Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome55.07%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Just Average: 4.35%
Pretty Crappy: 2.9%
Sucks: 4.35%

2 reviews, 57 user ratings



Ghost in the Shell (1996)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"'It Found A Voice... Now It Needs A Body'"
4 stars

Anime, except way better than speed racer :)

Mimi Woods does the voice of Kusanagi, a cyborg cop in, like most anime, NEO-TOKYO!!! Also like a lot of anime, there's really big robots with even bigger guns. And yet, this isn't like most other films in its genre, there's a lot of feeling to it. a lot of insight into the minds and evolution of computers' "artificial" intelligence. Section 9 takes on a group of cyber-hackers or whatever the pollitically correct term is for dorks who sit on the computer all day doing something illegal instead of IRC like they should :) The quality of animation in this is top-notch and the action sequences are incredible.

Its a cool flick, even if you're not into anime.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=541&reviewer=30
originally posted: 09/11/98 21:33:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2014 Fantasia International Film Festival For more in the 2014 Fantasia International Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/24/16 mr.mike "is noice" (Borat). 4 stars
3/15/12 Sean One of the greatest anime movies ever made in my opinion. It was a true work of art. 5 stars
3/14/11 bored mom The rare anime fillm that doesn't shit on you with retarded preaching. But, no Fuchikoma? 4 stars
5/02/09 Man Out 6 Bucks Unparalleled. Awesome. High water mark of classic cyberpunk 5 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 2 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold Just to get it out (and advertise) here, I meant to give "Spriggan" a 4/5. 5 stars
3/18/07 pin terrible acting and stilted dialogue...boring...not up to the hype 1 stars
8/20/06 victor fernandes amazing- excellent story,drawings 5 stars
1/25/06 the laughing man Intriquing in every way. 5 stars
5/09/05 Mark Louis Baumgart You can see where The Matrix ripped off SHELL, great action, characters & plot. Classic!!! 5 stars
3/16/05 Ronin Yes Pete, go watch xXx or one fo the new James Bonds. Good I don't know many like you. 5 stars
12/14/04 Matt F. What is Gray talking about? Bato found her an empty shell, not a real body 5 stars
4/17/04 Pete Jesus was this movie boring. I slap myself awake numerous times 1 stars
3/15/04 Tom M. Excellent movie. Its too slow for some (its not an action film, no matter what people say) 5 stars
12/01/03 J Bird really awsome anime film, a little hard to understand the whole picture at first 5 stars
11/24/03 Sean Thomas Rent it, buy it, bootleg it. Just make sure you watch this beautifully crafted movie. 5 stars
10/14/03 Flounder This is one of the better anime that I have ever seen. 5 stars
9/03/03 Gray does no one have a problem with the kid they kill in the end!!!!!!! 2 stars
7/12/03 Sammy almost as good as "Akira" 5 stars
6/05/03 matthew hoffer one of the best I've ever seen 5 stars
1/21/03 Cato That the-never-sleping-city-atmosphere is just great and really immerses you into the world 5 stars
11/10/02 Versiani Good reflections about, and awesome action sequences 5 stars
10/05/02 Charles Tatum Great action but duller than dirt dialogue and climax 4 stars
12/09/01 CableMage Anime Rulez. American 'cartoons' blow goatse.cx. (except Southpark) 5 stars
11/13/01 Jeff G Not perfect, but about as good as animation gets. 5 stars
10/08/01 Spank Ohhhhhhh baby!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/01 bloody it not that good ,, but not crap ,, there is deffently better out there 3 stars
8/03/01 Trevor beautiful fascinating anime 5 stars
6/30/01 dex !!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/24/01 J Much better than "Matrix" & it places most anime-haters to shame. 5 stars
4/06/01 Barabbas Great tribute to the comic book series...but I would have liked at least one Fuchicoma... 5 stars
3/28/01 Galimofry one of the best anime I've ever seen 5 stars
3/20/01 M.C.A Fine anime movie. 5 stars
3/12/01 Alex D. This is one of the best animes I have ever watched. Worth watching a thousand times! 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur It's physically impossible to understand it completely 1st time round. But worth it. 4 stars
3/11/01 Mike N. Poulsen If you like the movie, then try the PS game ..... 5 stars
3/09/01 theVirtue my favorite anime, from the stellar artwork, to the creativity in the story and voicing.... 5 stars
11/20/00 Son Gokou Great animation, great story, and cool action doesn't get much better 5 stars
10/17/00 Mislav Much better than Matrix, outstanding visuals 5 stars
9/13/00 Jed Good anime movie although it needed a 2nd viewing. 4 stars
6/17/00 Jed If you're me then this'll require a 2nd viewing before you decide. 4 stars
5/20/00 sherman mcclain visually and cerebrally flawless. if this is our future...be afraid. 5 stars
5/18/00 HELL-¹ Yak!yak!yak! 5 stars
5/15/00 BBDollar Amazing. "The Matrix" toatlly ripped this off. 5 stars
4/30/00 Jed Flawed but well-crafted mature anime movie. 3 stars
12/19/99 David Gukin Incredible; deep plot, incredible animation, and by far my favorite movie. 5 stars
11/27/99 Elspeth its the best manga cartoon i have eva seen!!!!!! 5 stars
10/19/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Akira 4 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy Alright, but no "Yuroskidoji." 4 stars
7/21/99 whathaveye Not bad. 4 stars
7/17/99 unstrung superb plot, the rest is icing on the cake! 5 stars
12/09/98 Scion of Graveheart Better than Speed Racer, that Kusanagi gal sure has a pretty rack. Kick ass! 4 stars
11/02/98 grunter further proof that "anime" translated to English is "piss-poor animation" 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Enough about this 1. Check out Wicked City, Akira, Arcadia or Ninja Scroll for great anime! 3 stars
10/16/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Even better than those Disney cartoons... anime movies are well worth a look! 4 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Great anime flick. Very cool. 5 stars
8/29/98 Matt An anime movie, that feels like an independent movie. i loved it 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Mar-1996 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast