Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.46

Awesome: 15%
Worth A Look: 16%
Just Average: 12%
Pretty Crappy: 14%
Sucks43%

6 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mr. Deeds
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"It doesn't matter what I say, but this movie isn't any good."
2 stars

We movie critics are supposed to begin our reviews of Adam Sandler films by reassuring the audience that we have no particular ill will toward Mr. Sandler, and that we take each of his films on a case-by-case basis. We liked "Wedding Singer" OK, but we hated "Little Nicky," for example.

I hope I have convinced you of my unbiased nature so you will believe me when I tell you "Mr. Deeds" is an unfunny, careless piece of trash riddled with directorial, editing and acting mistakes. It was directed by Steven Brill, who has directed three Sandler films; and written by Tim Herlihy, who was written seven. I believe it is one of the lesser efforts from both of them. It is full of elements found in each of the others, with nothing new. It's like watching another episode of a predictable TV show.

Loosely based on the Frank Capra film "Mr. Deeds Goes to Town," this is one of the Sandler films where he doesn't speak in a goofy voice, but where he does beat a lot of people up. He is Longfellow Deeds, an unassuming and charming man in Mandrake Falls, N.H., who discovers he is the sole heir to the $40 billion fortune of a recently deceased media magnate who happened to be his great-uncle.

Two representatives from the old man's corporation -- one good (Erick Avari) and one evil (Peter Gallagher) -- bring Deeds to New York so he can sign over his shares and receive his $40 billion. In the meantime, everyone wants to get a look at the new richest man in America.

This includes a tabloid TV show called Inside Access, which sends a producer named Babe (Winona Ryder) undercover to befriend Deeds, hoping to get the scoop on his life story and maybe even find some dirt. (If many elements of this plot line remind you of "The Hudsucker Proxy," try not to think too much about that far superior film. It will only make you dislike this one more.)

Naturally, Babe -- calling herself Pam -- falls in love with Deeds, who is too naive to realize he's being duped. I'm not sure how he manages not to realize it, considering all the surveillance footage Inside Access shows is from incidents Pam was witness to. Maybe he wonders, as I did, how events captured by her one hidden camera could have shot the scenes from three different angles.

The lone funny performance is by John Turturro as Deeds' devoted Spanish butler, Emilio. He delivers his so-so lines in a way that gives them humor. Sandler, at the other end of the spectrum, delivers every line like he's too cool to be bothered with acting or nuance. He reminds me of what happens when a high school football player gets forced into a drama production: It would be too queer to, you know, emote, so he just goes through the motions and tries not to do anything that his friends could razz him for.

There is a scene where Deeds throws cats out of a window. It made me laugh.

It all leads to a finale that doesn't make a damn bit of sense, where Deeds' innocence proves to be the right way of thinking, and all the greedy corporate fatcats are shamed into agreeing with him. Frankly, I refuse to accept Adam Sandler as the profound moron who shows me the error of my ways. Nothing could ever make me humble enough to accept counsel from him.

Within the Sandler canon, "Mr. Deeds" most closely resembles "Big Daddy." I suspect if you liked that film, you will like this one. I didn't, and I don't.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5960&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/01/02 00:42:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/21/10 RLan An enjoyable romantic comedy 4 stars
8/27/08 Shaun Wallner Sandler makes some great films! 5 stars
12/14/07 Pamela White cute but not Sandlers best 4 stars
5/20/07 fools♫gold Recycled, and/but not well. 1/5 or 2/5 (but better than the new Casino Royale). 1 stars
2/11/07 johnnyfog Tuturro was pretty good though 1 stars
7/07/06 NS It was funny, I like Winona Ryder 4 stars
4/02/06 Dk Good for laughs 3 stars
2/23/06 Anthony Feor Not Sandlers finest hour 3 stars
6/17/05 Jeff Anderson A completely insulting & disgraceful remake to a great film! Unfunny & just plain terrible. 1 stars
6/06/05 JD I like Sandler but this was totally not funny and boring, a waste of time. 1 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny!!! 5 stars
2/01/05 Charlie Pure Crap, Filtered Crap, Organic Crap... CRAP! 2 stars
1/27/05 Jack Scallops A nice Adam is not an unfuuny one. 4 stars
7/19/04 Kieran Insted of explainin how crap that revuw woz im just gunna do this: u suck u suck u suck u s 5 stars
2/14/04 Jingo P. Would have been great as a comedy. 1 stars
12/05/03 bender Worst editing ever. Also a very humorless film, save for John Turturro. 2 stars
11/27/03 Samuel A very good film!!! 5 stars
11/10/03 christian gonzales i think the movie is awsome 5 stars
7/19/03 amy Sandlar was brilliant as always!! 4 stars
7/14/03 pero very good movie-well done adam 5 stars
5/21/03 bighead huey how the hell can this dull, tasteless dumass be called a comedian?! 1 stars
5/15/03 Tom Fleeman Not one of Sandlers best, but it still had its moments. 4 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby A passable good time. 3 stars
2/24/03 footlicker tim taylor, please kill yourself. good movie - i also love feet. 4 stars
2/21/03 Jon nothing special 3 stars
1/03/03 artemishia SOMEONE MAKE SANDLER STOOOOPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/03/03 John Aster Habig sandloer should keep herlihy as a writer and stick to romcoms 5 stars
11/24/02 Colin Selby WOEFUL.WHAT WERE THEY THINKING 1 stars
11/19/02 Jeremey Conkle very sneaky sneaky sir! funny as hell!!!! loved this movie 5 stars
11/16/02 Tim Taylor Would rather pound my nut sacks with a hammer, than watch again! 1 stars
11/11/02 Chiendog A river of liquid shit. The best joke is Sandler's $20 million salary(!). 1 stars
11/08/02 Simon Boak Not many films make me laugh out loud, but this one did. 5 stars
11/07/02 Tell Shit Like Shit Is Not farcical enough for Sandler to quite fit in it; Winona steals every scene. 4 stars
10/30/02 Lauren O'Neill it was a spectacular film and i'm one of dams biggest fans 5 stars
10/24/02 Fred Ruiz Sandler is a genius. Macenroe is fucking awesome. 5 stars
10/21/02 Steph Same old Adam Sandler movie formula-him trying to prove himself to a girl he wants to fuck 2 stars
9/20/02 ajay what the hell happened?@! 2 stars
9/16/02 paul johnson i agree totally 1 stars
9/11/02 laron chapman one of adam sandlers funniest films forget what everyone else says. 5 stars
9/09/02 John McNew Sandler's had better days 2 stars
8/29/02 Dean I was hopeing for a funnier film. Same Sandler antics. 1 stars
8/18/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) What the fuck are you guys talking about? This was funny as hell! 5 stars
8/18/02 Craig In the afterlife, I hope Gary Cooper beats Sandler's ass! 1 stars
8/03/02 Edler I'd rather drink a bucket of diarhea than sit through this! 1 stars
7/20/02 SpeedDemon It was an awesome movie. Any one who didnt like it is quite dumb. 5 stars
7/18/02 Sklorsh Gets the 2nd star only because I like Sandler. But this movie SUCKED! 2 stars
7/18/02 gary vidmar Sandler is a comedy genius, and this movie proves it! 5 stars
7/15/02 JesseL Worst Adam Sandler movie ever made 1 stars
7/14/02 siro I did not enjoy this film.... 2 stars
7/10/02 Kristen I want a refund! 1 stars
7/09/02 King Richard *grabing groin* I've got your Mr. Deeds right here!! 1 stars
7/08/02 iambubby I give it half a ball-sack... 1 stars
7/07/02 Sheila Evans Fell out of tree? Hooey! She was on trial for shoplifting when her arm got broken! 4 stars
7/07/02 sandy i love adam sandler but this totally sucks! 1 stars
7/07/02 Jennifer So bad and boring that my friend and i got up and left 1 stars
7/05/02 Joe Bacon No words can describe this trip to the Fertilizer Factory 1 stars
7/01/02 Film Guy Not Adam Sandlers best effort At all. 3 stars
6/29/02 Eric Carpenter Terrible Crap. So, normal Sandler fare 1 stars
6/29/02 Sandler hater Adam Sandler sucks!!!! All of his movies are crap. 1 stars
6/28/02 ajay typical sandler, plot sucks balls but the supporting characters are great. 2 stars
6/28/02 Anarchy Azmi watch happy gilmore instead... 1 stars
6/28/02 Veronica Foxx I genuinely like Sandler; many of his movies are good, but enough with this same shit. 3 stars
6/28/02 Law much better than Big Daddy 4 stars
6/28/02 Mr Math Depressingly bad. I used to love Sandler, but he's a fucking sell-out. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jun-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Aug-2002


Directed by
  Steven Brill

Written by
  Tim Herlihy

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Winona Ryder
  Peter Gallagher
  John Turturro
  Jared Harris
  Steve Buscemi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast