Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome: 23.45%
Worth A Look37.24%
Just Average: 19.31%
Pretty Crappy: 4.14%
Sucks: 15.86%

6 reviews, 109 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Legally Blonde
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"It's like...soooo much better than I expected!"
4 stars

"Legally Blonde" is an effortless yet cute little comedy that will no doubt make a star out of Reese Witherspoon, a lovely yet strong actress who has had her share of diverse roles (from "Pleasantville" to "Election"), and finally gets her own starring role as a lawyer with her own form of style. It's as if Cher from "Clueless" is all grown up but in age only.

Witherspoon plays Elle Woods, who is every bit as Valley Girl as the stereotypes make her out to be, a girl who has just finished a good four year run at college, majoring in fashion. When her hunk of a boyfriend (Matthew Davis) breaks up with her when he has dreams of going to Harvard and becoming a senator ("I want to marry a Jackie, not a Marilyn"), Elle is infuriated, and decides to follow his steps and become a lawyer herself. She doesn't change her style a bit and comes to Harvard, bringing all of her personal effects with her.

What surprised me is how well Elle is fleshed out. At the forefront, you think that she's just another ditz that doesn't know anything, but instead really turns out to be a nice person who has brains as well as beauty. Elle is eager to please, especially when she plays cupid between a manicurist (Jennifer Coolidge, a fair departure from her silicone enhanced stature in "Best in Show" and "American Pie"), and shares the funniest scene in the movie with Elle, who teaches a goofy technique to get guys.

Sadly, the movie presses along into a boring court case involving a young woman (Ali Larter) who is accused of murdering her husband. Even though there's an interesting surprise as to how this woman and Elle are connected, by this point the film runs out of steam. Witherspoon does what she can to hold it together but the material downs her at times. Luke Wilson plays a sort-of love interest, but he's hardly there half the time, and he looks bored.

Overall, however, the film is likable and cute. Reese Witherspoon was the biggest happening from this film, and good for her. She has the beauty and the intelligence to shape a whole career. It's interesting that a film like this and not "Election" would be the one to do it, but that's okay.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5347&reviewer=350
originally posted: 07/08/04 23:39:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/27/10 art PATHETIC!,who cares about some DUMB BLONDE!? 1 stars
4/28/10 name Great site. Keep doing., 2 stars
6/18/09 art A MOTION PICTURE THAT IS ONLY FOR JERK"S! 1 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, surprisingly good! 4 stars
12/05/08 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE FLUFFY COMEDY 3 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Silverstone is Hot!! 5 stars
11/02/07 sarah a comedy that mkes sense. loved it 5 stars
5/26/07 WalkingDisaster Hilarious without being asinine 5 stars
4/08/07 johnnyfog I was suprised how funny Reese is. Jennifer Coolidge is of course awesome 5 stars
11/24/06 sammmy love it just wish i didnt have to do an english assignment on it ....... 3 stars
5/28/06 Alexandra I loved it. I found i could relate to some of the characters too! 5 stars
2/04/06 sweetgrrl1972 Full of hackneyed stereotypes, an embarrassingly bad ending yet somehow Reese is charming 3 stars
1/02/06 cody reese is heroine of this picture, she keeps the movie together with spunk , not great 3 stars
9/26/05 Daveman Badly shot, lit and rather bland, never reaches the hilarious camp extremes of the sequal. 2 stars
9/20/05 Madeline Jensen it's the best, i love it! (but i guess i am a bit like elle 5 stars
8/31/05 holly this movie kicks butt 5 stars
8/21/05 Lozaan Steenkamp It exposes a society that stereotype certain people based upon their looks. 4 stars
6/26/05 tony good movie. I liked the plot. 4 stars
2/17/05 crandall101 like it 4 stars
9/17/04 A upton a waste of about an hour and a half, 1 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz Must see 5 stars
7/20/04 April Gupton love it 4 stars
7/17/04 Jen C. absolutely cute cute cute!!! feel good movie 5 stars
7/17/04 legend The movie was funnier than I thought it would be but not great. 4 stars
4/04/04 kirsty matthews this has gotta be the best film ever made ! i loved it soo much i bought a hole pink wardro 5 stars
2/08/04 Whatevr The only chick flick worth watching 4 stars
2/02/04 Helen Bradley Great movie best of decade in class 5 stars
2/01/04 Jaybird This movie is total ass 1 stars
1/06/04 Pinkline Jones I'd like to see Rheese Witherspoon in a different position 5 stars
11/06/03 Greggory sucks 1 stars
11/06/03 Jenna New i hated it!!!! 1 stars
10/19/03 Hinatsu no less stupid than Charelie's Angel 2 3 stars
10/14/03 Evil Olive Gee, Ashley, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
9/14/03 Tiffaney funny 5 stars
8/01/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
7/24/03 Christine Forget about the good intentions in this movie when she wins a court case with Cosmo advice 1 stars
7/17/03 chris there must be a better way i could have wasted two hours of my life. 1 stars
7/04/03 J no idea why they made a sequel to this!!!! 1 stars
6/30/03 Kathy Ramsey Pretty nice visually; really lousy script. 3 stars
6/17/03 Andrew Callaway At hearing the jokes from this movie... not only did I not laugh... I cryed. Predicible. 1 stars
5/07/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
5/06/03 Joesco reese was great and carried the movie but talk about slight ! 4 stars
4/23/03 Leah reese should be put down. SLOWLY. It wasn't cute. nor Sweet. nor FUNNY. Yet it spawns a seq 1 stars
4/08/03 JL a cute movie. 4 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Oh yeah? Seemed to put down some who might fell less that perfect in there (sic) lives! 1 stars
3/17/03 Gwendolyn Vasquez This movie is very inspirational to everyone who feels less than perfect in there life. 5 stars
3/01/03 karen fucking bullshit. reese couldn't pick a decent role to save her life. 1 stars
2/24/03 cheif boot knocka I wish ted bundy could get his hands on that bitch 1 stars
2/16/03 Miranda Turner Well, Ashlee, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
2/10/03 Reese Witherspoon I wanted to prove I'm not a real blonde, but the asshole producers wouldn't let me. 1 stars
12/17/02 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
11/05/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond Reese Witherspoon could shit a 12 in. turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
10/31/02 Erica Great movie, had me laughing all along. 4 stars
10/28/02 Cool_chickie Pretty cool movie 5 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan Funniest movie since "Miss Congeniality". Who could forget that final courtroom scene? 5 stars
9/27/02 Espritlibre Great comedy and chick flick! Uplifiting 5 stars
8/22/02 Danielle Ophelia Painfully pedestrian Hollywood packages, redeemed by Reese's inimitable charm. 4 stars
8/19/02 fred she is hot 5 stars
4/15/02 nmvjh,v CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/31/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Reese Witherspoon of creates cheese & CSU swan holds the scent of strawberries 2 stars
2/28/02 Chronically constipated dumb blonde Reese Witherspoon Me? Shit a 12 in. turd? In my dreams! 3 stars
2/27/02 seldom scene average comedy the professor had a large left ear 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute comedy. Love those outfits and the dog! 4 stars
1/26/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond R. Witherspoon could shit a 12 inch turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
1/03/02 Butterbean Yes it's predictable, but it's also one of the best "fish-out-of-water" movies out there. 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I'd rather eat my young 2 stars
12/19/01 Elizabeth Great 5 stars
12/17/01 Rampage Worse! I've seen worse! 1 stars
12/16/01 The Bomb 69 eh...I've seen better, predictable plot 3 stars
12/10/01 matthew smith delightful and very very funny, Resse Witherspoon is just brilliant 4 stars
12/03/01 auroradae a foofoo movie about valley girls a must see for nobody 1 stars
11/30/01 Phoenix Very funny and cute. Reese Witherspoon has never been more appealing. 5 stars
11/24/01 viking the "feel good" movie of the year !!!! 4 stars
11/15/01 daniboy could've been better 2 stars
11/12/01 Megan it was a good movie and had some funny parts added to it 4 stars
11/02/01 moviegoer funny, lame, cute, stupid, it's it all 4 stars
10/30/01 Jim Renwick Run of the numbers Teen flick but Reese is just too good. Worth seeing 4 stars
10/28/01 P.Rodriguez Started of Crap, but got better as it progessed. I loved the "you bitch" fag scene. 4 stars
10/21/01 Diane light and fun 4 stars
10/18/01 starpulp welcome brain candy! 5 stars
9/12/01 Seb Pansarella I think it was great. It was perfect although it did teach me to be myself and change 4 no1 4 stars
8/21/01 Tzila Seewald In the begining, iwas stupid BUT in the end it's was very good movie! 4 stars
8/20/01 ThatGuy Legally accurate, but the two lawyers were the only ones in the theater that were laughing. 4 stars
8/19/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/19/01 FrayLo starts off sketchy, turns out to be decent, give it a chance...i did 4 stars
8/14/01 onesmartcookie Blonde Ambition 4 stars
8/13/01 coolchickkiss i loved the way she solves the case with her knowledge of hair care. 5 stars
8/12/01 TL DO not waste your time or money...my gf even hated it. 1 stars
8/11/01 CRW Reese is great! An LOL movie. 5 stars
8/10/01 Benjamin Lesbian Craptacularly good! 3 stars
8/10/01 TheFirkin Could not get by the stupidity of the characters. This is totally American humour. 2 stars
8/09/01 bobtesch@earthlink.net Enjoyed! 4 stars
8/09/01 Connie I liked it. 5 stars
8/09/01 Russell Moker Liked it a lot but viewed as a comedy farce, not the gospel truth. It's a fun movie! 4 stars
8/08/01 Merrylue Charmaine Women LOVE this movie . . . Men Don't! Hmmmmm, I wonder why?! 4 stars
8/08/01 moviegoer Cute. Witherspoon does an excellent job and the romance part of the movie was well done. 4 stars
8/08/01 pinkbutterfly79 pretty good and entertaining I left the theater with a smile 4 stars
8/05/01 cheri a must see, i have already pre-ordered it on dvd, great fun 5 stars
8/04/01 Roy Smith Surprisingly good! And Ms Witherspoon looks great as a bunny! Yowza! 4 stars
8/02/01 Catie Great! Can't wait till in comes out on DVD! 5 stars
7/29/01 toneely Reese is the best!!!!! I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
7/27/01 Manlee Mann Guys can love this frothy post-teen comedy just as much as girls. I love you, Reese! 5 stars
7/27/01 sdfk I was told it exceeded its genre and it certainly did upon viewing. Go Reese. 4 stars
7/25/01 Timo I was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
7/23/01 Bash Good, light summer commedy 4 stars
7/22/01 Kristen This movie was incredibly awesome and it's my theme movie. Hooray for blondes & pink! 5 stars
7/21/01 Geebo My friend said it was a chick flick. It was, but I left the theater with a smile. 5 stars
7/19/01 Ben its damn good 4 stars
7/14/01 Unanon Not anywhere near as dull as I'd expected! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Oct-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast