Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.47

Awesome: 3.92%
Worth A Look: 29.41%
Just Average: 3.92%
Pretty Crappy35.29%
Sucks: 27.45%

4 reviews, 27 user ratings



Peacemaker, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"It's better than Batman & Robin. But Everything is."
2 stars

Bat-Ross sucks it up again.

I get the feeling that this is the way Clooney would have played the Bat had he not been hampered by such a horrible script. Here, his Colonel Devoe is cocky, but not completely arrogant. He gets the job done. Clooney's till doing that head-down, eyes-up style of acting, though. That's sloppy.

There's not a lot of tension between Clooney and Nicole Kidman, and that's fine, because they're too busy globetrotting, tracking missing nukes. Is it tense? At times. But as is the case in most action films, there's no character development. We don't really get to know Clooney's character, who could have depth. Is he really on the take? Maybe. It's never fully explained. And Kidman as a nuclear arms expert? Um, OK. I believe that as much I believe Elisabeth Shue as a physics genius in The Saint. Each character is an empty shell; we never really find out what makes each person tick.

There are some decent moments, such as the opening sequence when the nukes are stolen. But this isn't really worth your time.

Skip it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=491&reviewer=7
originally posted: 08/24/98 11:33:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/20/12 Sean Harrison Overrated and boring action flick. 3 stars
5/28/10 PAUL SHORTT UNCONVINCING ACTION FILM 2 stars
5/14/09 bagwell One of my favorite 90's action films 5 stars
5/14/09 Jack Sommersby Technically well-made but saddled with who-cares plot and characters. 2 stars
6/15/07 chienne Good film, really, apart from Kidman (what was the casting director thinking?! or on?) 4 stars
2/11/07 johnnyfog Cool on-foot chase at the end, but pretty bland. Pass 3 stars
7/17/06 CTT Fast paced, Leder's direction shines 4 stars
6/12/06 William Goss Rather entertaining actioner. Save for a lazy afternoon. 4 stars
5/18/06 chienne Only bothered 4 Marcel Iures as Duson. Liked Clooney, loathed Nicole (who?) 4 stars
2/22/06 Jin nauseatingly bad 1 stars
2/12/06 BEJB hmm...i think it was great....but i've seen better films ;) 4 stars
8/06/05 me :D a good movie... kept me interested 4 stars
12/27/04 sean I guess you'll either like it or you'll hate it. I liked it. 4 stars
9/24/04 Agent Sands George Clooney's just 1 big mass of cool. He could B in "Assholes On the Moon" & I'd see it 4 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Plot? What plot? We needed a plot? But we have Nicole Kidman! 2 stars
6/15/02 R.W. Welch Name yur cliche, this flick has it. 2 stars
11/03/01 Alecia KIDMAN LOOKS LIKE A PLAIN WHORE THAT SHE IS, SHE SUCKS 1 stars
12/02/00 The Evil Penguin not alot of action. Clooney is dull. 1 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Pretty dull; not even a good timewaster. Clooney should pay more attention to his scripts. 2 stars
4/20/99 lucas jackson it was so fucking stupid I turned it off after twenty minutes 1 stars
1/02/99 tarkin666 Great action and nothin' too far fetched. Indian Jones-ish in its globe-trotting. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Some interesting ideas (villain is not 1-dimensional) and Clooney is great. 4 stars
11/25/98 Fred Clooney is a fucking mannequin, the pole up his ass and all!!!! 1 stars
9/12/98 loriann bad movie 1 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Clooney was heading for hell after this dud, but Out Of Sight has saved him. Avoid this one 1 stars
8/28/98 Johny Lame, slow, poorly directed action flick 1 stars
8/25/98 Pete Someone give Clooney some good scripts. He was great in 'From Dusk til Dawn' 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Sep-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast