Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.13

Awesome: 15.85%
Worth A Look: 3.66%
Just Average: 8.54%
Pretty Crappy: 21.95%
Sucks50%

3 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Enough
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"For people who thought 'Double Jeopardy' was too highbrow."
2 stars

I think everything that happens in "Enough" happens only within a nightmare had by the protagonist, a California waitress named Slim (Jennifer Lopez). There is no internal evidence for this theory -- she never wakes up and says, "Thank goodness I was only dreaming!" -- but there's no other way to explain how black-and-white and unrealistic the film is.

It starts with Slim marrying a perfect man named Mitch (Billy Campbell). Soon he is exhibiting non-perfect behavior by the boatload: He's having an affair, he doesn't care if Slim knows, he hits her, he insists it's his right because he's the bread-winner, he almost shoots Slim's friends, and he calls her Indian boss a "rughead." In other words, screenwriter Nicholas Kazan had a list of qualities that would make a man loathsome, and he made sure Mitch has all of them. If Slim should seek revenge on him later in the film, as the ads and posters promise, we need to be sure there is no moral ambiguity. Mitch must completely deserve whatever his punishment is.

Slim is in a bind. (She has to be, or else her revenge will be unjustified.) She goes to Mitch's mother, but she's on his side. If she has him arrested, he'll get out on bail and beat her up some more. When she flees to a friend's house in Seattle, he sends hired goons after her. He freezes her bank accounts and credit cards. Mitch even has a friend on the police force -- a cheat in the screenplay, as it gives him access to information he could never get otherwise. (We don't even know he has this friend until he becomes useful.)

So she takes her little girl, Gracie (Tessa Allen), to Michigan, where they get new names -- Slim becomes "Erin Ann Shleeter"; Gracie chooses "Queen Elizabeth" -- and a new life. But thanks to that plot convenience known as the cop friend, Mitch tracks them down. Slim will have to fight back.

And so after visiting the world's least helpful lawyer and hitting more brick walls, Slim sets up a convoluted final showdown. She almost seems to be doing it with the audience in mind -- fitting, since the entire film is nothing more than an exercise in making women cheer. The audience, being full of women and the men they dragged with them, will want to see Mitch get beaten up, yes, but they'll want him embarrassed and humiliated, too. "Enough" is happy to oblige. "Enough" will do anything to please its audience, whether it makes sense or not. (Audiences apparently want single-mindedly evil bad guys, rather than the kind we have in real life, who have layers and nuances and motives. Not a single explanation is ever given for why Mitch won't just LET HER GO.)

Slim never stops being the lovely and glamorous Jennifer Lopez. After Mitch has beaten her up, the physical evidence amounts to a scratch below one eye. When Slim is penniless, it means staying one night in a shelter. Later, when she and Gracie have a home, their hardships are summarized by Slim being a bad cook.

If anything, this glossed-over farce is disrespectful to real-life battered women, many of whom at least have the sense to go to the police -- which would have blessedly stopped this dim-witted movie in its tracks about 30 minutes into it.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5914&reviewer=247
originally posted: 05/24/02 17:19:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/05/11 Josie Cotton is a goddess Boring, but with a nice final 2 stars
11/02/10 PAUL SHORTT CONTRIVED AND PREDICTABLE 2 stars
5/15/09 Jack Sommersby Odious, overlong and overwrought to the nth degree. 1 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
1/27/07 David Pollastrini J. Lo is hot! 3 stars
1/21/07 Bitchflaps EricDSnider's review is myopic and patronising. Does he know anything about spousal abuse? 3 stars
6/16/06 nicolecrom2678 I liked it. JLO kick's some ass at the end! 3 stars
6/14/06 William Goss Oh, boy. J. Lo can kickbox. Life goes on. 2 stars
6/07/06 Ashley Hinz Intense, but forgettable. 4 stars
1/16/06 Anthony Feor Whats next, Jen stars as debbie lane a desperate housewife 3 stars
12/23/05 cody a good supsense drama with jlo, she kicks butt, gives her best perf. ever, go girl 4 stars
9/30/05 corrine handle a touchy subject with great care. 5 stars
9/05/05 R M JOB WELL DONE 5 stars
6/17/05 Spanky Lusious What's bigger JLo's Head or her Ass? 1 stars
5/13/05 Bushra Absolutely the best woman-kicking-man-ass movie after Double Jeopardy! 5 stars
4/14/05 Lauren I loved this movie, i thought it was very entertaining. jlos excellent acting helped 5 stars
3/22/05 clinger26 i am suprised my friend's DVD player didn't spit it out to cut my head in half 1 stars
10/14/04 a robinson this movie was very good 5 stars
10/05/04 Herman van der Meij How stupid can you go? 3 stars
9/26/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 J Lo, how low can you go? This is a tired, unnecessary flick 1 stars
7/01/04 Jack Murder Is Murder regardless of how pur your motives are, but the writers here are stupid 1 stars
3/18/04 Chris A good film...for me to POOP on! 1 stars
2/13/04 Dan Lipsky This movie is total garbage.the plot and characters are totally unbelievable. 1 stars
1/12/04 Helius No "this is ENOUGH" pun from me. I'll just say it sucks like a Hoover in a black hole. 1 stars
1/06/04 beautie the worst movie i ever saw!!!! did i say total crappp??? 1 stars
9/17/03 Jake Great film! 5 stars
7/20/03 Amelia absolutely excellent film. Really touching and dramatic. My fave film and i reccomend it! 5 stars
5/18/03 Goofy Maxwell More brutal than going a round w/ Slim's kickboxing guru...No mas, no mas. 1 stars
5/08/03 Chassidy yancy It was a great movie to me. 5 stars
4/22/03 mr. Pink Unbelievably hilarious. The plot and acting are one of the most unconvincing ever. 1 stars
4/09/03 Natalie Stonecipher If Ashley Judd had a heart, she'd eat it out being out-ballbusted like this! 1 stars
3/17/03 Shadaan Felfeli The first 10 minutes were more than enough. 2 stars
3/01/03 Micky O'Neal 1 stars
1/26/03 Dani O. I'd rather be skinned alive and dunked in a tub of vinegar than hear J-Loathe's name again. 1 stars
11/23/02 Amy Fast foward to the last fifteen minutes and save brain cells 2 stars
11/20/02 ScrewBeeDoo Women are too weak! They need movies like these to fullfill their male bashing fantasies! 1 stars
11/14/02 Seth Can we say 'Lifetime movie" this shoulda been free. 1 stars
11/12/02 Andrew Carden Silly, but Intriguing and Action-Packed Fun 4 stars
11/05/02 JiniRose GREAT! Women can learn NOT to be victims! The Husband needed a good Ass Kicking! 5 stars
10/06/02 TheOthersFan Utterly unfounded pop-feminism plot line, but J.Lo makes it an oddly entertaining romp. 3 stars
8/28/02 Natalie Stonecipher If Ashley Judd had a heart, she'd eat it out being out-ballbusted like this! 1 stars
7/17/02 kitt4film@hotmail.com I resent the idea that any woman would find this film good!!! 1 stars
6/24/02 Rhesus Yes, I am a male sexist pig. I would chew on J-Lo's ass all night RUFF RUFF RUFF!! 1 stars
6/21/02 Kever booooooooooo 1 stars
6/17/02 Mikeyboy I truly enjoyed this movie, see it for yourself and never mind the bad reviews, they're off 5 stars
6/14/02 Snoop-dummy dog This movie was a waste of $$. Last J-Lo movie I will EVER see 2 stars
6/07/02 ownerofdajoint if you like jennifer lopez go see this flick/my eyes were riveted to her beautiful selfe 5 stars
6/01/02 stud AWSOME 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris Lopez makes this film a paronid guilty pleasure. 3 stars
6/01/02 SaveMe! shockingly stupid and offensive, anybody caught cheering in the end should be deported 1 stars
5/30/02 Janine Lay so fucking stupid, what did she become, a ninja? 1 stars
5/30/02 Shelley Smith I think the titile says it all: ENOUGH with the J-Lo. Utter Crap!!! 1 stars
5/29/02 Dr Laura Is A Bitch (Doo dah, doo dah...) I had ENOUGH after ten minutes. 1 stars
5/29/02 Caiphn What was I thinking ... 1 stars
5/29/02 Todd Bitch can't sing, bitch can't act, I want my fucking money back! 1 stars
5/28/02 The Great Garbonzo Yay... another "men are all fucking pigs" flic. God I hate Hollywood. 1 stars
5/28/02 The Bomb 69 Her ass looks great but when she opens her mouth I want to shove an apple in 1 stars
5/26/02 Kyle I don't care if Jennifer Lopez is hot. She needs to be seriously injured. 1 stars
5/25/02 Danielle Ophelia You can see the same damn thing on Lifetime. Every day. For FREE. 1 stars
5/25/02 Darth Sidious Her ass emotes better than she does, mayunh. 1 stars
5/24/02 Veronica Foxx Calling Lopez Slim is like calling Roger Ebert ,Stick. Only thing slim is the plot! Sucks! 1 stars
5/24/02 Matt Makowka Just say, "J to the N-O!" 1 stars
5/24/02 Joe Deblow J'ho's ego is just as big as her collasol ass, and reeks just as bad. 1 stars
5/16/02 Allison Lafferty Jennifer, you were great in WEDDING PLANNER. Quit trying to be another Ashley Judd! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-May-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Oct-2002


Directed by
  Michael Apted

Written by
  Nicholas Kazan

Cast
  Jennifer Lopez
  Bill Campbell
  Dan Futterman
  Juliette Lewis
  Fred Ward
  Noah Wyle



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast