Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.07

Awesome56.84%
Worth A Look: 18.84%
Just Average: 8.51%
Pretty Crappy: 6.38%
Sucks: 9.42%

13 reviews, 251 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mulholland Drive
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"'Twin Peaks' On the 'Lost Highway'"
3 stars

David Lynch is like that ultimate prankster, setting you up to believe and care for one situation and just when it reaches a boiling point, tells you you’ve been on Candid Camera. His latest film is like an extended prank, one that started off as a television pilot, then scrapped when ABC pulled the plug. Imagine his Twin Peaks set in Hollywood, a story with intersecting storylines and a group of characters whom which the term eccentricity would be a six feet understatement. Now fling that story off the mountains and onto the Lost Highway where you realize that everything you’ve been watching for an hour and 45 minutes has been nothing but a lie. And while you’re trying to decipher the final 40 minutes, you will wonder if you’re actually watching “The Anne Heche Story.”

Lynch’s new lost highway is on one of those dangerous curves on Mulholland Drive where the story begins. A beautiful woman (Laura Elena Harring) being forced out of a limo at gunpoint finds herself saved when a group of drag-racing teens plows into them, throwing her into the bushes with a nice case of amnesia. She finds solace in an empty apartment where wide-eyed small-town girl Betty Elms (Naomi Watts) is coming to stay, seeking her fame and fortune.

Meanwhile uptown, a hotshot Hollywood director, Adam Kesher (Justin Theroux, looking a lot like Gil Bellows) is being forced to recast the lead actress in his new film by the menacing Castigliane brothers (Dan Hedaya & Angelo Badalamenti). This is just the beginning of what could be the worst and strangest day of his life, which will include run-ins with his cheating wife, a mysterious presence known as The Cowboy and Billy Ray Cyrus(!) (as a pool guy.)

So while Mr. Director tries to put his life back together, Betty insists on helping “Rita” (Ms. Amnesia who takes her name from a “Gilda” poster) find out who she is, especially when Rita’s purse contains nothing but huge wads of cash and a mysterious odd-shaped metallic blue key. Notice how mysterious everything seems to be? Let’s not forget about the grunge-rock looking hitman (Mark Pellegrino) who comically bungles a routine job (in the film’s funniest scene) and whose next assignment appears to be tracking down Rita. Is it for Mr. Roque, the mysterious dwarf trapped in a paralyzed body?

Oh yeah, and Robert Forster is in this, too. Don’t let that “and” credit fool you during the opening titles. Poor Robert has one early scene as a detective at the car accident, maybe three or four lines and then never seen or heard from again. Surely he was going to be a wonderful supporting character in the television series, but why tease us with his appearance when him and Brent Briscoe could have been cut out altogether? Hedaya & Badalamenti are never seen again either. And how can we forget about the two men in the Dennys-like restaurant talking about insane dreams, after which one of them dies from the mere sight of a bum’s face, black with fungus? Easy, because the movie does.

If you want to be forgiving, you can address how the first 105 minutes of this film, would make a great two-hour pilot for a television series. Maybe the best since Twin Peaks. With so many characters and so many storylines set-up and left unresolved, it’s also easy to commend Lynch for pulling off any sort of resolution whatsoever. But while surprises and shocks in a show or a film should resemble a hard slap in the face, here Lynch just keeps slapping you…HARD…then tops it off with an indian burn and an endless noogie like the bully who just wants you to say “uncle” before stealing your lunch money.

Trust me when I say you will know the exact second that the TV pilot material ends and the new Lynch theatrical stuff begins. You go from a light “PG-13” into a hard “R” before nearly segueing into an “NC-17”, sort of like a Usual Suspects with lesbians. It’s these final 40 minutes where the film’s true story takes shape, or does it?

Directors like Tarantino, Soderbergh and P.T. Anderson play with time. Lynch plays with realities. Alternate realities. Multiple realities. Problem is we’re never sure whose reality is where or when it begins or ends and why. Like Lost Highway, Mullholland Drive becomes a puzzle with pieces that have no ins or outs. You can’t just snap them into place and when you have finally found two that fit together, its still very easy to upend the table and watch what you thought was connected fall apart. Imagine trying to fit a square peg in a round hole that doesn’t exist.

The great debate of film vs. television should be unearthed when discussing this experiment. The footage that makes up the original television pilot (as seen here) would not make up a viable film, unless as the intended beginning of a proposed trilogy. As a single concoction, the TV pilot is open-ended. Nothing is resolved and nothing much happens to form any kind of feeling or metaphorical understanding of what the characters are experiencing. Yet if you were watching it on a Sunday night at home, with the knowledge that you will be seeing these characters and these storylines continued next week, you can develop a greater appreciation for the humor, these people and the languid, dreamlike pacing. A film, whether it be 90 minutes or 3 hours, eventually has to end. Any two episodes of The Sopranos or The West Wing might be brilliant, but put together wouldn’t necessarily establish a beginning, middle and end.

Mulholland Drive has a great deal to appreciate. Individual scenes work extremely well; so well that we wish they would payoff sometime during a 22-episode commitment. There’s the meeting between the film director and the mob brother with an impossible-to-satisfy coffee craving; the young ingenue springing into a real actress in the arms of no-less-than Chad Everett; infidelity and pink paint; and a hypnotically beautiful theater experience that not only turns Roy Orbison into opera, but sets up the tone shift for the rest of the film

Did I mention there were lesbians? You betcha, we got kissing lesbians, naked lesbians, manic-depressive lesbians, bisexual lesbians. We even have a masturbating lesbian who commits the most violently intense moment of self-gratification since Linda Blair held a crucifix. Too over the top? Too much of a style change? How else can one hope to write about a film where one of the less-subtle metaphors is about one woman holding the key to another’s box?

Mulholland Drive could readily be described as the story of a woman lost in the big town of Hollywood with all the best intentions, but succumbs to tragedy. We’ve seen stories like that in the linear sense before and frankly we could do without one more. But the frustration lies in trying to put our souls into a story that may very well have no solution. Lynch has said on many occasions that even he has no clear interpretation of his films. He leaves it up to the individual to form their own. Ironic how actress Laura Harring used to go by the last name of herring.

Lynch once referred to Lost Highway as a kind of Mobieus Strip. It’s a strip of paper shaped into a loop, with a half twist, but no definite start or end. Despite this, by drawing a line starting on the outside of the loop and going around, it will end up covering the entire loop, including both sides of it. Both Lost Highway and Mulholland Drive resemble a kind of mental illness known as “psychogenic fugue”. Whatever suffers from it creates in their mind a new identity, completely forgetting their past identity. A fugue starts off one way, takes up on another direction, and then comes back to the original.

Twin Peaks was a near perfect marriage of television, dark humor and surrealism. OK, so that sounds like a Mormon three-way, but it’s the truth. The restrictions of television, for better or worse, kept Lynch and his ideas within a jar that was always full and rich with originality. Sure, the series jumped the shark the minute Laura Palmer’s killer was solved and I remember personally tuning out when Joan Chen became trapped in a bedside drawer knob, but until then it was near perfect.

Then, the series was canceled and Lynch took to the silver screen to create the prologue “Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me” which contained all the elements you could never see or hear on network television – graphic violence, tons of profanity and lots o’ nudity. The Lynch was out of the bag and it wasn’t pretty. Sometimes the old adage of “less is more” is very true and with Lynch usually more is even less.

This film is like watching Memento through the eyes of Hunter Thompson dipping into a stash of Lynch’s that would kill a normal human being. There’s a great deal to appreciate and a whole lot more to frustrate. Demanding that the film be seen twice by anyone would perhaps be a punishment that would recoil the Torquemada. I will most certainly be going back for a second helping like a bullimic on a Jenny Craig diet. The pieces seem to be all there, even though I’m sure they’re not. I know I’ll just get frustrated again and I’ll probably hate Lynch even more than those who continue to praise his work while still having no clear understanding of the film themselves, but like an eclipse or even a horrendous car crash, you just feel compelled to look.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5544&reviewer=198
originally posted: 09/28/01 22:39:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/22/17 morris campbell a awesome mindbender 5 stars
2/20/17 Dave One of my favourite films, a surreal, ethereal satire of hollywood. Absolutely brilliant 5 stars
3/08/15 stanley welles a gorgeous movie, resplendent in its mysterious images 5 stars
1/14/12 francisco lopes A wonderful nightmare, with no logic, but high poetry all the time 5 stars
6/10/11 Jack Lantern The best movie of the millenium. 5 stars
12/09/10 David R It does have a storyline very sad and poignant about a tragic and distirbed personality 5 stars
12/06/10 Kyle Brilliant, mind-bending film from David Lynch... simply too intelligent for most. 5 stars
8/15/10 Jake An astounding journey. I was spellbound by this wonderful film. 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name Lynch's film is not about straight storylines and entertainment cues, but ideas and emotion 5 stars
5/26/10 Brady Travesty it only got 3 stars 5 stars
5/03/10 Jen One of the greatest movies ever made -- and the scariest. 5 stars
5/02/10 PAUL SHORTT DREAMY, NIGHTMARISH AND CONTEMPLATIVE 4 stars
2/28/10 BooBots A mental jig-saw puzzle with no picture to complete. 1 stars
2/10/10 LOUISE CAHILL I felt as if I had been had. I felt cheated and misled. 1 stars
6/30/09 Mr Gone Favorite Film Of All Time 5 stars
4/05/09 GRAPELGANGER One of the best movies ever made! 5 stars
3/31/09 PrettyBre I did not understand it. Alone the scenes were fine, but together they didn't make sense. 3 stars
3/16/09 Peter The first part of Mullholland Dr. was shot as a trailer for an ABC show.They stoped funding 1 stars
11/16/08 DeezyPeezy I found myself gigging because it was so confusing I just need to watch it a few more times 4 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go Lynch's masterpiece! 5 stars
5/01/08 David S If you watch it 11 times and set your mind to it, you can make dark sense of the plot 5 stars
4/09/08 John The greatest movie ever made including the scariest scene in movie history. 5 stars
1/03/08 Bozofreak Anyone who didn't "get it" obviously wasn't paying attention. Greatest fucking movie ever. 5 stars
12/10/07 TigerSlap A pretentious roll of crap. Somebody ´lynch´ David for wasting our time... 2 stars
9/24/07 smrtpants =disney fantasia?(a piece of something-induced possible-poop from a could-be-complacent) 4 stars
9/24/07 Nicholas Maday It took me quite a while to understand what actually happened in this movie, but I liked it 4 stars
9/06/07 Jubei Haven't figured its secrets out.What i know is that this is art.Bergman level. 5 stars
6/15/07 mrsinister Really engaging, but a plot turn at the end left me cold 4 stars
6/09/07 Bob Awesome flick! 5 stars
4/01/07 matthew a profoundly unsettling exercise in psycological intuition. absolutely haunting, a must-see 5 stars
12/30/06 mr.mike my favorite lynch flick 5 stars
12/25/06 johnnyfog Only watched for lesbo scene. Utter crap, but early greatness from Naomi Watts 2 stars
12/08/06 MP Bartley Lynch doing what Lynch does - predictably baffling 3 stars
10/26/06 Isaac Baranoff Raw neo-noir that kicks. 5 stars
10/08/06 Bitchflaps Endlessly fascinating, reminded me of Luis Bunuel and Maya Deren. 4 stars
8/19/06 Vince I dig the acting, as for the plot... what plot? 2 stars
5/29/06 john review hit the mark 5 stars
5/16/06 Paddy I love Lynch, but this was far too convuluted for its own good even for me, a Lynch fan.... 3 stars
4/20/06 Becky Too advant garde for me... pretentious and made no sense. Random lesbianism? Please. 1 stars
3/18/06 Stacy I just kept saying, "What!?" 1 stars
2/22/06 jp david lynch, a true original 4 stars
11/15/05 Adrian As weird as movies can get, but the lesbians scenes are great. 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Lynch is a dud- if you like movies with a plot don't look to him 1 stars
7/12/05 Jake Very good...Even though it makes NO SENSE WHATSOVER! 4 stars
7/11/05 Tom Benton Dark, brillant, nightmarish, yet beautiful; David Lynch is a misunderstood master. 5 stars
6/20/05 R there are too many steves out there, thus, today's cinematic standards. 5 stars
6/12/05 Agent Sands Started the whole dream plot twist craze, almost as popular as the Fight Club schizo twist. 5 stars
5/30/05 Mike Derek Smith's reviews sums it up brilliantly. Lynch's best, even better than Blue Velvet.. 5 stars
4/19/05 captain craig An excellent example of what happens when Hollywood producters do tooooo much druge. A mess 1 stars
4/14/05 Veronika Boyd 3 words: Rebekah Del Rio 5 stars
3/17/05 indrid cold It's excellent David Lynch. Lost Highway + actual emotion = good stuff. 4 stars
3/16/05 steve the dyke scene rocked but i felt like 2 hours of my life had horribly died theyll be missed 1 stars
1/30/05 williamwar The movie is quite strange, but I enjoyed taking it in. Understand it, no. 4 stars
1/14/05 pym A very beautiful film. Lynch,s best work. I had to watch it three times to figure it all ou 5 stars
11/18/04 Tom de Wijs Great Lynch story 5 stars
11/17/04 Gerrit van Terwisga Strange, exiting and tensed till the end 5 stars
11/16/04 Nix Best. Movie. Ever. 5 stars
9/27/04 Gravityy Unrelated scenes strung together under the guise of a dream ( the viewer has to guess this) 2 stars
9/26/04 ALBERT A MASTERPIECE 5 stars
9/14/04 ROBERT E DILLON A SENSOUS HOLLYWOOD MAKE BELIEVE 5 stars
8/18/04 Gustavo Reynoso A hunting movie. The images stay with you 5 stars
8/16/04 Herolder Great actresses, but a dissapointing movie 3 stars
8/13/04 DM Some interesting moments, but it goes nowhere 2 stars
7/17/04 legend Not really my genre of film but I really liked it. Worth catching. 4 stars
7/14/04 Maureen Murtha This movie was one of the finest...it's amazingly original. Quite an achievement in cinema. 5 stars
7/09/04 sampa nice 3 stars
6/21/04 rosy totally surreal and amazing. a true screw with your mind 5 stars
6/13/04 R.W. Welch Sets up well, has a couple funny bits, then drifts into incoherence. 3 stars
6/10/04 pjmgq What a great film! It bends the brain. 5 stars
6/04/04 MyGreenBed Lynch doing a parody of himself (yawn), which is an oxymoron to begin with. Overrated. 2 stars
4/07/04 j-p Fantastic.One thing I gotta say:There IS a plot here,why have so many critics missed it? 5 stars
3/31/04 sansho Deeply sensuous, surreal, mysterious, macabre 5 stars
2/16/04 john intriguing and not quite as confusing as I was led to believe - fascinating 4 stars
1/19/04 Daniél Rocha A mind blowning surrealistic masterpiece 5 stars
1/11/04 monoclast god what an utter waste of time... 1 stars
1/11/04 LIAM JACKSON The Cowboy is someone you wouldn't want to meet in a dark alley! 5 stars
1/04/04 tim wood masterpiece 5 stars
10/20/03 Will Terrific. A real head scratcher. 5 stars
9/26/03 Mr. Hat 100%. Impossible for it to not be original in every way. 5 stars
9/09/03 Pia It was confusing, Watts gives me the shits. 4 stars
8/31/03 ThriceRise This is a goodmovie, it would be great if it had some substance to it, though. 3 stars
8/28/03 dtom beautiful and heartbreaking 5 stars
8/24/03 anusha rajaram very intriguing, surreal 5 stars
8/17/03 I Would The most baffling film ever. I need to watch it again to understand the last half hour. 4 stars
8/10/03 Dean Mansfield Poorly Edited.....lacked cohesion 1 stars
6/09/03 Paul Andrews What can I say? The reviewer has the got the point of the film right. 5 stars
6/03/03 Klarys elegant..... 5 stars
5/26/03 Jack Bourbon I'd bang all four of them. 5 stars
5/25/03 John40 incredible film that features the best performance of the year 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Lots of plot tiers not taken care of, but funny, creepy, & hot lesbo fucking. 4 stars
4/18/03 Jack Sommersby Disjointed and joylessly 'vague'. Only Watts' superb perf is worth the effort. 3 stars
3/30/03 Christina Astounding, deep, and a visual masterpiece 5 stars
3/21/03 beth you might have to do some thinking but its definitely worth it 5 stars
2/02/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Holy crap, this was an incredible film. 5 stars
1/15/03 J-bomb Absolutely great. 5 stars
1/13/03 richard a masterpiece of lynch and all thumbs up for watts 5 stars
1/12/03 Tricia Doesn't make sense 2 stars
1/09/03 Mitsaso The film is more intriguing if you haven't read a REVIEW before!!! 5 stars
1/04/03 Ted Grimm Moving 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Artsy Pretentiousness at its Finest 2 stars
12/19/02 .Choadushouse. Simply the most haunting film I've ever seen. Gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. 5 stars
12/10/02 jmyles There is a ton of symbolism. It is a must see for anyone serious about film. 5 stars
12/06/02 Johnny P O'ryan Doesn't tell a story......why watch it?? 1 stars
12/04/02 rob vegas FIRST HALF OF THE FILM WAS HER DREAMING- THE REST OF THE FILM IS REAL 5 stars
11/14/02 Chiendog Outstanding mystery/thriller; those who can't watch a film more than once should stay away. 5 stars
10/26/02 Mr. Hat Nice lesbo action, but "Vanilla Sky" made more sense! 2 stars
10/19/02 Paul It makes no sense 1 stars
9/25/02 Morally Sound Great film, but was totally lost with the ending. 5 stars
9/19/02 Uncle Salty How many times can David Lynch hand us the same "what is reality, what is a dream" garbage? 1 stars
9/01/02 SBD Not for those lazy people out there that just want to see things blown up 5 stars
9/01/02 The Bomb 69 can't figure it out but it was interesting 4 stars
8/31/02 Robbie Banfitch great visuals, great characters, its fun trying to figure out the plot 5 stars
8/30/02 Monster W. Kung Some flaws, but interesting. Naomi Watts was excellent. 4 stars
8/04/02 Edward Perry Great entertainment.. Intra-personal interpreation 5 stars
7/14/02 Sean Patrick Fucking Awsome sums it up 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Liked it. Bizzare but intriguing. The ending threw me but then I found an analysis for it. 4 stars
7/06/02 Kevin Grimm I must not be enlightened. Because I'm not going to lick Lynchs balls for making this crap! 1 stars
6/26/02 Chuck weird 4 stars
6/25/02 Conman Great style but can Lynch make a movie without screwing everything up at the end? 4 stars
6/14/02 Milan Stefe cant wait to see it again. and again... 5 stars
5/30/02 Elbow It was a "Connect the dots" game with no picture at the end, it was also rather tasteless. 2 stars
5/21/02 officer 412/l in the words of arnie. It's the best mind fuck yet 5 stars
5/20/02 F@rty Bl@st Smells like poo! 1 stars
5/18/02 timbuk2 looks to me like it has been cobbled together from an unwanted "Twin Peaks" type TV series 4 stars
5/16/02 Greta BAD BAD BAD! a poor excuse for a lesbian scence. just rent a porno 1 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean All this shit just to see how "Diana" wished her life was like. I was robbed 2 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Moronic and incoherent garbage. What the fuck was it about. 1 stars
4/27/02 Kirk I just saw Mullholland last night. First experience with Lynch ever. I admit that I'm only 1 stars
4/27/02 turtle This movie really makes you think. Requires at least 2 viewings!! Great film! 5 stars
4/26/02 Edfink Lombardo A spectacular cinematic achievement...A true mind fuck in every sense; Lynch's best! 5 stars
4/24/02 Bobbie Murphy Fascinating! 5 stars
4/24/02 MrT I pity the fool that lies to themselves about this awful waste of time 1 stars
4/24/02 Colin Camilla I don't think those were her grandparents 5 stars
4/23/02 WoWBoBWoW a blender lots of sticky tape and too much sweet coffee? 4 stars
4/19/02 Film Afficianado Existential garbage. For everyone who says the movie is genius, ask them to explain it. 1 stars
4/17/02 axis go watch 'crossroads',u *,it has a PLOT!andLOGIC!why do u even bother taking a shot at this 5 stars
4/15/02 Scott Bryant Weird for weirdness sake? Lynch made an intoxicating world in B.Velvet and it had a plot 2 stars
4/14/02 Larry Horstman This is definitely not for the beer & chips crowd. This is Lynch at his best! 5 stars
4/14/02 Shawna Best Movie since Lost Highway!!! 5 stars
4/14/02 Sharon Kirk David Lynch is a genius. Naomi Watts mega talented. Loved it. 5 stars
4/14/02 Pete The rosy dream scenes were good, otherwise it blew. 2 stars
4/13/02 Lynn Masssey I thought it was intriguing...very suspenseful,but lacked logic reasoning 3 stars
4/13/02 mahone Lynch brings us more discontinous mush. Hire a screen writer, for God's sake! 1 stars
4/10/02 Spyguy2 Lynch can make a carpet look organic and alive...M.H. 's like a Dan Clowes comic..Unique 5 stars
4/10/02 Tony Accurso ...dreams wide awake...David Lynch captured all the elements of a dream flawlessly. 5 stars
4/08/02 Christian Nyegaard Uhm. Weirdness at its best. It's just that. Weird. But good. But very very very weird. 4 stars
4/04/02 Mariliyn Didn't get it at all. I watched it twice. I have no idea what it's about. 1 stars
3/29/02 farzad haerizadeh one of the best films 4 stars
3/29/02 Chris Quan It's deeeppppppp 5 stars
3/27/02 Joe Stevens You ain't got enough stars... 5 stars
3/24/02 Iztok Heric Awesome!!! Haven't seen so many good movies like this one. (hint: watch it multiple times!) 5 stars
3/11/02 Lauren Maclise I LOOOOVE this movie! 5 stars
3/11/02 Louie G. See this movie! it's a kind of movie that would be a terrible thing to waste!!! 5 stars
3/06/02 Reini Urban Perfectly logic, but more. 4 times seen so far. 5 stars
2/25/02 David A. Top-notch mystery about amnesia and psychoanalytic fugue-there IS a plot! Watch ALL of it!! 5 stars
2/23/02 adam dal pozzo Lynch weaves multifaceted infliction of horrors felt amnesia sufferers. NO-SPOONFEEDING 4 stars
2/11/02 beeniz Meh. Trying too hard. 2 stars
2/01/02 E-Funk One of Lynch's best. This film is insane...it's hard to describe the experience. Lynch=KEWL 5 stars
1/30/02 ^Elendil^ I'll see it a 2nd time, or does the emperor have no clothes? 4 stars
1/25/02 Matthew Peters A great step from "Highway." Lynch leaves you with a lot to work out for yourself. 5 stars
1/25/02 matthew smith a hypnotic experience that you stay with you for many days 5 stars
1/25/02 Slitchard Richmond Wonderfully myserious on first viewing. Dazzling and inspiring upon subsequent viewings. 5 stars
1/22/02 mattski see it twice and then it will all become so much clearer. a film that asks you to think. 5 stars
1/22/02 tobias take a look on it 5 stars
1/14/02 Leysen Creepy !!!!! 5 stars
1/12/02 Forsythia66 A magnified look at how the subconcious deals with unrequited obsessive love 5 stars
12/31/01 Linda D boring 2 stars
12/17/01 grunter Mr. Lynch, your record is skipping. Hollywood is bad, mm'kay? We get it. New subject pleez 2 stars
12/15/01 Bucky Condescending Lynch horseshit 1 stars
12/11/01 slappy jacks like nancy drew on mushrooms certainly some of lynches best work ever 5 stars
12/04/01 Laurent de Soras I was really impressed by this movie, interleaving dreams and realities into a brain-puzzle 5 stars
12/03/01 underworld confusing but fuckin great anyway 5 stars
12/03/01 Caiphn My second Lynch film. I didn't understand this one either. 4 stars
12/02/01 jawsboy24 even though it didn't give an explanation, it still kicked ass, weird ass. 4 stars
11/27/01 cory incredible movie 5 stars
11/26/01 Frenchy Fuckin' confusing no need to watch it, it's useless 1 stars
11/26/01 Terry I didn't like it because it was too episodic without any concieved closure at the end. 1 stars
11/24/01 Rodney Who taught Mark to hold a gun as if it were a pet bunny? 4 stars
11/23/01 Kabby Gotta go with BAM...weird, but actually makes sense after a while. 5 stars
11/18/01 James This movie was one of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
11/18/01 Billy Two-feathers So vastly superior to almost all other films showing, no comparison! 5 stars
11/17/01 BAM Thought provoking and weirdly logical 5 stars
11/16/01 Mike Sullens Spellbinding puzzler. Still thinking about it a week later. 5 stars
11/15/01 sez terrifically confusing, but funky and beautiful 4 stars
11/14/01 JD One of the best films I've seen in a long time, I'm still putting the pieces together. 5 stars
11/14/01 P.T. Magee A gripping cinematic experience. I love movies that make me wonder what really happened. 5 stars
11/13/01 Bri ok, babes going at it rule. 4 stars
11/13/01 Alice James great flick 5 stars
11/11/01 b burns Surreal and twisted 4 stars
11/11/01 Jackie Despite the confusion, it was one of the most beautifully made films I've seen 5 stars
11/11/01 Matlock Kicked ass, best lynch film ever 5 stars
11/11/01 t d We're all in a nightmare (we call it reality) from which we are never waking up. 5 stars
11/10/01 Odd Girl Weird but interesting & the lead chicks are CUTE! 4 stars
11/08/01 marC F. it's simple, if you like lynch films you will like M.D. that's all there is to it. duh! 4 stars
11/08/01 Pickle Masterpiece- Not for stupid people 5 stars
11/06/01 Charlotte L. Frye David Lynch is more feminist than most feminists. Jung himself would be pleased! 5 stars
11/06/01 Spencer Hill Free your mind, the rest will follow. 4 stars
11/06/01 Mental Case WARNING: This movie might send you straight to the looney bin. 5 stars
11/05/01 catbert Great movie. Avoid movie if you're stupid. It'll make sense if you open your mind. 5 stars
11/05/01 Sean Liddell This movie SUCKED!!! 1 stars
11/05/01 Lost Boys Calling The best David Lynch yet. AND the answer is in the opening montage BEFORE the car accdent. 5 stars
11/05/01 Ben Doo-wop is great!! 5 stars
11/05/01 Ben Chung this is the movie. 5 stars
11/04/01 hugh jass what the hell was going on in the movie? 1 stars
11/04/01 Larry Reinhart Mixed emotions...High marks for the 1st half, low for the 2nd half. I need some logic. 2 stars
11/04/01 Andrew Hope Best Lynch since Blue Velvet and not so hard to figure out if you open your mind. 5 stars
11/04/01 S. Hamill Horne I thught it was excellent but didn't understand it. I am trying to pick up the pieces. 5 stars
11/03/01 tobematte Brilliant. I love that people don't get this movie. Thank you to those people, for being 5 stars
11/02/01 iph1954.us.terra.sol Worth seeing for the cinematography, although the lack of coherent plot is frustrating. 4 stars
11/02/01 Joe Herde' Silencio!! 5 stars
11/02/01 Philip Campbell Some people's dreams are better than other people's dreams. 4 stars
11/02/01 Jessica Moorleghen Haunting...sticks in your gut like oatmeal. Mmmm. 5 stars
11/02/01 John Harrison Too beautiful, too short - should have been a series! 5 stars
11/02/01 hee hee Soooo good. Beautiful and creepy. Would've been damn good TV. 5 stars
11/01/01 John Leonardo The Ansswer: This is a movie about a naive wannabe star who commits murder and then suicide 5 stars
11/01/01 Cory Worst movie I've ever seen. It made no sense. 1 stars
11/01/01 Seofon Bypasses the rational mind and speaks powerfully to the emotions. Masterful. 5 stars
10/31/01 Renee Chandler Loved it, but am very confused! 5 stars
10/31/01 Seth Quite possibly the greatest film I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/30/01 Astrojohnny A fabulous Film, easily Lynch's best 5 stars
10/30/01 Jon umm...no 2 stars
10/30/01 Angela langowski Best Lynchian interpretation of a dreamlike state passing for a movie. 5 stars
10/30/01 Brandon Money. Like watching a dream. 5 stars
10/30/01 Angela langowski Best Lynchian interpretation of a dreamlike state passing for a movie. 5 stars
10/30/01 marc faris erotic, scary, funny, unnerving - usually all of the above combined. brilliant, i think. 5 stars
10/30/01 Rachel a beautiful mix of the best attributes of blue velvet and erasurehead. 5 stars
10/30/01 Rajinder Lynch is a fucking crack-head... 2.5 hrs of mylife I can never get back!!!! 1 stars
10/30/01 Rajinder Lynch is a fucking crack-head... 2.5 hrs of mylife I can never get back!!!! 1 stars
10/30/01 Liamers Because he dared, and because I remember what I felt. Cinema is special. 5 stars
10/30/01 RICHARD The first two hours are a dying womans distortion of what her life was-could have been. 5 stars
10/29/01 G-Dowg We see people on the screen, yet there are no (real) people. Get it? 5 stars
10/29/01 davEy unsatisfactory tacked-on ending. a letdown to a good movie 4 stars
10/29/01 M- Lynch fan who feels gyped. 2 stars
10/28/01 motorb excellent film. just wish the ending could have been better. new actors and great music. 5 stars
10/27/01 AgentDS Uh... what? *still trying to figure it out* 4 stars
10/26/01 Iggy Just enough juice to keep us mice seeking out that cheese. Confusing and poignant. 4 stars
10/25/01 DJ Smurf What he wanted to do with Lost Highway, but this one works. 4 stars
10/24/01 Joe R. A flat out masterpiece. Lynch's best since Eraserhead. 5 stars
10/23/01 Mike Lewis Strange and interesting but not worthwhile 3 stars
10/22/01 The Alter Ego I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! This is David Lynch's masterpiece! 5 stars
10/22/01 Nathaniel The possibilities are endless, and so you get more than your admission's worth 4 stars
10/20/01 Robert Very, very entertaining film. Sure, it's not totally comprehensible, but who cares. 5 stars
10/19/01 Thor-Leo Too long, too arbitrary, even for Lynch 2 stars
10/19/01 TimmyTomorrow He acheives in reaching mediocrity. 2 stars
10/15/01 frank incredible. 5 stars
10/15/01 Olive Miller A TRUE ART FILM, VERY BIZARRE AND HYPNOTIC 4 stars
10/13/01 Steve Harrison Pure Lynch - nothing else is worthy 5 stars
10/13/01 REAL critic it was horrible... way too long and nothing made sense... 1 stars
10/13/01 Reverend Krule Holy Fucking shit, that's all i can say to express this 5 stars
10/12/01 Heather Essential for David Lynch fans, absolute mindf*ck of a movie 5 stars
10/04/01 Jackson David Lynch is amazing and an artist in every sense of the word. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Oct-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Jan-2002


Directed by
  David Lynch

Written by
  David Lynch

Cast
  Justin Theroux
  Naomi Watts
  Laura Harring
  Ann Miller
  Dan Hedaya
  Mark Pellegrino



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast