Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.09

Awesome: 3.77%
Worth A Look: 11.32%
Just Average: 22.64%
Pretty Crappy: 15.09%
Sucks47.17%

3 reviews, 35 user ratings



Murder by Numbers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"Murder By Numbers just doesn’t add up"
1 stars

What do you get when you combine an ex-swimmer of Dawson’s Creek (Michael Pitt II), an ex-mouse from the Mickey Mouse Club (Ryan Gosling) along with Ben Chaplin and Sandra Bullock? Answer, a not very entertaining movie.

The tag line for this movie reads “Let The Mind Games Begin.” I say let the crap end.


NUMBERS takes Richard (Gosling) and Justin (Pitt), two high school students at opposite ends of the popularity spectrum and plots them against Cassie (Bullock) and her new forensics partner Sam (Chaplin) in a tale of whodunit murder. Was it Richard, the smartass rich kid who seems to get laid three times a day or Justin, the nerdy loner who spends all his time reading big books and researching how to commit the perfect crime without leaving any DNA or evidence at the scene.


The dynamic between Cassie and Sam is the most interesting part of the movie; they flirt, they fight, the sleep together. Through out the movie Cassie wrestles with many demons, including her intimate relationship with Sam and the fact that she pushes everyone away. Sam just wants to solve the case and help Cassie come out of her shell. In the end it’s a battle of wits as the duos try to outsmart each other. One pair trying to solve the crime and the other turning on their respective partner and attempting to frame them for the whole thing.


The story and characters lack depth and thought. At the end of the movie I really didn’t care who did it or got away with it. The only redeeming quality was that the movie was finally over.

Normally I like Sandra Bullock movies – but this one was just a disgrace. The only thing I learned from this movie was that female hyenas have penises. So if you have a hankering to see a Sandra Bullock movie – go rent one. Even “Hope Floats” was better than this pile of crap.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5874&reviewer=88
originally posted: 01/22/03 04:45:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell entertaing good acting 4 stars
1/18/11 PAUL SHORTT UNCONVINCING, MEDIOCRE THRILLER 2 stars
12/02/09 Jeff Wilder Weak. Rent Copycat instead. 2 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White I hate a movie when you know who dun it from the beginning 3 stars
8/04/07 ravenmad choppy, didn't make sense, and half the time I'm like, "heh?". 2 stars
6/15/06 Michele clever enough 4 stars
8/16/05 ES hollywood 'the bad guys gotta pay' ending ruins a decent movie 3 stars
10/01/04 Cannabinoid fallopian tube Only good thing was Gosling 2 stars
6/12/04 Arun I had high hopes when i bought the cd but its the worst mystery movie i have ever seen 1 stars
4/30/04 Adam Disapointing, weak ending, all in all pretty crap 2 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 I thought this would be like an intelectual Thriller which adds to its equation... Oh well! 2 stars
4/04/04 theHiv super 5 stars
3/14/04 Phil M. Aficiando Stupid 1 stars
2/04/04 LIAM JACKSON i felt kinda sorry for justin.he should of just killed EVERYBODY. 4 stars
1/12/04 Helius *gags* 1 stars
7/16/03 jeoff that movie was pimp because parts of it was filmed in morro bay and thats where my grandmaw 5 stars
7/07/03 Pam I really enjoyed this movie. It kept yr interest all the way to the end. 4 stars
7/02/03 JonBenet Ramsey's Ghost She's been getting that way for a long time-Sandra Bullock now as annoying as pop-up ads. 1 stars
4/21/03 Jim The kids look like the wandered in from "To Die For" and Ben Chaplin just looks confused 3 stars
4/13/03 Harry Nilsson This is the saddest experience you will ever know. 1 stars
3/08/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Sandra Bullock plays psycho cop portrayed heroically. She really thinks her shit dont stink 1 stars
2/28/03 Janet Predictable with no real surprises... but keeps your interest till the end 3 stars
1/28/03 Jon C. Ericson By the numbers is right. 4 stars
1/14/03 John Bale Unpleasant teenage thrill killings solved by sexy cop, with unlikely "cliffhanger" ending 3 stars
12/12/02 VINCENT LOCASCIO SANDRA BULLOCK SHINES BUT THE FILM IS DULL. 1 stars
11/24/02 Blubberbot Terrible 1 stars
11/10/02 sandra bullock's other twin man she keeps making me look bad 1 stars
11/05/02 JonBenet Ramsey's Ghost She's been getting that way for a long time-Sandra Bullock now as annoying as pop-up ads. 1 stars
10/13/02 seldom scene Billock(cop) tells the bad guy to drop the gun but NOT to slide it over to her-weak movie 2 stars
9/06/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Sandra Bullock plays psycho cop portrayed heroically. She really thinks her shit dont stink 1 stars
7/08/02 Roy Smith The "brilliant/evil" killers were dull, Sandra didn't fit, simple script, blah. 3 stars
7/05/02 Actress known as Charlize Theron, Ashley Judd, and Angelina Jolie At least no one has ever said I'm the same actress as Sandra Bulock! 1 stars
6/26/02 Jenny Tullwartz Worst pseudo-mystery with cheap twist ending since PRIMAL FEAR. 1 stars
5/24/02 Suzz Surprisingly entertaining due to the story between the 2 killers. 4 stars
4/21/02 Greg Nixon Pretty predictable plot, nothing new, Alfred Hitchcock rip-ff ending 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Oct-2002


Directed by
  Barbet Schroeder

Written by
  Tony Gayton

Cast
  Sandra Bullock
  Ryan Gosling
  Michael Pitt
  Ben Chaplin
  Agnes Bruckner
  R.D. Call



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast