Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.34

Awesome52%
Worth A Look: 36%
Just Average: 8%
Pretty Crappy: 2%
Sucks: 2%

4 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Flirting with Disaster
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"You try saying Schlichtings!"
4 stars

Flirting is worth seeing for the supporting performances.

Ben Stiller and Patricia Arquette play the Coplins, recently blessed with a bouncing baby boy, and unable to name him. Well, Nancy Coplin is ready to name him, but Mel (Stiller) in true neurotic form can't get behind his insecurities about his own adoption to decree a nomer. Mel, with Nancy's support, sets about to find his roots so he and his wife can name their child and begin to have regular sex again.
What sets Flirting apart is its stellar performances from its supporting cast. Alan Alda, Mary Tyler Moore, Tea Leoni, George Segal and Lily Tomlin turn in a fantastic bunch of charaters which make the film zing. I found Moore, in particular, a great deal of fun.
Flirting does fall apart plot-wise, and it can seem endless. The writing could have used some tightening up, but I enjoyed Flirting. The predicaments were inventive enough to keep it interesting, although sometimes it got a bit long.

Yes, Tea Leoni can act! Brolin does lick armpits! People make acid!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=538&reviewer=44
originally posted: 11/11/98 02:53:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/19/12 RLan Its okay, but its not a movie I'm going to remember for long. 3 stars
1/12/11 PAUL SHORTT WITTY AND SUPRISINGLY THOUGHTFUL 4 stars
1/13/08 mb Big names but movie has no substance or worth. 2 stars
10/20/06 AnnieG You will find yourself trying to explain this film to others and not being able to. 3 stars
7/12/06 Agent Sands A very plain, quirky-but-earthy comedy. 4 stars
8/01/05 tatum A bunch of people screaming at each other for 90 mins 1 stars
5/24/05 Jake Hilarious! 5 stars
2/13/05 Jeff Anderson An original & brilliant comedy! All the actors are brilliant, but Leoni's REALLY STOOD OUT! 5 stars
8/15/04 R.W. Welch Not a lot of zip to it but a few chuckles here and there. 3 stars
7/20/04 April Gupton love it 5 stars
7/08/04 J Cadiramen Bizarre... funny, but for all the wrong reasons. 3 stars
4/17/03 mr. Pink Hilarious sometimes, but not THAT good. 4 stars
9/01/02 movie guy GREAT 5 stars
8/10/02 karen goldstein freakin funny movie - entire cast awesome!!! 5 stars
7/06/02 The Bomb 69 wow, this movie was all over the place, but in the end it made sense 4 stars
6/20/01 Phil M. Afficianado When it's this wacky, it's going to be a real treat or a total disaster. A+ entertainment. 5 stars
2/12/01 Jake One of the funniest, most enjoyable films I've seen. 5 stars
2/05/01 Classcidog F__ing funny 5 stars
6/08/00 Elvisfan Funny as anything and very well cast; Jenkins & Brolin were esp. great 5 stars
6/26/99 Ed Wood see it - you'll laugh your ass off - what a cast! 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson FUNNY! 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Funny movie. It's the one that made me started noticing Ben Stiller's talent 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs A good understated comedy. 4 stars
9/15/98 Chuck-D I wish I knew why so few npeople liked it. It was incredibly done. Funny as hell 5 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Stiller at his Best Too bad no one noticed 4 stars
9/14/98 Badass Funny shit. Tea Leoni- arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Mar-1996 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast