Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome51.3%
Worth A Look: 26.62%
Just Average: 16.23%
Pretty Crappy: 1.3%
Sucks: 4.55%

7 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ice Age
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Not Pixar level, by any means, but on its way there."
4 stars

Ice Age is a mild, well-intentioned movie. You want to like it simply because it obviously is trying so hard to be liked. It doesnt have all the necessary tools to be up there with its computer-animated brethren Toy Story or Shrek, but if earnestness were a category, it would win an Oscar.

It is pretty entertaining, too, with occasional bursts of outright hilarity but mostly just a general sense of amusement. It is set at the dawn of a new ice age, with all the mammals migrating to warmer climes. A sullen mammoth named Manfred (voice of Ray Romano) meets a dunderheaded sloth named Sid (John Leguizamo, who apparently went to the Adam Sandler school of speech impediments), who insists on being his travel partner. The two of them find a human baby that has been separated from its tribe and reluctantly set out to find its parents.

The saber-toothed tigers, however, want the baby for their own purposes: revenge. The humans have killed most of the tigers, and its an eye for an eye in these primitive times. Diego (Denis Leary) the tiger embarks on the journey with Manfred and Sid, ostensibly helping them find the humans but really leading them toward his own band of hungry saber-tooths.

Theres a marvelous sequence in which the principal characters all shoot down an ice slide, showing the wonders of computer animation. Theres also a funny bit about the dodos, who are a doomsday cult.

I wonder if the film is fast-paced or visual enough to capture the attention of young children, but perhaps its been too long since I was a kid to remember what interested me. There is humor and good will to spare, and thats enough to make it a worthwhile endeavor.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5798&reviewer=247
originally posted: 03/21/02 16:18:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/14 Jarvis Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
11/14/14 Fredric Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 3 stars
11/13/14 Porfirio What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/13/14 Lindsay What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 5 stars
11/12/14 Hannah What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/10/14 Pierre Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 2 stars
10/23/14 Jose I'd like to open a business account <a href=" ">bimatoprost online reviews</a> In the pas 4 stars
4/14/13 Homo habilis I would rather be gored by a woolly rhinoceros than watch this movie again 2 stars
12/23/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad. But Shrek and Monsters Inc were better. 3 stars
5/02/09 Dane Youssef Ice Age melts you heart. Dreamworks' "Ice Age" brings more magic than Disney has in ages. 4 stars
1/12/09 Anonymous. a really good animated film and there are cmnts of a major perv under this. :D 4 stars
8/22/08 Little Buddy Released after Titan A.E and Anastasia. 5 stars
7/23/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT CRACKLES WITH SLICK, EYE-CATCHING ANIMATION AND OFF-THE-WALL-HUMOUR 3 stars
2/17/08 Pamela White just like Jungle Book in the snow 4 stars
10/18/07 mb Not Lasting 3 stars
10/14/07 MP Bartley Better than the overrated Shrek and Finding Nemo 5 stars
5/23/07 caity IT WAS GREAT!!!! 5 stars
2/02/07 David Pollastrini great animation 4 stars
1/25/07 JR The whole fam watched with glee...and a few tears as well. Great! 5 stars
11/12/06 cody one better pixar disney movies that even good for older kids to watch. 4 stars
11/03/06 becky this one was not even close to great. it was average at best 3 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven One best kids' movies out there...loved the characters and plot 5 stars
6/05/06 Wipef Funny and touching 5 stars
4/09/06 chris f totally rocks great movie!!! 5 stars
12/13/05 cartoon mania i LOVE Sid, he is some character 5 stars
11/25/05 Kimberly wang It is the best movie i ever saw! 5 stars
11/16/05 Steven Brady Piece of Garbage 1 stars
10/11/05 Tom Burns a good kids movie. adults can enjoy it too. 5 stars
8/21/05 kerry smith best movie ever 5 stars
8/10/05 ES meh 3 stars
7/30/05 rdb I loved it, it rocks, ice age rules!!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 Luke BlackAdder This is the worstest film ever made 1 stars
7/04/05 Mark Radburn Prehistoric mammals Suck. Thumbs way Down! 1 stars
5/04/05 Quigley the football spoof was totally funny, but the one who steals the show is the dinky squirrel 5 stars
3/31/05 Carolyn Cherry I liked It 4 stars
3/25/05 hannaho Fun, but still no match for any Pixar film. 4 stars
3/25/05 Denise Very funny! 5 stars
3/23/05 me It ain't bad, but I found it somewhat empty 3 stars
3/15/05 Chris Stephens Great Movie lots of fun 4 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
3/11/05 STEPHANIE BERMEA THIS FILM IS CUTE AND FUNNY. 4 stars
3/03/05 Littlepurch Perhaps not as good as the Pixar ones but stil great and my 9-year-old cousin jus loves it" 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Hilarious, great addition for a child or adults DVD librabry. 4 stars
1/21/05 veronica Cruz i think is a really good movie. it,s one of my favorites. i love it! 5 stars
1/08/05 Luke Blackadder Ice Age is Gay and it sucks 1 stars
11/30/04 bob Great movie, loved it, classic 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark Ice Age is the Worst Movie ever, Prehistoric Mammals suck 1 stars
10/23/04 mike kinnish very good film for kids and adults 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise cute 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Good, but not very original. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Funny the first time...boring after a while 4 stars
3/25/04 bikehorn I have animated films. But I love this one. I even cried, worth a look 5 stars
2/17/04 Adrian Swift Fantastic! But wheres the Talking Sid the Sloth plushy? 5 stars
1/26/04 Katie Malone Great film, animation could've been better . . . 4 stars
12/10/03 Tdeee the best 5 stars
8/18/03 I Would Once again, as they did in Antz, Dreamworks demonstrate their inferiority to Disney/Pixar. 3 stars
6/15/03 monkey slayer not the most original one on the block, but makes up for it in humor and style. excellent. 5 stars
6/09/03 Goofy Maxwell Not a glacial shift in CGI, but when parched, even the clink of ice-cubes is refreshing. 4 stars
5/22/03 Mr. Do Breathtaking animations, superb expressions on the faces.. I love this one. 5 stars
4/16/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Hilarious homage to Looney Tunes. 5 stars
3/23/03 Jenny This is a movie that no one can beat 5 stars
3/02/03 Francy This movie gives freshness to old cartoon clichs with new interesting ideas. 5 stars
2/06/03 Turtle It reminded me a lot of Shrek and Monsters Inc., but only better. 5 stars
1/06/03 Maggie The squirrel was absolutely spectaculat :D 5 stars
1/05/03 Charles Tatum Funnier than "Shrek," love David Newman's score 5 stars
1/04/03 Punk_Ass The characters were funny, predicatible story but wtf, i was entertained. Scrat Rocks! 4 stars
12/25/02 Chad Wonderful-- Sid is God 5 stars
12/11/02 Josh Makes you appreciate the hard work of Disney and Pixar 3 stars
12/09/02 Keith Good graphics, but boring and predictable. 3 stars
11/22/02 Jon Gotta love that squirrel... 4 stars
10/28/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng A combination of Shrek and Monsters Inc. It's worth a watch. Ray Romano you rock! 4 stars
9/02/02 palaboy101 its in the same league as "Toy Story", "Shrek", and "Monsters Inc." 5 stars
8/08/02 ! Entertaining stuff! 5 stars
7/04/02 TEUN:) Very GOOODDDDD 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris If this dones't seem all that fresh, know it was made before Shrek or Monsters Inc. 5 stars
5/29/02 Keith Comeford A fun movie, but feels awful derivative of Disney and Pixar stuff. 3 stars
4/29/02 ReD_OrB SCRAT IS THE SUPREME RULER OF THE WORLD i'm gona buy an acorn see ya 5 stars
4/24/02 AgentDS I just looooooove that squirrel 4 stars
4/24/02 Rachel B. Kickass film...especially Sid..."Uncle Fungis?" 5 stars
4/20/02 Katrin Mechler und Matthias Fchtenkordsjrgen The best we have seen !!! Laugh laugh and laugh ..... laughpain when you see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 john deven this movie is the shit!!! must see this film 5 stars
4/18/02 Richard vause I am a retard 5 stars
4/17/02 Steve Brown Average - lots of animation cock-ups 3 stars
4/17/02 Hannah Ritz SCRAT RULES 5 stars
4/17/02 ESta GREAT! I love it! Very funny at all! 4 stars
4/16/02 reinhard Lambacher Very good, lovley 1 stars
4/15/02 kelvin torres this movie is even better than shrek 5 stars
4/14/02 Emele Darkstar This movie was friggin' cool...even for a kid's movie. Denis Leary is great. Go Diego! 5 stars
4/14/02 sevasti giannaki i never stoped laughing! I also cryed once 5 stars
4/12/02 Thor-Leo Didn't laugh once 3 stars
4/12/02 Lyndsi I loved this movie. It was brilliantly advertised too. 5 stars
4/10/02 Jimmy This is truly a film for all ages. I loved it! Now where in the hell are the film's action 4 stars
4/10/02 Sputnik I laughed harder than all the little kids in the theater put together! 5 stars
4/09/02 Ilia B. Best CG Cartoon Ever! 5 stars
4/03/02 Spanky Beginning and the end are the only funny parts. I hope you like animal falling down jokes. 1 stars
4/03/02 lauren mccreight it's no Shrek....buts its good. 4 stars
4/01/02 spaceworm Yet another CGI animated film better than the over rated SHREK. 5 stars
3/25/02 Michael Grimm don't understand the average reviews, I'm 28 and I laughed ALOT!!! 5 stars
3/21/02 orpy Not bad, great for kids 4 stars
3/20/02 Nightwing Better then Fianl Fuckingpee 5 stars
3/18/02 James It lacked some of the humor that I've come to expect from other cgi movies. 3 stars
3/17/02 Julian LOL, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
3/16/02 Rampage much better than Antz 5 stars
3/15/02 J I dunno OK, I'm in agreement with 95% of the raters here. 5 stars
3/15/02 Overkiller Fucking Awesome? It's only Friday morning! Just how many people were at YOUR sneak preview? 3 stars
3/14/02 TimmyTomorrow Best movie this year!!! 5 stars
3/13/02 kathesmith Best cartoon I seen this year! Layouts are incredible! 5 stars
3/13/02 linda higham all your thumbs up & then some 5 stars
3/13/02 Mike Kaz awesome!! very funny, and a VERY differnt look. 5 stars
3/13/02 skafunkrastapunk a great film. it has heart. you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
3/11/02 Jesus Christ The world is only 4000 years old, this could not have happened. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-2002 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast