Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome69.61%
Worth A Look: 22.55%
Just Average: 1.96%
Pretty Crappy: 3.92%
Sucks: 1.96%

4 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Day, A by Jay Seaver

Pork Pie by Jay Seaver

Stronger by Peter Sobczynski

Battle of the Sexes by Peter Sobczynski

Simran by Jay Seaver

Leatherface (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Jay Seaver

Abracadabra by Jay Seaver

Dead Shack by Jay Seaver

Lowlife (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Monsoon Wedding
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"Don't miss this riotously colorful and joyous Wedding!"
5 stars

Monsoon Wedding is pure joy, a jewel in the crown of director Mira Nair (Salaam Bombay, Mississippi Masala).

Set in New Delhi, the story centers on the arranged marriage of Aditi Verma (Vasundhara Das), a young TV producer and the daughter of a local Punjabi, to Hement Rai (Parveen Dabaas), the son of an old family friend and an engineer who has been living in Houston and returns to India just four days before the wedding to meet his intended bride. The catch: With just days to go until the ceremony, the bride-to-be still hasn't quite been able to break off with her married lover Vikram (Sameer Arya), the talk-show host for whom she works.

At first, as the two extended families gather amid chaos to prepare for the festivities, simultaneously conversing in Punjabi, Hindi, and English, I had a giddy sensation of having been dropped into a Bollywood version of a Robert Altman film.

But the movie quickly takes on all the hallmarks of the best of Mira Nair: The depiction of the clashes between old and new cultures, conflicts between parents and children, re-examination of family ties, and the indomitable spirit of the human heart. In short, it is a riot of activity swirling around the glorious wedding colors of red saris, saffron robes, and (seemingly) thousands of orange marigolds, framed dazzlingly through the lens of DP Declan Quinn.

A delightful sub-plot is the story of the courtship of the frantic, frazzled, marigold-eating wedding planner P. K. Dubey (Vijay Raaz) and the lovely housemaid Alice (Tilotama Shome), for whom he pines.

A more serious sub-plot involves the bride's courageous cousin Ria (Shefali Shetty), who as a child was the victim of sexual abuse at the hands of the family patriarch, Tej Puri (Rajat Kapoor), who she fears might be targeting another child.

Rounding out the fine cast of players are Naseeruddin Shah and Lilette Dubey as Aditi's parents Lalit and Pimmi; Soni Razdan and the wonderful Roshan Seth as Saroj and Mohan Rai, the parents of the groom; and Ishaan Nair as the bride's little brother Varun, whose twin passions are dancing and cooking, much to his father's chagrin.

Touching on serious issues, and with moments of great anguish, Monsoon Wedding is, in the end, a celebratory masala, an outpouring of joy in a downpour of rain.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5675&reviewer=376
originally posted: 07/18/04 22:03:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/24/11 Annie G I donít think I serve marigolds often enough for dinnerÖ 3 stars
8/19/11 hurdy gurdy man First class venture BUT somewhat corny overall - not for everyone. 3 stars
1/26/11 Jeff Wilder Great mix of comedy and drama. More fully dimensional than My Big Fat Greek Wedding. 4 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT AN INTRICATE, HEARTFELT TRIBUTE TO THE ENDURING POWER OF LOVE 4 stars
7/15/06 scott watterman best movie of 2002 5 stars
10/10/05 Phil M. Aficionado The thing just wore me out trying to follow it; I quit after a while 2 stars
10/02/05 Priya Pamtham My favourite movie in the world 5 stars
12/05/04 Natasha Theobald funny, moving, colorful - I loved living with this family for a couple of hours 5 stars
8/15/04 Eloise romance, singing, dancing, weddings, with a happy ending, yey 5 stars
8/12/04 RAAJ DOGRA AWESOME MOVIE , GREAT WORK DONE BY MIRA NAIR AND FUCK U SHEFALI SHARMA 5 stars
8/11/04 kiren randeep hooda is mega fit 5 stars
8/03/04 Prashant H Manapure Sensitive movie 5 stars
7/24/04 Drew-P Touching flick. 4 stars
5/16/04 Divya Vats i loved the movie. the only where ppl were still glued to their seats even after it got ove 5 stars
2/15/04 Rocanna This film made me see the culture that I only experienced half of. It made me see me. 5 stars
1/25/04 Ravi Ganesh stoo good 5 stars
12/28/03 Sonya Amazing movie - it finally reached my country, and now Indian movies are the in thing! 5 stars
7/12/03 jarred manus good moive but Tilottama is too hot to be a maid 4 stars
5/16/03 Shefali Sharma So bad -- it ain't good 1 stars
5/13/03 kuldeep Hooda A Movie with a difference......!! 5 stars
4/20/03 Dharma Singh Randeep Hooda was going great guns..All the best.. 5 stars
3/30/03 Aron i think this is the most beatiful movie i have ever seen!!!! 5 stars
12/20/02 Freyja Lovely, lovely movie! Vibrant and gorgeous and charming, a real treat. 4 stars
10/14/02 Sandeep Kumar Punia Itís Wonderful movie, cheery to see a movie with a difference after a long time. 5 stars
10/06/02 sasha Rahul is so hot 5 stars
10/05/02 Nicole What a cute movie! 4 stars
9/28/02 Peter Sherlock Wonderful! Fun! 5 stars
9/12/02 Jaivir Hooda wonderful movie...Rnadeep hooda waas excellent ....hoodas ar born great 5 stars
9/04/02 sandeep punia best movie randeep hooda rules 5 stars
8/01/02 neda mickles9494@yahoo.com 2 stars
5/09/02 Aron A feast for eyes, ears, & mind. Extend pleasure by buying the soundtrack! 5 stars
4/22/02 Pete Fun, nice look into a different culture. Beautifully shot. Very enjoyable! 4 stars
4/11/02 Heather Amazing, amazing ...... 5 stars
4/07/02 caitlin it was very good, and Randeep Hooda is very hunky! 5 stars
4/02/02 Rizjit Zaidsura A real rollercoaster of emotions that, in the end, delivers with heart-warming joy. 5 stars
3/24/02 Craig Totally enjoyed it - and that's all that really matters!! 5 stars
3/24/02 neel Its awesome. Worth watching 5 stars
3/18/02 Teresa During the wedding dance my friend started dancing with her hands. The audience applauded 5 stars
3/17/02 rajeshjha Awesome 5 stars
3/10/02 Sonya AWESOME. Just AWESOME. 5 stars
3/08/02 huew there's not enough about the bride and the groom. We don't feel like we know them 2 stars
3/08/02 Rumi Sukhwinder's 'theme song' is awesome!!!! 5 stars
3/01/02 Cafemocha Totally enjoyed it.....saw bits and pieces of various family weddings I've attended..... 5 stars
2/25/02 Gaurav PK DUBEY is awesome..he deserves an oscar 5 stars
2/24/02 AV This wedding is infectious! 5 stars
2/22/02 Rohin Infinitely better than most of the Bollywood crap my country is known for. Loved it. 5 stars
2/21/02 noori good 5 stars
2/19/02 sridevi fucking awesome really.....mira nair deserves a kiss on her pussy 5 stars
2/18/02 Mark Olsen Excellent 5 stars
2/17/02 rabi great ...***** 5 stars
2/17/02 Frances its ok i guess 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance touching story nonetheless...but i just didn't feel as though I'm a big fan 2 stars
2/14/02 Ash Rajendra Wonderfull and Honest... made me laugh, think and cry... 5 stars
2/12/02 SANDEEP KOCHAR BEAUTIFUL...JOYOUS...TOUCHING...MOVING...SOMETHING TO MOVE THE MOST CYNICAL OF HEARTS! 5 stars
2/08/02 Shu Yey its wick 5 stars
2/06/02 sukanya sen gupta a slice of contemporary Indian life. The film has a soul, it is direct and no pretence. 5 stars
2/06/02 nizam aziz nice! 5 stars
2/04/02 RB Beautifu! Awesome. Loved it, will watch it again... 5 stars
2/04/02 Sumona Almost convinced me to get maried :) 5 stars
1/31/02 Shivani Ramnath a must see! 5 stars
1/26/02 Deveka An absolute great depiction of realistic relationships between people, I loved it!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/23/02 pavan terrific 4 stars
1/21/02 Sanjay a really good movie. 5 stars
1/21/02 jaideep a well crafted movie with lot of human touch.leaves you feeling beautiful in the end 5 stars
1/21/02 Know-it-all Bitching awesome! Fer sure! 5 stars
1/17/02 Himanshu Chaudhari An excellent movie for a person who identify with the Indian middle class... 5 stars
1/15/02 MikeB not much of a story - but - I loved it - a very well made movie 5 stars
1/14/02 Nandini Top, top, top-notch! A genuinely moving, human drama. None of that bollywood bollocks! 5 stars
1/11/02 Tam One of the best Indian films I've ever seen. Breaks conventions e.g. shows kissing. 5 stars
1/08/02 Adam Voorhees Fucking wank, u people r starved of quaility if u think this is good. DO NOT SEE THIS! 1 stars
1/07/02 matthew smith delightful, full of fun, colour and wonderful music 4 stars
1/05/02 jayaraman ganesh must watch!!!! 5 stars
1/04/02 Andrew Carden An Indian Version Of Betsy's Wedding. It Was Pretty Good I Guess. 4 stars
1/03/02 Samuel Gordon Excellent Film! A must see! 5 stars
12/31/01 Atomic Toaster The Music is also 5 stars 5 stars
12/29/01 Owen Great Film!! Loved it. 5 stars
12/28/01 Kurenai Most amazing film 5 stars
12/21/01 viking A poignant comedy 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Feb-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Dec-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast