, confusing mindf*ck that gets better every time.. Utterly brilliant. 5 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold I'll say the same for this movie as I did for "The Last of Sheila". 5 stars
1/02/07 Jiz This movie did not suck. 5 stars
11/16/06 J.Pet One of my favorite films. Revolutionary! 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini great concept 4 stars
11/01/06 Jeff this critic is way off the mark 5 stars
9/21/06 Pritchett Told straightforward, it's a bore. 2 stars
8/16/06 Stanley Thai An original plot and a great movie. 5 stars
6/23/06 Guy Winston Such... Such a good film. 5 stars
3/30/06 kerry Overrated.The plot is nothing much once the backwards gimmick is gone,Suspects is better 1 stars
3/23/06 Dick Requires effort to watch..but refreshing and exciting all around 5 stars
2/24/06 ronald along with usual supects,these 2 are the ultimate mindfucks of all time 5 stars
11/15/05 Adrian Requires patience and understanding, but the outcome is totally worth it. 5 stars
10/09/05 Agent Sands A genuinely brilliant thriller. Truly deserving of its classic status. 5 stars
9/09/05 Taylor Fladgate A classic that set the bar high for future mystery/mind benders. 5 stars
7/27/05 CJ Unbelievable. Most intellegent film i've ever seen 5 stars
6/14/05 CHEESENACHOS thriller/mystery/suspense/drama......this is one hell of a mind-f*ck, go see it right now 5 stars
5/27/05 Indrid Cold Brilliantly disorienting, mind bending, and intriguing. 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw Brilliant. Simply brilliant. 5 stars
5/09/05 kevin r absolute thriller, watch it over and over 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Intelligent and thoughtful film! Every twist keeps you guessing. 5 stars
2/04/05 D.J.O'Keefe A twisted tale that is a straight-up masterpiece 5 stars
1/20/05 das stupid 5 stars
7/31/04 Brad One of my favorites. 5 stars
7/19/04 Ionicera you see, i have this condition... 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Excellent movie, finally a movie I can enjoy beyond the previews 5 stars
7/07/04 Spinz BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
7/06/04 karen loved it, we need more movies that make you think 5 stars
6/21/04 Dick Logan Totally original, with an awesome cast. Loved it. 5 stars
6/12/04 Mitch Absolutely among of the best films to come along in twenty years or more. 5 stars
6/09/04 zeitgeist Great, yes, but you'd think that he'd invest in a camcorder or a tape recorder 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Sharp, intriguing and head-spinning 4 stars
2/12/04 Kai An excellent breath of fresh air when one is suffocating in the stench of most films 5 stars
1/29/04 Benjamin Spicher genius! 5 stars
11/22/03 Mary, Brain Injury Survivor Excellent, oh, wait did I already comment? : ) 5 stars
11/06/03 Capt' Fox If you have a brain, and can think while watching you'll love it! Fantastic! 5 stars
9/20/03 Linda Sullivan This movie is amazing - when it's over, you can't believe what you just saw 5 stars
8/18/03 AD overrated piece of shit 1 stars
7/14/03 snowconehead Watch it with director commentary, Nolan is the most boring human being on earth 5 stars
5/25/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng One of the best movies I've ever seen. I love it! I recommend this to everyone! 5 stars
5/13/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!!!) FUCKING BRILLIANT! BRILLIANT, original, and cool. Great directing and writing. 5 stars
5/01/03 Taylor Fladgate You'll be thinking about this film for months afterwards! 5 stars
4/25/03 Scapegoat fun and original 5 stars
4/25/03 The Talking Elbow A truely unique experience at the movies, not perfect but it's ingenious 5 stars
4/23/03 GWB original amazing 5 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Creative and intelligent. 5 stars
3/21/03 Skankin' inThePit took me forever to figure out who killed who i think i got most of it but still confused! 5 stars
3/14/03 Jon A moving piece that'll mess (in a good way) with your mind the first time u see it 5 stars
3/01/03 Rob P S Astonishing 5 stars
2/24/03 WestcoastPunk Holy shit what a great movie. One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
2/16/03 R.W. Welch Inventive, but retro chronology saps momentum & is sometimes hard to track. 4 stars
2/05/03 123 great script, plot and twists, the flashback style makes me as confused as Lenny 5 stars
2/03/03 phiber_optik the best film ive ever seen 5 stars
1/26/03 Lord David Pretty cool & inovative - a minor classic 4 stars
1/20/03 LessThanColleen Awesome, has some confusing twists which is good and i like the whole backwards thing 5 stars
1/19/03 snowconehead original, very very original. 5 stars
1/04/03 Ben Simply the greatest film ever made. 5 stars
1/04/03 Josh One of the greatest films ever made. A dark, backwards and brilliant tale. 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby ...and an incisive brain to reject its pretentiousness. 1 stars
12/26/02 Sara A film that requires a brain to watch it. 5 stars
12/15/02 Matt Thiel Hollywood: make good movies like this one. I will pay to see them 5 stars
11/23/02 patrick MAMA MIA! god damn! now there's some fine cinematography 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted BEST FILM OF 2001! 5 stars
11/13/02 I'm not telling Mark Adnum is full of crap 5 stars
11/02/02 George Nedelchev One of the best movies since The Usual Suspects and Sling Blade 4 stars
10/31/02 Lenny i cant rember it :/ 5 stars
10/29/02 G. Parker the editing, and script are genious 5 stars
10/26/02 Monic Great movie, makes you think. It''s a cerebral film. 5 stars
10/24/02 Casey Harrison I'm going to be Lenny for Halloween 5 stars
10/22/02 Naomi I thought it was a briliant film, and if you don't think so, you havn't understood it. 5 stars
10/01/02 snowconehead One tattoo short of best movie, needed definiton of his condition, how else would he know? 5 stars
10/01/02 Jason A true film masterpiece 5 stars
9/09/02 Ken Mark Adnum is elitist yet clueless. Loved Showgirls and Van Wilder, hated Memento? 5 stars
8/25/02 SteveG Yet another fantastic Buddhist flick (6th Sense, Fight Club, Seven...) about clinging. 5 stars
8/18/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) See rating. 5 stars
8/13/02 Bryan Brooks An instant classic 4 stars
7/27/02 sdjfsdkjf Brilliant and at long last, ORIGINAL stuff. 5 stars
7/26/02 Fulcrum One of the best movies of all time! A god-damn masterpiece! 5 stars
7/19/02 Kyle What the fuck? "Underrated"? Everybody loves it. Dumbass. 5 stars
7/11/02 snowconehead the most underrated movie of all time 5 stars
6/23/02 steve This film rules ass, period 5 stars
6/21/02 Doc Shock First movie I've seen in a while that made me sit up and pay attention. 5 stars
6/09/02 BrodieMan I can't believe I missed this in the theaters. Shame on me, SHAME ! 5 stars
5/31/02 The Man Mark is a homo. The backwards device is necessary, it wouldn't be suspenseful otherwise. 5 stars
5/30/02 katy lawrence this movie is a piece of art. i still watch it from time to time! 5 stars
5/23/02 Amy Mark must be on crack. This movie and Guy P are great! 5 stars
5/14/02 hbotis@hotmail.com Missed the hype- disappointed. Guess the young ones love it 4 stars
5/10/02 Brian Mark Adnum's a fool. This movie is brilliant! 5 stars
4/13/02 Spam-handler with a vengeance Great fucking movie, I almost fucking loved every fucking moment of the fucking movie 5 stars
4/04/02 Edfink Lombardo Undeniably one of the best movies of the year! Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant 5 stars
4/02/02 El Talboto There were some logic flaws, but eaily made up for by the great method of plot progression 5 stars
3/29/02 Leonard You can be my John G! 5 stars
3/28/02 Nicole Initially confusing as the plot is moving backward, but so awesome once you get the flow 5 stars
3/23/02 Les Suranyi As a neurologist, I've met people exactly like Leonard. 5 stars
3/23/02 Guy Forssman It seems the academic guy's also have only short term memory! Shame Shame 5 stars
3/19/02 Mister Char i agree with rebecca, why does gosford park get any nominations! 5 stars
3/09/02 Rebecca the acamemy must have forgotten about memento, but i didnt 5 stars
3/01/02 Nomargin I know I saw this I just can't remember! 5 stars
3/01/02 Sam Tuthill Most psychologically and cinematically relevant movie ever. 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Easily one of the most original and entertaining movies that I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/16/02 Leonard Do we really make up our own truth to make our selfs happy? 5 stars
1/30/02 Deanna GUY PEARCE! GUY PEARCE! GUY PEARCE! (you get it, I like Guy Pearce ;) 5 stars
1/17/02 Scottish Kilt u hav to watch it bout 5-6 times to understand it fully, guy pearce is great though. 4 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick damn good movie - wait, what film did i just see? LMAO 5 stars
1/07/02 Spyguy2 Hands down the top release of 2001, nothing else comes close 5 stars
1/06/02 Kurt Schmidt good for people who have a brain 5 stars
1/02/02 Scream-Mania This is a true masterpiece u MUST-SEE...!! 5 stars
12/21/01 Tom Westinghouse My favorite film of all time... it's that good! 5 stars
12/20/01 Mister Char Amazing to say the least. Be ready for multiple imitators in the future 5 stars
12/20/01 Tinka Amazing. Just .. amazing. 5 stars
12/18/01 Russell Liston Erik, creative little review. 5 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle a Narrative masterclass. We'll be watching this in 20 years time. 5 stars
12/02/01 Jean Finochetti Makes you question your own memory and what to believe 5 stars
12/01/01 Jeff Wilson Whos rating me? this movie. Oh wait, im rating it. Fucking awesome 5 stars
11/22/01 Farzad Ghods Challenging your memory! 5 stars
11/15/01 John If this film doesn't win best picture, the Academy should disband. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Gets better with repeated viewing - there's no way to take in everything the 1st time thru. 5 stars
11/12/01 phil m. afficiando Like riding a roller coaster backward without having taken your antidepressant medications. 4 stars
10/17/01 Catherine Schneider I never once got bored!!! 5 stars
10/16/01 Kieran Belshaw Simple yet clever impressively good! 5 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark The hands down best film of 2001. Guy Pearce is a revelation. Plus he's totally hot! 5 stars
10/11/01 mcj yep 5 stars
10/07/01 Calabro There isnt a movie made in the last year that even compares to this FUCKING MASTERPIECE 5 stars
10/01/01 bobbuttons its really really good 5 stars
10/01/01 Phoenix The best film of 2001. Ingenious and well put together. 5 stars
9/20/01 TLsmooth A movie that challenges the mind in 2001.........Amazing. 5 stars
9/18/01 Brian Go rent this now! Don't just sit there. Go now I say! 5 stars
9/16/01 Kyle Wow... 5 stars
9/11/01 mike tyson gives you something to chew on 5 stars
9/10/01 Monday Morning Thanks for giving us credit for having brains. Hollywood & TV, take note. 5 stars
9/09/01 Jeff and the greatness Almost like a really fucked up mystery, this film simply kicks ass 5 stars
9/05/01 The Bomb 69 astounding, total mindfuck, have to watch it again to truly understand 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm Nominate THIS, Academy, not another piece of cringe-inducing dreck. 5 stars
8/24/01 Obi Wan Whoa!!! A complete Mind Fuck!!! Loved it all three times I saw it. DVD out Tuesday 9/4. 5 stars
8/18/01 Roy Smith Bring your brain and a box of rubbers for the best mindfuck this year! 5 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin Fascinating 5 stars
8/02/01 Xalt Gave me the disease just by watching it. Great stuff! Love it when movies provoke thought. 5 stars
8/01/01 Elendil What fun! You will give it your full attention, if just for the guessing games. 4 stars
7/24/01 malcolm even better the second (almost essential) time around 5 stars
7/04/01 Suzz run don't walk to the nearest theater 5 stars
7/03/01 Steve Rowsell An excellent film, the smartest movie I've seen in ages. 5 stars
6/25/01 Gary Best movie I have seen in a while... 5 stars
6/23/01 stranded on the Island Best movie so far of '01. Will make you think and want to see it over and over again! 5 stars
6/22/01 Ian Barr Believe the hype- This is the best thriller of the past decade 5 stars
6/15/01 zeitgeist If you hate having to use your brain, this movie isn't for you. Go see Driven or something. 5 stars
6/08/01 Jeff Tamer My new favorite movie of all time; I can never see it enough! 5 stars
6/08/01 Obi Wan Saw it again last night...the movie's still got it. Still loved it!!! 5 stars
6/08/01 Phillip good not great, but better than crap mystery/independent s like Sling Blade or Fargo. 4 stars
6/06/01 Jake Miles away from ordinary. Falls short of greatness. Overrated. 4 stars
6/05/01 Jason S. Kotz Great movie, a definite must see! 5 stars
6/04/01 Psyko Doug Incredible film- must see. 5 stars
6/01/01 Hanky boy I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Definitely will get your money's worth, which is rare. 4 stars
5/31/01 Mach_5 Going for seconds asap 5 stars
5/29/01 Bud Interesting premise but fails to deliver. A real disappointment. 1 stars
5/28/01 tainted_goose Gritty and damnably intense 5 stars
5/28/01 lezerzan my head's still spinning...who's on 1st? 4 stars
5/27/01 Gizzy Would have to see it a second time to wrap my head around it 4 stars
5/25/01 Will lacked a truly interesting sub-plot. no great insights beyond 'you can't trust your memory' 4 stars
5/24/01 natasha if you love movies, you must see this... 5 stars
5/24/01 Drisc WOW! One really SMART FILM! I Cannot remember the last time I've seen a film this good. 4 stars
5/23/01 bluebeena Best movie I've seen in a looong time... 4 stars
5/23/01 zeitgeist i let my bladder swell to an immense size just so i wouldn't miss 2 minutes of this movie. 5 stars
5/23/01 malcolm kind of confusing at times, better go to the bathroom and get popcorn BEFORE going in 4 stars
5/23/01 viking One of the most innovative and original movies of 2001 5 stars
5/21/01 Superkaty1@aol.com Help me figure this out! 4 stars
5/20/01 skye great premise, good flick 4 stars
5/20/01 davebo one incredible movie, amazing 5 stars
5/20/01 studmaster Comparable to the Usual Suspects -- although not identical. 5 stars
5/20/01 Will sweet merciful crap, that was absolutely amazing. 5 stars
5/19/01 joh Whoa! 5 stars
5/17/01 Bada Bing Crosby It didn't make me as thrilled as most of you, not even close 4 stars
5/16/01 Maso Interesting ideas and great acting 4 stars
5/13/01 Graeme Flanagan Innovative, intriguing, intelligent (my 80 year old mother hated it). 5 stars
5/13/01 Monster W. Kung Impressive and very well thought, although doesn't hold up on the social-political level. 4 stars
5/11/01 ExorciseTheDemons Close your eyes and make the world go away. 5 stars
5/11/01 Finity this movie was fucking great 5 stars
5/08/01 puckfreak Great movie, origional, makes you think 5 stars
5/06/01 TheRock A movie that makes you think. I love it! 5 stars
5/06/01 Suzz this is definitely a do not miss film 5 stars
5/05/01 Bboobo ok 5 stars
5/05/01 Daniel Bradley disconcerting, draws you into a world without memory 5 stars
5/04/01 Richard Rowe Undoubtedly the best film of 2000 (UK), bar none 5 stars
5/03/01 SteveH Excellent review, excellent film. 5 stars
5/02/01 Wendy !see must A 5 stars
5/01/01 Brett Anderson Clever, Thought Prevoking and full of Originality. Best film of the year! 5 stars
4/30/01 Roger the Shrubber A touch disappointed by the ending (beginning), but the rest was genius. 5 stars
4/29/01 rue the whirl !!!!!emosewa gnikcuf 5 stars
4/24/01 Daniel J. Flynn film some awe 5 stars
4/23/01 Pierce Lanson I'll have to see it again to get all the twists-CONCENTRATE, and don't go tired 4 stars
4/23/01 christine excellent 5 stars
4/18/01 Chris Shigihara Unique edginess,Great twist ending(actually beginning),concentration definitely required 5 stars
4/18/01 Laura Absolutely coooool! 5 stars
4/16/01 WOW! interesting, dramatic, very suspensful, has different twist every few minutes 5 stars
4/16/01 brent young this was just incredible...fucking awsome says it all... 5 stars
4/16/01 Peter Rinzler Amazing, somehow larger than itself 5 stars
4/16/01 Louis very good 4 stars
4/13/01 Lauren Definetly better than all the other crap out in theaters and definetly worth owning 5 stars
4/13/01 KEYSER SOZE anyone have all the answers? email me to chat at keyser_98soze@yahoo.com 5 stars
4/13/01 Mistermovie Excellent! See it twice! 5 stars
4/13/01 tom wow! 5 stars
4/12/01 Obi Wan Holy shit!!! Never seen anything like it. Great Great Great!! When's the DVD out? 5 stars
4/11/01 Jessie H. Ahroni Unique 5 stars
4/10/01 Brian May be best noir of the decade; great structure. Sammy Jankins best fiction s.Keyser Soze! 5 stars
4/10/01 Mic Pure brilliance 5 stars
4/10/01 Zaw trying remember what was at the begeining of the movie!@#! Great Suspriseing flick! 5 stars
4/09/01 Krystal Will see this one over and over 5 stars
4/05/01 Brian Saw it while visiting in San Francisco. Was worth the trip out there for this film alone. 5 stars
4/05/01 Christy I absolutely LOVED this movie! I can't get it out of my head; can't wait to see it again 5 stars
4/04/01 Michael If you figure it out at the end, you are brilliant, lying, weren't paying attention. 5 stars
4/04/01 martel finally, a film to challenge our minds 5 stars
4/02/01 Leslie Baker Boston 5 stars
4/02/01 goblinfart mind blowing 5 stars
4/02/01 ianb This one is going to stay with me for a long, long time! I was blown away! 5 stars
4/01/01 Thor-Leo Masterful direction. Great script. Couldn't really figure it out until the end. Brilliant! 5 stars
3/31/01 chemikillgod drove to LA from Phoenix just to see this movie. Worth the $9 and the 6 hour car ride!! 5 stars
3/28/01 Phil SImon Absolutely amazing. Impossible to figure out. You'll want to see it again right after. 5 stars
3/27/01 tnt one of the most interesting films I have ever seen 5 stars
3/23/01 Emile Hurts your memory in an estestical way. 5 stars
3/22/01 JB A great movie. An un optimistic hollywood film. 5 stars
3/16/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) We might be able to salvage 2001 after all... 5 stars
3/16/01 Spetters If you loved the Usuual suspects, you´ll love this too!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/01 Bionic Booger You better have some intelectol or any memory pill to put the puzzle together. 4 stars
3/12/01 judy weiss Brilliant. Can't wait to see it again 5 stars
3/12/01 Paperplate UFO Haven't seen it. Or have I? 5 stars
1/30/01 Jo Wouters It's fantastic, but I'm going to see it a 2nd time 5 stars
1/26/01 sez Fantastic film which has done really well in the UK even though it's hardly been advertised 5 stars
1/23/01 Erik De Vocht Awesome! I can't get it out of my mind... and I've seen it a week ago! Brilliant! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast