Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.18

Awesome: 12.39%
Worth A Look31.86%
Just Average: 27.43%
Pretty Crappy: 17.7%
Sucks: 10.62%

7 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Reign of Fire
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Pretty much everything you want in your dragon movies."
4 stars

The screening times conflicted, and I had to choose between seeing "Reign of Fire" or "Stuart Little 2." Naturally, I chose the movie about dragons over the one about a talking mouse.

As movies about dragons go, "Reign of Fire" is a pretty good one. It's reasonably smart, rather imaginative and very hard-working. It's probably as believable as a movie about dragons could be, and the dragons look real. It's better than "Dragonslayer," but not quite as good as "Pete's Dragon." I enjoyed it.

It is set in an ruined 2020, 12 years after dragons suddenly appeared in London and scorched their way to the top of the food chain. They live on ash, which is why they burn everything they see; they don't care if humans are in the way, and they're not opposed to eating them, too. The few clusters of people left alive have taken shelter in ruined castles and underground fortresses.

The leader of one such group is Quinn (Christian Bale), who was involved in the very first dragon sighting and has been running from them ever since. His horde, composed mostly of children whose melancholy prayers at night revolve around keeping safe from dragons, has little food and not much in the way of weapons. They exist in a castle in Northumberland, England.

Then along comes an American squadron of dragon-fighters, led by the bald, bearded, tattooed maniac Van Zan (Matthew McConaughey). He is part of a long line of over-the-top characters played by over-the-top actors who provide unintentional laughs in movies that otherwise are fairly straightforward. He challenges Quinn's cower-in-the-castle mentality and wants to aggressively pursue and kill the flying firebreathers.

There's a doomed, apocalyptic feel to the film that is sharp enough to give it an edge, but not so much that it becomes gloomy.

Also a plus is that it's not afraid to be just a dragon movie. There are no parallels to current events, no ironic references to other dragon movies, no pretenses of being anything else. Director Rob Bowman ("The X-Files") takes himself as seriously as he has to, but never forgets that he's not making "Casablanca" here. The result is a movie whose action scenes are exciting and whose scary beasts are indeed scary.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5985&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/12/02 02:59:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/23/09 zenny suprisingly entertaining flick 4 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt great effects and great visuals, lots of fun action and cool dragons! 4 stars
10/21/08 dina This movie kicks major butt and bonus! Matthew Mcconaughey & Christian Bale are smokin'hot! 5 stars
8/12/08 Shaun Wallner I love Dragon movies!! 5 stars
10/08/07 emma the movies the best shows good acting and the prayer gets stuck in my head its easily 5 stars
5/08/07 Tracey Chambers christian bale, and matthew mcconaughey what more could you want 4 stars
1/10/07 Jake Dragons are really the only cool thing about it 3 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini great fx 3 stars
11/05/06 Bitchflaps The definition of a steaming pile.That is a pile that gets so septic, it begins to steam. 1 stars
8/04/06 David Cohen It's good as long as you don't think about it (Dragons eat ash? Sure, why not) 3 stars
3/09/06 Dk Underated, this is the best monster movie since Jurassic park and its sequel 5 stars
7/11/05 Mark Radburn This movie is totally awesome, stop slamming it you idiots 5 stars
4/24/05 Quigley Matthew McConaughey, please no! if this movie was a thermometer, it is below freezing. 1 stars
3/28/05 Tyrantis It sounded like Indepeddence Day with dragons. I was disappointed. 1 stars
3/24/05 Alice Colwell boring 2 stars
10/21/04 Matt Thiel Good opening, but the rest is a mess 2 stars
8/27/04 brendan glad i didnt pay to see it at a cinema. check your brain in at the door. 2 stars
7/08/04 Daveman One dreary cliche after another and not a shred of real fun. 1 stars
6/09/04 Nobody completely implausible and unconvincing, with occasional ok acting 2 stars
6/01/04 jack bell love the way they dargons look, but the plot could have been better. 5 stars
4/23/04 HorrorScribbler Nonsense, but it does have a lot of dragons. 2 stars
1/20/04 will the actors were so into it, it just made the movie 4 stars
1/16/04 Dean Um, I still dont get the dragon bit 4 stars
12/16/03 tatum Just plain cool 5 stars
10/01/03 y2mckay Cheap, sometimes plodding, and full of plot holes - but vaguely entertaining 3 stars
8/30/03 john radice What about a prequel about the dragons destruction of the world? 3 stars
8/27/03 baldor this movie has changed my life bought new tv to watch it 5 stars
7/24/03 john radice PLANET OF THE DRAGONS WITHOUT THE DRAGONS 2 stars
7/18/03 I Would Neither film fans nor macho boneheads will like this, so what's the point of this movie? 1 stars
6/26/03 imbrium monster movie! 5 stars
6/13/03 Jerry Cool action. Better than dungeons and dragons!! 5 stars
5/05/03 Jareth Boring, braindead and offensive. I'd rather get vaporised by a fire breathing dragon. 1 stars
4/08/03 JL Movie was alright, but Christian Bale is delicious! 4 stars
4/05/03 Jason Banta Visual effects were very nice, the storyline needs work. 3 stars
2/21/03 DAN MCORBICK IF ONLY IT HAD STAYED WITH IT'S MAIN EXCITING PREMISE OF DRAGONS DESTROYING THE WORLD 2 stars
2/01/03 Goofy Maxwell Dragon made a last stand 4 chivalry? *hee hee* So there WAS a method to this madness! 3 stars
1/31/03 Donn Kixote The Best Symbolistic, Metaphorycal, Intricated, PosModern, PreIIIWW XFCrap Ive Never Seen! 5 stars
1/01/03 Vince Reed SUCKS THE TURD'S OUT OF A DEAD MAN'S ASS! 1 stars
12/14/02 Laurian Diaconescu Pretty cool,I enjpyed it.Could have been a bit more spectacular though. 3 stars
12/07/02 Monster W. Kung Really dull. 2 stars
12/05/02 Brandon Little The previews showed something exciting but mindless...OK. Instead, it was just dull. 2 stars
10/18/02 Darren Kennedy Where were the attack choppers? 2 stars
10/14/02 Jake lee crap movie, it ended b4 it even got started, lets bring and axe to kill a dragon..dumb ass 1 stars
9/26/02 John McNew Visually stirring, but awfully unintelligent. Dumb entertainment that just isn't fun. 2 stars
9/08/02 Roy Smith Their big solution makes no sense at all. Only one? Cheap. 4 stars
9/07/02 Valerie Jones (in 15 days I'll be 13 & can post in my name on amazon!) Fairly dumb and boring - could've skipped all but last 20 minutes. 2 stars
9/06/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Fighting dragons in London in 2020? WHY?? 1 stars
8/29/02 Matt Stone OK 4 stars
8/18/02 Craig The dragons didn't kill McConaughey soon enough. 1 stars
8/18/02 Cibeus Matthew McConaughey as a tough? I didn't buy it going in, but was pleasantly surprised. 4 stars
8/03/02 Akira_773 Finally, post-apocalyptic women sans makeup! 4 stars
7/29/02 John P. May This may be good stuff for an action TV series. 4 stars
7/25/02 titaliwink Pretty fucking boring. But good acting and a hell of a concept. 3 stars
7/19/02 Peter Marshall 4 stars
7/19/02 Bleah Where did they get all chopper fuel from? 1 stars
7/18/02 KMG ONCE AGAIN AMERICANS KICK FUCKING ASS!!!!! WOO BIATCH!!!!! 5 stars
7/18/02 Jeff I want to have sex with Mr. Bale - woof! 5 stars
7/17/02 ian great "promise" really flopped on the delivery. 3 stars
7/17/02 strider3700 not oscar worthy but a damn fine summer action movie 4 stars
7/16/02 John It had a number of action sequences, but was sort of short, and boring at times 3 stars
7/16/02 STEVE this movie rocks!!!!! 5 stars
7/16/02 Vera Sparks McConaughey is a radical mofo, and the death toll is surprisingly high. Coulda been better 4 stars
7/15/02 rgtp Pretty Crappy 2 stars
7/15/02 n6ko long, boring, and dumb. too much crap for me to enjoy myself 1 stars
7/15/02 Caiphn Slow at parts, evil dragons! 3 stars
7/15/02 ajay I liked it, but I wish they would've made up more technical junk about the dragons 4 stars
7/14/02 Obi Wan I wanted to love it, but I left with nothing . . .no wow, no aww, just nothing. 3 stars
7/14/02 Law better than half the other crap out there 4 stars
7/13/02 Danielle Ophelia Bleak...you almost wonder what they're trying to save. But not bad...not at all. 4 stars
7/13/02 David Its a dragon movie, keep that in mind when you buy your ticket and have some fun.... 4 stars
7/12/02 Nick2k my original post was 'deleted', so...this movie was hiding behind false advertising. eh! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jul-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Oct-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast