Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.95

Awesome: 7.32%
Worth A Look: 9.76%
Just Average: 14.63%
Pretty Crappy: 7.32%
Sucks60.98%

1 review, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Spy Hard
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"One of the last gasps of a dying genre."
1 stars

Horribly, unbelivably bad.

Have you ever seen a movie that made you violently ill?

Would you like to?

I mean, that sort of thing isn't exactly my cup of tea, but if you're looking for a movie that will very likely cause you to toss you cookies on an unsuspecting person (or screen, if you're alone), then have I got a film for you.

Unsuspecting moviegoer, meet Spy Hard, a vile spoof/parody film that isn't even remotely funny.

Leslie Nielsen plays Dick Steele (get it? It's a dick joke!), otherwise known as Agent WD-40 (get it? It's not 007, it's a lubricant!). Andy Griffith is the bad guy (get it? Andy Griffith is wholesome! It's casting against type!). Nicollette Sheridan is the babe, Veronique Ukrinsky, otherwise known as Agent 3.14 (get it? Pi? Pie? It's a vaginal joke!)

And so on and so forth. It's tiresome and horribly unfunny, loaded with cameos that are more head scratching than amusing (Fabio? Hulk Hogan? "Weird Al" Yankovic?).

Lame jokes, crappy acting, and a plot that is beyond dumb.

If you have any decency at all, you'll promise me that you'll never watch this film.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=582&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/04/98 10:03:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/04/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, FEEBLE AND SLOPPY 1 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef I chuckled a bit, but this is one gargantuan red flag that the genre is dead and buried. 2 stars
7/26/08 The Dork Knight crap crap crap crap crap crap crap crap 1 stars
7/05/08 dan halberg Nearly as bad as "Mafia!" 1 stars
1/21/08 Sorcie Great movie for the Bond 007 fan, Typical Neilson humor..very funny 4 stars
12/05/07 Erik Davis this is a great movie, lol.. idk why yall dont find it funny must not have a sense of humor 5 stars
2/12/07 johnnyfog BAD in every concievable way. Truly pathetic 1 stars
9/10/06 Sepi53 it had its moments, better than I expected 4 stars
7/27/06 mata it is so funny i even would like if some one gave me that movie 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer Weird Al's theme and the "Home Alone" sequence make this a winner! 5 stars
8/30/04 jmsynth Lame, but with a couple of solid laughs and many smiles 3 stars
5/13/04 John this is NOT "The Naked Gun" 1 stars
1/18/04 Bemused Often I will kick Leslie Neilson's ass and make Priscilla hold my jacket 1 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Title was okay, but the rest sucked. 1 stars
1/01/02 Andrew Carden The Naked Gun Was Good...but This Is An Unfunny Rip-Off. 1 stars
11/28/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Just call it The Naked Gun 444 3 stars
10/18/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) I like Leslie Nielsen, I like Weird Al Yankovic, and I like the James Bond flicks. 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Not very original, some good stuff, funny theme, but HORRIBLE ending! 2 stars
5/27/01 R.W. Welch Some funny bits, but the spy spoof gambit has simply been played out. 2 stars
4/28/01 GYL The only enjoyble scene was seeing Veronique Ukrinsky kick a thug in the balls 3 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh How many of these terrible Naked Gun rip-offs with Leslie Neilsen can be made? 1 stars
10/05/00 M.Morgan not up to NAKED GUN standards, but good 4 stars
4/06/00 Gremlin It's a spoof on spy movies, how could they do this badly, should have let me make it. 1 stars
11/23/99 The Bomb 69 hit and miss comedy, mostly miss 3 stars
10/28/99 Lame-Oh Weird Al?! Excuse me while I jump off a building and die a painful death! 1 stars
2/15/99 Uncle Roy The spoof film is dead. Get over it. 1 stars
1/24/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) Veeerrry boring. 1 stars
1/02/99 Dasha Very dumb, but still I had a few laughs. 3 stars
12/14/98 Scion of Graveheart Spy Hard?! You mean Try Hard, you idiots! Shitty spoof movie ever! 1 stars
9/22/98 Jason Rosenbaum Worst Spoof Movie Ever 1 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep They Called It SPY HARD, next time they should actually TRY HARD. 1 stars
9/09/98 MikeF This movie had three hard laughs. and 4 almost laughs. not too great. 3 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) I still haven't forgiven my mother for wanting to go see this. 1 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Sensationally awful. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Bad bad bad. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-1996 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast