Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.53

Awesome: 0%
Worth A Look: 5%
Just Average50%
Pretty Crappy: 37.5%
Sucks: 7.5%

4 reviews, 16 user ratings



Mulholland Falls
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"This film pales in comparison to L.A. Confidential."
2 stars

Disappointing.

The cast alone was worthwhile: Nick Nolte, Chazz Palminteri, John Malkovich, Michael Madsen and Chris Penn among others.

Beautifully shot and staged (directed by Lee Tamahori of The Edge and Once Were Warriors), and getting the look down a full year ahead of L.A. Confidential, this movie should've worked.

It didn't.

The story isn't up to par and the performances are uninspired. Even the sight of Jennifer Connelly baring all isn't enough.

You've also got Melanie Griffith and a Baldwin in it, so there's two strikes right off the bat.

A failure. But a failure that's pretty to look at.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=571&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/04/98 10:12:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/01/12 Monday Morning 90% style, 10% substance. 3 stars
7/11/10 Stopher Deepest line. "Are you OK, Max?" ad nauseum 2 stars
12/19/09 Gene Ross Nolte has never been an outstanding actor but in this he's tolerable.Strong perfomances fro 3 stars
8/11/09 Tiffany I was confused from beging to end & i watched twice. 1 stars
6/01/06 Jack Sommersby A good, stylish murder mystrey with a very good cast. 4 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Well made just not terribly interesting 3 stars
5/16/05 Chris Stephens Likes it all the way until the ending bombed 3 stars
6/05/04 John this concept with this cast should have been great - a wasted opportunity 1 stars
1/14/04 Betty White Watchable, but overlong "Chinatown" rip-off. 3 stars
12/07/03 John Bale Nolte grumbles his way through with a fine cast, but mostly predicable Untouchables stuff. 3 stars
12/06/03 R.W. Welch Borderline campy at times but engrossing plot line. 3 stars
2/06/03 Allison Lafferty Geez - what's with this wave of girls named Allison dying in airplanes? bordrline avg/p.bad 3 stars
8/22/01 Jed I found it to be quite engrossing. Give it a shot and judge for yourself. 4 stars
11/30/98 Mr.Pink Tamahori doesn't fulfill his promise with this big dissapointment. 2 stars
8/28/98 Johny I fell asleep in the theater. Boring. 1 stars
8/25/98 Pete Considering the cast I was very let down. Avoid this flick. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Apr-1995 (R)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast