Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome: 23.45%
Worth A Look37.24%
Just Average: 19.31%
Pretty Crappy: 4.14%
Sucks: 15.86%

6 reviews, 109 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Legally Blonde
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"Bring On The Peroxide - I'm Ready To Go Blonde!"
4 stars

Reese Witherspoon does it again. In this cute college comedy, filed with an ensemble cast. It has just enough serious to get across an important message, but also laughter in all the right moments. Enough so, to make me want to see it again and tell all my friends to go. Make no mistake if you don't like bubble gum pop this movie isn't for you. True to Hoku's song from the very beginning 'Perfect Day.' This movie keeps the good tunes and feelings rolling along.

Okay here's the canned synopsis from the movie site:

Elle Woods (Reese Witherspoon) has it all. She's the president of her sorority, a Hawaiian Tropic girl, Miss June in her campus calendar, and, above all, a natural blonde. She dates the cutest fraternity boy on campus and wants nothing more than to be Mrs. Warner Huntington III. But, there's just one thing stopping Warner (Matthew Davis) from popping the question: Elle is TOO blonde. Growing up across the street from Aaron Spelling might mean something in LA, but nothing to Warner's East-Coast blue blood family. So, when Warner packs up for Harvard Law and reunites with an old sweetheart from prep school, Elle rallies all her resources and gets into Harvard, determined to win him back. But law school is a far cry from the comforts of her poolside and the mall. Elle must wage the battle of her life - for her guy, for herself and for all the blondes who suffer endless indignities everyday.

Now here's what I have to say:

I officially want to be a part of the Reese Witherspoon fan club. I'm hooked from 'Fear', 'Cruel Intentions’; to 'Pleasantville' I love her. Even more so I lover her costars! But I'm not here to talk about my many crushes, so enough digressions back to the point.

Admittedly in the beginning of the movie with all its sorority 'pinkness'. It reminded me of a peptol bismol ad and I could feel the vomit start to rise in my throat. Can you tell I'm not much of a greek advocate or do I need to be more sarcastic? But that is exactly how this movie treats everything - 'Tongue in Cheek'.

It is that freshness and laughability that makes the movie so wonderful. In the end you root for Elle to win - she embodies all the traits young girls aspire to have. In the end she takes control and rules her 'blondeness' so to speak. In one of my favorite scenes Elle helps a fellow Harvard student, who is seen as a bit of a nerd - gain some romantic prospects.

Onto the rest of the cast:

Matthew Davis portrays Warner Huntington III, the boy Elle chases to Harvard to win back. I have no idea who he is; I've never seen him in anything before. To his credit he did do a job as the stuck up snotty boyfriend.

Selma Blair is Elle's nemesis in wooing Warner back. Some say this movie was Selma's turn to be the Biotch to Reese. **NOTE** If you didn't see 'Cruel Intentions' Selma and Reese's roles are reversed. Reese gives shit to Selma - rent it - it's an okay flick. Selma does a good job as being the antithesis to everything blonde. Selma and Reese have good chemistry and bounce off each other playfully throughout the movie.

Luke Wilson in the beginning is someone who helps Elle upon her start at Harvard. His character ends up being Elle's mentor throughout the flick and in the ends being at lot closer to her than either she or he ever planned. Luke does a good job! But I am biased I have loved him ever since he co-starred with Drew Barrymore in ‘Home Fries.’ He’s a cutie – what more do you want?

Victor Garber is the antagonist professor of the film. You start out liking his character and in the end learn his true colors. He’s a snake in sheep’s clothing.

Ali Larter is the damsel in need of legal advice. Ms. Larter is most widely known from her guest appearances on ‘Dawson’s Creek’ and her role opposite creek regular James Van Der Beek in ‘Varsity Blues’. The guys will remember her as the one who donned the whipped cream bikini. Ali portrays an ex-sorority sister who is accused of murdering her husband and is also a workout tape guru.

There is a fabulous cameo by Raquel Welch! She is the dead man’s first wife and is absolutely hysterical.

Another cameo of special note is by Holland Taylor. Holland is most recently known for her work on the ABC drama ‘The Practice.’ She plays a professor who in the beginning gives Elle a run for her money but ends up providing words of encouragement for Elle in the end when she has a run in with another professor.

But I have saved the best for last my favorite character is the nail technician portrayed by Jennifer Coolidge. She is best known as Stifler’s mom in ‘American Pie.’ She stole all the scenes she was in. The banter between her and the UPS guy was absolutely hysterical! Especially the scene about the LARGE package – it had me in stitches. That and the BEND AND SNAP. Too funny for words – that sequence – special note to those fans of the 80’s – was choreographed by Toni Basil – a la ‘MICKEY’ – the ultimate cheerleading video – but I digress…

As I said in the beginning it’s an ensemble cast led by Reese Witherspoon. Providing many laughs over the hour and a half. The only thing that disappointed me with this movie was the selection for tracks on the soundtrack. The movie had many great songs in it, but very few of them made it to the CD. So to the movie I say Hooray! To the CD I say BOO! This is one HUGE LAUGHABLE PACKAGE that you don’t want to miss. Excuse the package reference, I just loved the UPS guy – he can deliver my mail any day!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5347&reviewer=88
originally posted: 07/27/01 06:22:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/27/10 art PATHETIC!,who cares about some DUMB BLONDE!? 1 stars
4/28/10 name Great site. Keep doing., 2 stars
6/18/09 art A MOTION PICTURE THAT IS ONLY FOR JERK"S! 1 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt pretty funny, surprisingly good! 4 stars
12/05/08 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE FLUFFY COMEDY 3 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Silverstone is Hot!! 5 stars
11/02/07 sarah a comedy that mkes sense. loved it 5 stars
5/26/07 WalkingDisaster Hilarious without being asinine 5 stars
4/08/07 johnnyfog I was suprised how funny Reese is. Jennifer Coolidge is of course awesome 5 stars
11/24/06 sammmy love it just wish i didnt have to do an english assignment on it ....... 3 stars
5/28/06 Alexandra I loved it. I found i could relate to some of the characters too! 5 stars
2/04/06 sweetgrrl1972 Full of hackneyed stereotypes, an embarrassingly bad ending yet somehow Reese is charming 3 stars
1/02/06 cody reese is heroine of this picture, she keeps the movie together with spunk , not great 3 stars
9/26/05 Daveman Badly shot, lit and rather bland, never reaches the hilarious camp extremes of the sequal. 2 stars
9/20/05 Madeline Jensen it's the best, i love it! (but i guess i am a bit like elle 5 stars
8/31/05 holly this movie kicks butt 5 stars
8/21/05 Lozaan Steenkamp It exposes a society that stereotype certain people based upon their looks. 4 stars
6/26/05 tony good movie. I liked the plot. 4 stars
2/17/05 crandall101 like it 4 stars
9/17/04 A upton a waste of about an hour and a half, 1 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz Must see 5 stars
7/20/04 April Gupton love it 4 stars
7/17/04 Jen C. absolutely cute cute cute!!! feel good movie 5 stars
7/17/04 legend The movie was funnier than I thought it would be but not great. 4 stars
4/04/04 kirsty matthews this has gotta be the best film ever made ! i loved it soo much i bought a hole pink wardro 5 stars
2/08/04 Whatevr The only chick flick worth watching 4 stars
2/02/04 Helen Bradley Great movie best of decade in class 5 stars
2/01/04 Jaybird This movie is total ass 1 stars
1/06/04 Pinkline Jones I'd like to see Rheese Witherspoon in a different position 5 stars
11/06/03 Greggory sucks 1 stars
11/06/03 Jenna New i hated it!!!! 1 stars
10/19/03 Hinatsu no less stupid than Charelie's Angel 2 3 stars
10/14/03 Evil Olive Gee, Ashley, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
9/14/03 Tiffaney funny 5 stars
8/01/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
7/24/03 Christine Forget about the good intentions in this movie when she wins a court case with Cosmo advice 1 stars
7/17/03 chris there must be a better way i could have wasted two hours of my life. 1 stars
7/04/03 J no idea why they made a sequel to this!!!! 1 stars
6/30/03 Kathy Ramsey Pretty nice visually; really lousy script. 3 stars
6/17/03 Andrew Callaway At hearing the jokes from this movie... not only did I not laugh... I cryed. Predicible. 1 stars
5/07/03 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
5/06/03 Joesco reese was great and carried the movie but talk about slight ! 4 stars
4/23/03 Leah reese should be put down. SLOWLY. It wasn't cute. nor Sweet. nor FUNNY. Yet it spawns a seq 1 stars
4/08/03 JL a cute movie. 4 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Oh yeah? Seemed to put down some who might fell less that perfect in there (sic) lives! 1 stars
3/17/03 Gwendolyn Vasquez This movie is very inspirational to everyone who feels less than perfect in there life. 5 stars
3/01/03 karen fucking bullshit. reese couldn't pick a decent role to save her life. 1 stars
2/24/03 cheif boot knocka I wish ted bundy could get his hands on that bitch 1 stars
2/16/03 Miranda Turner Well, Ashlee, wish I'd seen the ovie instead of the movie! 1 stars
2/10/03 Reese Witherspoon I wanted to prove I'm not a real blonde, but the asshole producers wouldn't let me. 1 stars
12/17/02 Ashlee The ovie was really funny and good. 5 stars
11/05/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond Reese Witherspoon could shit a 12 in. turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
10/31/02 Erica Great movie, had me laughing all along. 4 stars
10/28/02 Cool_chickie Pretty cool movie 5 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan Funniest movie since "Miss Congeniality". Who could forget that final courtroom scene? 5 stars
9/27/02 Espritlibre Great comedy and chick flick! Uplifiting 5 stars
8/22/02 Danielle Ophelia Painfully pedestrian Hollywood packages, redeemed by Reese's inimitable charm. 4 stars
8/19/02 fred she is hot 5 stars
4/15/02 nmvjh,v CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/31/02 Kakararniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Reese Witherspoon of creates cheese & CSU swan holds the scent of strawberries 2 stars
2/28/02 Chronically constipated dumb blonde Reese Witherspoon Me? Shit a 12 in. turd? In my dreams! 3 stars
2/27/02 seldom scene average comedy the professor had a large left ear 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute comedy. Love those outfits and the dog! 4 stars
1/26/02 Ashley Corpening DUMB blond R. Witherspoon could shit a 12 inch turd and think it came out sideways! 1 stars
1/03/02 Butterbean Yes it's predictable, but it's also one of the best "fish-out-of-water" movies out there. 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I'd rather eat my young 2 stars
12/19/01 Elizabeth Great 5 stars
12/17/01 Rampage Worse! I've seen worse! 1 stars
12/16/01 The Bomb 69 eh...I've seen better, predictable plot 3 stars
12/10/01 matthew smith delightful and very very funny, Resse Witherspoon is just brilliant 4 stars
12/03/01 auroradae a foofoo movie about valley girls a must see for nobody 1 stars
11/30/01 Phoenix Very funny and cute. Reese Witherspoon has never been more appealing. 5 stars
11/24/01 viking the "feel good" movie of the year !!!! 4 stars
11/15/01 daniboy could've been better 2 stars
11/12/01 Megan it was a good movie and had some funny parts added to it 4 stars
11/02/01 moviegoer funny, lame, cute, stupid, it's it all 4 stars
10/30/01 Jim Renwick Run of the numbers Teen flick but Reese is just too good. Worth seeing 4 stars
10/28/01 P.Rodriguez Started of Crap, but got better as it progessed. I loved the "you bitch" fag scene. 4 stars
10/21/01 Diane light and fun 4 stars
10/18/01 starpulp welcome brain candy! 5 stars
9/12/01 Seb Pansarella I think it was great. It was perfect although it did teach me to be myself and change 4 no1 4 stars
8/21/01 Tzila Seewald In the begining, iwas stupid BUT in the end it's was very good movie! 4 stars
8/20/01 ThatGuy Legally accurate, but the two lawyers were the only ones in the theater that were laughing. 4 stars
8/19/01 hilary awesome 5 stars
8/19/01 FrayLo starts off sketchy, turns out to be decent, give it a chance...i did 4 stars
8/14/01 onesmartcookie Blonde Ambition 4 stars
8/13/01 coolchickkiss i loved the way she solves the case with her knowledge of hair care. 5 stars
8/12/01 TL DO not waste your time or money...my gf even hated it. 1 stars
8/11/01 CRW Reese is great! An LOL movie. 5 stars
8/10/01 Benjamin Lesbian Craptacularly good! 3 stars
8/10/01 TheFirkin Could not get by the stupidity of the characters. This is totally American humour. 2 stars
8/09/01 bobtesch@earthlink.net Enjoyed! 4 stars
8/09/01 Connie I liked it. 5 stars
8/09/01 Russell Moker Liked it a lot but viewed as a comedy farce, not the gospel truth. It's a fun movie! 4 stars
8/08/01 Merrylue Charmaine Women LOVE this movie . . . Men Don't! Hmmmmm, I wonder why?! 4 stars
8/08/01 moviegoer Cute. Witherspoon does an excellent job and the romance part of the movie was well done. 4 stars
8/08/01 pinkbutterfly79 pretty good and entertaining I left the theater with a smile 4 stars
8/05/01 cheri a must see, i have already pre-ordered it on dvd, great fun 5 stars
8/04/01 Roy Smith Surprisingly good! And Ms Witherspoon looks great as a bunny! Yowza! 4 stars
8/02/01 Catie Great! Can't wait till in comes out on DVD! 5 stars
7/29/01 toneely Reese is the best!!!!! I loved this movie!!! 5 stars
7/27/01 Manlee Mann Guys can love this frothy post-teen comedy just as much as girls. I love you, Reese! 5 stars
7/27/01 sdfk I was told it exceeded its genre and it certainly did upon viewing. Go Reese. 4 stars
7/25/01 Timo I was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
7/23/01 Bash Good, light summer commedy 4 stars
7/22/01 Kristen This movie was incredibly awesome and it's my theme movie. Hooray for blondes & pink! 5 stars
7/21/01 Geebo My friend said it was a chick flick. It was, but I left the theater with a smile. 5 stars
7/19/01 Ben its damn good 4 stars
7/14/01 Unanon Not anywhere near as dull as I'd expected! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Oct-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast