Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.81

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look: 20%
Just Average: 22.86%
Pretty Crappy: 18.1%
Sucks24.76%

8 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


40 Days and 40 Nights
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"A raunchy romantic comedy, heavy on the raunchy."
3 stars

For the 40 days of Lent, a young single guy decides to give up sex and everything like unto it. It's a struggle that no one thinks he can win, and indeed, it proves to be enormously difficult.

Can you imagine this movie being made in the 1950s, or even the early '60s? As far as movies in those days were concerned, unmarried 20-somethings didn't have sex, or at least not so often that going without it for 40 days would be such a hardship. And the issue of, um, self-gratification was not broached at all in polite company.

But today's adolescent and post-adolescent audiences -- at whom this film is directly aimed -- can hardly be called "polite company," and philsophizing about how the times they are a-changin' aside, "40 Days and 40 Nights" is an entertaining sex farce. It even manages to express some morally acceptable ideas here and there, amidst the jokes that you can imagine would be included in a movie about a sexually frustrated young man.

It's a bad break-up that causes our hero, Matt (Josh Hartnett), to embark on this journey. Alas, the moment he sets the goal, he meets a woman named Erica (Shannyn Sossamon) whom he really likes, which will make the next 40 days even more difficult than he'd thought.

Protagonists in movies like this always have a best friend or roommate to tag along and make sardonic remarks, and this film has several people filling that role. Ryan (Paulo Costanzo) is the roommate, but Matt also has some co-workers who, with Ryan's help, are monitoring Matt's progress and betting on which day of the 40 he'll finally cave in. What's remarkable is that these "friends" are actually pretty funny, and not just the annoying frat-boy types who fall out of uncreative screenwriters' word processors. Costanzo has some very amusing lines as the extremely unsupportive Ryan, and Glenn Fitzgerald and Michael Maronna steal a few moments as the betting pool coordinator and the bagel delivery guy, respectively.

Josh Hartnett has not done a lot of comedy before, but he shows a natural ability for it. His delivery is consistently deadpan and perplexed, like he has no idea what's happening to him -- a style that is markedly superior to many of his contemporaries, who prefer to overplay everything and bounce around like clowns.

The film, written by first-timer Robert Perez and directed by Michael Lehmann ("The Truth About Cats and Dogs"), hits some wrong notes here and there, notably with Matt's boss (Griffin Dunne), who is frustrated in his own way. There is also trouble in the fact that Erica breaks up with Matt three times in the movie, and in each instance, she is blaming him for something that is either minor or not his fault. If that's how the relationship is starting -- with her pouting and him being a doormat -- then it's doomed for failure. But hey, if the kids are happy, who am I to judge?

It is not as funny as it could have been. Those wrong notes just mentioned are sour ones indeed, and they stand out precisely because the movie around them is generally so clever.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5777&reviewer=247
originally posted: 03/02/02 13:35:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/12/17 morris campbell not bad 3 stars
9/26/10 jennifer kimberly good review 5 stars
7/03/09 art A WONDERFUL DATE-MOVIE! 4 stars
5/08/07 David Pollastrini pretty dull 2 stars
2/23/06 Anthony Feor Skip this one 1 stars
2/06/06 Jeff Anderson Hartnett & Sossamon's great chemistry together save this highly. Great soundtrack, too!!!!! 5 stars
2/14/05 Atanu Unsitthroughable. Now is that a new word... 1 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt Josh Hartnett carries the movie, without his amazing charm, it wouldn't have worked at all. 3 stars
12/23/03 sean Weak plot lines, with a few wisecracks. The skin is one of the only redeeming qualities 3 stars
9/05/03 Nicole Wretched 2 stars
6/09/03 p.Rodriguez oh Shannyn Sossamon ....................mmmmnnnnnnn! 5 stars
4/08/03 JL My IQ dropped a few points after watching this. 1 stars
3/10/03 me GREAT 5 stars
1/14/03 karen dado 5 stars
1/13/03 Vitality1 Not as bad as I expected. Hartnett is charming, but doesn't save the movie. 3 stars
12/29/02 sara I thought the film was a tasteful, teen sex comendy, which had humour and sensitivity 5 stars
11/15/02 Great Flaming Shitballs Josh Hartnett is a no-talent FAGGOT, and this movie gave me cancer! AVOID! :) 1 stars
10/09/02 Soggy Bottom Boy 1 or 2 good moments but overall, really dumb. 1 stars
10/02/02 Me Not U This film sucks hippo balls. The celluloid for this film would make great TP. 1 stars
9/28/02 chouck now why can't all romantic comedies have this much nekkidness? 4 stars
9/11/02 Chancey Thunderpants Hartnett is a no talent twat! This movie eats goat nuts. Stop it with the cum jokes already 1 stars
8/15/02 I Can't Swim No great achievement but not insultingly slow/stupid either. Josh's enjoyment contagious 4 stars
8/09/02 mary hartnett josh is the best actor and the movie was great 5 stars
8/04/02 mrs. hartnett it is raunchy but any movie that has the great acting of josh hartnett is good 4 stars
7/28/02 Jon And I'd nearly forgiven josh hartnett after pearl harbour... 1 stars
5/18/02 Mrs. McGregor whats everyone's problem, this was great!!!! 5 stars
5/14/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid What's it matter what he gives up for lent when he's stuck in a world of narcisistic jerks? 2 stars
5/13/02 Ashley Corpening Poor Vinessa Shaw-another promising actress made to wallow in her poop by braindead casters 2 stars
4/24/02 amanda it rocked very funni 5 stars
4/24/02 Red Shadow Quit complaining its cool, what i really want to know is where is the damn soundtrack is 5 stars
4/19/02 Sarah Josh Hartnett is a babe 5 stars
4/18/02 .... It aint good!! 1 stars
4/17/02 bryan its great dumbass 5 stars
4/16/02 SOLOBADOM MALOSIVIC TITS 5 stars
3/31/02 Nikki Seriously dissappointing...especially since Josh is cute. 3 stars
3/30/02 Film Guy 94 minutes of my life i want back 2 stars
3/30/02 Film Dude A hit or miss film that missed. Badly. 1 stars
3/30/02 Michael Bartz This movies title was a prediction until how long it will take to come out on video.sx ass 1 stars
3/28/02 Nicole The ONLY redeeming quality of this movie was the pretty faces.....quite smutty. 2 stars
3/13/02 Candice Josh is hot, but other than that......... 2 stars
3/09/02 Rachem Good, light-hearted fun! 4 stars
3/07/02 AK47 Leave it to women to scorn their admirers and try to bang a celibate 1 stars
3/07/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress When will Hollywood learn pretty faces DO NOT equal talent? Please Stop. *vomits* 1 stars
3/04/02 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Fun, inoffensive movie for those w/o a bug up their colon 4 stars
3/04/02 Kim what a shock: there's more to r'ships other than sex. 1 stars
3/04/02 poetchuck likeable characters, funny lines, enjoyable movie 4 stars
3/04/02 Todd Not all that bad 3 stars
3/03/02 Jesus Christ I condemn this movie. 1 stars
3/03/02 J.C. Lain Hartnett & Costanzo are natural comedians. Fairly witty and creative, with lots of charm 5 stars
3/02/02 Rebecca Barnes Josh shows what a well-rounded actor he really is--and looks damn good in the process!! 4 stars
3/02/02 Overkiller Would have been funny if the movie were only a third as long as it was. As it is, it SUCKS. 1 stars
3/01/02 Andrew Carden Teen-Sex Farce Has Minimal Laughs but Comes Off Quite Amusing. 4 stars
3/01/02 RKM Crappy non-sex romp without style, wit or people who can act 1 stars
3/01/02 Jake Monkey boy is back stinking up theaters. 1 stars
2/28/02 Anthony Lopez This is very funny stuff! 5 stars
2/28/02 Veronica Foxx This did not make me happy, and the only place it will lead is my foot in his groin!!! 1 stars
2/27/02 Goldhammer Disgustingly lame sacreligious garbage. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Mar-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast