Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome79.57%
Worth A Look: 14.52%
Just Average: 1.61%
Pretty Crappy: 2.69%
Sucks: 1.61%

8 reviews, 138 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Trainspotting
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Laura Kyle

"Let this be a 'gateway' movie for all Boyle's filmography!"
5 stars

Curiously enough, Trainspotting wasn't how I first met Danny Boyle. 28 Days Later introduced me to the guy who would become one of my favorite directors. So just imagine my surprise when, after enjoying the epic "zombie" flick so much (if it really fits in that genre at all...) I then stumbled upon this refreshingly gritty and stylish gem about disaffected heroin addicts.

You can put Ewan McGregor in anything...musicals, sci-fi adventures, romantic comedies, artsie dramas, quirky indies...and no matter what movie he's in, what character he's playing, you usually can't picture any other actor doing his job. He's just phenomenal. So it's really a testament to Trainspotting, that the film is able to claim McGregor and set his character Renton apart from all his others.

The story of Trainspotting goes well beyond the screen. No one expected a movie set in Scotland about desperate young adults buying their time in ounces of heroin to become a cult classic in the States. The film is a prime example of hitting the creative jackpot -- the modest budget didn't scare away the ridiculously talented actors who were probably more than eager to take orders from Boyle, a director who had already proven himself with Shallow Grave, also starring McGregor. Based on the successful novel by Irvine Welsh, Trainspotting was blessed with good artistic genes right from the start.

The white-knuckled "drug drama" is probably one of the best flicks you'll ever watch about substance abuse, because it's not hung up on the obvious themes that tend to pair up with subject matter like that. Drug users aren't impressed by the taboo of heroin (well, not after a second or third hit at least); they just like how it makes them feel. They're not gearing up for some post-overdose life lesson, so why should the characters in Trainspotting be?

And thus, you have your much-needed guide in Renton, who mocks his loser friends -- seems to be on our side for the most part, when not shooting up with them, that is. Maybe he'd have gone for that conventional life if he could do it all over again, but his ambivalence toward living is only interrupted by his euphoria-induced fixes. But he tries to quit; Trainspotting's opening is about him preparing for withdrawal.

Alas, the film really isn't about heroin at all...it's about friendship, and how far it goes in a world where, I want to say... values are almost a luxury. Screenwriter John Hodge (and perhaps novelist Welsh too) aren't trying to get you to root for any one of these drug addicts and that's what's so original about the movie. In restraining from sermons and artistic justice, however tempting those things may be, a whole lot more can be said about the characters (even though you can't always understand what the characters are actually saying on the account of their thick accents!) -- they aren't overshadowed by opinions from outsiders.

Danny Boyle blends realism and fancy in one of the greatest films to come out of the 90's, or any decade for that matter -- Trainspotting happens to be in my top 5 favorite films.

Oh, and the soundtrack is AWESOME.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=589&reviewer=369
originally posted: 11/17/05 14:28:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/10/15 Bents Tells an epic tale in 94 minutes. 5 stars
5/12/15 stanley welles an inventive, dark and hilarious film 5 stars
3/07/15 Ameer B didn't like this one 1 stars
3/01/14 PAUL SHORTT BRILLIANTLY MADE, TRAGIC PORTRAYAL OF THE HORRORS OF DRUG ADDICTION WITH GREAT PERFORMANCES 4 stars
12/17/13 John Tiller This film is truly great. It has everything: comedy, insight into addicts, social commentry 5 stars
5/23/12 keith miron I liked when the baby crawled on the ceiling 4 stars
4/23/12 Marty Cool movie about heroine. teaches u bout ur view on drug culture. funny too! 4 stars
12/29/09 Dane Youssef The very finest of 1996. Raw, funny and enthralling. As grand as the book that bore it. 5 stars
9/10/09 conner cinema at its finest, funny, comical, disturbing, violent, 5 stars
7/12/09 mr.mike Is no bad. 4 stars
10/04/08 Tom monumentally overrated 2 stars
7/05/08 Jason Strickland One of my absolute favorite films EVER! 5 stars
2/25/08 Cannsaw My #1 5 stars
2/03/08 Liam Brilliant, poweful film... as close as I've seen to perfection 5 stars
9/24/07 Beau wait ill it comes out on tv and make sure ur not home!! it was really garbage!! 2 stars
4/12/07 MP Bartley Biting, energetic and very very funny. 5 stars
3/26/07 fools♫gold I've always liked "Shallow Grave" better. 4 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Truly one of the best movies I have eer seen/ 5 stars
1/28/07 David Cohen Overrated?! What does it take to impress you people?! 5 stars
1/28/07 Lisa Craven This movie just didn't do it for me...I pass 2 stars
11/06/06 choose life......choose maddi!!!! soooooooo good. it wouldnt have been the same without spud! my hero 5 stars
10/31/06 Charles Tatum Good stuff has its moments 4 stars
10/04/06 Baldeadly The Book was Quite hard to grasp the Movie was GREAT! Soundtrack was Great Too. Just GREAT! 5 stars
9/18/06 Scottish Dave This film will be remembered as a cult GOD. It is that good and hard hitting. 5 stars
9/12/06 Bitchflaps Riveting... if you have ADHD, a low IQ and can't be arsed to read about drugs. 2 stars
5/04/06 ES Entertaining but overrated. The bed sheets thing still haunts me 4 stars
2/22/06 Doc Hollywood Really enjoyable and thought provoking 5 stars
2/21/06 Scott One of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
12/05/05 Gene Carmean Outstanding 5 stars
12/01/05 MrsVoorheesBabyBoy Fun to watch, fun to get sick to. 4 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard Go see this movie. Go see this movie now. Right now. And see Millions as well. 5 stars
10/26/05 Begbie It was fucking obvious that this Shaun cunt was gonna fuck some cunt. 5 stars
9/15/05 Indrid Cold Loses some steam when the plot starts about an hour in, but definitely worth a look. 4 stars
5/09/05 Vince This is the shit. 5 stars
4/28/05 Alyson One of the best movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
9/26/04 Shaun Overated at the time. Even worse today 1 stars
8/22/04 PatL This is the stuff classics are made of! 5 stars
8/08/04 Abbath Greatest movie of all time, bar none! 5 stars
7/25/04 Agent Sands Trainspotting & Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas R the greatest double feature ever! Trust me! 5 stars
7/22/04 Sean Norton entirely fails to display the catastrophic results of heroin addiction. 4 stars
7/20/04 April Gupton so depressing 5 stars
7/07/04 Margie some of the best visuals. one of the greatest "don't do drugs or you'll be screwed" movies 5 stars
5/13/04 willie RENTON is scottish "english lad" my ass! 4 stars
3/08/04 Natasha It's absolutely great!! 5 stars
9/25/03 I Would For it's lack of coherence and overuse of style, this is one Hell of a film. 4 stars
7/31/03 FLiK Phenomenal; and one of the funniest constipation jokes I've heard 5 stars
6/10/03 Kelley amazing 5 stars
6/07/03 Pure Morning The best film to come out of Britain in the 90's. Maybe forever. 5 stars
5/16/03 Andrew Carden Good Performances, but An Overrated Film. 3 stars
5/12/03 Movie Expert A masterpiece about accepting life even though life is unfair and depressing 5 stars
5/12/03 mr. Pink very entertaining, great editing, great style, great acting. But there's a bit shallow core 4 stars
5/05/03 Bluto McBlurt The greatest anti-drug commercial ever produced. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Sensationalism over coherence. McGregor is superb; Carlysle is atrocious. 1 stars
3/30/03 joey never feel bored even watch it for 10 times! 5 stars
3/17/03 Shadaan Felfeli Fantastic 4 stars
1/21/03 Rene I just saw it, primely fro "Rent-Boy" himself and fell in love with the whole cast! 5 stars
12/17/02 chris fuck you, hollywood. 5 stars
11/09/02 Michael Bolton 'begbie' kicks ass, ewan m. before the star wars bullshit. 5 stars
9/29/02 Marian i love. it captured that miserable feeling everybody gets. 5 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi mmm...ewan 5 stars
5/13/02 Francis mostly excellent, but some scenes tedious, and no-one gets away with that much pub violence 4 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 'Dead baby on the roof' scene made me cry into my pillow. 4 stars
3/31/02 Swashbuckler Yeah, how I love the toilets in Scotland 5 stars
3/12/02 Mickey One of the greatest movies ever!! 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Blow, Requiem For a Dream, and Trainspotting... all belong in a category of their own. WOW! 5 stars
12/19/01 paul definately one of my five favorite movies... of all time... 5 stars
10/10/01 Smokie I just read the book. Wow! even more eye-opening than the movie 5 stars
9/08/01 Gary Hilarious, hard-hitting, effective & skilfully directed. McGregor & Carlyle are excellent. 5 stars
8/21/01 Monster W. Kung Together with Fight Club, the best movie of the 90s. 5 stars
8/20/01 P.Rodriguez Nuff said 5 stars
8/15/01 christina paciolla dark, gritty, and disturbing...highly entertaining and touching 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel awesome movie, possibly best movie/soundtrack combo ever. scenes/music are inseparable. 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg compelling and hard hiting,with some funny moments as well . 5 stars
7/22/01 patchouli fucking great 5 stars
7/02/01 Boomshanka A groundbreaker, well written, and none too comfortable to watch. Great stuff. 5 stars
6/12/01 Bada Bing Crosby I like all junkie movies, they have built-in appeal to me for some sick fucking reason 5 stars
6/11/01 ReeRee757 One of the best movies I've ever seen. Too bad it didn't do better in the States. 5 stars
4/25/01 trasu This is a really great movie, one of my favorites. Clever, funny and dark. 5 stars
4/23/01 Spetters Very good, even brilliant in parts, but a bit too hip (read: shallow) 4 stars
4/18/01 Tam Gritty drama packed with dark humour, a top script and superb acting. 5 stars
3/19/01 TNT-6 The best movie I've ever seen about drug addiction. 5 stars
2/12/01 Jake was entertaining but wouldn't see it again 3 stars
1/15/01 Nut The best movie of the 90's. 5 stars
1/04/01 Cora van Voornamen great, clever movie. however, welsh has better books if you're into that. 5 stars
10/28/00 Mic An almost interesting look at addicts, but not quite interesting enough as a whole. 2 stars
10/22/00 sickboy One of my favorite movies. 5 stars
9/19/00 Jeff very good 4 stars
9/18/00 Greyjack Hot diggety damn--this movie's brilliant! 5 stars
7/18/00 Matthew Bartley Come in Hollywood your time is up 5 stars
6/07/00 TERRIE SMITH One hell of a film and not for everyone's taste; volatile acting from Robert Carlyle 5 stars
6/03/00 PJ Coooool funny, and hip. Danny Boyle has and will never do a better movie, no where near. 5 stars
5/29/00 Zatoichi Jones heroin is bad for you. this movie demonstrates it 4 stars
5/06/00 Klute. Just a very good, well written, well performed, original film. 5 stars
4/25/00 The Bomb 69 i choose life, funny shite 5 stars
4/15/00 JonnyAngel Where have you gone Ewan? 5 stars
3/19/00 Alexis Boucher I love this, Trainspotting rocked my world. Ewan Mcgregor is awesome, one of my favorites. 5 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera supposedly unfilmable books make the best movies 5 stars
2/27/00 Tim Boehm Has got to be one of the best films of the decade. Ewen McGregor is amazing 5 stars
2/19/00 perverted pixie Great, but way over- rated. I prefered "The Beach". 4 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin er..Hollywood can kiss my arse, if you do close to this, I'll kiss yours. 5 stars
1/23/00 Casey Jarzabek THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
1/09/00 unstrung its great, a real look at whats its like to be adicted, not a sugarcoated hollywood version 5 stars
11/16/99 Don Valdez Great movie, choose life. 5 stars
10/29/99 Bozo It was amazing but I wouldn't see it again 5 stars
10/24/99 Bueller Tough subject matter, treated with both grit and humor. 4 stars
9/27/99 Glitter Berry Ewan should have been nominated for this witty excuse to NEVER try heroin 5 stars
9/16/99 richard fortunato whirling, frenetic, sour yet appealing 5 stars
9/07/99 RPiTaYa "I've got the beast in my sights, Moneypenny" 5 stars
9/04/99 Weird Andy At times very funny, but generally pointless. Still better than average. 3 stars
8/26/99 Azimat THE NO.1 MOVIE OF MY LIFE!!! 5 stars
8/04/99 Izumi "With God 's help, I'll conquer this affliction." Disturbing but surprisingly up-lifting... 5 stars
7/31/99 mara 1st view-disturbing...2nd-amazing."do you she the beast, do you have him in your shights?" 5 stars
7/25/99 The Bomb 69 Sick boy reminded me of myself back in my heroin days 5 stars
7/19/99 Matthew Bartley Ready to surrender yet Hollywood? 5 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK Bloody great movie! Love that toilet bowl scene. Visionary. 5 stars
7/14/99 Kiwi The best! 5 stars
7/14/99 J. Random Hacker This is a brilliant brilliant movie. Depressing, yet ultimately uplifting. 5 stars
4/27/99 Michael Grimm heroin never looked so good and bad!!! 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson deserving of the hype 5 stars
12/12/98 Jules Fucking Wow! 5 stars
12/04/98 The Dude This was the best fucking gross-out comedy I've ever fucking seen motherfuckers. 5 stars
12/03/98 Matthew J. Soucy Spectacular filmmaking, augmented by a killer soundtrack. 5 stars
12/01/98 Evil Buffy i love this film. ewan and danny boyle direction. gross, poinet and beautiful. i wanna be 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Terrific!!! 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob A syncratic blending of moralization and deporability. In it's own class! 5 stars
10/24/98 Ash THIS HAS TO BE ONE OF THE TOP TEN BEST MOVIES-Great Acting, style, quirky and fun!!!!!! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo You people are clearly morons. This was a great Goddamned movie. One of the best in years. 5 stars
9/27/98 Heather Wow wow wow! Powerful film! 5 stars
9/26/98 {{{OZ}}} Just a great fucking film, great acting, script, humor and music. Mondo awesome. 5 stars
9/26/98 Slabs Makes me never want to look in a toilet again. Too Swee! But don't let mom see it... 5 stars
9/20/98 Maegs Beyond brilliant, this is Hodge and Boyle at their incredible best! 5 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Terrific shit. 5 stars
9/03/98 Johny A Great film 5 stars
9/03/98 Badass A trip. 5 stars
8/31/98 MikeF I saw it in bits and pieces and then the otherday I finally got to see it whole. it's great 5 stars
8/30/98 Matt definitely on my top ten of all time 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee If you haven't seen this yet, you should go get it out now. Seriously. It's awesome. Superb 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Totally inventive, really well written, damn funny and worth watching many times. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jul-1996 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast