Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.99

Awesome: 15.23%
Worth A Look: 28.48%
Just Average: 11.26%
Pretty Crappy30.46%
Sucks: 14.57%

2 reviews, 139 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Alien 3
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Why was this film so unsuccessful then? BECAUSE YOU PEOPLE SUCK!"
4 stars

AM I THE ONLY PERSON TO LOVE THIS MOVIE????

Well, my review here might offend people who cherish the Alien saga.

Alien was effective but is now VERY DATED AND LONGWINDED.. It has not stood the test of twenty odd years. (Unlike many many others of it's generation)

Aliens was fun, but badly scripted and overlong (the directors cut and the normal cut). It needs more refinement to make it a tighter movie.

Alien3 is in my opinion the best of the three. It has better elements. The FX were better (with possible exception of the swan dive ending). The script was better. The acting was better. But most of all the atmosphere was better. This is due to Mr Fincher who, with the cinematographer, produced a claustraphobic movie that had the feeling of dread that the others lacked.

Ok, Scott can direct, so can Cameron, BUT Fincher did it better.
Look at the evidence. Alien3 has more breathtaking camera shots than ANY of the previous ones! Also the sound in three was better (sound IS important here people).

But most of all, the reason I liked three better than the other two? Sigourney got rid of her bloody annoying hair!!!!!

And why was this film so unsuccessful then? BECAUSE YOU PEOPLE SUCK AND DO NOT HAVE ANY TASTE!

Though for your opinion... 4 is the best!

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=586&reviewer=23
originally posted: 09/08/98 03:27:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell dull dreary sequel 1 stars
7/17/11 Flipsider Not a bad movie but it takes the series in the wrong direction after Aliens. 3 stars
9/23/10 PAUL SHORTT GRIM, MUDDLED SEQUEL 1 stars
5/03/10 Jeff Wilder Good directiion. But undone by a non-existent script and terrible story. 1 stars
10/29/09 bronson K-Pup, what are you, 10? This movie as well as YOUR review, SUCKS! 1 stars
8/18/09 Jon B Dark and brooding, but merely a gorier rehash of the original 2 stars
4/12/09 K. Sear Destroys the ending of "Aliens". I pretend it doesn't exist. 1 stars
1/04/08 Mo Ripley HAD to die... she finally got laid (I mean on film, post-'Alien' events) 2 stars
7/16/07 smartest guy in the room best installment for people with sophisticated taste; understated brilliance; blow me! 5 stars
5/17/07 Hicks EAT THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ALIEN³ burn it in to the sun!!!!!! 1 stars
4/20/07 toddword Sigourney co-produced-she created,and cared about the character.Why should she have lived? 4 stars
4/17/07 Steven Cotton better than Alien 4, but not as good as the 1st and 2nd 4 stars
3/30/07 K-Dog YOU FUCKERS SUCK AND HAVE NO FUCKN TASTE 5 stars
3/24/07 toddword it provided a great dramatic role for a great dramatic actress-why tear it down? I mean,a w 5 stars
2/16/07 David Pollastrini worse than the 4th one. 2 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Fine sequel with a couple of dissapointments. 3 stars
12/05/06 Enid Gave a depth to the previous two movies that took the series out of traditional horror. 4 stars
10/24/06 Jeremy Davies worst of the series 3 stars
8/29/06 David Cohen Pretentiously overloaded with ham-fisted symbolism, better than the second film though 3 stars
3/09/06 Dk A good edition to the franchise 4 stars
2/13/06 ronald shit 1 stars
1/01/06 Wiseman way better than the first, the first one wasent even scary. 5 stars
12/24/05 Rob Larmer This movie is great if your a die hard fan of the series, but it is no doubt the worst. 4 stars
11/30/05 CONSTANTINE AWESOME, This IS The More Verstatile/Innovative Of The Qaudrilogy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/24/05 cr good visual effects and ok story, a major dropoff from Aliens and ripley dies 3 stars
11/20/05 Kibble Definitely the series' low point, barring AVP, of course. 2 stars
11/12/05 toddword I thought the film was visionary,in it's own way 4 stars
10/25/05 Crumbcake Didn't do anything for me at all...and the ending was stupid. 2 stars
10/24/05 K. Sear It's just too damn obvious. 3 stars
10/23/05 Suk-R-Punch Without a doubt, the lamest and least interesting of the series...yes, even 4. 2 stars
10/18/05 Gumbo Just a big, boring chase around dark, dank tunnels - no likeable characters (save Ripley). 2 stars
10/16/05 Crapture Hey, K-Dog, this film bombed...um...BECAUSE IT SUCKED...and so does your mum...zzzzzzzzing! 2 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs I already saw this movie...when it was just called ALIEN. Thumbs down! 2 stars
10/13/05 gasp :::yawn::: Is it over yet? What was the plot? Oh yeah, it didn't have one...just running. 1 stars
10/12/05 Bryant Gumby Boring and bad. 2 stars
10/11/05 Johnny Cake This movie sucks the big twat bomb! 2 stars
10/09/05 Klondo Hicks and Newt live. Fuck this movie. 3 stars
9/15/05 drippy Me no likey. 2 stars
9/06/05 JubJub The suckiest of the series (AVP doesn't count...in any context). 2 stars
9/02/05 Mailk Murky, dull, depressing, bland, pointless, slow-moving, and anti-climatic. 2 stars
9/01/05 Edward After the glory that was ALIENS, the series hits rock bottom. So sad. 2 stars
8/31/05 unlimited Yes, K-Dog (how original a name!), you ARE the only one, bitch!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/30/05 Vasquez boring and bad - not worth the time and the ending sucks 1 stars
8/29/05 Brisbane I already say ALIEN back in '79...and it was a lot better then. 2 stars
8/28/05 Blissful Johnny Great-looking film, but the script is non-existant and the performances are flat. 2 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw 'Sorry, but this is by far the series' low-point right after ALIEN VS. PREDATOR. 2 stars
8/27/05 hicks A depressing mess of a film... 2 stars
8/27/05 Joker Slow-moving, murky-looking, and worst of all - NO LIKEABLE CHARACTERS! Thumbs way down! 2 stars
8/26/05 cam-ron A boring and bad rehash of the first film...get off Fincher's cock, ass monkeys. 2 stars
8/25/05 Termite I think K-Dog sucks and has no taste. 2 stars
8/24/05 Copper Better than it's made out to be, but still pretty rotten, 'sorry. 2 stars
8/24/05 salamone Yes, the workprint version is superior, but this is still the weakest of the bunch. 1 stars
8/23/05 Eden Watch the director's cut. A bit clumsy but good, darker sequel 4 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch "We need an idea for a third ALIEN!" "Hey, let's just remake the original! Only duller!!" 1 stars
8/21/05 Chumscrubber Good-looking, but HOLLOW, HOLLOW, HOLLOW, HOLLOW, HOLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW 1 stars
8/20/05 marv This film was unsuccessful because THIS MOVIE WAS CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Great up until the superintendent dies then its a swear fest that distracts from the movie 2 stars
3/31/05 Richard Box The more you view it the better it is. very bleak but still very good. 4 stars
3/22/05 indrid cold Not as bad as "Resurrection", but still pales compared to Alien and Aliens. 3 stars
9/28/04 Aaron Smith Yuck!!! Not only is it not interesting, but the profanity is terrible. 1 stars
7/20/04 Patjng Yeah alien3 rulez 5 stars
7/13/04 Shams Huque Assembly Cut is superb! 5 stars
6/19/04 Spiderfan50 FREAKIN' AWESOME! The driector's cut is possibly my favorite ever. 5 stars
6/16/04 franknutz see the directors cut it is immensely better and makes this a great film 4 stars
4/17/04 Father Merrin Under-rated sequel. I liked it. Its darker & moodier than the others. Pretty good film! 4 stars
4/06/04 Spiderfan729 Debatably the best of the 3 for me. My love for ALIEN still has me deciding... 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern I wouldnt consider this to be the best one but, at least it returns to its roots ex. ALIEN 4 stars
3/16/04 Spiderfan729 Certainly not up to Alien or Aliens but better than that crap they call ressurection. 4 stars
2/29/04 R.W. Welch Pretty slow going; mostly stock stuff cobbled together. 2 stars
12/08/03 john boring and the alien isn't in it that much 1 stars
10/31/03 American Slasher Goddess Pointless and depressing, but well acted and it does manage to draw you in. 3 stars
9/17/03 Lord Durvok II A worthy installment to the series, better than its follower. 4 stars
9/09/03 Jack Sommersby Underwhelming but watchable. 3 stars
9/05/03 I Would Depressing and full of annoying baldy prisoners who have say fuck at least every 5 seconds. 2 stars
8/06/03 Alice Worst Alien sequel ever 1 stars
8/05/03 Double G i take dump and alien like creature come out, alien are good toliets. COLIKO!!! 5 stars
7/26/03 alien assassin Morbid and unrelentingly depressing. This film should have been aborted. 2 stars
5/18/03 bastard_guy180 Eery, left everything on a deadly and depressing note... sinical but i loved it. 5 stars
4/15/03 Andrew Carden The Film Has Lost It's Spark...but Weaver Is Still Amazing, and The Effects Are Dazzling. 4 stars
3/31/03 Dave What was the point? 2 stars
3/11/03 Estevan Lapena would have rather seen the Workprint. Check IMDB 2 stars
2/19/03 rabbit greatly underrated. forget happy hollywood fairy tales, this is a tragedy - and a fine one. 5 stars
2/16/03 xchristx people think this movie sucks because 1)no big guns 2)newt & hicks killed. simple as that. 4 stars
2/11/03 y2mckay Watchable for Fincher's directing, but FUCK the writers. Ripley and Newt made it home! 2 stars
1/03/03 Jack Sommersby Well-made but pointless and uninteresting. 2 stars
12/22/02 3man A terrible disappointment. 2 stars
11/04/02 Vicious it ruined the series. i hate this film. omit it from memory 2 stars
8/28/02 Stalky14 Single-handedly makes the first two and itself completely pointless. 1 stars
8/26/02 Martin I like Sigourney Weaver....but.......this movie just didn't do it for me 3 stars
7/24/02 CVJ The series getting a bit too predictable at this stage 5 stars
1/06/02 krash I love this film!I also love alien aliens and alien resserection 5 stars
12/28/01 Jake This is a hit and miss..kinda depressing but good action and effects keep you entertained. 4 stars
10/16/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Didn't like it the two first times but... I get the story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
10/03/01 Phoenix A dark, boring, and weak entry in the series. 2 stars
10/01/01 travis mr.hat was right that dog did not have to die.AN AlRIGHTMOVIE 4 stars
9/05/01 spaceworm Subract points for leading to "Alien Ressurection" 3 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Dark and visually engaging, David Fincher's installment to the Alien series is very good. 4 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) That guard dog didn't deserve to die! Plus, nobody cares when someone dies! 2 stars
7/28/01 Steve Very boring and stupid to begin with, but compared to the second, is just total shit 1 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg Big disapointment . 3 stars
5/09/01 Jake This is a hit and miss..kinda depressing but good action and effects keep you entertained. 4 stars
3/13/01 Sthenno Good atmosphere,tense,directing and music,but the Alien looks cheap and the plot stinks. 4 stars
2/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Good continuation of the series, but it still lacked something... 4 stars
2/12/01 CJ O' Callaghan this film got undeserved criticism.Great atmosphere, and set.And a stunning soundtrack. A1! 5 stars
1/31/01 jordan at least as good as the second movie, but not as good as the first, of course. underrated. 5 stars
1/24/01 dave Underhill Alien lost nothing in each sequal ok the ideas a complete rip off but cool as!! 5 stars
1/18/01 fifu pretty bad i dind't like the computerized aliens in this one 2 stars
11/19/00 Insider there are no and there won't be suche well directed film in the alien saga ever 5 stars
11/12/00 The EVIL Penguin First, a classic. Second, better. Third, the worst 2 stars
10/25/00 dan underrated - this is a very good movie 4 stars
10/24/00 Viking Only a sicko could include Newt's autopsy in the script 2 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Oh dear what went wrong? K-Dog's review is a joke right? 2 stars
7/03/00 Stephen Anderson This movie gives the original two a bad name. 1 stars
6/07/00 TERRIE SMITH Not nearly as effective as the first two films; series starting to wane. 3 stars
4/16/00 JDC Good script, visuals; it's just a different kind of movie, more drama than horror 5 stars
4/15/00 BB-15 What's with you people? It's almost as good as the first two! 5 stars
3/17/00 DrB Starts with a screenwriter's contrivance (the egg that got away!). Still, some good scenes. 2 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski After the glory of "Aliens", the series hits a glum note. Proceed with caution. 3 stars
1/19/00 K-Dog Hello. I have finally seen the light. This movie is shit! ALIENS is so much better. 1 stars
1/08/00 John Markham Rubbish. I find it sad that people wasted a part of their life making this shit. 1 stars
11/21/99 Jedi15 It's not as bad as you think. Very disturbing movie. Far fetter than #4. 4 stars
11/18/99 msf6 K-dogGO FUCK YOURSELF!THIS MOVIE SUCKED1&2 were so much better 4 was better than this SHIT 2 stars
8/10/99 Japtalian I hated this movie. Why did this asshole kill off Ripleys' shipmates? 1 stars
7/17/99 Krishna Manohar Alien 3 was the best movie in the whole series. Anyone telling you otherwise is dumb. 5 stars
6/27/99 Chris Gianaras Lucas is right. Shouldn't a horror movie be scary? 2 stars
4/29/99 Rob Mckechnie K-Dog is right! i've never come out of a cinema more disturbed than after this. 4 stars
4/19/99 Lucas jackson compared to the first two this movie was shit!!!!!! 2 stars
4/12/99 Jon Jackson Alien 3 was bullshit, a bad episode of Roc. 2 stars
3/17/99 Madcap oh come on people, the alien was a pissed off dog, the acting sucked and Ripley was asleep 2 stars
1/24/99 YellerDog The trilogy lives! Death to Resurrection! 5 stars
1/22/99 C Dub The Alien/s saga derailed - highly mediocre 3 stars
12/30/98 JDC great introspective of Ripley. Fuckin' losers who wanted it to be Aliens: bite me 5 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Great movie, suckiest ending. Better than Scream, The Relic and Anaconda! Dreary and fun! 4 stars
11/23/98 Ray Russ Ridley as Christ *and* The Virgin. The Holy Trinity many cool metaphores and dead priests. 4 stars
11/12/98 Jules K-Dog, you're not alone. I really liked this one. Dreary... scary... ORIGINAL! 4 stars
11/01/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! This really blows the roof off!!,Fincher is great at suspense,WHATS WITH THE ENDING ??!!... 4 stars
10/26/98 Silent Rob An interesting direction, for a series with no set destination. 4 stars
9/06/98 BBReBozo Not the abortion people wanted it to be. 4 stars
8/24/98 {{{OZ}}} Umm, okay. Starting to squeeze blood out of the stone. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-May-1992 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1993 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast