Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome63.41%
Worth A Look: 24.39%
Just Average: 2.44%
Pretty Crappy: 4.88%
Sucks: 4.88%

10 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Ghost World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dr Nick

"A comic delight"
5 stars

Terry Zwigoff’s adaptation of Daniel Clowe’s cult comic is one of the most enjoyable teen movies of the last decade. Extremely un-PC at times, it is intelligently written and often laugh-out-loud funny. An unusually honest and bizarrely realistic take on teen life.

Enid and Rebecca are best friends and have been since childhood. Being the “alternative” kids in school they despise the rest of their peers and have other “post-high school plans” than going to College or living a "normal" life. But, things change when they graduate from high school. Whilst Enid seems happy to keep living her non-conformist life without responsibilities, Rebecca is longing for adulthood and can’t wait to get a job and her own apartment. When Enid strikes up an unlikely friendship with geeky loser Seymour, the two childhood friends start drifting further apart.

Completely honest and un-PC in a way that few teen movies dare to be, Ghost World deals with a side of high school that rarely sees the light on the big screen. Enid and Rebecca are not part of a certain “scene”. Instead they frown on conformity and the sheep mentality of the other kids, desperately refusing to let themselves to labelled or classified in any way. Even if Ghost World is a teen comedy, the film doesn’t contain much of what we would normally associate with that genre. There’s no gratuitous sex or nudity, no gross-out jokes or even drunken parties.

All the characters are very well drawn. Although sometimes extreme in looks as well as in their behaviour, Zwigoff manages to make them both hilarious in their eccentricity as well as completely believable. Enid takes her non-conformist attitude to extremes. Being tired of all “extroverted, obnoxious, pseudo-bohemian losers” Enid is fascinated by Seymour as “He’s the exact opposite of everything I really hate”. A most unlikely friend of a recent high school graduate, Seymour is the ultimate dork. He’s middle-aged, lives with a friend, collects old records and is completely clueless when it comes to most things. However, they click instantly and soon become more than just friends, helping each other to widen their horizons and let go of their long ingrown habits. Enid fears change and hates “normality”. When she’s with friends her own age, she finds it hard to show any approval/feelings without the use of sarcasm, but after meeting Seymour she slowly starts to change her ways. Their relationship is a complex one, but you get the feeling that it’s beneficial for her and that she grows a lot as a person from knowing him.

It’s sometimes sad to see Enid’s desperate attempts at being original fail so miserably and you can’t help but feel that soon she’s going to have to give in and join the rest of us spineless losers in the “real world”. But whether she eventually does or not, that’s for the audience to decide. At least the film leaves you with hope. In a world where originality is frowned upon, there is still some room for it and as long as at least some people stick to their convictions, we’ll be alright.

In the end it’s a film about how friends come and go, but how life goes on. The most interesting people in the world are those who dare to be themselves and follow their own instincts, without following the latest trends. Although she's referring to her high school classmates, Enid sums up most of the world perfectly with her first line in the film - “God, what a bunch of retards”.

Ghost World brings some much needed freshness to the stale genre of teen comedies. Well-written and well-acted it's an hilarious but at the same time moving ode to friendship and individuality.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5482&reviewer=345
originally posted: 07/12/05 09:48:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/20/14 Dane Youssef A really worthwhile film. It scores successfully in every aspect. It's extremely important. 5 stars
11/18/11 netra smith the movie is saying something about not giving into conformity in society 4 stars
7/03/09 hammerin hank Only an idiot would find this movie idiotic. Only a bore would find it boring. 5 stars
6/08/08 Jack Honest, real, hilarious and heartbreaking. BudLite-swilling Blueshammer fans won't get it. 5 stars
4/24/08 beau HAHA "oh my god he just ordered a giant glass of milk"...."uh thats a vanilla milkshake.." 4 stars
2/24/08 SamanthaP i thought this movie was so true to life, thora birch was great! 5 stars
2/11/08 mb Idiotic. Demeaning. Lacking in life. Left after 40 min. 1 stars
11/26/06 mili this movie amazed me, it just touched me in a certain way no movie had before. 5 stars
6/13/06 Hana all time fave, brilliant film! 5 stars
1/25/06 aimless One of the few films that gets better each time you watch it 5 stars
9/08/05 matt great film 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Wow, depressing and boring= this is the new rage hmmm 1 stars
8/05/05 Nate Frary I absolutely adore this movie. 5 stars
6/28/05 Queen Tantrum Absolutely AMAZING! 5 stars
6/09/05 Charlie Pointless, but quite entertaining! 4 stars
6/06/05 Alex St. John If you enjoy dark comedies this movie is definitely for you! 5 stars
3/31/05 failingloser i <3 it 5 stars
3/21/05 Candy I just really love this movie! Its cool and awsome! I love you steve! You have cool movies. 5 stars
9/08/04 Conor Crockford great 5 stars
7/05/04 James Kustes Watch Crumb and American Splendor as well 4 stars
6/25/04 Cynthia Hanna Impressive depiction of reality! 4 stars
5/21/04 Elena this movie is hilarious; not trying to be 'goth' or hip or clever really.it's just natural. 5 stars
4/16/04 A Reader "Jaan Pehechaan Ho" is reason enough to see it. Birch, Johansson, and Buscemi all shine. 5 stars
4/12/04 Jack Sommersby Not half as clever or hip as it purports to be. 2 stars
3/15/04 ToMaSsS! it was alrite 3 stars
2/28/04 jimmy two times great film 5 stars
1/23/04 Eraserhead I personally think this film sucks 1 stars
1/04/04 Ashley Definately my favorite movie! 5 stars
11/22/03 smartmusician Loved the movie 5 stars
9/26/03 Leah Heagy I loved it!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. These pseudo goth, antisocial "I just need to find myself" films grate my nerves big time. 2 stars
5/19/03 Britishlover I can totally connect with this film. Buscemi was excellent. 5 stars
5/15/03 Piz depressingly funny and an acting gem. Nice surprise 4 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon One of the few movies I've seen to accurately portray what having friends is really like. 5 stars
4/06/03 Jack Sommersby Overpraised and underwhelming. Thin material not spruced up by attempts at eccentricity. 2 stars
3/31/03 Christopher Boatman What a teen movie should be. 5 stars
3/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" lyrik Funny, dramatic, perfectly acted/casted, brilliantly scripted, my kind of movie. 5 stars
1/26/03 Lord David one of my ultra-faves - totally funny & sad 5 stars
12/21/02 Pigwidgeon Achingly true. The Birch-Buscemi duet tore my heart out and stomped that sucker dead. 5 stars
12/14/02 Kyle One of the best movies I've seen... deserved a wider release. 5 stars
11/16/02 Mike was Here Thoughtful, touching, and ultimately very very sad, despite the optimistic ending. A+ 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Thora Birch shoulda been nominated for the Oscar!! 5 stars
11/14/02 JackG One of last years best movies. It's not Hollywood, so therfor it's great. 5 stars
11/05/02 JesseL Thora Birch cannot act. This movie is a dork movie for dork people. 1 stars
10/25/02 Morally Sound Interesting and rebeliously funny movie. 4 stars
8/21/02 MaIniYaK BEST MOVIE 5 stars
8/01/02 chet like all independent films, boring and interesting simultaneously 4 stars
7/30/02 oska was expecting an 'independent' american movie, instead th usual formulaic rubbish 2 stars
7/25/02 Turtle Pretty boring and rarely funny...but it has its moments. 3 stars
7/14/02 Chuck Bittersweet, touching, sad and funny. Wow, what a film! 5 stars
7/10/02 Kristen hilarious 3 stars
7/10/02 willy.gk an affectionate, haunting film. will linger in your head for days 5 stars
5/12/02 Amy Takes a shot and misses 3 stars
5/10/02 Keith good in a "getting-in-touch-with-my-inner-troubled-teen-girl" sort of way 4 stars
4/28/02 Malcolm Masiero If you think this movie sucks, then you just don't understand 5 stars
4/21/02 Akira_773 Very good, despite falling into the same trap all movies like this do 4 stars
4/17/02 Film Dude No Andrew, this IS NOT A BLACK FUCKING COMEDY. YOU'RE A FUCKING DUMBASS. GO TO HELL! 5 stars
4/03/02 lauren mccreight trys to be cynical.....comes off whinny. 2 stars
4/01/02 Monday Morning A waste of time 2 stars
3/30/02 Reini Urban Very cute 4 stars
3/21/02 Mike Perfect for post-high school teens. Thoughtful, realistic, and complicated. No easy answers 5 stars
3/01/02 Butterbean I could relate to Enid to a point. Buscemi was great. Overall, a nice "artsy" movie. 4 stars
2/17/02 Kyle Brilliant. Not at all what I expected- definitely NOT another teen movie. 5 stars
2/16/02 Andrew Carden Well-Done Black Comedy. Some Imagintive Lines and Great Performances. 5 stars
2/16/02 John Lyons What a waste of time! The whole movie was pointless. 1 stars
2/10/02 Michael Grimm slow, little character development, total letdown 2 stars
2/10/02 Spyguy2 Wow, what a gem! I went out and bought it on dvd the next day. Brilliant! 5 stars
2/10/02 Joe This movie really tried my patience. I kept waiting for something significant to happen. 1 stars
2/08/02 A.K. Funny and touching. For once, a real movie about teenagers 5 stars
2/04/02 Nonnon Fabulous. 5 stars
1/18/02 Rego Allegro Great movie - American Independant Cinema at its best and an amazing Steve Buscemi 5 stars
1/14/02 Carly There's material here to make a 5 star movie, but Enid just pissed me off so much. 1 stars
12/30/01 Nicole Enid's my hero... and Seymour's the man I long to meet... 5 stars
12/27/01 Albert Yu Looking for Alex Hirsch!!! EIMer@ Alex I am trying to track your ass down!! email me albertucsb@yahoo.com 5 stars
11/25/01 Tam Excellent characterisation & a witty script. The ending avoided cliche. 5 stars
10/22/01 puckfreak Totally overrated if that's possible...maybe because I'm not a teenage girl? 2 stars
10/10/01 masin wolliams in the last 32 years I've seen close to 100k movies, this is in my top 5. I was blown away. 5 stars
9/29/01 Ben VanDuyvendyk A better transition than could've been hoped for, great movie if you like satirical wit, 5 stars
9/26/01 amir pakdel it was amazing to me 4 stars
9/25/01 Maple Syrup It somehow uses it's sardonic wit and cynical world view to make you feel all gooey inside. 5 stars
9/17/01 Thor-Leo Not the usual Hollywood fare but not the masterpiece that some say it is 4 stars
9/16/01 Alex Hirsch SEE THIS MOVIE 5 stars
9/16/01 Jerry R. Colvin My favorite movie of 2001 5 stars
9/13/01 chloe perfection 5 stars
9/12/01 Lachlan L. A fantastically put together collection of social satire/commentary. Beautiful, sad, insane 5 stars
9/09/01 Professor Matrix I can relate. Low art and high weirdness. Instead of the bus, I hitch hiked. 5 stars
9/08/01 Wilbot Characterization very good. Birch & Buscemi excellent. Rather sad. Ridiculous ending. 4 stars
9/03/01 daniel scarlett johannson is beautiful....check out the ghost world website, it's really well done 5 stars
9/03/01 Chris Harris I think it appeals to a minority. If you happen to be in that minorty it speaks volumes. 5 stars
9/03/01 JUSTIN G T.B. IS BEAUTIFUL IN A BEAUTIFUL MOVIE!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/01 JB Great movie. Everthing is nice. It really flows. Buscemi! 5 stars
9/01/01 The D bittersweet 5 stars
8/30/01 Patrick David Barber heartbreakingly beautiful. see it a lot 5 stars
8/27/01 C. MOORE Mise en scene ooks like Clowes's illustrations. 5 stars
8/27/01 edmurder i was the target audience for this movie. 5 stars
8/27/01 Elizabeth super-sarcastic and funny, yet touching 5 stars
8/26/01 hankmekon brilliant insight with an overcast of alienation 5 stars
8/25/01 frank best movie of the summer 5 stars
8/20/01 B Horner A teenage film that was not made just for teenagers. Perfectly cast; go see it! 5 stars
8/13/01 Ryan Jones Bad. Just really really bad. 1 stars
8/06/01 Raiven Very funny, insightful, sexy and emotionally affecting. I totally loved it, and Thora! 5 stars
8/03/01 Kimble superkewl 5 stars
7/27/01 cody a hilarious comedy 5 stars
7/26/01 Heather An offbeat movie full of oddballs, misfits, teen angst, lack of identity etc., good acting 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast