Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.95

Awesome45.45%
Worth A Look: 32.32%
Just Average: 7.07%
Pretty Crappy: 2.02%
Sucks: 13.13%

4 reviews, 75 user ratings



Super Troopers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Sophomoric, juvenile, silly ... and very, very funny."
4 stars

The comedy troupe Broken Lizard may not be Monty Python, but they’re just as amused by the sight of each other naked, and their delight in the absurd and juvenile is almost as fine-tuned.

“Super Troopers,” written, directed and performed by the five men of Broken Lizard, is an outrageously funny film about Vermont state troopers and their ongoing war with the local police department. There is a plot, and the film admirably resists the urge to be nothing more than a series of sketches, but heaven knows the story’s irrelevant. If you’re going to watch this, you’re going to watch it for the staunchly sophomoric humor and high jinks.

There is never any attempt to be satirical or to provide social commentary; this is a movie where state troopers engage in syrup-chugging contests (”What’s the matter, your mama didn’t teach you how to chug?” one of them taunts another) simply because it’s funny to watch state troopers engage in syrup-chugging contests. Ditto scenes involving whipped cream, a radar gun and a bear costume.

The leader of the pack is Thorny (Jay Chandrasekhar, who also officially directed), a relatively smart man with a go-nowhere subplot about his girlfriend and son. He’s training a rookie, Rabbit (Erik Stolhanske), with Mac (Steve Lemme) and Foster (Paul Soter) serving as the other companionship in a rustic part of the state. The belligerent and crude Farva (Kevin Heffernan) -- think Stifler from “American Pie,” but dumber and meaner -- is stuck working dispatch back at the station, punishment for a previous crime involving a school bus. (You’ll have to stay through the credits to see what happened, but it’s worth it.)

Their commander is John O’Hagan (Brian Cox), who loves his officers like sons and generally tolerates their shenanigans. (”Our shenanigans are cheeky and fun,” one of them explains, adding that someone else’s are “cruel and tragic, which makes them not shenanigans at all.”) They’re all at odds with the local cops, led by Chief Grady (Daniel von Bargen), which frequently leads to pranks and fistfights.

Most of the film’s humor stems from the fact that the troopers are not just childish and irresponsible, but gleefully so. They generally get the job done and arrest the right bad guys, but you’d never guess that was anywhere near one of their priorities.

The comedy is laden with profanity and frequently vulgar, sometimes in a sexual way. These guys are bright and creative, with just the right amount of 13-year-old boy left in them. Let your inner juvenile delinquent out for a while and you’ll find yourself giggling right along with them.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5760&reviewer=247
originally posted: 02/14/02 19:03:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/09/12 Simon a skit collection, but so many quotes and shared laughs with it, that's 5 stars for life 5 stars
1/24/11 Diehard if u don't like this hope u boys like Mexico and ur a loser also give it 2nd look or 30 5 stars
8/11/08 Jon G Only cheeseheads and corn balls will like..Not funny.....Garbahge 1 stars
10/07/07 Indrid Cold The only Broken Lizard movie that doesn't suck; filled with strange, funny moments. 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Apparently the american police are idiots, according to this film. 1 stars
1/03/07 Ronin very funny 4 stars
12/12/06 Frank "Sing it again rookie biatch!" Definatley in my top ten all time. 5 stars
12/10/06 AJ Muller Hilarious; these guys rock. Not for the easily offended/prudish - All Hail The Lizard!! 5 stars
9/02/06 Del "He's already pulled over! He can't pull over anymore!" 4 stars
5/28/06 Johnny Chimpo This sucks all ass 1 stars
9/26/05 Kevin Your cells are 8x10. Ours are 9x9.....no big deal 5 stars
9/21/05 Jordan Awesome 5 stars
8/29/05 Eddie am i saying meow? 5 stars
8/26/05 ES 'Who wants a moustache ride?'= one sickly funny line a comedy does not make 1 stars
6/30/05 A Sense of Humor A great funny movie 5 stars
4/12/05 clatz Fantastic movie, not everyones cup of tea. 4 stars
11/12/04 Tilley Love it. Full of good quotes, and you pick up a few more each time you watch. 5 stars
8/03/04 stefan andersson sickest movie ever 5 stars
4/09/04 james paul davis funny as all hell.I couldnt breath I was laughing so hard 5 stars
2/28/04 mike when it slows down it sloooooows down, but for the most part, a very funny movie. 4 stars
2/26/04 partybabe820 THIS MOVIE ROCKS! one of the funniest movies i've ever seen and definitely my favorite 5 stars
1/11/04 adelleda fizz i loooove this movie!! its seriously one of my favorite movies!!! 5 stars
11/01/03 nenbar HI-larious opening scene 4 stars
9/24/03 ahg im shot qwweer 4 stars
9/12/03 Igor THE FUNNIEST OPENING SCENE I HAVE EVER SEEN. Rest sucks though. still 5 stars for the open 5 stars
9/01/03 Greg Absolutely hilarious, some great great great one liners 5 stars
8/23/03 Shawn A classic comedy!!! Awesome! 5 stars
8/15/03 John Funniest damn movie ever! Great movie for stoners! 5 stars
7/07/03 Alex Should've gone straight to video 1 stars
5/11/03 Jim Amiable nonsense that manages to throw in an actual plot and a few real characters 4 stars
5/06/03 Jody Great movie! very funny 5 stars
4/30/03 Calan This movie is my absolute favorite 5 stars
4/14/03 Jack Bourbon Pants-Pissing Laughs! Gotsta love the final act. 4 stars
3/29/03 Nick Funny as hell. You laugh about it more in retrospect 5 stars
3/25/03 Christina This movie is so retarded, but it's sooo hysterical. I loved it. 5 stars
1/19/03 Jon Novistki Funniest movie, ever! Even after watching it for the 10th time 5 stars
1/06/03 Fish Eye everyone giving this 5 stars is a movie insider - IT SUCKED! 1 stars
1/05/03 Lana This movie is the best! I could watch it over n over again n never get tired of it!! 5 stars
1/02/03 Rache this movie is one of the funniest movies ive ever seeN!! 5 stars
12/27/02 spacecowboy-00x HAHAHAAHHAH GOOD GOD! I've never laughed so much!!! ahahahahah WOOO! Farvo!!!!!! hehehe 5 stars
11/18/02 Nepeta Meow this is a funny movie ! 5 stars
11/18/02 tupac stevens When u watch this movie u dont stop laughing 5 stars
11/10/02 jimmmmmy AMAZING 5 stars
11/06/02 LParker Comedic genius 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 Favra has the funniest part of any movie I've ever seen. Period. Chicken fucker. 5 stars
10/13/02 Jessica Meierotto " I loved this movie so much I watch it like everyday! 5 stars
9/29/02 W.C. The Best Cop Movie Ever!! 5 stars
9/25/02 Morally Sound "Oh shit, I got you good you fucker!" Hahaha. 5 stars
8/18/02 .Choadushouse. Hilarious! Not many movies are better to watch with a gang of friends and a loaded bong! 4 stars
8/14/02 Del He's already pulled over.. he can't pull over anymore! 5 stars
8/12/02 Shayna I thought this movie was funny as hell, but then again Im just your average teenager. 4 stars
8/10/02 Film Guy It was funny. but it wasnt that funny. It wasnt great 3 stars
8/09/02 Jared Smith one of the funniest movies i've ever seen, laughin the whole time 5 stars
8/08/02 Film Dude Funniest first 10 minutes to a movie I've seen in a while. 4 stars
8/06/02 spyguy2 Turned it off after 25 minutes. 1 stars
8/06/02 Kristy Fuckin Hillarious ive seen it like 10 times now 5 stars
8/04/02 KMG (.)(.) 1 stars
7/31/02 cici MY FAVORITE MOvie in the UNIVERSE! 5 stars
4/26/02 daena best comedy, better than jay and silent bob 5 stars
4/25/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Makes DROP DEAD FRED or MEET THE DEEDLES look like CITIZEN KANE! 1 stars
4/24/02 Iris Dementia Preacox Apparently Stephanie van der Kellen ain't the biggest goofball in Vermont after all! 1 stars
4/23/02 Natalie Stonecipher Never a good sign when title rhymes with something more interesting, like POOPER SCOOPERS. 2 stars
4/16/02 Nick Goodner I ate 38 hotdogs throughout the movie 5 stars
4/15/02 Peter Truschinger I've seen it twice and would see it again 5 stars
4/09/02 Kelly i've seen it twice and couldn't stop laughing! 5 stars
3/16/02 Dom Corleone I walked out. 1 stars
3/13/02 Ryan this movie is awomse and u should really go see it 5 stars
3/03/02 Poofter don't even try to compare this to Police Academy. PA is stupid humor 4 stars
2/20/02 War Against Crap Maybe it doesn't insult YOUR intelligence, but as for mine... 2 stars
2/20/02 Amanda Funniest movie I've seen in a long time! 5 stars
2/19/02 siro Funny as fuck....You are a dickhead if you disagree. 5 stars
2/17/02 turd I laughed my balls off. 5 stars
2/17/02 Mark A complete waste of time punctuated with a few laughs and a lot of groans. 1 stars
2/17/02 hey very funny movie. 4 stars
2/16/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny and Lame Monty Python Rip-Off. See Police Academy 6 Instead. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Feb-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  14-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast