Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.33

Awesome58.97%
Worth A Look: 23.93%
Just Average: 11.97%
Pretty Crappy: 1.71%
Sucks: 3.42%

7 reviews, 75 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


May
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"You'll laugh 'til you barf, and then barf 'til you laugh."
4 stars

"May" is an astonishingly distasteful movie, yet an altogether enjoyable one, if that's your thing. It is the sort of blood-soaked flick that straddles the line between humor and horror well enough to be a cult classic -- which is a good thing, because heaven knows it will never find mainstream success.

"If you can't find a friend, make one." That's the advice given to misfit girl May (Angela Bettis) by her insanely one-dimensional mother (Merle Kennedy). May has a lazy eye, which forces her to wear an eyepatch as a child, which leads to a poor development of her social skills. Now, all grown up and no longer pirate-like in her appearance, she is sweet and friendly, but offputting to strangers.

She works as a veterinarian's assistant and grows fond of Adam (Jeremy Sisto), a mechanic who works down the street. He's an amateur filmmaker, and when he shows her his cannibal-themed student film, she takes it all too much to heart. This is a girl whose best friend, to this point, is a creepy doll her mom gave her. Separating reality from fiction is not her forte. Soon enough, Adam can't take any more of her strangeness, and dire things happen.

First-time writer/director Lucky McKee stays admirably committed to his giddily weird vision. His storytelling is uncluttered and relatively simple, though he does stray at times into a sort of over-deliberate strangeness where characters utter non-sequiturs just to remind us that yes, this movie is bizarre.

He also builds tension very well. The first shot of the film is of a girl's eye spurting blood, but that's the last glimpse of horror we see for quite some time. There is something evil afoot, though, and the sensation of that permeates everything, even when we're laughing at the morbid humor that abounds.

Angela Bettis is strong enough as an actress to carry the film on her petite shoulders. I also liked Anna Faris as Polly, a sultry, David Lynch-ian lesbian who hits on May at work.

It is quite gross indeed; make no mistake about that. But it's parable-like lessons and quirky sense of style make it a worthy effort, and a stand-out in its genre.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5750&reviewer=247
originally posted: 02/07/02 17:16:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2002 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2002 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

11/10/11 matthew thompson dalldorf One of the best movies I have ever seen! 5 stars
8/19/10 PAUL SHORTT SORDID CHILLER 1 stars
8/17/09 Tony So. incredibly. good. creepiest movie ive seen in a while. 5 stars
3/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess uite possibly 5 stars
2/02/09 Lee "Actually, I kinda liked it, Do me again" 5 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
5/19/08 BJ Love this unique movie. Had to own it. 5 stars
5/18/08 Ambrosia Angela Bettis, te amo!!! Come here! 5 stars
5/10/08 mr.mike Effective , however I thought "Romeo" was better 4 stars
6/20/07 Spook one of the best independent films ever! 5 stars
5/23/07 Ted R Brilliant....twisted.....haunting 5 stars
5/08/07 Andy B who would not like this movie? 5 stars
5/05/07 gen sad and intriguing. the character study on this is really good 5 stars
4/17/07 Kyle_S i just saw this movie, and it was really different...in a good way 5 stars
4/11/07 sara it was funny and tragic and the actors were great 5 stars
3/26/07 fools♫goldÖ Scared if being scared 5 stars
3/17/07 Siren angela bettis is great in this movie! 5 stars
3/06/07 Succubus_Incubus The best movie ever made! Yeah. 5 stars
12/14/06 T. McGregor A quirky, character driven horror movie with a nasty, sad ending. Long live May! 5 stars
11/14/06 Morbidica A great horror story, with a tragic end and lusty twists 5 stars
11/12/06 Dark Enchantress Beautifully grotesque! 5 stars
11/09/06 Jason great director, great plot, totally unique! 5 stars
11/09/06 DarkEnchantress My fav. movie...disturbing...how i love them! 5 stars
10/21/06 AJ Muller Angela Bettis is something special; so is the flick-sad/funny/creepy, an eye-opening winner 5 stars
10/09/06 Pritchett Complete garbage. I question the sanity of those who call it a masterpiece. Please... 1 stars
7/01/06 Jambi Truly one of the stupidest and most pointless movies I've ever seen. A total eye-roller. 1 stars
5/17/06 Cherita Black It is a masterpiece!!!! I've been wainting for something like it forever! It's my favorite. 5 stars
8/16/05 bujene everyone should watch it carefully there are important messages 4 stars
12/04/04 K. Sear A brave attempt but it fell short. Not terrible but could be beter. 3 stars
11/14/04 psycho black dwarf where others settle for Photoshop-doctored pictures, May needs the real thing. 4 stars
11/07/04 jack an unrealistic film with a good ending 3 stars
10/24/04 Me A great film 5 stars
8/27/04 whatevr pygmolean meets frankenstein 4 stars
7/25/04 Find The Keys For a horror flick, this is quite good (I must admit)...for a horror flick (that is). 3 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva odd 3 stars
5/13/04 mark louis baumgart The last third is pretty good, but, man, it takes frigging FOREVER to get there. 3 stars
5/02/04 Me A great film 5 stars
4/25/04 Denise Duspiva Avante Garde 4 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt MAY is A-MAY-ZING! Smart, touching, and wonderfully weird! Bettis & Faris are GREAT! 5 stars
3/29/04 Kristen Ankiewicz Unbelievably great performances 5 stars
3/19/04 true review weird in a cool way, good lead performance, tongue in cheek gore, Amelie if she were insane 4 stars
12/09/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/01/03 malcolm hard for me to recommend but i couldnt turn away.if u liked 'may' see polanski's 'repulsion 3 stars
11/26/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
10/19/03 Jim Sad tale of lonely misfit. Had no idea Anna Faris was that hot, either. 5 stars
10/17/03 Jon An instant cult classic. Not for all tastes, but those who'll love it will REALLY love it! 5 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Disturbing and disgustingly hilarious. McKee...welcome to the genre. 5 stars
10/05/03 sneaker Whoever directed this should go back to shooting commercials. Please. 2 stars
9/30/03 Redpajammas a great film 5 stars
9/22/03 Alice It was not all that to me, expected more 3 stars
9/14/03 Alton Robertson Worth seeing for the ending alone. Superb creepy salted with black comedy. 4 stars
8/31/03 Connie Theil A poignant, touching tale of about the loneliness and madness of a young girl. 5 stars
8/29/03 Albie Great strange erotic scene with Bettis and Faris 4 stars
8/22/03 nr great 5 stars
8/01/03 grimthall the black this movie sucks 2 stars
7/16/03 Mike May is an extremely disturbing movie in all the right ways. A true thriller. A great movie. 5 stars
7/15/03 Kyle Incredible. Damn, I wish I saw this in theaters. Lucky McKee is destined for great things. 5 stars
7/14/03 Ellen Willis Is a perfect film from the unhappy girls than became to found a love finally. 5 stars
6/29/03 Jay didnt like 1 stars
6/28/03 Chicago Wolf The Best Movie of the Year. Bettis is great and Anna Faris is unbelievable. 5 stars
6/09/03 george schmidt A truly creepy/funny horror flick a la "Carrie" and then some 5 stars
6/09/03 Caiphn Angelis Bettis is a great actress. Creepy flick! 4 stars
5/30/03 Jon Leroux Wow. I'm not sure whether I should cry like crazy or scream in absolute horror. 5 stars
2/21/03 Lynz incredibly funny, i couldn't stop giggling, good girl/girl action 3 stars
2/21/03 Darren Shea Creepy, creepy film. Angela Bettis is phenomenal. 5 stars
2/15/03 bob twisted, indeed 5 stars
12/06/02 BAM great 5 stars
11/12/02 Andrew Carden It's Creepy How Perfect This Film Is. Just Plain Old Fun. 5 stars
7/11/02 Chris My new favorite flick 5 stars
7/09/02 cerise A truly unforgettable movie watching experience.you must see it for yourself to appreciate 5 stars
7/01/02 Burn Matthews great movie..fucking awsome..greatest lines ive heard in a while.. 5 stars
5/28/02 neonjazz I like it very much! Creepy yet absolutely enjoyable! 5 stars
5/11/02 Andrew Duncan gREAT! Fun, gruesome and sort of touching. Great Music, too! 5 stars
4/29/02 JBrown Beautifully Twisted!!! 5 stars
4/21/02 Kevin May is a cleverly written, touching story that will fill you with laughs and gasps. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jun-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Lucky McKee

Written by
  Lucky McKee

Cast
  Angela Bettis
  Jeremy Sisto
  Anna Faris
  Merle Kennedy
  Will Estes
  Mike McKee



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast