Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome50.98%
Worth A Look: 21.57%
Just Average: 16.67%
Pretty Crappy: 9.8%
Sucks: 0.98%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Clickbait by Jay Seaver

Her Smell by Peter Sobczynski

Under the Silver Lake by Peter Sobczynski

Chaperone, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Missing Link by Jay Seaver

Master Z: Ip Man Legacy by Jay Seaver

Hail Satan? by Jay Seaver

Diane by Rob Gonsalves

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse by Rob Gonsalves

Dragged Across Concrete by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Crazy/Beautiful
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"A passionate teen romance that is breaking todas las reglas"
4 stars

A teen romance that knowingly plays the inter-racial card. The buzz around this film was all about Kirsten Dunst's nixed nude sex scene and if you go see a movie just to see naked breasts, well, Bless You, but there is more to see. Thanks perhaps in part to the success of Ricky Martin and Jennifer Lopez as "crossover" artists, we now have a teen film with a more accurate portrayal of Latino culture and Spanish dialogue with no subtitles. It looks like someone figured out that Hispanic-Americans have some disposable income and Latino actors may start to see a wider range of roles offered to them.

Kirsten Dunst plays Nicole, a hard-edged teen whose father is a state representative. She meets and falls in love with Carlos, played by Jay Hernandez (oh my god, he has the most kissable lips). Instead of being the rich white girl meets boy from wrong side of the social spectrum tale, it turns into a story about driven, intelligent, hardworking Carlos who meets the hardly approved of artistic and sensitive drunk, Nicole. In order to maintain their freedom to choose what they want to do and whom they want to love they must stand side by side and fight the world together. It's the myth that every teenager lives by.

Nicole has problems. Her stepmother doesn't like her and her father doesn't know what to do with her. She's failing school, has no plans for the future and is happiest when she is wasted.

Carlos has own concerns. He has to work hard to "make something of himself". In a Latino Good Will Hunting moment, Carlos' brothers tells him "You owe it to all of us to do something with what you've got". Carlos wants to be a pilot. He studies hard and he respects his family. He's your typical good son while Nicole is your typical bad daughter.

Carlos' mother (played entirely in Spanish by Soledad St.Hilaire) thinks that Nicole will be bad for her son and we get the idea that she would prefer it if he dated a nice Mexican girl. If you don't speak any Spanish at all you might miss this. Nicole's father wants Carlos to stay away from his daughter because she is "very destructive" and doesn't want Carlos to get off track because of her. But Carlos likes Nicole because she is crazy and Nicole likes Carlos because he is beautiful. All this social disapproval causes all sorts of grief for Nicole and Carlos who do what you'd expect and don't listen to anyone but themselves. Teenagers will love how they decide, just on the verge of that all-important moment in American life, High School Graduation, that nothing, not your dreams, not what you've been working towards, nothing, is more important than being with the person you love. Wouldn't it be great if love could save you from having to be an adult?

Culture clash is a subtext in this film. There are several scenes where white suburbanites act on what they think Hispanic culture or "ghetto culture" is supposed to be like in a genuine effort to communicate with the alien species and they find out that the MTv version of reality is far from the mark. That was pretty sneaky, tossing in some social enlightenment like that instead of going the other route and packaging the studio version of ghetto culture for a white audience.

Nicole's best friend Maddy takes an unfortunate back seat. Taryn Manning gives a great performance as the rebel girl who is not as fucked up as Nicole but is like most teen age rebel girls on the loose. She's got her concerns and she takes good care of her friend but the moment that the story begins to focus on Maddy, Nicole runs off when she sees Carlos. Sorry Maddy, but this is not about you. Maddy does get some good lines and she was a great complement to Nicole. They were almost twins, not just in spirit but in looks and style.

What I like best about this film is that Hay and Manfredi and director, John Stockwell, really took the time to show authentic Angeleno Latino culture. You get to see a Quincinera (the "sweet fifteen" party that is as big a deal as first communion or your wedding day), parts of Los Angeles that in any other film would be the stage for drive by shootings, crack deals and FIVE OH, and an abuelita (little grandmother) who lives in a part of the kitchen and wanders around the house in her nightshirt.

Crazy/Beautiful is a fairly predictable teen romance but like any genre movie, it's not the story but the characters that make the difference. I liked Nicole and Carlos and I'm a sucker for a romance no matter how stupid it is. It's also a realistic correction of attitudes that whites and Latinos may have of each other in Los Angeles. Maddy teases Nicole by telling her "You think you are down because you once scored in Pico". Nicole replies that she scored twice and they both laugh. They know where they stand culturally but they are also above it all. They, like Carlos, aren't trying to be anything other than themselves. That's a good message for teens.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5152&reviewer=67
originally posted: 06/28/01 15:24:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/12/15 ER Rescued by fine acting. Dunst in last scene is worth price of admission. 4 stars
7/31/09 Athianathi Nazreen Sifo Yes,it myt hav nt made it bg,bt i second the idea that one cn learn sumthng 4m it..i lykd i 3 stars
4/03/08 Felicia this movie rocks my world jay ur good lookin I luv ya' and datz for life ur my #1 hottie 5 stars
8/08/05 yuko reminds me of my high school life 5 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson LIKE AN AFTERSCHOOL SPECIAL, ONLY 10 TIMES BETTER! John Stockwell deserves enormous credit! 5 stars
12/23/04 The Mockingbird oh shut up. you people suck, just like this movie. contrived/overrated 2 stars
9/12/04 BC_Animus An amazing romance film... (and if you're not into romance watch it for Kirsten!) 5 stars
5/29/04 k wonderful teen romance film 5 stars
5/22/04 anastarsia it was soo kewl!! and jay herendez is soo hot!! 5 stars
5/14/04 Malea I loved it 5 stars
4/08/04 Michael "Hutch" Hutchinson God I wanna fuck her so bad. 4 stars
3/20/04 Kayla Awesome movie!! very nice and Jay Hernandez is hot!!! 5 stars
2/11/04 vanessa badass movie 5 stars
12/08/03 Gaby Go see the movie because JAY HERNANDEZ is in it 5 stars
10/10/03 Claxner Oxjaw Humongously CRAZY to so egregious maluse the BEAUTIFUL Kirsten Dunst! 2 stars
8/19/03 Nica JAY IS THE FINNEZT THING EVER you cant go wrong with the movie cuz Hes in IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/18/03 Natasha Chrisenberry It was worth seeing- really awesome!! 5 stars
7/13/03 jean i reckon the film was totally blasting, it was flamming man.i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/03/03 jessica i love this movie and jay herendez is sexy!!!! 5 stars
4/27/03 Gwen The real star is Taryn Manning (maddy) who cares about any1 else? taryn was by far the best 5 stars
4/14/03 Katie Jay is so sexy i want him ! and the movie is great 4 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby The writing is cliched but the two lead characters are interesting and ring true. 3 stars
4/08/03 Hamdi Mohamud This film is the best film ever i mean ever, its brilliant man. 5 stars
4/01/03 nic jay is gorgeous 5 stars
3/21/03 lala jay hernandez is so hot!! 4 stars
2/28/03 Monique Intense heat between characters had me horny as hell! 5 stars
2/10/03 kiro jay hernendez is hella hot 5 stars
1/13/03 DoNT WoRRy BOUT iT!! Jay HeRnaNDeZ iSs FiNe FinE FiNE!!! FiNe aSS MeXiCaN PaPi!! MuAHZZ!! 5 stars
1/07/03 tina excellent 5 stars
12/25/02 Chrissy Herrera bad ass movie with actors 5 stars
12/10/02 Elizabeth Cole It was the sweetest most touching movie i've ever seen 5 stars
11/06/02 electra real good movie 5 stars
11/02/02 cynthia luna my favorite movie 5 stars
11/01/02 irine primavera that's really crazy beautiful!!!! nice movie 5 stars
10/21/02 jessica it was interesting and not corny and also jay hernendazis hot as 4 stars
10/19/02 SOL N AMBII IT ROCKS THE FUCK ON!! 5 stars
10/05/02 Kayla Watson i thought that the movie was just "GREAT" i loved it and i have watched it over and over!!! 5 stars
9/25/02 Violet Edgewater Damn, Hernendez is so fine, not even words can explain how sexy he looks. 5 stars
9/24/02 Narges IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE EVER! JAY HERNENDEZ ROCKKKKKKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/23/02 ju I would like Jay Hernendez so much....^ ^ 5 stars
9/17/02 Sara Great! 5 stars
9/12/02 Mary Jane This movie was the best i have seen in a long time. it was so beautiful!! 5 stars
7/23/02 araluen thomsen absolutley fantastic,love hernendez 5 stars
7/16/02 DESIREE HAUMEA JAY HERNENDEZ , HIS SO GORGEOUS THAT HIS MY DREAM GUY AND EVERY MOVIE HE MAKES I'LL BUY! 5 stars
5/26/02 Candy And Shelly JAY IS FIT 5 stars
5/25/02 Phoenix Kirsten Dunst and her big tities are the true star of this sometimes boring movie. 3 stars
5/17/02 Courtney Vidotto The movie was cool but Jay is fucking sexy 5 stars
5/14/02 Liz Jay hernandez is hot in the movie i loved it 5 stars
5/13/02 erica kelly Jay Hernandez is so fine i love him in crazy beauitful he his finer then anyother guy 5 stars
5/12/02 larissa greig it is the best movie and jay hernendez if a hunney 5 stars
4/30/02 krista Jay Hernendez was only tha good part 5 stars
4/22/02 Itumeleng Menthonia Sekukuni It's an awsome movie & Jay Hernendez was trully BEAUTIFUL 5 stars
4/19/02 nikki this movies kicks ass 5 stars
4/12/02 Rebecca Medrano I really enjoyed watching "Crazy/Beautiful" and i think Jay Hernandez is the cutest of all. 5 stars
3/11/02 Alan Smithee If Ms. Dunst had gotten naked and participated in a lesbian orgy, things would be better. 2 stars
2/28/02 falisha jay hernendez is the hottest guy 5 stars
1/31/02 Valerie Cameron Kirsten Dunst wasted making like Julia Stiles, though she does it as well as Stiles herself 3 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden A Total Disappointment To Dunst Fans, May Have Some Interest If U Like Cheesy Romance. 2 stars
1/05/02 specialK gets an extra star for Dunst's breasts... 5 stars
1/05/02 Richard Plourde Electricity between Duntz and Hernendez 4 stars
12/02/01 SweatPea it was pretty good, i've seen worse, and i've seen better 3 stars
12/02/01 shaukat ali khan to see then given my comments 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy Intriguing. 4 stars
11/25/01 Therese Excellent! Jay Hernandez, you've touched my heart with all your love and patience. 5 stars
11/20/01 Ben Excellent 5 stars
8/21/01 Christy Reyes This movie was the best movie of the summer!!!!!! 5 stars
8/18/01 Evin Green Kirsten Dunst plays the crazy lover almost frighteningly well. 5 stars
7/09/01 sdfk Some real emotional moments from Dunst; Bad continunity 4 stars
7/03/01 jim dyer don't like this feature 5 stars
6/30/01 yeah i havent seen it but i wanna!!!! 4 stars
6/29/01 Mr. Shmegma Fairly realistic teen love story 4 stars
6/27/01 fdfg Yawn! Another mindless teenybopper flick 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Nov-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast