Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 4.49%
Worth A Look: 12.36%
Just Average: 23.6%
Pretty Crappy42.7%
Sucks: 16.85%

7 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Parallel (2018) by Jay Seaver

Witch: Part 1 - The Subversion, The by Jay Seaver

Lôi Báo by Jay Seaver

Bohemian Rhapsody by Rob Gonsalves

Fireworks (2017) by Jay Seaver

Knuckleball (2018) by Jay Seaver

Roma (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Detour by Peter Sobczynski

Anna and the Apocalypse by Peter Sobczynski

Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


54
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by desdemona

"Someone please tell me what the point of this movie was."
2 stars

At least Mike Myers was good.

Although I'm not exactly sure, I THINK 54 is supposed to be about that famous '70s NY dance club by the name of (hmmmm) Studio 54. That's about as much plot as you get out of this movie.

The story SORT OF follows Shane O'Shea (Ryan Phillipe), a bartender at 54 during its glory days, and it SORT OF follows Steve Rubell (Mike Myers), the notoriously flaming owner of the club. To define 54: lots of drugs. Lots of sex (but the sex is more implied than actually seen; sorry). Party, party, party. That about sums the whole movie up.

Don't get me wrong--there was an ATTEMPT at a plot, just not a very good one. Usually movies are too drawn out. This one was horribly quick, so that much of the actual story had to be assumed by the audience because the movie never really TOLD them about it. One minute, everyone's all buddy-buddy, happy as happy can be, blah-blah-blah. The next minute, they're all pissed at each other, there's a marriage on the rocks, and best friends haven't spoken in months (even though they were fine in the previous scene). One scene, Shane is infatuated with soap actress Julie Black (Neve Campell), the next scene it seems like they're in love and have known each other for years, and THEN in the next scene Julie's hanging on the arm of some famous guy and Shane is hurt because he "thought we had something special." In three scenes?! Maybe I'm just slow, but I don't get it. Aren't movies supposed to let the audience know, at least to some extent, what's going on? I would've appreciated a tip-off.

And the movie can't be blamed on the acting. Mike Myers was incredible; Steve Rubell was no Austin Powers. The role was very dramatic, yet the man was very eccentric, and Mr. Myers pulled it off beautifully. I wish he would do more serious roles like this, he's very good at it. Ryan Phillipe was also good (contrary to popular opinion). He may not have landed the Joisy accent (he sounded more Italian mafia than New Jersey youth), but he played his role (or lack thereof) well. If Mike Myers couldn't save this movie, one can hardly expect Ryan Phillipe to. Neve Campbell was probably only in the movie for a grand total of five minutes, but let's just say that she didn't really provide what the movie lacked. Salma Hayek was great, Breckin Meyer was great, everyone was great (well, everyone except Neve). It was just a poorly written and poorly directed movie.

If 54 were to be made about 45 minutes longer, thereby expalining everything it apparently forget to in the original, go see it. Until then, don't waste your time. There are a lot of other movies in the world; trust me, you're not missing anything.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=51&reviewer=86
originally posted: 05/31/99 16:55:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell dull & sleazy 1 stars
2/19/14 Wayne This film was HEAVILY edited before it came out--that's why it makes no sense. 1 stars
6/27/10 PAUL SHORTT DREARY, BLEAK DRAMA 1 stars
12/28/05 Jeff Anderson Mike Myers' performance is the ONLY great thing in this cliched & anachronistic fiasco! 1 stars
5/21/05 Cham Boring. 1 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why... 3 stars
6/08/03 james what the hell was this movie about? 1 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Ugh, where's the story, the glamour, the glitz, the sex. Where's everything !? 1 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Bad news: MM& SH most forgettable I ever saw them. Good news: NC&RP were likewise. 2 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Mike Myers performance was great, and Neve was hot, but the movie blew chunks. 2 stars
1/31/02 Andrew Carden Worth Watching For Good Performances and Retrospective On The Club. 4 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean This movie didn't bother dramatizing how the REAL celebrities partied at 54? Fuck that! 2 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat Mike Myers is good. Other than that, this movie sucks donkey penises. 2 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Boogie Nights was stupid soft porn...this is just stupid 1 stars
3/05/01 Jake I found it entertaining and much more enjoyable than Boogie Nights 4 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla watch this if your horny, if your intelligent, dont watch this shit 1 stars
10/20/00 Terrie Smith Nothing really to get excited about; Campbell & Myers make the most of it. 3 stars
5/26/00 Elvisfan I was born the same place & year as Shane & moved to NYC when he did 4 stars
3/09/00 Kyle Broflovski Meyers redeems it somewhat...I just wanted to eviscerate Phillipe, and that's not like me. 3 stars
2/11/00 Lame-Oh Neve and Myers were great. The rest was garbage. 2 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis This movie was a poorly-crafted mess. No character development. Woefully awful!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/04/99 Elizaveta hahahahahahahaHA. 1 stars
7/18/99 Chef ADogg Watery...perked up whenever Neve or Myers was on screen 2 stars
5/09/99 Ah Dooey A poor, unnecessary rehash of Boogie Nights and Grease 2 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn I just about died with boredom...stupid, dumb, a no brainer and dull,,,, 2 stars
3/13/99 Love Donkey Beyond rotten 1 stars
3/07/99 CanadianChica I loved it, i felt like dancing afterwards. Besides, Phillippe is nothing to frown upon. 5 stars
10/30/98 Bad Kosh Is it some kind of disco shit or does it get any worse? 2 stars
10/23/98 Vick Di Brecci A poor, unnecessary remake of Boogie Nights 2 stars
10/17/98 natalie It was alright. Neve Campbell 3 stars
10/12/98 grunter disco scrubbed clean for "hets" and the "family values" crowd - lies, all lies. 1 stars
9/27/98 John Hawkins I hate disco but I really loved this movie! 5 stars
9/26/98 The Canadian Beaver Eh Sherry Stringfield can suck my dick anytime!! 5 stars
9/23/98 Red02 OK I know it wasn't supposed to be but it was hillarious to me! 4 stars
9/20/98 katherine igo 2 see neve. shes in it 4 2 secs. the rest was ppl siting around smoking dope. big wow. 2 stars
9/15/98 Gamma Mike Myers was AWESOME. Proves he can do drama 3 stars
9/14/98 jhanu the het-washing of disco continues 2 stars
9/14/98 zeek pretty lacklustre but worth it to watch salma hayek ;-) 3 stars
9/14/98 Keith Griffith Did I misunderstand recent history? Wasn't disco something to do with gay people? 1 stars
9/13/98 Chip Taylor Myers ... stick to comedy. You're a nobody and a stranger in the world of dramatic movies 2 stars
9/13/98 Daniel Eskin Stunk like an old goat after being puked on 2 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Breckin Meyer rules the school. Ryan Phillipe is a nobody. 3 stars
9/04/98 Marsha It sucks! Ryan Philippe sucks more. Neve is alright. 1 stars
8/31/98 edicius 54...the only movie where you get to hear Mike Myers say, "I want to suck your cock." 4 stars
8/28/98 Miss Stress Drugs and Disco....do we really wanna remember polytester suits and the bustop????? 3 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee I really liked it, but I'm a disco-freak. Myers was great. A real departure for him. 5 stars
8/13/98 {{{OZ}}} I forget 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Aug-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jul-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Nov-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast