Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.16

Awesome57.89%
Worth A Look: 22.49%
Just Average: 7.18%
Pretty Crappy: 2.87%
Sucks: 9.57%

14 reviews, 125 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fraud by Jay Seaver

Their Finest by Jay Seaver

Tommy's Honour by Jay Seaver

Colossal by Peter Sobczynski

Fate of the Furious, The by Peter Sobczynski

68 Kill by Jay Seaver

Inhumanwich! by Jack Sommersby

Life (2017) by Jay Seaver

Going in Style (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Void, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Royal Tenenbaums, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Smith

"starring Sir Gene, Lady Anjelica, and Princess Gwyneth"
3 stars

I was disappointed in this. I waited a while to see it, and heard nothing but good word-of-mouth, so I guess my expectations were high. I liked it, but there was something important missing from it.

I think, in the end, it was a little simple, of one note. I mean, ok, the family is disfunctional, and though it's all brought to life, by Anderson and his superb cast, in inventive fashion, it gets a little repetitive. Even the intertitles, which break the story up into chapters, like a fairy-tale, start to become annoying, and emphasise the mechanical air of this film.

All the characters are interestingly eccentric, and much is made of this - there are laughs aplenty throughout the film, as we see each family member demonstrate themself.

But Anderson, who directed and co-wrote, doesn't go much further, and, the novelty of watching a dysfunctional family go through their ghastly motions in a film that rejects redemption or emotional resolution soon wears off. Not being American, I'm not titillated by the idea of a nuclear family gone wrong, and ten years of post-post modern independent American film making ("Pulp Fiction", The Coen Bros, etc.) have made non-traditional narrative film making seem kind of redundant.

I kept thinking of European films that featured off-the-wall families like "Olivier, Olivier", or "The Visitors". These films used high drama or slapstick comedy superlatively, relegating the eccentricities of their characters to the background. The films are richer as a result, mainly, I think, because we have other things to enjoy, and get our teeth into.

We feel these films give us more than we expected, because we can't possibly take it all in at once. "The Royal Tenenbaums" suffers from a little bit of two-dimensionality, because all we get is the crazy Tenebaums going round and round in circles. Funny, clever circles, but circles nonetheless.

Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed it, but I think terms like "Movie of the Year" and "A Masterpiece" get bandied about a little too loosely nowadays.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5670&reviewer=305
originally posted: 04/26/02 03:11:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/04/15 stanley welles an awesome adult comedy - immaculately written and brilliantly performed 5 stars
3/29/14 PAUL SHORTT QUIRKY, CLEVER COMEDY 3 stars
7/07/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* A wonderful dark humor movie. Favorite part "Look at that old grizzley bear" 4 stars
7/04/09 Gristle So fucking empty and utterly boring 1 stars
11/10/08 Brian I'm addicted to this movie. One of the best comedies ever. Hilarious and beautiful. 5 stars
9/02/07 Quigley Well-scripted, well-acted and visually inventive comedy. Hackman should have won an Oscar. 5 stars
2/05/07 nmedina Ive seen it over 100 times and have decide like Eli Cash to be a Tenenbaum. 5 stars
1/08/07 Drew Galletti Extremely well done, though I need to revisit still 3 stars
1/08/07 Tulip O'Hare Completely don't get why this is supposed to be good. I just found it slow and snarky. 2 stars
11/02/06 Bitchflaps I hated Rushmore, but this is excellent. 4 stars
10/12/06 The Hugh Hilarious and Tragic 5 stars
8/11/06 M. Mirliss According to EFC, my film criticism skills are worse than Kelly Palma's...suicide time. 5 stars
4/05/06 Wholy Crapman Wacky, yet believable and lovable characters. Just what Anderson does best 5 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Hackman is terrific, but Anderson (as ever) keeps us too distant from the characters. 4 stars
1/08/06 sdg sdg boring 1 stars
7/30/05 yuko hilarious, adorable and a little bit of sadness 5 stars
6/13/05 E-FUNK A Beautiful, hilarious, heart-felt film. I didn't think he could top Rushmore, I was wrong. 5 stars
6/07/05 John Aster Habig a movie that looks at the true meaning of family and love 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Not as good as Rushmore but still very good 4 stars
5/12/05 mitch Kelly Palma can't handle "reel" comedy 5 stars
1/15/05 Abbath Nice, quirky comedy/drama. Well written with great characters. 5 stars
12/29/04 DM Funny, unique and strangely poignant. 4 stars
11/08/04 Chris McElheney the best movie ive ever seen! i love it. 5 stars
10/31/04 erika my name is erika tenenbaum which is preety fnny i thought the movie was just awsome 5 stars
9/12/04 R.W. Welch Has a certain style but mostly played too slow and low key. 3 stars
8/04/04 Stefan Good comedy thats very funny but gladly doesn't laugh at its self if u know what i mean 4 stars
7/29/04 Josh Standlee So sh*tty, it made Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson and Bill Murray look bad! 1 stars
7/11/04 Recurring Dream i was very entertained and amused by those great little touches in the background. 4 stars
7/05/04 Erin Great!!! 5 stars
7/01/04 Daveman Gracefully crafted and shot with wonderfully subtle dark humor. 4 stars
6/27/04 Bobby da Squid Wonderful cast, NYC-but-not-NYC, amazing rich, detailed visuals - one of my favs 5 stars
4/25/04 Lord Jiggy A slow build...earns your laughter, respect, and affection. Worth full price. 5 stars
3/26/04 Melissa Gaugert If you like Ben Stiller comedy, you'll love it, like I did! Wacky!! 4 stars
3/24/04 Margie i don't think i got it, cuz i was more creeped out than anything... and i didn't laugh :-( 2 stars
3/16/04 Holly Beeman What can I say? Wes Anderson is the man. Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, etc.! 5 stars
3/08/04 Wendranh didn't feel any connection to the characters at all 2 stars
2/25/04 Sean What comedy should aspire to be. One of the best. 5 stars
2/06/04 charlie ace 5 stars
1/29/04 Jack Bourbon Garp-guy wannabes. 3 stars
1/27/04 Tom Brilliant, a rare gem 5 stars
1/26/04 lonesome_whistle A funny, quirky, touching movie 4 stars
1/26/04 Jay This movie was a waste of money and time 1 stars
6/26/03 cochese No one else said it, so I will. "The Royal Piece of Shit" 1 stars
5/12/03 scottyrobotty more funny lines than any movie in the last 10 years. perfect 5 stars
4/20/03 Skankin' inThePit Great movie/acting/directing--Anderson is a favorite along with Richard Kelly in my book 5 stars
3/23/03 Winthrop J Applesmythe III the reviewer is on crack. SEE THIS MOVIE. 5 stars
2/10/03 Alex Pérez Córdova It´s an excelent movie 5 stars
1/05/03 Karen Great movie! 5 stars
12/15/02 Jimmy Snuka This movie is as awesome as me off the top rope!!! 5 stars
12/08/02 Goofy Maxwell Bitter fruit grows on this family tree. But magnificent Anderson tells such a sweet tale. 4 stars
12/02/02 mr. Pink brilliant! Anderson fulfills his promise that he had with debut Bottle Rocket. Great! 5 stars
12/01/02 Gruther waste of time 2 stars
11/27/02 Zack W. Young A pervesely terrific cast and brilliant writing and direction make this a rare modern gem. 5 stars
11/27/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies The Wilson brothers rock - Gwyneth does not 4 stars
11/03/02 Nerf_Herder Sad, funny, bitersweet and everything in between 5 stars
10/30/02 spacecowboy I really enjoyed this. 5 stars
10/27/02 mike bernotas One thing about this guy's movies.... you can almost feel the season's 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 The best family movie ever made. They didn't have to kill poor ol' Buckley, though. 5 stars
9/29/02 royal tenenbaum sweet 5 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock I think people mistake smart-arse stuff for brilliance 1 stars
9/14/02 Monster W. Kung Competently made and acted, but not very funny at all. 3 stars
8/25/02 Roberto Donati Is Anderson the new american talent? 4 stars
8/06/02 Banky Edwards What a weird and funny movie!!! I really enjoyed it and giggled like a fool throughout! 5 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. Bitchin.' 5 stars
7/31/02 Christopher Inspired, wonderful, touching, funny. 5 stars
7/26/02 karen goldstein i didn't laugh once - she was in love with her brother! Yuck!!!! 1 stars
7/22/02 erick prolly fav. of the year, and def. in my top 5, watch its awesome 5 stars
7/16/02 Caiphn Just watched it again, still my favorite movie this year. 5 stars
7/14/02 The Bomb 69 I caught myself laughing at the small, minute points, if you pay attention it will delight 4 stars
7/14/02 Phil M. Aficionado Quirky, funny, and cutting edge. A truly meaningful dark comedy with ACTING 4 stars
7/11/02 Punk_Ass At first I was like WTF?? but it grew on me as the movie progressed. wierd/entertaining 4 stars
6/18/02 Oscar Smart, Funny, and full of substance 5 stars
5/26/02 PeterGibbons Art house? You frat boys are a riot. I wanna do mescaline! 5 stars
5/26/02 Nicole If you like dry humor and pay attention to the detail in the movie, you will enjoy! 4 stars
5/18/02 Chowie pretty good, owen and luke kick arse 4 stars
5/14/02 hbotis@hotmail.com nice, very nice, but not great. Huston is great 4 stars
3/26/02 dsmart American arthouse : odd, not funny, pointless 1 stars
3/23/02 Guy Forssman 0/100 there should be a law against this kind of movies 1 stars
3/18/02 Simeon Briggs Best film of the year 5 stars
3/18/02 Caiphn Worth watching. Excellent review, Collin Souter. 4 stars
3/14/02 Roy Smith Left after 20 minutes - boring and sad. People liked this? 1 stars
3/11/02 spaceworm Want to see it again. Gene's a Machine. 5 stars
3/01/02 Unagiboy The scene with the "Bikers" paintings was classic! 5 stars
2/28/02 Butterbean Hackman was incredible, this movie was entertaining. 4 stars
2/23/02 tforce academic films about neurosis are better than this 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Nicely entertaining. Some laughs, too. 4 stars
2/19/02 luda hoe the characters are brilliant, the script is smart, the laughs are genuine. 5 stars
2/19/02 Zach movie of the year, hands down. 5 stars
2/17/02 m i like it more each day that passes. i want to see it again, if only for the paintings. 4 stars
2/17/02 AgentDS Disturbingly entertaining 4 stars
2/16/02 Meryl K. Awesome. Stiller and Hackman are incredible. See the movie, see it right now. 5 stars
2/16/02 Phredrick Dobbs Exquisite 5 stars
2/10/02 Chelley Whom ever doesn't like this film doesn't deserve to live. 5 stars
2/10/02 Jimmy James excellent! quirky and funny 5 stars
2/10/02 Greg Jones By far the best movie of the year. 5 stars
2/05/02 Weeblerelf Intricate, beautiful!! My new favorite!! Just beautiful! 5 stars
2/01/02 dulac76 The guy who wrote this review must have seen an entirely different film than I did. 2 stars
1/28/02 arisa renewed my senses... 5 stars
1/26/02 Artist Freak This movie underwhelmed me immensely. SOme funny bits, but no point that I could see. 2 stars
1/25/02 Slitchard Richmond Insular and precious, but gloriously and sweetly so. Tender and melancholic. 5 stars
1/23/02 Paco Great emotional themes, performances and soundtrack. Far better than the overrated Rushmor 4 stars
1/21/02 The Man Best film since "American Beauty" 5 stars
1/18/02 Mister Char i just didn't see what was so terrific about it, maybe i missed something, good cast though 3 stars
1/14/02 Carly I had really high expectations. Solid, but no Rushmore. 4 stars
1/13/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Strange that nearly everyone in this movie has a famous relative? 1 stars
1/10/02 Robert Odd, touching, clever, but in the end, unsatisfying. Not much insight or feeling at the end 4 stars
1/07/02 wintermute Wow. 2002 is already heaps better than 2001. Bring it On! 5 stars
1/06/02 jeffrey flood wondreful wicked satire 5 stars
1/06/02 The Man Superb- great performances. A film with a style to call its own 5 stars
1/04/02 specialK no Rushmore, but had 4(?) alumni. didn't meet expectations 3 stars
1/04/02 raiven an unfunny waste of film, cast and TIME, trying SOOO hard to be eccentric and clever. 1 stars
1/04/02 rue the whirl i predict this will get better with repeated viewings 4 stars
1/04/02 John This isn't just a a movie. It's *film*. This is easily the funniest and best movie so far 5 stars
1/03/02 Superdave Excellent acting, somewhat funny, but no story and very strange, but in a bad way 3 stars
1/02/02 This movie's awsome! Y2k2 I loved this movie, actually I havn't seen it yet, but since Owen's in it, it must be good. 5 stars
1/01/02 jim-bob one hot asian masseuse in it, and one tit-shot. 3 stars
12/30/01 poetchuck An afternoon nap would have been a better use of time 1 stars
12/30/01 Thor-Leo Brilliant, perfectly pitched, almost every scene a jewel. 5 stars
12/29/01 LZ "Interesting..." 4 stars
12/28/01 Jason Fessel This movie rules. It is totally entertaining and funny. It is easy to get absorbed into ch 5 stars
12/22/01 frank i didn't think it was better than RUSHMORE, but it was close. 5 stars
12/18/01 Heather Full of dry humor and great characters, one of the year's best 5 stars
12/15/01 ajay rushmore was great, this is just as good. 5 stars
12/15/01 Emily great 5 stars
12/15/01 Boomshanka Better than Rushmore. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Dec-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast