Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.23

Awesome36.84%
Worth A Look: 18.42%
Just Average: 7.89%
Pretty Crappy: 4.39%
Sucks: 32.46%

3 reviews, 96 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Kung Pow!: Enter the Fist
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A great idea, completely screwed up by a hack."
1 stars

“Kung Pow: Enter the Fist” has a marvelous premise but fails completely due to some fundamental misunderstandings of the ways of comedy.

The idea is that Steve Oedekerk got a hold of a long-forgotten 1976 martial-arts film called “Tiger & Crane Fists.” He redubbed the dialogue, shot some new scenes, and digitally inserted himself into the action, thus creating a movie that is a parody of karate flicks in general, and a “Mystery Science Theater”-style mocking of this one specifically.

The problem is that I only know all this because I read the press kit. The movie itself does not make it clear, and how is the audience supposed to laugh along with your concept if it doesn’t know what the concept is?

Yes, the move begins with a title card telling us that “Tiger & Crane Fists” has been given new voices and soundtrack. But then the very first scene has a CGI baby kung fu fighting two bad guys -- a scene that obviously has been made from scratch, not rescued from a cellar and redubbed. Our assumption, then, is that they were kidding about the “new voices and soundtrack” thing, and that they’ve made an all-new movie -- intentionally bad -- and put in silly dialogue.

But then we have scenes that really DO look old, and where the dubbed dialogue makes fun of the action. For example, a man’s robe keeps changing colors from one shot to the next, and the dubbed voice of the man speaking to him makes reference to it. Are they making fun of an actual old movie? If so, funny. Or did they make a new movie and make it bad on purpose so they could make fun of it? If so, not funny, because they’re setting up straw men just so they can knock them down. Not knowing which is the case, the audience is left to puzzle things out and determine whether this is good comedy or bad comedy.

The audience has to understand the premise. It’s OK to lie to the audience, but it has to be clear that you’re lying. Conan O’Brien has a feature where he shows us “actual ads” from actual newspapers. He insists these are real advertisements, and that you couldn’t make this stuff up. And then it’s obvious from the first example that they ARE made up, and that one of the things he’s mocking is the late-night talk-show staple of showing humorous newspaper clippings (like Jay Leno’s “Headlines”).

“Kung Pow” begins by telling us it’s an old movie redubbed, but then includes obviously new scenes seamlessly integrated with the old ones. They’ve done such an ingenious job of putting new footage with old that they’ve undermined their own comedy.

And then there’s another problem: The redubbed dialogue isn’t very funny. There are moments, yes -- the aforementioned robe-changing bit is good, assuming you catch on that this really IS an old scene -- but there are far more instances of strained, wimpy humor. Having the mouths out of sync with the words is funny ... but not forever. Giving the characters silly voices is funny ... but not forever. Nearly every joke goes beyond the realm of humor and into the realm of being over-done. It’s the perfect example of a movie that should have been 15 minutes long.

Steve Oedekerk wrote “Patch Adams,” for which he should not be forgiven. Why he was given free reign over this project -- he wrote, directed, starred and produced -- is beyond me. With some more brains involved, it could have turned into a wonderful, wacky movie. Someone should have been there to tell Steve he was completely screwing it up.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5716&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/25/02 12:39:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/27/14 Nick Quite. 4 stars
4/29/14 Qsdjshrv The IAEA's Denis Flory noted Monday that its Bt exceeds the bio-diversity of the late 80s w 5 stars
3/18/14 Wjlxydke While the national team, the power is the official expected toll of human ordinariness, as 2 stars
3/18/14 Euisvpxz The capacity of the fiscal year 2012, including hybrid teen styles, quality of the fuel jap 5 stars
2/15/14 wvGwlcaJhyxHhvy PsWyIYSTmCDk 3 stars
2/02/14 MomMxvkkW psXRWdIUTG 4 stars
10/25/09 Mr.Carrot74 The book now has a one-man show to go with it, and an interactive public exhibit called Fam 5 stars
10/25/09 Gangster11 My concern is rather intentional or not, the tone and replies strike me as a desire to stee 3 stars
10/25/09 Stinky26 Without signaling, she cut across two lanes, and I had to swerve onto the left shoulder to 4 stars
10/24/09 Wolf49 A popular format with an almost exclusively male demographic in most areas, sports radio is 3 stars
10/22/09 Red23 That what our purpose is in the business. , 5 stars
9/21/09 alohajoes.com Many people, myself included, were very confused by the revamped interface. , <a href="ht 4 stars
9/04/09 HsvsRsvsesv none 4 stars
6/15/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess A guilty pleasure of mine. Why isn't the original 'Tiger And Crane Fists' on DVD? 4 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
8/08/07 Marcos very funny 4 stars
11/11/06 Marianne nice and funny movie 1 stars
10/16/06 Craig Do you people have any sense of humor?! Amazing moive...someitmes morons can't hear a joke 5 stars
9/12/06 David Cohen This piece of $#@! was done by the same guy who did the "Thumb" shorts? No way! 1 stars
4/08/06 mike couldn't breathe from laughter! 5 stars
5/04/05 Quigley had some drop-dead hilarious sequences, but i could have expected more. a lot more. 3 stars
11/14/04 Mark J The greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/05/04 Dwane First time stupid, the thirdtime, couldnt hold the tears of laughter 5 stars
10/04/04 DM Hilarious, original, and intelligent - If you're a stoned amnesiac retard. 1 stars
6/13/04 The Inquisition =][= Hella awesome! If you thought it was crap, you obviously have no sense of humour. 5 stars
4/09/04 Boxman Virtuoso Anyone who thinks this movie sucks, has obviously never met my friend, MJ... 5 stars
4/05/04 Ken Stryker 5 stars movie spoof, made fun fun of kung fu great 5 stars
3/22/04 Pinkline Jones The best Kung Fu flick since Schindler's Fist 5 stars
2/08/04 Steven Baldwin It was so bad, it looped right back around to funny 4 stars
12/31/03 l_mcgregoruk Dissapointing to say the least 1 stars
12/30/03 bash seen it 4 times and it's actually just as good each time. love it. 5 stars
12/27/03 jessica it's so stupid it's brilliant 5 stars
12/26/03 J I fell down laughing for hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/27/03 yoda hilareus 5 stars
10/27/03 Juvenihilist complete piece of crap - no redeeming features 1 stars
10/14/03 Tonatiuh Moreno It goes far beyond bad filmmaking. It's SO absurd it is jaw-straining funny! 5 stars
9/07/03 l3LacleZ I think Jon missed the point..the dubbing was supposd to be bad hehe. Made it hillarious. 5 stars
8/31/03 Brown Jenkin GIVE ME CANCER NOW, GOD! 1 stars
8/26/03 Lara Freeborn IT WAS FUNNY AS @#$%IN' HELL!!!! 5 stars
7/14/03 Jhon Hope Best Movie Ever 5 stars
7/14/03 Zach A silly and stupid movie that is hysterical! Your sides will hurt! Wee Ohh!! 4 stars
7/08/03 Freddy This is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen! 5 stars
6/28/03 weeZ its hilarious 5 stars
6/24/03 S S 5 stars
6/24/03 Beavfist & Bashead This is the best movie I ever seen 5 stars
6/23/03 Jack Bourbon Funny but boring. They should have made the girl's voice with a balloon, IMO. 3 stars
6/23/03 Jon Lyrik It THINKS it’s clever and funny, but it really isn’t. 1 stars
6/15/03 chuck ballew I too was suprised to find this movie completely enjoyable. it is simply idiotic. 4 stars
6/09/03 Zeke Ogburn A hilarious movie when you accept it for what it is. A simple, silly, stupid movie. 5 stars
6/09/03 Steve Hinckley On a scale of 1 to 10, this movie is a 1! 90 minutes of crap! 1 stars
6/03/03 Matt To all you people who think it sucks: you suck! This is some funny shit! 5 stars
5/27/03 Al Medinger This movie is the funniest i have ever seen!! 5 stars
5/21/03 joe mama KUNG POW IS THE BEST DAMN MOVIE EVER MADE, AND IF YOU DISAGREE GO TO HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/20/03 Symbol What the hell am I supposed to say?? Screw you guys, I'm gonna go watch it a again! 5 stars
4/17/03 Goofy Maxwell Watching this w/ any PC hangups is like using the "face-to-fist" technique. Hit & miss. 3 stars
3/15/03 DrTobasco Pretty offensive to asians in general, and the only funny scenes were from the original mov 1 stars
2/13/03 Smokey McDuff All those critics are mad, i think cause they just dont get it. idiots! 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig good if you tolerate the "stupid funny" genre 4 stars
11/12/02 Tar Mac Good idea, bad writer/director/star. 2 stars
10/16/02 JesseL If you don't like this, I have some yellow liquid for your popcorn, non-dairy. heh heh heh 5 stars
10/04/02 Brian This is the best parody of the kung fu flick I have ever seen. Goddam is it good 5 stars
9/25/02 ibengmainee Sucks all ass makes the movie look good 1 stars
9/02/02 AshFan I don't care what anyone says: This movie rocks! I laughed my head off and into the aisles! 5 stars
8/14/02 Del Somewhat boring in parts- Hot Chinese chick, though 3 stars
8/11/02 Mike The worst of the worst 1 stars
7/31/02 palaboy101 Do you really have to think that much when watching a comedy? Come on!!! 5 stars
7/28/02 Hal Comedy doesn't have to follow any rules! And that is why this movie rules! 5 stars
7/24/02 spyguy2 Funny. 4 stars
5/20/02 Butterbean Oedekerk was hilarious when he did Thumb Wars. With just 2 funny scenes, this was annoying. 2 stars
5/10/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Anyone involved with this brainless trash, deserves to have my fist enter their ass. Horrid 1 stars
4/12/02 Stephanie Throckmorton Suspends gravity for laughs -CROUCHING TIGER HIDDEN DRAGON should've gone for laughs too. 5 stars
3/27/02 Chris ¿¡ I was amazed. Really, I was. They actually put this shit out in theatres. 1 stars
3/25/02 Adam Lloyd-Jones The Funniest Movie Ever Made 5 stars
3/18/02 Steve This is the funniest movie i have seen in years, perhaps ever. Cheese to please! 5 stars
3/14/02 Jim Sturdivant I was super impressed! Mainly that this "pile of poo" didn't go straight to video. 1 stars
3/13/02 Greg Awesome if you like parody (and you think Leslie Nielson movies suck serious ass) 5 stars
3/09/02 mike engel it would have been funny if there wasnt the old godzilla effect goin on with their mouths 4 stars
3/05/02 RID What a waste of my bloody time and money !!! 1 stars
3/04/02 Zesty has some funny lines, but leaves you with a creepy feeling 3 stars
2/28/02 Banky Edwards Not as bad as everyone (almost) says...actually quite funny, laughed thru most of it!!!! 4 stars
2/24/02 Punky Brewster Very few funny scenes, this just got too annoying to watch after awhile 2 stars
2/22/02 Jason farr KICK ASS 5 stars
2/22/02 C'est La Vie So when's Hollywood going to stop being racist? 1 stars
2/21/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Just got back from seeing this. I love Steve, but Mr. Show was way funnier! 3 stars
2/19/02 Roy Smith Very funny but also painfully annoying...ouwe-ouwe-ouwe 4 stars
2/12/02 Stonedog Fucking great. Stupid but good 5 stars
1/31/02 the scarecrow The spoof genre should have been outlawed already!! 1 stars
1/29/02 AverageJoe I should have known from the crappy commercials this would suck! 1 stars
1/29/02 Butterbean I love and understand stupid movies(Pootie Tang, Half Baked). But this flick is annoying! 2 stars
1/29/02 I Hate Kung Pow: Enter The First! The Worst Movie Ever! 1 stars
1/28/02 Mister Char I clearly understood the MST3K style of the movie, and thus i really liked this film 5 stars
1/27/02 Jesus Christ I condemn this movie. 1 stars
1/26/02 Jamie Madrox Sucks Ass Words can't describe how bad this movie is. Destroy all copies NOW! 1 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden Just Horrible. Unfunny, and The Guy Is An Unfunny Rip-Off Of Ben Stiller. 1 stars
1/26/02 Joe Deblow Kung Pow! Exit The Theater 1 stars
1/25/02 James What a waste of FUCKING money!!!! TERRIBLE MOVIE!!! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jan-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Feb-2002


Directed by
  Steve Oedekerk

Written by
  Steve Oedekerk

Cast
  Steve Oedekerk
  Tad Horino
  Philip Tan
  Jennifer Tung



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast