Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.79

Awesome: 7.06%
Worth A Look: 23.53%
Just Average28.24%
Pretty Crappy: 23.53%
Sucks: 17.65%

5 reviews, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Scorpion King, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Dust For Eyes

"Has some sting in its tail"
4 stars

With plenty of bravado, bad hair and stern looks to make up for the lack of brain cells, The Rock rocks the screen in this The Mummy spin off. It's action, action, skimpy girls and then some more action, as this popcorn shaker of a film plays to its strengths.

Set in some sort of mish-mash part-historical part-just-plain-made-up setting in the past (kinda like Hercules and Xena except in Africa), The Rock plays Mathayas, an Arcadian and one of the last of his people. He and his cohorts are guns-for-hire (well, swords-spears-sling-shots-fire-fists-and-what-ever-else-is-handy-for-hire) and are employed by a group of tribes who aren't up for the job in fighting the forces of the evil Memnon (Brand). Memnon has a tactical advantage in the form of The Sorceress, Cassandra (Hu) who can predict the future. It's up to The Rock to save the day and kick ass on the way.

You wouldn't normally expect to be impressed by something that is a spin off of a movie franchise that stars a WWF wrestler. Those sorts of bloodlines would normally have you screaming for the hills. Yet thanks to Chuck Russell's frenetic directing it all manages to work remarkably well.

The Rock isn't all that bad actually - for what he has to do anyway. His acting ability must have been honed in all that playacting going on in WWF. There is a notable absence of audience cringing anytime he opens his mouth as his dialogue is spoken well enough.

But you don't watch this film to watch The Rock open his mouth; you watch it to see him close his fist. Preferably whilst it's moving at a rapid rate at someone's head - and plenty of it you see.

This movie plays to its strengths and exploits them triumphantly. The pace makes lighting look lethargic and it all looks suitable over the top. This is no studied grand historical epic a la Gladiator. It's a boy's own romp that thumps and barges its way along rather nicely.

While The Rock is a measure of weights, dieting and steroids and Hu looking thankfully non-anorexic, it all falls down when we see Duncan with his shirt off. When he displays his ample waistline it's not a pretty sight I tell you.

It all works well as Russell plays to the winning cards he has in his hand. The Scorpion King is great fun and will entertain for its allotted time.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5833&reviewer=166
originally posted: 04/18/02 20:56:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/19/12 Sheryl Granholm A perfect example of how to overburden what could be a decent film with unnecessary CGI. 1 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles Actually good 4 stars
12/25/09 Jeff Wilder Perfect example of the words "big budget nothing". 2 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!!! 5 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White watch just to see the Rock's muscles 3 stars
8/01/06 dan watever you do keep away from this film. 1 stars
7/21/06 Business Hello! 1 stars
7/21/06 Dating Hello! 3 stars
8/18/05 ES and you thought the mummy and conan the destroyer were bad 2 stars
6/09/05 Amber Morton I hate this movie, it is really stupid i hate it i hate it i hate it dont ever watch it. 1 stars
4/12/05 Quigley a crap-fest from a bored director with the Rock as moronic and lame as ever. bull-crap! 1 stars
10/02/04 R.W. Welch Passable action fantasy: The Rock is convincing enough. Leave your brain at home. 3 stars
8/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Predictable and bland 2 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G fuck this movie 1 stars
2/24/04 Keith Fun, entertaining, and good eye candy 4 stars
12/10/03 john could have been even worse but it's bad enough - pass! 2 stars
9/20/03 CAT BLUES i hated it! it fuckin sucked it also scared me...but thats not the point! 1 stars
6/02/03 Sorceress I found it to be entertaining, and the Rock looked really good to me... ;) 5 stars
5/01/03 JL Pretty cool actually, entertaining enough. 4 stars
4/18/03 Ubu the Ripper Much more enjoyable than the other two "Mummy" movies. Worth a sequel. 4 stars
10/19/02 Vinay K What the heck. My kid liked it and wants a sword now. I, surprisingly sat thru. the movie. 4 stars
10/19/02 tj cool 5 stars
10/09/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Childish and predictable, but still worth a look. Don't forget to switch off your brain! 4 stars
10/05/02 Butterbean The Rock looks yummy here. Theres good action, but the story is a bore. 3 stars
10/01/02 John McNew A twinkie of a movie 4 stars
9/23/02 syrius bad script, bad ending fight scene, hot girl, awesome action, balances out 3 stars
7/19/02 Cat an entertaining film should have been developed further a bit corny but funny 4 stars
7/18/02 stryper rocks sanitized sword & sandal - - lots of slayings with no blood & gore 3 stars
7/11/02 Sheila Evans Generic sword&sorcery from days of yore - nothing less, nothing more. 3 stars
6/18/02 Oscar Though not an award winner, its awesomely entertaining 5 stars
6/11/02 Eloise gives u that Xena, Hercules feeling and has silly lines, 'i've come for the woman', etc. 3 stars
5/30/02 JesseL A movie designed for boys between the ages of 8 and 16, and they loved it. 4 stars
5/12/02 J Once again I'm in agreement with D.F.E on a film. 4 stars
5/10/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Not only is The Scorpion King not worth admission, you should get $8.50 to sit through it. 1 stars
5/10/02 malcolm non-white actors in all major roles -- cool. about what i expected. 3 stars
5/09/02 Left Nut The chick is hot. Try to sneak in, not worth the price of admission. 4 stars
4/26/02 othree I hate to call a fantasy/action movie flawless, but it was! The Rock deserves all Props! 4 stars
4/25/02 Melissa in NYC This is the worst movie I've seen this year!! Blatantly rips off other great movies - ACK!! 1 stars
4/25/02 Leon Trotsky Sound and fury, signifying nothing. 2 stars
4/25/02 Tri it kicks ass 5 stars
4/24/02 Andrew Good Stuff! Mindless Action, Worth seeing, Rock is cool, Kelly Hu is Awesome 4 stars
4/24/02 Mister Char it wasn't that bad, i enjoyed the acting style of the rock 3 stars
4/24/02 Brian Kissinger I went in expecting little, and was pleasantly surprised. Not great, but better than expect 3 stars
4/24/02 Janx Complete Hollywood bullshit. Stupid action sequences, many ripped off from other movies 1 stars
4/22/02 IP Freely I would have given this flick 5 stars if Kelly Hu was naked, she is extremely hot 2 stars
4/22/02 KMG I didn't know the Akkadians were hairless! WOW! 2 stars
4/21/02 Rock Climber Celluliod diarrhea, a 1st-grade play has better acting, calling it 'shit' is a compliment 1 stars
4/21/02 Ziggy Stardust at times i felt like i was watching a dumb highschool student film with an overblown budget 1 stars
4/21/02 Unanon Go with low expectations and you'll be amused. Too many rips from other movies to count... 2 stars
4/20/02 Fizamajig Good. lame in parts, 4 stars
4/20/02 hi its like xena warrior princess but shitty and the jokes are even worse 1 stars
4/19/02 Dom Corleone Not bad - not good either 3 stars
4/19/02 Dorkus I'm 13 and I love wrestling...do you think I have a boner for this movie? 1 stars
4/15/02 steve watched the film again this time sober, wow what a load of crap! 1 stars
4/08/02 steve dont like the rock but man you do not want to miss this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Apr-2002 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Apr-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast