Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.74

Awesome45%
Worth A Look: 21.25%
Just Average: 8.75%
Pretty Crappy: 12.5%
Sucks: 12.5%

1 review, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Walk to Remember, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"If they can sing, they should star in a movie! No, wait, that's stupid."
2 stars

The title “A Walk to Remember” refers to the fact that the movie is based on a book called “A Walk to Remember.” Other than that, it has no relevance, because there’s not much walking in the movie. There might be some in the theater, though, as people become overwhelmed by the gooey, romantic sentimentalism and walk out before it’s over.

This thoroughly unoriginal puddle of claptrap aims right at the heart of teen-age girls -- the ONLY people who should attempt to watch it. (Even they might find it indistinguishable from other movies they’ve seen.)

It is about a rebellious teen-age boy named Landon Carter (Shane West) who gets a kid nearly killed in a hazing rite and subsequently has to do community service. He is also sentenced by his high school principal to be in the spring musical, which is an odd sort of punishment if you ask me.

Naturally, this boy with a bad attitude and no previous acting experience gets the lead, and playing opposite him is Jamie Sullivan (Mandy Moore), the Pollyanna-ish preacher’s daughter with the voice of an angel and the virtue of a saint. They are opposites, which means they will fall in love.

(The musical they’re in, by the way, was written by a student and apparently has only one song -- which Jamie sings, and which is accompanied by a piano and an invisible strings section.)

The romance puts Landon in hot water with his troublemaker friends, and rouses the ire of Jamie’s Bible-thumping dad (Peter Coyote). Then the movie turns weepy and drastic. I won’t spoil it for you; I’ll let the movie spoil itself.

It is written by Karen Janszen (who also wrote “Free Willy 2”), based on the Nicholas Sparks novel. Give credit to the film for portraying religious faith in a positive light without being preachy, and for showing abstinence before marriage as a reasonable option. Those qualities are rare in film, and they are to be applauded.

Good intentions are not enough, however, to make a movie worthwhile. This one is certainly well-meaning, but it’s also simple-minded and contrived. The acting is second-rate and the direction (by Adam Shankman, who gave us “The Wedding Planner”) is merely adequate. It is a movie to forget.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5717&reviewer=247
originally posted: 01/24/02 16:34:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/03/13 Trisha Wirt Love love love this movie! Ultimate love story! 5 stars
10/23/11 William An absolutely beautiful movie, wonderfully believable performances, uplifting but tragic. 5 stars
5/27/10 rahul kumar this is a movie THAT MAKE U CRY N REMEMBER FOREVER GR8 MOVIE 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT PIOUS, WHOLESOME, SWEET, SINCERE AND POSITIVE 4 stars
4/29/08 poji Wonderful...any other movie with same plot. 5 stars
4/15/08 Victoria THIS IS MY FAVORITE MOVIE 5 stars
3/29/08 NABILA i like that movie it was very sad and romantic 5 stars
3/25/08 SONYA i like that movie it was a great movie and very romantic 5 stars
2/14/08 eric its a good movie. As for me the title was justified in the end landong saying the reason 5 stars
11/16/07 art this was MANDY MOORE"S best performance 4 stars
9/24/07 Beau sheer brilliance, great performances, very light hearted and terrific dialogue $ storyline! 4 stars
7/10/06 Shelley Potts Mandy Moore ostensibly emulating the Christian values she would later mock! 3 stars
12/02/05 cody a movie with valuable lesson about life and how things change, plus mandy moore 4 stars
8/23/05 Cyan Simple people with no empathy stay away from this one! 4 stars
8/22/05 Ronin The lesson is - there is always some goodness in a man. Even if they are mean to you. 5 stars
3/27/05 Emma This film is horrid. 1 stars
12/30/04 Cassie Hughes I LOVED IT, FUNNY, SAD, AND LOVING 5 stars
11/18/04 Aileen This movie is totally great and romantic... i love this movie... 5 stars
11/13/04 kristal its totally awesome!!! i cant help crying madly everytime i see it! 5 stars
11/04/04 Stephanie Valuable lesson! If you are at all intelligent you will see a great lesson 5 stars
9/26/04 alicia give me a frikkin break 1 stars
9/19/04 angel suprisingly good movie 4 stars
7/17/04 chokosenoko A Great, entertaining, down-to-earth movie. 5 stars
7/13/04 Daveman Unbelievable. It actually manages to outshit Crossroads. 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody I didn't like it that much but at least ti shows a Christian character in a positive light. 3 stars
4/30/04 Pauline the movie is so sad and shane west is sooo hot its a good story and it makes me think 5 stars
4/24/04 Carla i wish they had kept the story the same as the book. 4 stars
4/13/04 John Aster Habig Mandy Moore deverses better she is hot, smart, & talented 3 stars
4/12/04 Zargo yes, it's predictable, but it has a good message 4 stars
2/23/04 Joe very predictable.... lame 1 stars
2/04/04 c.r This movie had a great story and meaning to it and one more thing mandy moore is fine. good 4 stars
10/08/03 Sarah its sad:( 5 stars
7/21/03 Chance Wonderful chemistry between Mandy Moore and Shane West. Truly sweet story. 5 stars
7/16/03 Terrance Rogers I like that movie very much 5 stars
4/03/03 Jack Sommersby Passable stuff, but it's dramatic arc is so direly limited. 3 stars
2/16/03 rdgfd dfh 5 stars
1/14/03 Chancey Sugarpants Blah blah blah this is a terrible movie blah blah contrived, ridiculous plot blah blah blah 1 stars
1/05/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng I love this movie! One for the family. Sweet November meets Here on Earth. Fantastic! 5 stars
12/20/02 palaboy101 I don't particularly like Mandy Moore but she was quite good in this mush. 3 stars
10/24/02 Lauren Trisha Crystal This movie was total awesome!!!! 5 stars
10/22/02 palaboy101 A very likeable Mandy Moore 4 stars
9/27/02 Kendra Any film critic that gives this movie a bad review is unitelligent, insenstive, no-hearted 4 stars
9/24/02 movie guy AWESOME 5 stars
9/09/02 Danielle Ophelia Yeah, a strong moral stance...obscured by layers of anti-characterization and a soapy plot. 2 stars
7/29/02 kristen i loved this film i was amazing!!! 5 stars
7/29/02 karen mae miclat im so so in love with this movie!!Im hoping to see a movie like this again with both of you 5 stars
7/16/02 Law Mandy Moore proves she has talent not T/A like some wanna be pop stars turned actresses! 4 stars
6/27/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi very very good, shane west is a hottie to remember... 4 stars
6/23/02 Narco Who gives a shit about morals if the movie sucks? 1 stars
6/19/02 Lori I love thhe movie. Shayne and Mandy definitely has achemistry 5 stars
5/16/02 Dan Hensgen Great Film! Something that's not gore and violence and actually has some moral overtone. 5 stars
5/14/02 Blake I haven't seen it but my sister says its good. 4 stars
4/25/02 viv i loved this movie... good morals, good cry & laugh, and all that other good stuff... 5 stars
4/25/02 sethu I like to see this movie 2 stars
4/15/02 Stephen M. Schaefer Decent story competently portrayed. Finally a movie that treats teenagers as thoughtful. 4 stars
4/13/02 Lucinda Twig Without suffering there'd be no compassion? Are we still in the dark ages or what? 1 stars
4/12/02 Natalie Stonecipher Another silly tribute to the notion that Christianity consists entirely of non-fornication. 2 stars
3/31/02 Nikki THE BEST MOVIE EVER! 5 stars
3/12/02 cARa if you liked this movie check out here on earth sweet november and autoum in ny, same plot! 1 stars
3/10/02 Rebecca mandy is a good little girl who doesnt do drugs or have sex... boring as shit 1 stars
2/16/02 Mel Very good movie - mandy proves she can act as well as sing, unlike the other pop singers 5 stars
2/15/02 anonymous you take a girl to this movie your money - plus, it is a kick ass movie 5 stars
2/14/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble I remember walking out of this movie. I thought it stunk big doo doo! 1 stars
2/10/02 Kay Ann loved it..could actually understand it- beautiful 5 stars
2/09/02 Tinkerbell Good conservative values, dumb movie though. 3 stars
2/03/02 hilary the best movie i eva saw awesome 5 stars
2/01/02 Tzila Seewald It's good but when camara shooting was terrible and in middle, went black for few seconds 4 stars
1/31/02 Michael Beck I thought this movie was good for a "Chick Flick".... but then that only goes so far. 3 stars
1/30/02 tammy the most romantic movie ever filmed, based on the best book ever written. 5 stars
1/26/02 Shane West Fan It was a great movie! Its called a walk to remember b/c of the walk down the church! Readit 5 stars
1/26/02 Erin Shearer gave a sence of true love and how happiness can change everything, look to the inside 4 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Carden I Like Mandy Moore As A Singer, but Not As An Actress. 2 stars
1/25/02 joy Definitely for teenage girls. Great message about abstinence/alternatives to sex. I cried! 5 stars
1/25/02 Michele Long "This was the best movie ever! I loved it! You HAVE to go see this baby!" 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jan-2002 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Jun-2002


Directed by
  Adam Shankman

Written by
  Karen Janszen

Cast
  Shane West
  Peter Coyote
  Daryl Hannah
  Mandy Moore
  Clayne Crawford
  Matt Lutz



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast