Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome51.3%
Worth A Look: 26.62%
Just Average: 16.23%
Pretty Crappy: 1.3%
Sucks: 4.55%

7 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ice Age
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Three Animals And A Baby"
4 stars

With virtually every movie studio stepping up to try and snag a piece of the animation dollar pie, does anyone worry when the imagination will start to run dry, the pixels become stale and the big-screen “cartoons” start to become as pedestrian as every other big-budget Hollywood effort being offered these days? I think about that from time to time and the Mouse Factory itself has given cause for concern with the lackluster “Atlantis: The Lost Empire” and the technically superior but dramatically flat, “Dinosaur.” But just because the title of Fox’s latest foray suggests a step back and its familiar story doesn’t break new ground, there’s no reason to dismiss Ice Age, an enormously fun film for all ages.

Fox had some minor success with its holiday Anastasia in 1997 and all but dissolved their animation department after 2000’s disastrous Titan A.E. Both of those films were in the more traditional style employed by Walt Disney and perhaps in an attempt to get out of the ice age, this time we’re seeing a leap into the growing populace of CGI animation.

Stop me if you’ve heard this one before. The impending Ice Age is thrust upon all the creatures of the land. As they migrate towards the South like birds of a feather, a lone woolly mammoth named Manfred (voice by Ray Romano) heads in the opposite direction. Does he know something they don’t? Is he just stupid? Or does he have some reason for one-timing it into the frozen tundra? Along the way he meets up with motormouth, Sid the Sloth (John Leguizamo), whose brethren have once again left without him.

Nearby, a pack of sabretooth tigers are seeking revenge on the humans who have targeted them for their hunting. In the attack, the hunter’s baby becomes the prime target and in the mother’s escape to protect her loved one, the child is placed in the reluctant care of Sid and Manfred. So we’ve got a big guy with a buried heart of gold, a wisecracking and much smaller sidekick, a cute baby and a mission over a vast landscape. Anything ring a bell? Shrek? Monsters, Inc.? Dinosaur?

The wild card in the mix is the addition of Diego (Denis Leary), a sabretooth with ulterior motives who offers to guide this “herd” to safety. The early antics of these guys becomes worthy of The Three Stooges before some more creative use of the painted frames, such as an ice aquarium and an ice slide, catches our eyes. The animation doesn’t quite reach the detail of Pixar (Manfred’s individual hairs aren’t nearly as detailed as Sulley’s blue pelt in Monsters, Inc.) but its still far superior to your average Saturday morning cartoon or Rugrats excursion.

The voicework of the three leads is quite remarkable as well. Ray Romano’s mannerisms are a perfect fit for the down-trodden mammoth and Denis Leary always suggests something more than simply a quiet menace. Sid the Sloth ends up missing more than hitting his delivered punchlines, every now and then getting on my nerves, but to his credit, I didn’t even know it was Leguizamo providing the voice until the end credits.

While a group of dodo birds provide the film's single funniest scene, perhaps the most entertaining character of the whole piece though doesn’t have the benefit of dialogue and no, its not the Boo-like infant. He’s referred to as Scrat (at least in the press materials), a combination of squirrel and rat that has delighted audiences as the hapless hero of the film’s trailers, desperately trying to save his nut from avalanches and collapsing glaciers. In the film, he shows up periodically like a silent Greek Chorus with no thought to comment on the proceedings and no place in the actual story, but to simply show up in another chapter of his own adventure, good for a laugh every single time.

Call this story Three Stooge Animals and a Baby and you have all the description you need. It’s a simple story with no time to use the actual Ice Age as anything but a setting, but for a kids flick, one setting is as good as another. It’s the content that will hold the adults interest and it won’t dumb down you or the kids the way a Snow Dogs or See Spot Run will. Quality family films are in short supply outside of the summer and winter seasons. As Spring slowly kicks into gear, here is a thoroughly entertaining film that will, at least, thaw out the draught we’ve been having so far this year.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5798&reviewer=198
originally posted: 03/14/02 20:17:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/14 Jarvis Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
11/14/14 Fredric Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 3 stars
11/13/14 Porfirio What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/13/14 Lindsay What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 5 stars
11/12/14 Hannah What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/10/14 Pierre Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 2 stars
10/23/14 Jose I'd like to open a business account <a href=" ">bimatoprost online reviews</a> In the pas 4 stars
4/14/13 Homo habilis I would rather be gored by a woolly rhinoceros than watch this movie again 2 stars
12/23/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad. But Shrek and Monsters Inc were better. 3 stars
5/02/09 Dane Youssef Ice Age melts you heart. Dreamworks' "Ice Age" brings more magic than Disney has in ages. 4 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. a really good animated film and there are cmnts of a major perv under this. :D 4 stars
8/22/08 Little Buddy Released after Titan A.E and Anastasia. 5 stars
7/23/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT CRACKLES WITH SLICK, EYE-CATCHING ANIMATION AND OFF-THE-WALL-HUMOUR 3 stars
2/17/08 Pamela White just like Jungle Book in the snow 4 stars
10/18/07 mb Not Lasting 3 stars
10/14/07 MP Bartley Better than the overrated Shrek and Finding Nemo 5 stars
5/23/07 caity IT WAS GREAT!!!! 5 stars
2/02/07 David Pollastrini great animation 4 stars
1/25/07 JR The whole fam watched with glee...and a few tears as well. Great! 5 stars
11/12/06 cody one better pixar disney movies that even good for older kids to watch. 4 stars
11/03/06 becky this one was not even close to great. it was average at best 3 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven One best kids' movies out there...loved the characters and plot 5 stars
6/05/06 Wipef Funny and touching 5 stars
4/09/06 chris f totally rocks great movie!!! 5 stars
12/13/05 cartoon mania i LOVE Sid, he is some character 5 stars
11/25/05 Kimberly wang It is the best movie i ever saw! 5 stars
11/16/05 Steven Brady Piece of Garbage 1 stars
10/11/05 Tom Burns a good kids movie. adults can enjoy it too. 5 stars
8/21/05 kerry smith best movie ever 5 stars
8/10/05 ES meh 3 stars
7/30/05 rdb I loved it, it rocks, ice age rules!!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 Luke BlackAdder This is the worstest film ever made 1 stars
7/04/05 Mark Radburn Prehistoric mammals Suck. Thumbs way Down! 1 stars
5/04/05 Quigley the football spoof was totally funny, but the one who steals the show is the dinky squirrel 5 stars
3/31/05 Carolyn Cherry I liked It 4 stars
3/25/05 hannaho Fun, but still no match for any Pixar film. 4 stars
3/25/05 Denise Very funny! 5 stars
3/23/05 me It ain't bad, but I found it somewhat empty 3 stars
3/15/05 Chris Stephens Great Movie lots of fun 4 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
3/11/05 STEPHANIE BERMEA THIS FILM IS CUTE AND FUNNY. 4 stars
3/03/05 Littlepurch Perhaps not as good as the Pixar ones but stil great and my 9-year-old cousin jus loves it" 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Hilarious, great addition for a child or adults DVD librabry. 4 stars
1/21/05 veronica Cruz i think is a really good movie. it,s one of my favorites. i love it! 5 stars
1/08/05 Luke Blackadder Ice Age is Gay and it sucks 1 stars
11/30/04 bob Great movie, loved it, classic 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark Ice Age is the Worst Movie ever, Prehistoric Mammals suck 1 stars
10/23/04 mike kinnish very good film for kids and adults 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise cute 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Good, but not very original. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Funny the first time...boring after a while 4 stars
3/25/04 bikehorn I have animated films. But I love this one. I even cried, worth a look 5 stars
2/17/04 Adrian Swift Fantastic! But wheres the Talking Sid the Sloth plushy? 5 stars
1/26/04 Katie Malone Great film, animation could've been better . . . 4 stars
12/10/03 Tdeee the best 5 stars
8/18/03 I Would Once again, as they did in Antz, Dreamworks demonstrate their inferiority to Disney/Pixar. 3 stars
6/15/03 monkey slayer not the most original one on the block, but makes up for it in humor and style. excellent. 5 stars
6/09/03 Goofy Maxwell Not a glacial shift in CGI, but when parched, even the clink of ice-cubes is refreshing. 4 stars
5/22/03 Mr. Do Breathtaking animations, superb expressions on the faces.. I love this one. 5 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Hilarious homage to Looney Tunes. 5 stars
3/23/03 Jenny This is a movie that no one can beat 5 stars
3/02/03 Francy This movie gives freshness to old cartoon clichés with new interesting ideas. 5 stars
2/06/03 Turtle It reminded me a lot of Shrek and Monsters Inc., but only better. 5 stars
1/06/03 Maggie The squirrel was absolutely spectaculat :D 5 stars
1/05/03 Charles Tatum Funnier than "Shrek," love David Newman's score 5 stars
1/04/03 Punk_Ass The characters were funny, predicatible story but wtf, i was entertained. Scrat Rocks! 4 stars
12/25/02 Chad Wonderful-- Sid is God 5 stars
12/11/02 Josh Makes you appreciate the hard work of Disney and Pixar 3 stars
12/09/02 Keith Good graphics, but boring and predictable. 3 stars
11/22/02 Jon Gotta love that squirrel... 4 stars
10/28/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng A combination of Shrek and Monsters Inc. It's worth a watch. Ray Romano you rock! 4 stars
9/02/02 palaboy101 its in the same league as "Toy Story", "Shrek", and "Monsters Inc." 5 stars
8/08/02 ! Entertaining stuff! 5 stars
7/04/02 TEUN:) Very GOOODDDDD 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris If this dones't seem all that fresh, know it was made before Shrek or Monsters Inc. 5 stars
5/29/02 Keith Comeford A fun movie, but feels awful derivative of Disney and Pixar stuff. 3 stars
4/29/02 ReD_OrB SCRAT IS THE SUPREME RULER OF THE WORLD i'm gona buy an acorn see ya 5 stars
4/24/02 AgentDS I just looooooove that squirrel 4 stars
4/24/02 Rachel B. Kickass film...especially Sid..."Uncle Fungis?" 5 stars
4/20/02 Katrin Mechler und Matthias Füchtenkordsjürgen The best we have seen !!! Laugh laugh and laugh ..... laughpain when you see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 john deven this movie is the shit!!! must see this film 5 stars
4/18/02 Richard vause I am a retard 5 stars
4/17/02 Steve Brown Average - lots of animation cock-ups 3 stars
4/17/02 Hannah Ritz SCRAT RULES 5 stars
4/17/02 ESta GREAT! I love it! Very funny at all! 4 stars
4/16/02 reinhard Lambacher Very good, lovley 1 stars
4/15/02 kelvin torres this movie is even better than shrek 5 stars
4/14/02 Emele Darkstar This movie was friggin' cool...even for a kid's movie. Denis Leary is great. Go Diego! 5 stars
4/14/02 sevasti giannaki i never stoped laughing! I also cryed once 5 stars
4/12/02 Thor-Leo Didn't laugh once 3 stars
4/12/02 Lyndsi I loved this movie. It was brilliantly advertised too. 5 stars
4/10/02 Jimmy This is truly a film for all ages. I loved it! Now where in the hell are the film's action 4 stars
4/10/02 Sputnik I laughed harder than all the little kids in the theater put together! 5 stars
4/09/02 Ilia B. Best CG Cartoon Ever! 5 stars
4/03/02 Spanky Beginning and the end are the only funny parts. I hope you like animal falling down jokes. 1 stars
4/03/02 lauren mccreight it's no Shrek....buts its good. 4 stars
4/01/02 spaceworm Yet another CGI animated film better than the over rated SHREK. 5 stars
3/25/02 Michael Grimm don't understand the average reviews, I'm 28 and I laughed ALOT!!! 5 stars
3/21/02 orpy Not bad, great for kids 4 stars
3/20/02 Nightwing Better then Fianl Fuckingpee 5 stars
3/18/02 James It lacked some of the humor that I've come to expect from other cgi movies. 3 stars
3/17/02 Julian LOL, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
3/16/02 Rampage much better than Antz 5 stars
3/15/02 J I dunno OK, I'm in agreement with 95% of the raters here. 5 stars
3/15/02 Overkiller Fucking Awesome? It's only Friday morning! Just how many people were at YOUR sneak preview? 3 stars
3/14/02 TimmyTomorrow Best movie this year!!! 5 stars
3/13/02 kathesmith Best cartoon I seen this year! Layouts are incredible! 5 stars
3/13/02 linda higham all your thumbs up & then some 5 stars
3/13/02 Mike Kaz awesome!! very funny, and a VERY differnt look. 5 stars
3/13/02 skafunkrastapunk a great film. it has heart. you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
3/11/02 Jesus Christ The world is only 4000 years old, this could not have happened. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-2002 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast