Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome: 37.04%
Worth A Look51.85%
Just Average: 7.41%
Pretty Crappy: 3.7%
Sucks: 0%

1 review, 21 user ratings



Muppet Treasure Island
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"LONG LIVE THE MUPPETS!"
4 stars

I LOVE THE MUPPETS.

So far these little pieces of cotton and felt have not done me wrong.. and this is no exception.

I grew up on the muppets, I cried when Jim Henson kicked the bucket. I recoiled in terror when I heard about The Christmas Carol without Jim! But It was masterful. His son has honoured his father so well with what he has done.

Treasure island is cool as hell , BUT ONLY IF YOU ARE A FAN' If not fuck off and rent Hellraiser 4 and jack off over its cheesyness, then go to film school and become another pretentious arselicker.

This has Tim 'I lost the plot but now Im back' Curry as long John Silver. Kermit as Captain Smollet, Gonzo and Rizzo as Gonzo and Rizzo. It is just perfect.. apart from the annoying twat as Jack.

The songs are cool, the sets are cool, the jokes are funny (I miss films that actually make me laugh) and the cameos are cool. (Billy Connolly, Jennifer Saunders)

So please do yourself a favour get this out and give it a chance and regain that piece of humanity you lost after you sat through this summers great piles of toss.

I always contradict all my film ideals when it comes to the muppets..

LONG LIVE THE MUPPETS!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=530&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/02/98 11:30:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Muppet Movies: For more in the Muppet Movies series, click here.

User Comments

11/24/13 Vanessa C. A favorite still, I love singing along and Tim Curry was amazing. 5 stars
12/19/11 Dr.Lao Delightful 4 stars
7/18/10 Sally Love the Muppets, love Tim Curry 5 stars
5/14/10 John Aster Miscasted Muppets Gonzo should be Ben Gunn Miss Piggy the squire ok but poor adaptation 3 stars
1/06/09 Bethany Cox Best Muppet movie! Tim Curry is absolutely outstanding here! Great songs! 5 stars
5/22/05 Littlepurch This and Christmas Carol are the best muppet films ever!! Curry rocks! 5 stars
6/27/04 Holly Haider It is a great family show and it is very funny if you listen carefully! 5 stars
5/20/04 Sean Scanlan Well... 3 stars
9/05/01 Gary Four words: THE...MUPPETS...KICK...ASS 4 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden You can't mix the Muppets with someone like Tim Curry. Go back to Gilligan's instead. 2 stars
4/07/01 Wadsworth Jr. Tim Curry + Muppets?! What more could any movie fan want? Tim Curry is an actor's actor 5 stars
6/11/00 Jed A fine Muppets film 4 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Entertaining. That's all it was. 4 stars
10/24/99 focus funny as hell 5 stars
10/19/99 Lame-Oh I miss the Muppets 4 stars
5/20/99 iyu Its not a blockbuster, but a damn funny film. :D) 4 stars
4/18/99 gaile Muppets, Muppets, Muppets,muppets. Yep, the fuckin' rule 5 stars
3/07/99 Ben Timms Not as Good as a "real" (read when Jim was alive) muppet film, but stilll pretty good 4 stars
11/29/98 Mr. Bimble It's the Muppets. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
11/02/98 Philip Jan Excellent film, not just for Muppet fans. Alot of laughs. 5 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress it's the muppets, you gotta love it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-1996 (G)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast