Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.91

Awesome: 24%
Worth A Look: 17.33%
Just Average: 15.33%
Pretty Crappy: 12.67%
Sucks30.67%

10 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Patch Adams
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"If you've never seen anything like it before, you'll love it."
1 stars

Editor's note: Since "Patch Adams" has obviously been made for an audience that has never seen a movie before, the following review is our helpful attempt to guide that audience.

First of all, don't let that big thing in the front of the room scare you! It's called a "screen," and that's what they project the movie onto. Pick a nice, comfy seat, settle in, and prepare to enjoy your first-ever movie, Patch Adams.

The movie stars Robin Williams, an actor you have never seen before, so perhaps some explanation is in order. Williams generally plays two types of roles: Either he's zany and rude, or he's zany and lovable. As Patch Adams, a real-life doctor who wants to heal the sick with the power of laughter, Williams falls into the second category. He's zany! He's lovable! And, since you have never seen him be zany and lovable before, are you ever in for a treat! He's zany and lovable nonstop!

At the beginning, Patch is depressed and suicidal -- but don't worry! In movies like this, none of which you've seen, despair and pain are easily overcome. All you need is a little companionship and a lot of string music. Speaking of which, this will also be your first exposure to Marc Shaiman's brand of uplifting, sensitive instrumentals; bring a Kleenex, because you won't be prepared for how deeply his music will touch you! Pity those of us who have heard this same score fifty times before.

While in a mental institution, Patch decides he wants to become a doctor. He goes to med school, where he runs afoul of the mean old dean! This dean wants Patch to follow the rules and not treat patients like people. Since you have never encountered this type of character before -- an easy straw man for our hero to be morally superior to -- you can be excused for hating the dean, especially when the script urges you to hiss him every time he's onscreen. The dean, by the way, is played by Bob Gunton, who essentially played the same role as a prison warden in a great movie you didn't see, The Shawshank Redemption. Patch also offends his uptight roommate (Philip Seymour Hoffman, who appeared in 1998's best movie you didn't see, Happiness), but never fear! The roomie eventually comes around!

Yes, Patch wins over everyone he meets, even an angry dying man (Peter Coyote, from that timeless classic you missed, E.T.) and a standoffish fellow student (Monica Potter). Patch falls in love with this student and gradually defrosts her, but don't get too attached to her! When Patch opens his own clinic, and a creepy, mentally disturbed man checks in .... Well, I wouldn't dream of spoiling it for those of you who have never seen a movie before, and thus won't be able to see it coming. After this tragedy, Patch is very sad, but don't worry! He will see the light and realize that he was put here to make people feel better -- because if he quits, nobody will make a holiday movie about him.

But wait -- the movie's not over yet! Patch gets in trouble because he doesn't follow the rules, and the mean old dean wants to make him leave school. So Patch defends himself in a courtroom before a panel of doctors. Now, I know you've never seen a courtroom scene before, so I won't reveal its outcome. And you will certainly not find the manipulation level reaching an all-time high when Patch's young chemotherapy patients make a surprise appearance, wearing his trademark red nose! Yes, if you've never seen a movie before, Patch Adams is the movie for you. It will surprise and fascinate you at every turn, and you won't leave the theater feeling that you've seen it a hundred times before.

When you leave, by the way, just follow the little lights in the aisle, and proceed in an orderly fashion to the exit. Now you can make plans to attend your second movie! My suggestion? Gus Van Sant's "Psycho."

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=556&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/24/06 00:31:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/28/17 Ken Bad, bad movie! Robin Williams has been in way, way better movies than this one. 1 stars
1/05/15 Chosen One Absolutely hilarious!!! Loved it 5 stars
2/02/11 ZZ I've seen worse movies. I think it's the sugar that makes this one so difficult to digest 3 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Not all that funny. 1 stars
1/18/08 Pamela White not William's best role but it is a true story and makes you rethink medicine 4 stars
7/03/07 fools♫gold Almost makes sense. 4 stars
5/22/07 arcangel016 Butterbean's retarted, Robin was funny, and the movie was great! 5 stars
3/17/07 Quigley Wow, you people totally missed the message. The story is inspiring and touching. 5 stars
8/05/06 Sugarfoot This movie for me, is THE worst movie ever made. 1 stars
1/01/06 cody a good story movie with lot of heart and feel and great perf. by williams 4 stars
6/21/05 R.W. Welch Gets a little too preachy. Needed one more rewrite. 3 stars
3/14/05 Fenris IQ scale: Weinberg>Me>Joe Average>Dolphin>Amoeba>Pamela Anderson>Ed Green 1 stars
1/30/05 Ed Green weinberg's review is more pitifully unimaginative than the movie. sarcasm=unintelligent 3 stars
1/21/05 DM Robin Williams, what have you done? 1 stars
10/28/04 JJ lovable 5 stars
9/13/04 John Lapissiani Sometimes outrageaous but entertaining. 4 stars
9/07/04 emmy it was funny beanie was funny 5 stars
7/18/04 Monster W. Kung Insultingly, incredibly bad. The fakest, most manipulative movie ever made? Possibly. 1 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj How to exploit dying children for fun & profit 1 stars
6/09/04 Nobody sad and funny. Loved the invisible squirrels! 5 stars
5/14/04 skye a masterpiece ; ) 1 stars
4/01/04 - it sucked! 1 stars
3/22/04 Dirk D I liked it..... 4 stars
3/18/04 da hood my doctor acted like this, and he slipped with his knife during surgery and clipped my lung 4 stars
1/09/04 Dr. Forrestor This was awful! The doc was too obnoxious but aside from that, this was just badly done. 2 stars
11/07/03 Alan The best Williams' movies are those where he doesn't seem quite this stuck on himself. 3 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston $120 million? Explains why the moron Bush is president! 1 stars
9/21/03 DM Pretty corny, but has some good moments 3 stars
7/21/03 Monster W. Kung It makes my worst 20 movies list, and I watch a lot of crap. 1 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Weird stuff 4 stars
3/14/03 Chris A real tear jerker. What's wrong with you Weinberg???? 5 stars
12/06/02 Justin The only movie I fell asleep during in the movie night three months ago. 1 stars
10/22/02 palaboy101 Touching and funny 4 stars
7/31/02 George Does it exactly what it tried to do - be a feel good, light movie. 5 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 It wasnt that bad 3 stars
2/19/02 Movie Freek Please. Just kill me. 1 stars
12/24/01 Andrew Carden Crappy and Unfunny. 1 stars
12/10/01 dominik Duprelle 2 Words. The 2nd one is OFF. 1 stars
11/24/01 travis i hate this movie. 1 stars
11/22/01 Will Diamond poop 5 stars
11/21/01 osopup worst movie ever. I couldn't stand it until the end. 1 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean Robin Williams trying to win another Oscar here. JUST BE FUNNY DAMMIT! 2 stars
9/03/01 olivia vaquero mercado is beautifull 5 stars
8/16/01 hilary WORTH A LOOK 4 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Honestly, it's not without its flaws...but I personally prefer a little heart with my humor 4 stars
2/16/01 Wafer This is a much needed to see flick 5 stars
12/25/00 Turtle Sad and funny at once. What Robin Williams is best at! 5 stars
9/24/00 skye chapman have a nice day jed 1 stars
9/19/00 Jed A pure "underrated" classic one of '98's best! 5 stars
7/31/00 Jed May all the Robin Willams-haters & haters of this film smash their genitals with a hammer. 5 stars
5/13/00 Daria Please somebody stop Robin Williams 1 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers GOD! This movie did not make sense! But for some reason I'd see it again. 2 stars
12/02/99 perpetual loser it isn't great. but it isn't titanic. thank god it's not titanic. 4 stars
11/11/99 V. Uber-predictable. 1 stars
4/29/99 Sentaia E I loved it. Extremely thought-provoking... 5 stars
4/05/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne A hospital in the mountains?? Can you say "infection"?? 1 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing Over-emotional crap. Uses cancer kids to press your buttons. Absolute toilet. 1 stars
3/19/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Williams was casted perfectly,a very sad but true story,could've been a bit better though. 4 stars
3/05/99 beakymcgee wonderful tear jerker 4 stars
3/03/99 Steve Kelley Could've been so much better, but the script hammers us with the "big doctor bad" message. 3 stars
3/02/99 Jerry-93 Best Movie I've ever Seen!!! I can't wait to Blow my Brains out!!! 1 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Some funny parts/some sad parts, good family movie, typical R.Williams humor,needs new matl 4 stars
2/20/99 Shanandler Bong It was good. No GWH, but it was worth my three bucks 4 stars
2/04/99 calgary47 I thought it was crap, same as everything else Robin williams has done. 1 stars
2/03/99 grunter I liked it better when it was called "Awakenings" 1 stars
2/02/99 Mark Reilly Overall, I thought this was a GREAT movie... a little overly sentimental at times, but ... 5 stars
1/26/99 jojo58 loved it,it was happy,sad,funny,more dr',should rememberpt's are people 5 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons dissapointed? no. 4 stars
1/18/99 Allison Big, strong men can't possibly admit that they like a movie that makes them weepy.<sniffle> 4 stars
1/14/99 Em Williams has been type cast, and I love it. 5 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz tiresomely moralizing and blandly cheery saga of a free spirit daring to challenge the man. 2 stars
1/08/99 Moriah One of Robin's best! I find it hard to believe that some of these reveiwers saw the movie. 5 stars
1/05/99 Gamma Some cheesy moments (the butterfly). Story is kinda weak but overall it was "ok" 3 stars
1/04/99 Bill Hartman Funny and Sad in one bundle. Who cares if Robin has done this movie before? It works. 5 stars
1/02/99 Leon Russell Not hip. Not very funny. Too predictable to be dramatic. Rerunnish! 1 stars
1/02/99 Critic Deluxe Robin Williams is not directable. He performs like a broken record. Adlibs are still good 2 stars
1/02/99 Brad Goldman Predictable, but enjoyable 4 stars
1/01/99 redneckjew I was pleasantly surprised, I *read* it sucked, but it didn't. Bring Kleenex 4 stars
1/01/99 John Same actor, different part, same performance. Williams has less impact the seventh time. 1 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman Robin Williams (I used to like him) has gone to the same well one time too many. 2 stars
12/29/98 Sandy Average, I would have rather rented the video 3 stars
12/29/98 discerningViewer sappy, boring, the same old tear-jerker, I wanted to die of embarrassment 2 stars
12/29/98 FRED groovy movie baby!!! 5 stars
12/29/98 Patch Awesome! Tremendous Movie! 5 stars
12/29/98 Hndbllkng Is there a cliche not used in this shitty movie? 1 stars
12/29/98 thEnd This movie was kickass, anybody recognize the poem he read in it? 5 stars
12/28/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Funny with splashes of drama. Very entertaining. Bedpans really can be funny... 4 stars
12/25/98 The Dude Very Fucking funny-but at times very drama shit--Buuutt still fucking funny 5 stars
12/08/98 Kirgo entertaining moments but Ultra sappy!!!! 3 stars
11/11/98 Tina Not a very memorable film. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Mar-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast