Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.74

Awesome36.49%
Worth A Look: 28.38%
Just Average: 20.27%
Pretty Crappy: 2.7%
Sucks: 12.16%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Everybody Knows by Jay Seaver

Alita: Battle Angel by Peter Sobczynski

Integrity by Jay Seaver

Happy Death Day 2U by Peter Sobczynski

Arctic by Jay Seaver

Punk Samurai Slash Down by Jay Seaver

Man Who Killed Hitler and Then The Bigfoot, The by Rob Gonsalves

High Flying Bird by Peter Sobczynski

Tito and the Birds by Peter Sobczynski

Lego Movie 2, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Life as a House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Oh, gag me."
3 stars

Who ever is going to believe that a surly, strung out goth kid is going to, in the course of one summer, become a loving, family guy. What the fuck? This flick is so ABC After School Special its not even funny. It was an insult, quite frankly, to me and all my surly, strung out, disaffected goth friends who wore black and smudged kohl around our eyes for very good reasons. When will parents ever learn that its important to just let their children's spirit soar or sink to whatever height or depth it needs to be to find itself. Huh? When?

Not to mention, said surly goth (who listens to Marilyn Manson. as if any real goth would need to buy a Manson record to feel like they are being shocking. Kids like that are just renting subversion. Maybe that's why he changed so much. He was just a poser anyway. Fuck him. Fuck him right in the ass) is hella cute and he looks so good as a little agro industrial boy that I was all bummed when he started looking clean cut and acting normal.

I prefered him huddled in the closet, sniffing glue while screaming at his parents.


I did like that this movie was all about sex. Teen sex and shower sex and teen/grown-up sex. The cute goth boy even cums in one scene! Its fan-fucking-tastic. I also like that he had sex with the annoying neighbor lawyer guy just to buy pot. That rules. And then at the end, the goth guy, played by Hayden Christensen, makes a joke about his six inches. That joke basically saves the day and I don't want to tell you how, but it does.

Will Kevin Kline get an oscar nod for his performance? Who the fuck cares. So what, he cries and he dies. He wants to build his dream home before he dies and he forces his son to help him. The son just wants to spend the summer in reno getting high (rock on). And the sun somehow learns the meaning of life and gets laid in the process and a bunch of assholes are shown up and we all get to feel so good at the end. Except the end is so stupid. The goth boy inherits this gorgeuous house in Malibu overlooking the ocean. A small cottage that he worked and fought for, and then he just gives it away to appease his fathers second generational guilt about a childhood auto accident.

I didn't buy that at all. So like, is this guy supposed to be completely redeemed now? The message here seems to be that it is wrong to be surly, wear eyeliner and hate your parents and we should become unquestioning conformist self-sacrificing do-gooders.

Does goth boy have any idea how difficult it is to buy a house in California, much less malibu? I mean, if he's already got a place to live then he does'nt have to spend his life in corporate chains to just keep his head above water and he could actually go out and enjoy life. stare at the sky and sea and ponder the mystery of it all, rather then the mystery of why his email is bouncing. Shaw. what a waste.

I'm just all, whatever. This movie is a blatant play off the success of American Beauty but stupid. It has its viscerally satisfying moments but then I didn't get it when the father's own non-conformist, headstrong, bohemianism, turns into this normalizing process to corral the son's own wild energy. Granted, the son was on the downward spiral but they could have just taken away the drugs and let him still be this punk ass kid who's got a lot of good reasons for wanting to withdraw rather than participate in his world.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5583&reviewer=67
originally posted: 11/09/01 05:36:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/19/09 JR Fake. Idiotic. Garbage. Nuff said... 1 stars
5/31/07 ES It's worth the watch 4 stars
3/30/07 alyxandria It's simply amaizing.Hayden looks better then ever and he proved to be arel talent 5 stars
9/14/06 Lori this movie is wicked, fun and touching, Hayden christensen's acting rules in this film 5 stars
2/12/06 KMG the best part is watching Hayden Christenson cum in the shower 4 stars
12/17/05 Tim Spectacular! Critics are nuts! 5 stars
2/01/05 Darryl Fine cast really delivers in this one. Excellent film. 4 stars
12/08/04 Shira Really good, meaningful 5 stars
8/16/04 Jazmin I thought the movie was the BEST! Mary ur the best!!! 5 stars
6/06/04 KMD Wonderful movie! 5 stars
5/10/04 Maria Its an awesome movie its touching i loved it 5 stars
4/29/04 Justine Harty I thought it was a great movie!!! 5 stars
3/25/04 Pinkline Jones Fine acting by Kline - nice quirky but real story 4 stars
9/27/03 Lord Chu Excellent and touching. A bit anticlimatic, but still works. 5 stars
8/11/03 maya leon it so good, i am a huge believer in fate and reason. the storyline and cast were perfect. 5 stars
7/26/03 Kelli great movie, love ya hayden 5 stars
6/19/03 Wendy Carpenter I'm not a fan of tragicomedy, but this is decent + my son liked Mary Steenburgen's pooper. 4 stars
5/21/03 steph This movie was shitty. SHITTY. Avoid it at all costs. 2 stars
3/21/03 Skankin' inThePit awesome movie, i bawl at the end! hayden acted well in this and i like his piercings (hot!) 5 stars
1/31/03 me awesome!!! everyone did a great job!! 5 stars
1/20/03 Hana I've seen it a billion times and every time I love it 5 stars
1/19/03 Kerra Oscar material for sure....good quality and in depth characters 5 stars
1/19/03 Holly Hayden did an awesome job at acting in this movie 5 stars
1/19/03 Melissa I think hayden did an amazing job of acting he should have gotten an oscar nod...best movie 5 stars
1/19/03 Bear Hayden in this movie did awesome.....best movie i have ever seen in my life..... 5 stars
1/11/03 Leah nah we should've seen hayden more in the shower instead. 4 stars
1/07/03 tina excellent 5 stars
11/15/02 Big Ted Hayden deserved Oscar nod. More this, less Star Wars. 5 stars
10/12/02 monkey It was a farly decent movie, it would have been better if we got to see Jena in the shower 4 stars
10/09/02 (-(-(--plurthoughts--)-)-) mmm...hayden's all punked out...yummy 5 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock Dery me. American meaningless schmaltz for zombies. 1 stars
8/31/02 Robbie Banfitch decent but flawed, a little too much cliche 4 stars
7/24/02 Cannibus I would love to fuck the ever living shit out of Jena Malone. No accounting for the film. 1 stars
7/10/02 Vitality1 Cried nonstop. So I'm a sap, it's a good movie! 5 stars
6/15/02 steve donaghy one of the greatest movies i have seen, seen it on father day weekend, andi cried and cried 5 stars
6/06/02 TJ Really liked Hayden. Hope his future is full of success! 4 stars
5/21/02 Kelly It was ok,Hayden gives a suprisingly good performance,kline on the other hand,hes no spacey 3 stars
5/19/02 Kristen Hayden was beautiful after he got the hole out of his chin lol 5 stars
5/11/02 dave macdougall made me cry....nuf said 4 stars
3/07/02 Jenny Tullwartz KST should be capable of better; she's been weak link in too many casts, including this one 3 stars
3/02/02 Wendy Carpenter I'm not a fan of tragicomedy, but this is decent + my son liked Mary Steenburgen's pooper. 4 stars
12/07/01 Rahul Abedin Movies dont get anymore meaninful then this 5 stars
11/29/01 Amy The best movie I have seen in 2001...and that's out of about three a week. 5 stars
11/27/01 CoffeeVixen splendid, one everyone can get something out of, performances were awesome! 5 stars
11/25/01 Brenda Very good movie about life, family, and acceptance of death. 4 stars
11/24/01 Suzz kline's butt can be missed as can this exploitative film 3 stars
11/18/01 Greyjack Ham, meet fist. Some good acting, yes, but jeezus, one of the least subtle scripts, EVER. 2 stars
11/14/01 spaceworm We're getting a pretty good young Vader. More Steenbergen in black lace - please! 4 stars
11/11/01 poetchuck Easily a six handkerchief movie 4 stars
11/08/01 tnt very enjoyable 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Nov-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-May-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast