Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 22.22%
Worth A Look24.44%
Just Average: 10.37%
Pretty Crappy: 21.48%
Sucks: 21.48%

9 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Behind Enemy Lines
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"It's like Rambo, directed by Guy Ritchie, starring a skinny blonde guy."
2 stars

You know, there's really no better way to show the futility and horror of war than by shooting it like a Beck video. And it's nice to know that we coulda solved that whole Serbian conflict by sending Dignan in there. Is this payback for him dying first in "Armageddon"?

Gene Hackman and Owen Wilson are going to star together in "The Royal Tenenbaums", which looks to be a very good movie. They also star in this movie. I figure they had a week off from shooting the good movie, had a spare battleship and a tank lying around, and decided to fill us with some American pride by showing us how lousy all the other armies of the world are.

Owen Wilson is a cocky pilot who plays by his own rules. He's like Tom Cruise in "Top Gun", but not gay. Gene Hackman is his gruff commander who you can tell really, deep down, likes Owen Wilson. He's just like Gene Hackman in "Crimson Tide", except we're supposed to like him this time. The bad guy from "Desperado" is the wrong-headed commanding officer, whose job is to make everyone else mad with his wrong-headed ways and stand in the way. He's like the bad guy from "Desperado", but if Owen Wilson had a guitar case full of guns, the movie would be a lot shorter. There are also several dirty foreigners who are evil and shoot at the good guys. There's also a black person.

Owen Wilson sees something bad, gets shot down, they kill his co-pilot, and so Owen Wilson runs. Runs a lot. A good portion of this movie is Owen Wilson running. I would be really tired if I was in this movie. Then Gene Hackman makes a plan to save Owen Wilson, is just about to leave to save Owen Wilson, when wrong-headed commanding officer stops him, presumably so that we can be rewarded at the end of the movie by seeing him get kicked in the nuts by Gene Hackman. Wearing a cowboy hat, and smoking a cigar.

The foreigners in this movie cannot shoot worth a hill of beans. They shoot at Owen Wilson, they fire missiles at Owen Wilson, they have tanks with which they to run Owen Wilson over, but with no luck. They have an expert tracker who says that he can kill Owen Wilson by himself. He cannot. Either these guys are the worst shots in the world, or Owen Wilson cannot be killed. I choose to think the latter. "Bottle Rocket" kicked ass, and it makes me happy to think that Dignan grew up to be a fighter pilot. During the movie, I also pretended that Applejack and Kumar from that same movie were his commanding officers. That made the movie better.

Maybe that's the secret to enjoying this movie: You think of a movie that, say, Gene Hackman was in which was better than this (there's a lot), and you imagine that his character from that movie is in this one. Try pretending that the commanding officer is the blind man from "Young Frankenstein". Tell me if it works.

So, to sum up, if you liked "Rambo", and you want to see the US triumph over a bunch of foreign weirdos, go see "Behind Enemy Lines". It's real pretty, it's shot rather interestingly, and it's nice to see a movie where one man is able to disarm an entire foreign military power with the help of an ejection seat and a winter glove.

Too much shaky-cam! Too much shaky-cam!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5640&reviewer=27
originally posted: 12/04/01 23:49:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell action packed popcorn flick 4 stars
7/20/12 Sean Harrison Who could have imagined Owen Wilson as an action star? 3 stars
5/22/11 Braddock very entertaining movie 4 stars
7/11/09 then came bronson This review has me so pumped I am gonna watch the movie now. lol 2 stars
5/06/09 DK Good film, entertaining, well paced and with enough substance to skate by. 4 stars
9/09/08 PAUL SHORTT SERVES ITS PURPOSE AS AN ACTION-PACKED FLAG-WAVER 3 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was Awesome!! Loved It. 5 stars
11/09/07 Alex Köhler Soooo idiotic and unrealistic, even for Hollywood. I served in Bosnia- S.F.O.R. and ... 1 stars
5/01/07 Aaron Johnson i thought it was a really cool movie, one of hackman's best performances since CRIMSON TIDE 5 stars
3/24/07 action movie fan exciting suspensful action movie-one of the best of 2001 4 stars
12/28/06 William Goss A marginally entertaining action flick, perfectly worthy of an afternoon on cable. 4 stars
12/17/06 EAG owen wilson is so hott and this movie rocks! 5 stars
8/30/06 Jarkko Perälä Jingoistic crap 1 stars
7/24/06 BuB It was a tense thriller wicth i enjoyed 5 stars
8/22/05 ES Better when it was called 'BAT 21' 3 stars
7/29/05 bOB THE HOb AFTER reading the movie reviews i realized once again how clueless many people are. It is 4 stars
6/13/05 Sam Its brill and owen is fit 5 stars
6/07/05 JD This movie stinks, it's totally unrealistic, the characters suck, very painful movie. 1 stars
11/16/04 puchacz pilot i like it god damnit!!! 5 stars
8/17/04 T.S. Kendall Great entertainment. Stays focused on storyline. Owen's best showing. 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody somewhat cliche, but entertaining 3 stars
12/19/03 aren'tweallannonymous the movie was good, but mocks matrix in slo-mo(kinda gay) 4 stars
11/06/03 Debbie The action scenes were great, if a little unrealistic... hey, it is a movie, folks! Owen Wi 4 stars
9/15/03 Mike Pruzie I liked the technical realism. The characters seemd genuine. 4 stars
4/26/03 RP Excellent: I served and knew the facts; these were the facts! 5 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik (sarcastically) Go America! 1 stars
1/20/03 STEVE SEE THEAMAZING CAPTAMERICA WAVE THROUGHMISSLES,GUN POWER,ROCKETS DOASPLIT!ANDNOTGETASCRATCH 1 stars
1/19/03 charlie Hardly believable 2 stars
1/02/03 Annonoymous you all suck at rating movies 5 stars
12/01/02 Jim Wilson & Hackman are entertaining; worth seeing for the final helicopters vs. Serbs battle. 4 stars
8/19/02 Vikram Munikoti Awesome...edge-of-your-seat thriller 5 stars
8/03/02 KMG ----THE DEAFENING SPLATTER OF SHIT WOULD BE BETTER THAN THIS GARBAGE----- 1 stars
7/13/02 Jim Bedford The Magnificant Seven Return yet again 5 stars
7/04/02 ! G000000D 4 stars
5/12/02 Matt This movie gives cliches a bad name 1 stars
4/28/02 burt this movie was one of the best i've ever seen in theaters, FUCKING AWESOME 5 stars
4/26/02 Kelly Murphy Good war movie! I love Owen Wilson movies! 5 stars
4/24/02 Ashley Broussard This movie rulz...it was great..i loved it..im definitely buying it&no one's borrowing it 5 stars
4/03/02 lauren mccreight the ending is so bad thougth i was gonna cry.... 2 stars
2/25/02 ownerofdajoint goodtimerockandrollerkindaflick 4 stars
2/21/02 Jon Fuckin Awesome Movie and awesome soundtrack, owen wilson rulz, i also like the bosnian jay 5 stars
2/20/02 adsfadf asdfadf 5 stars
2/17/02 Al Cumbine BLACK HAWK DOWN FUCKING SUCKED U AGREE WITH WHAT ROLLING STONE SAYS 5 stars
2/17/02 Carla not bad... just kinda unrealistic at times... good suspense 3 stars
2/14/02 Tim Excellent 5 stars
2/11/02 Vic Only watch of you like war action movies. Very realystic setting. I have been in Bosnia! 4 stars
2/10/02 Owen Wilson My film rocks. Best film this year! 5 stars
2/06/02 Jimbo Ending is very suss but overall a good flick 4 stars
2/04/02 Jerk-OFF-reviewer I love this movie its great. Sorry the other guys have soem problem and cant enjoy it. 5 stars
1/22/02 mikkogwapo the movie....is entertaaaaaaaaaaaining...thats the bottom line..isn't it?..... 5 stars
1/16/02 SEAN ALEXANDER IT WAS BRILLIANT, A MODERN WARFARE FILM. REALISTIC 5 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Quite Good...Hackman's Performance Was Excellent. 4 stars
1/15/02 en f~##ing all right 5 stars
1/09/02 malcolm cool shit, Owen Wilson and Gene Hackman? good enough for me 4 stars
1/07/02 Splard good damn movie, what the fuck is wrong with you sell out movie review bitches 5 stars
1/02/02 Mercury, because it's cool Sorta exagerated, especially at the end, Otherwise, there's a lot of action and suspense. 4 stars
1/01/02 Kelly Young This movie rocked my world 5 stars
12/26/01 Gene Hackman is a fucking hottie. My name is Bill Dawson. I teach Chemistry at Midview High School. If there are any hot guys out there. 458-5327 is my # 1 stars
12/20/01 David Snow I can't believe crap like this still gets made. 1 stars
12/16/01 Mills Not that Bad, I've seen better 4 stars
12/16/01 spaceworm Gene Hackman was in it, so it can't suck complete ass. 2 stars
12/14/01 Private Pyle Could have used more action 3 stars
12/12/01 G-Man Best action movie since........COPLAND!! 1 stars
12/10/01 Jason This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen... 1 stars
12/10/01 Xalt Flaming propaganda delivered by greedy suits. 1 stars
12/10/01 several commas good stuff 5 stars
12/09/01 Trunks You guy's suck I love this movie go suck on a loy pop with mommy 5 stars
12/09/01 Renee Blandford this was an awesome movie, no matter what the critics say. 5 stars
12/09/01 Nastaran FUCKING AWESOME....what more can you say? 5 stars
12/08/01 Marcus Where's my AK47? I'd get the fucker! lol What crap 1 stars
12/08/01 derek deems this film was absolutly terrible. it tries to be the stupidest film ever made. 1 stars
12/08/01 Jim Crap. Crap. Crap. Iron Eagle meets Missing in Action 1 stars
12/07/01 rutt13 entertaining, if a little melodramatic 4 stars
12/06/01 leon russom great action flick 5 stars
12/05/01 Dr. Zachary Smith on numerous close-ups of mr. wilson, plaque was clearly visible on his 2 front teeth. 2 stars
12/03/01 Obi Wan What happened?Movie starts very good, but I expected Marines in end & got HollyWood! 3 stars
12/02/01 marayqw sanhao 5 stars
12/02/01 ajay Owen can only be *one* character which is lame. The ending is so hollywood, it's laughable 3 stars
12/02/01 Superdave Ending sucks, but the first 3/4 are really good 4 stars
12/01/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Anything with Owen Wilson is bound to be bad! 1 stars
12/01/01 Mr Math Oh man, this is cheese whiz. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Nov-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Jan-2002


Directed by
  John Moore

Written by
  Zak Penn

Cast
  Gene Hackman
  Owen Wilson
  David Keith
  Gabriel Macht
  Shane Johnson
  Vladimir Mashkov



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast