Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.91

Awesome: 24%
Worth A Look: 17.33%
Just Average: 15.33%
Pretty Crappy: 12.67%
Sucks30.67%

10 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Patch Adams
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"I like being told how to feel."
2 stars

Oh Captain, my Captain, oh my lord this did suck.

Everyone in the whole entire medical community is stupid except for Robin Williams. Doctors are all evil money-grubbing bastards who don't care about anyone. Except for good ol' Patch. He's a good doctor. He's swell. Golly.
I liked this movie for the funny bits, but seriously, how many times is Robin Williams going to make this movie? I was sitting there in the closing scene with a large group of people who were all getting teary-eyed, and I stared at the screen in shock. It's the EXACT same ending as "Dead Poets' Society!" Except with dying kids. Boy, them dying kids sure are touching. And Robin just cares about them so GOLLDARNED much! Not like those other, evil doctors. Patch Adams must have revolutionized the ENTIRE medical field with his nutty, coo-coo ideas about "knowing a patient's name". Forget about the doctors who discovered important cures to fatal diseases or stupid shit like that. They're not as good as Patch. They didn't wear bedpans on their heads. Patch Adams is the greatest doctor EVER. He doesn't need to study. He was in a nuthouse, and as we all know, crazy people are smarter than us. I loved this movie. What was it called? "One Flew over the Dead Patch Hunting may come?" Something like that.

Nothing like bald kids to inspire sympathy. Ouch, the tears are being forcibly ripped from my eyes! It burns!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=556&reviewer=27
originally posted: 01/11/99 11:29:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/17 Ken Bad, bad movie! Robin Williams has been in way, way better movies than this one. 1 stars
1/05/15 Chosen One Absolutely hilarious!!! Loved it 5 stars
2/02/11 ZZ I've seen worse movies. I think it's the sugar that makes this one so difficult to digest 3 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Not all that funny. 1 stars
1/18/08 Pamela White not William's best role but it is a true story and makes you rethink medicine 4 stars
7/03/07 fools♫gold Almost makes sense. 4 stars
5/22/07 arcangel016 Butterbean's retarted, Robin was funny, and the movie was great! 5 stars
3/17/07 Quigley Wow, you people totally missed the message. The story is inspiring and touching. 5 stars
8/05/06 Sugarfoot This movie for me, is THE worst movie ever made. 1 stars
1/01/06 cody a good story movie with lot of heart and feel and great perf. by williams 4 stars
6/21/05 R.W. Welch Gets a little too preachy. Needed one more rewrite. 3 stars
3/14/05 Fenris IQ scale: Weinberg>Me>Joe Average>Dolphin>Amoeba>Pamela Anderson>Ed Green 1 stars
1/30/05 Ed Green weinberg's review is more pitifully unimaginative than the movie. sarcasm=unintelligent 3 stars
1/21/05 DM Robin Williams, what have you done? 1 stars
10/28/04 JJ lovable 5 stars
9/13/04 John Lapissiani Sometimes outrageaous but entertaining. 4 stars
9/07/04 emmy it was funny beanie was funny 5 stars
7/18/04 Monster W. Kung Insultingly, incredibly bad. The fakest, most manipulative movie ever made? Possibly. 1 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj How to exploit dying children for fun & profit 1 stars
6/09/04 Nobody sad and funny. Loved the invisible squirrels! 5 stars
5/14/04 skye a masterpiece ; ) 1 stars
4/01/04 - it sucked! 1 stars
3/22/04 Dirk D I liked it..... 4 stars
3/18/04 da hood my doctor acted like this, and he slipped with his knife during surgery and clipped my lung 4 stars
1/09/04 Dr. Forrestor This was awful! The doc was too obnoxious but aside from that, this was just badly done. 2 stars
11/07/03 Alan The best Williams' movies are those where he doesn't seem quite this stuck on himself. 3 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston $120 million? Explains why the moron Bush is president! 1 stars
9/21/03 DM Pretty corny, but has some good moments 3 stars
7/21/03 Monster W. Kung It makes my worst 20 movies list, and I watch a lot of crap. 1 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Weird stuff 4 stars
3/14/03 Chris A real tear jerker. What's wrong with you Weinberg???? 5 stars
12/06/02 Justin The only movie I fell asleep during in the movie night three months ago. 1 stars
10/22/02 palaboy101 Touching and funny 4 stars
7/31/02 George Does it exactly what it tried to do - be a feel good, light movie. 5 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 It wasnt that bad 3 stars
2/19/02 Movie Freek Please. Just kill me. 1 stars
12/24/01 Andrew Carden Crappy and Unfunny. 1 stars
12/10/01 dominik Duprelle 2 Words. The 2nd one is OFF. 1 stars
11/24/01 travis i hate this movie. 1 stars
11/22/01 Will Diamond poop 5 stars
11/21/01 osopup worst movie ever. I couldn't stand it until the end. 1 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean Robin Williams trying to win another Oscar here. JUST BE FUNNY DAMMIT! 2 stars
9/03/01 olivia vaquero mercado is beautifull 5 stars
8/16/01 hilary WORTH A LOOK 4 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Honestly, it's not without its flaws...but I personally prefer a little heart with my humor 4 stars
2/16/01 Wafer This is a much needed to see flick 5 stars
12/25/00 Turtle Sad and funny at once. What Robin Williams is best at! 5 stars
9/24/00 skye chapman have a nice day jed 1 stars
9/19/00 Jed A pure "underrated" classic one of '98's best! 5 stars
7/31/00 Jed May all the Robin Willams-haters & haters of this film smash their genitals with a hammer. 5 stars
5/13/00 Daria Please somebody stop Robin Williams 1 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers GOD! This movie did not make sense! But for some reason I'd see it again. 2 stars
12/02/99 perpetual loser it isn't great. but it isn't titanic. thank god it's not titanic. 4 stars
11/11/99 V. Uber-predictable. 1 stars
4/29/99 Sentaia E I loved it. Extremely thought-provoking... 5 stars
4/05/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne A hospital in the mountains?? Can you say "infection"?? 1 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing Over-emotional crap. Uses cancer kids to press your buttons. Absolute toilet. 1 stars
3/19/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Williams was casted perfectly,a very sad but true story,could've been a bit better though. 4 stars
3/05/99 beakymcgee wonderful tear jerker 4 stars
3/03/99 Steve Kelley Could've been so much better, but the script hammers us with the "big doctor bad" message. 3 stars
3/02/99 Jerry-93 Best Movie I've ever Seen!!! I can't wait to Blow my Brains out!!! 1 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Some funny parts/some sad parts, good family movie, typical R.Williams humor,needs new matl 4 stars
2/20/99 Shanandler Bong It was good. No GWH, but it was worth my three bucks 4 stars
2/04/99 calgary47 I thought it was crap, same as everything else Robin williams has done. 1 stars
2/03/99 grunter I liked it better when it was called "Awakenings" 1 stars
2/02/99 Mark Reilly Overall, I thought this was a GREAT movie... a little overly sentimental at times, but ... 5 stars
1/26/99 jojo58 loved it,it was happy,sad,funny,more dr',should rememberpt's are people 5 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons dissapointed? no. 4 stars
1/18/99 Allison Big, strong men can't possibly admit that they like a movie that makes them weepy.<sniffle> 4 stars
1/14/99 Em Williams has been type cast, and I love it. 5 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz tiresomely moralizing and blandly cheery saga of a free spirit daring to challenge the man. 2 stars
1/08/99 Moriah One of Robin's best! I find it hard to believe that some of these reveiwers saw the movie. 5 stars
1/05/99 Gamma Some cheesy moments (the butterfly). Story is kinda weak but overall it was "ok" 3 stars
1/04/99 Bill Hartman Funny and Sad in one bundle. Who cares if Robin has done this movie before? It works. 5 stars
1/02/99 Leon Russell Not hip. Not very funny. Too predictable to be dramatic. Rerunnish! 1 stars
1/02/99 Critic Deluxe Robin Williams is not directable. He performs like a broken record. Adlibs are still good 2 stars
1/02/99 Brad Goldman Predictable, but enjoyable 4 stars
1/01/99 redneckjew I was pleasantly surprised, I *read* it sucked, but it didn't. Bring Kleenex 4 stars
1/01/99 John Same actor, different part, same performance. Williams has less impact the seventh time. 1 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman Robin Williams (I used to like him) has gone to the same well one time too many. 2 stars
12/29/98 Sandy Average, I would have rather rented the video 3 stars
12/29/98 discerningViewer sappy, boring, the same old tear-jerker, I wanted to die of embarrassment 2 stars
12/29/98 FRED groovy movie baby!!! 5 stars
12/29/98 Patch Awesome! Tremendous Movie! 5 stars
12/29/98 Hndbllkng Is there a cliche not used in this shitty movie? 1 stars
12/29/98 thEnd This movie was kickass, anybody recognize the poem he read in it? 5 stars
12/28/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Funny with splashes of drama. Very entertaining. Bedpans really can be funny... 4 stars
12/25/98 The Dude Very Fucking funny-but at times very drama shit--Buuutt still fucking funny 5 stars
12/08/98 Kirgo entertaining moments but Ultra sappy!!!! 3 stars
11/11/98 Tina Not a very memorable film. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Mar-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast