Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.77

Awesome: 20.93%
Worth A Look: 13.95%
Just Average: 9.3%
Pretty Crappy32.56%
Sucks: 23.26%

2 reviews, 31 user ratings



Corky Romano
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Bland, inoffensive, forgettable: Finally, the trailers got it right."
2 stars

Chris Kattan joins the ranks of so many who have gone before him as someone who is funny on “Saturday Night Live” but not in movies.

Maybe some people just can’t make the transition from video to film. Maybe there’s a filter in the film stock that weeds out semi-humor, a filter not found in the more-forgiving medium of videotape.

Maybe some people need to choose their scripts more wisely, too. This one, by TV writers David Garrett and Jason Ward, has as its primary attribute the fact that it doesn’t reek of desperation like so many bad comedies do these days. The guys aren’t earning many laughs, but they don’t seem to be trying very hard, either.

Kattan plays Corky Romano, a soft-headed animal-lover who listens to ’80s pop songs and has a bumper sticker reading, “Free Hugs: One Size Fits All.” Were it not for a love interest he develops later, we’d be pretty sure he’s gay. (Even so, I’m not convinced.)

Unbeknownst to him, his estranged father (Peter Falk) and brothers (Peter Berg, Chris Penn) are in the Mafia, and they need him now to infiltrate the FBI and see what the Feds know about them. They create a fake FBI identity for him and send him into the lions’ den, where he promptly becomes a favorite among fellow agents and a curse to his supervisors. Oh, and he gets the hots for a female agent (Vinessa Shaw).

The movie, directed by first-timer Rob Pritts, does some serious weaseling to get around the uncomfortable fact that Corky is protecting his family, and his family is full of murderers and outlaws.

But that’s beside the main point, which is that the film doesn’t make a lot of sense and isn’t really very funny. There’s an amusing recurring joke where Corky thinks he has to speak directly into his crotch to be heard through the microphone that’s been planted on him, and I like that, in order to go undercover as a neo-Nazi skinhead, he gets a fake tattoo of a menorah with a line through it. Aside from that, there’s not much to recommend this bland and forgettable comedy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5354&reviewer=247
originally posted: 10/12/01 14:59:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/20/05 Bill You know it made you laugh, c'mon, don't be shy-now go watch it! 5 stars
1/16/05 Jeff Anderson I SHOULD BUY A BOAT!! That hysterically funny line made me laugh. Otherwise, A BAD COMEDY!! 1 stars
9/24/04 tatum The supporting cast was often funnier than Kattan 3 stars
7/28/04 Harry J Lighten up! It's a comedy. Why be picky if it makes you laugh? 5 stars
1/16/04 J Chris Kattan, where did they found him at? The coc part was funny 2 stars
11/27/03 Samuel pretty good... 3 stars
9/26/02 John McNew Is it bad? No. Is it waful? No. Is it atrocious? No. Is it abominable? Just about... 1 stars
9/03/02 Stev To break the tie 1 stars
9/01/02 AshFan Okay, many hated this movie, but it made me laugh hard. Pissant? No, Pee-sant (it's French) 4 stars
7/20/02 Ed Slapstick stuff was brilliant. Great movie, until it tried to get a plot. 4 stars
6/03/02 Sarah Regelin (bess-proxy02.remc7.k12.mi.us) This movie was alright some parts were really funny 4 stars
6/03/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Actually a neat comic romp! What's a shit-biscuit, Veronica? 4 stars
5/19/02 J I dunno it was a tolerable film but its basically a rental only. 3 stars
4/14/02 Film Guy This Movie shits on itself 1 stars
3/11/02 Veronica Foxx -The Raven-Haired Temptress Out of all the SNL shmucks, Kattan had the most promise, but he had to do this shit-biscuit 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Cute at times. The main character was not developed well. 2 stars
1/11/02 Audra I wanna see this movie!! It looks great. 4 stars
10/29/01 Greg Nixon Urgent note to Director Pritts - Burn the negative and every print of this film, it is shit 1 stars
10/19/01 soelsen it was so funny...i would recomend it 5 stars
10/17/01 Sarah Regelin This movie was alright some parts were really funny 4 stars
10/16/01 VerbalK Gives Freddie and Joe Dirt a run for worst of the year. Saw it for free at least 1 stars
10/15/01 Jeff Semlow Thankfully, it came out the same year as Freddy Got Fingered, or would be years worst film 1 stars
10/15/01 Susan James I thought the movie was a perfect light-hearted comedy. I'd see it again and recommend it. 5 stars
10/14/01 Andrew Carden Corky Romano Is The Best Movie So Far This Season. 5 stars
10/14/01 Bob jones What a stinking pile of crap. 1 stars
10/14/01 Susan I thought the movie was hilarious. It was a good escapist movie from all the tension. 5 stars
10/13/01 James THIS MOVIE SUCKS! 1 stars
10/13/01 denny0123 It ruled man. I especially liked the part when the names of all the people came in the end 5 stars
10/11/01 k259it3ss hilairious... what else can you say? 5 stars
10/11/01 bats It wasn't as bad as I'd feared, but then, I saw it for free. 3 stars
10/10/01 Audra This movie looks hilairious!! I am looking forward to seeing it. Chris is good for the role 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Oct-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Feb-2002 (M)


Directed by
  Rob Pritts

Written by
  David Garrett
  Jason Ward

Cast
  Chris Kattan
  Peter Falk
  Peter Berg
  Richard Roundtree
  Vincent Pastore
  Chris Penn



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast