Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.52

Awesome65.57%
Worth A Look: 25.41%
Just Average: 6.56%
Pretty Crappy: 0.82%
Sucks: 1.64%

8 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Bad Genius by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Jay Seaver

Cold Hell by Jay Seaver

House of the Disappeared by Jay Seaver

Lady Macbeth by alejandroariera

Lady Macbeth by Peter Sobczynski

Poor Agnes by Jay Seaver

Sequence Break by Jay Seaver

Have a Nice Day by Jay Seaver

Liberation Day by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Amores Perros
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"A brutal and fascinating movie."
4 stars

In 'Amores Perros', characters forget their divinity and dive deep into their animal nature in order to redeem and survive themselves, their decisions and consequences through pain but always with great beauty, courage, dignity and hope.

Have you recently met someone, and are caught up in the that
beautiful, blinding time of falling for them? Well, if so, don't plan your next movie date to see "Amores Perros"! In a compelling and brutal way, the film shows how love can really be a bitch and questions the very core of what it is to love and the baggage that comes with it.

Octavio (Bernal) loves his brother's wife, Susanna (Bauche) and plans to 'ride off into the sunset' with her using the money he makes from his pet, Cofi, in the dog-fighting pits of Mexico City. Daniel (Guerrero) is leaving his wife and children to set up house with his lover, Valeria (Toledo). And El Chivo (Echevarria), a former communist guerilla has decided it is time to make peace with his past.

A fatal car accident draws our protagonists together and alters their separate destinies beyond their wildest nightmares. All this is set against the squalid, battle-zone like background of the world's largest and most populated city and the various denizens that inhabit it.

From the opening sequence of "Amores Perros", it is clearly evident why this film has won 20 international awards and is up for Best Foreign Film in this years Oscars. We are introduced to this three part film by the frantic car chase and ensuing accident that binds its characters together. The film then skillfully flips back in time to take its audience up to and beyond the accident.

The performances are uniformly strong and directed adeptly by Inaritu. Most scenes are high paced, energised and wrapped in an exquisitely performed truth that is compelling and moving. The script itself is excellent, with only the middle story being slightly weaker than the others (but still interesting and highly watchable).

But it is the way the film plays with linear narrative and the excellent editing and intermeshing of stories, plus the great eye of the dop that finishes this film off into a must see. A warning though - the MA rating is appropriate, but in terms of content, some will find the film quite disturbing, especially animal lovers, as the dog fighting scenes and deaths of some of the dogs are almost more brutal than the human violence. – Paul Bugeja

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4941&reviewer=169
originally posted: 03/16/01 20:17:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/20/14 PAUL SHORTT BRUTAL, HARROWING AND PUNISHINGLY OVERLONG 2 stars
1/01/10 Norm Descoteaux A film for the ages 5 stars
4/28/08 victor l have not watch the film 5 stars
4/13/08 mr.mike Good , not great. 3.5 out of 5 stars. 4 stars
11/15/06 David Intense and gripping film. 5 stars
9/16/06 Christopher No animals were harmed in the making of this movie? As far as we know…However dogs were in 1 stars
8/27/06 Sonia Strashun Stories that stay with you. 5 stars
5/29/06 kelly blackwell Gael Garcia Bernal...Super Hunky!!!! 5 stars
3/23/06 luis wow no mames......................chida, chida ,chida, sin comentarios 5 stars
12/05/05 Gene Carmean Outstanding 5 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Spellbinding in its imagery and intersecting stories. its beauty and depth. 5 stars
8/10/05 LIZ THAT CRAP WAS RAW 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Interesting 5 stars
6/12/05 Agent Sands IN-CRED-IBLE!!! 5 stars
10/29/04 María P. Película altamente recomendable... 4 stars
10/26/04 Oscar fue una pelicula gran que me cautivo hasta el final como se unieron las historias 5 stars
10/16/04 Mandy it's just VERY good! 5 stars
8/11/04 Jen esa pelicula esta chingonsisima 5 stars
8/05/04 Maureen Don't miss it! 5 stars
7/30/04 Dave Reed Very entertaining 5 stars
7/16/04 patricia rogosich so fucking awesome. a must see 5 stars
5/24/04 Ian Ratcliffe Great film - imensely intelligent 5 stars
5/19/04 Elizabeth Lozano Great Movie from a mexican director 5 stars
4/16/04 Morally Sound Amazing! 5 stars
12/22/03 smartmusician a brutal yet powerful film. I was Blown away by its greatness and realism 5 stars
12/16/03 Jonny Sycamore Best latin american film ive seen yet 5 stars
8/15/03 Headhunter the best movie i have ever seen 5 stars
7/05/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back MoFos!!!) Extremely arresting, very powerful, full 3-D characters & story, and EXCELLENT direction!!! 5 stars
5/13/03 marienil jo z. ballozos i did'nt understand tha ending. 5 stars
3/26/03 Krishna Sadasivam average movie - interesting characters, but suffers from excessive length. 3 stars
3/17/03 Maegs I adored this movie 5 stars
2/24/03 Ana Mar In order to appreciate the movie, the viewer has to see beyond the dog fights and violence 5 stars
2/22/03 Goofy Maxwell All the temerity and turpitude of a rabid mongrel, all the logic of a dog playing poker. 4 stars
12/31/02 Andy Todes greg (usually the voice of reason), what are you talking about here, man? 5 stars
12/02/02 shikita you dont see stories like this to often, it rocks!!! 5 stars
12/02/02 Saul A person with a true understanding of film will understand whi I gave it "awsome".. 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Wow. Awesome filmmaking. 5 stars
11/14/02 nikita super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/12/02 assassin. it is real. 5 stars
11/01/02 liz lost not only did i like the fact that Gael was in it, but it was a nice theme, well made 5 stars
10/08/02 mirko lujan a film I sure respet after "fight club" with edwart norton and brat pitt! 5 stars
6/24/02 Robbie Banfitch I like pizza. 5 stars
6/12/02 natasha animal lovers beware: realistic, bloody dogfights 4 stars
4/02/02 Reini Urban Deeper and more serious than Pulp Fiction 5 stars
3/22/02 Milagros Gael is fucking Fine oh man he is orgazmic i got an orgazm just looking at his picture 5 stars
3/12/02 Faith Bernal has made it, cynic. 5 stars
3/06/02 Alan Smithee One of the move amazing movies that I've seen in recent memory. 5 stars
2/12/02 Jen Big WOW 5 stars
1/18/02 Daniel Orgasmic. 5 stars
12/27/01 Robert Classic 5 stars
12/12/01 Dominik Duprelle Full blooded, a masterful story superbly told, a real surprise-highly recommended 5 stars
12/03/01 slappy jacks fucking awesome 5 stars
9/30/01 The Bomb 69 great storytelling, intertwining stories have been before but this was done well 5 stars
7/22/01 David Seddon Wonderful - falls into a similar camp as 'Magnolia'. 5 stars
7/22/01 ^Elendil^ It's been a long time since I forgot that I was just watching a movie. 5 stars
7/15/01 bilal karaman great movie. it can't be told just see it. 5 stars
7/04/01 Paul Brilliant, especially in sustaining three stories with equal interest 5 stars
6/22/01 Ian Barr Rivetting filmmaking. An exceptional debut feature 5 stars
6/13/01 Ulysses Ramirez Best Movie I've ever seen in my life 5 stars
6/02/01 Blubberbot Some parts are good others bad. Too long. Super violent. 3 stars
5/20/01 skye great debut. fine flick 5 stars
5/06/01 kanji Unique! Non-Hollywood film! Real Life. 5 stars
5/05/01 Heather Similar to Tarantino, Run Lola, well worth looking out for 5 stars
4/28/01 gerardo the best movie in many years 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Excruciating at times (particularly the deaths of the dogs), but intricate and intelligent. 4 stars
4/21/01 Yvette Fantastic 5 stars
4/18/01 Jessica Romero Spectacular! Best movie I 5 stars
4/16/01 Mr. X Pretty good stories. But it is one of the most horrific films I've seen recently. 4 stars
4/14/01 rafael any comparison w/pulp fiction is stupid!!! 5 stars
4/07/01 Jose A. Contreras It is a very good film. But I totally agree: The second story is not as interesting as 2. 4 stars
4/06/01 gabriela amazing film! 5 stars
4/04/01 Michelle Munro I recently got a chance to see this film at the FIU Miami Film Festival. I enjoyed it. 5 stars
4/03/01 Monday Morning Anything involving cruelty to animals, especially dogs, gets a hearty "fuck you" from me. 1 stars
4/01/01 Aya Must see - as painful and beautiful as life is sometimes 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Apr-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast