Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.58

Awesome: 12.12%
Worth A Look: 15.15%
Just Average: 12.12%
Pretty Crappy39.39%
Sucks: 21.21%

1 review, 27 user ratings



Phantom, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Not my cup of tea."
2 stars

Ack.

I don't know if Phantom creator Lee Falk is dead (I don't think he is), but I'd be surprised if this isn't the movie that finishes him off. One of the original superheroes gets played for camp. Slam evil? Please.

Billy Zane. How wooden can one actor get? The ghost who walks is instead the ghost who bores. Who's the apple of his eye? Kristy Swanson.

Kristy Swanson?

That's right, the original Buffy. And she's just as boring an actress now as she was then. Treat Williams has an opportunity to ham things up as the villain Drax, but that's the problem: the hamming it up. The villains these days are reduced to over the top, world domination type plots, so lame (but yet so far reaching) that they're doomed to fail. It's in the script.

It's got the look and feel right (much like The Shadow did), but it's almost played for laughs.

I will say this for The Phantom: It's got a pre-Zorro Catherine Zeta Jones in it. Yummy.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=604&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/14/98 10:04:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/24/15 The Big D Good, clean comic book-style fun--captures the spirit of the original strip. 4 stars
2/12/11 PAUL SHORTT LIMP AND FLACCID 1 stars
1/12/11 Matt Stilwell I love this movie. A great action in the vein of Rocketeer 5 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight Much overacting by Treat Williams. His villain is a complete tool 1 stars
7/11/06 Roy Awful storyline! But the ending was pretty cool 2 stars
5/02/06 Cuenzie Wunzie Ending was good but the was F*cked! 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Makes 'Darkman' look like shakespear, acting so lousy you'll cry with laughter 1 stars
11/14/04 sarah Billy Zane is HOT as!!!! and so is his bum 5 stars
7/11/04 bobber retarded movie 2 stars
1/26/04 jeffcarter3@hotmail.com give me more 5 stars
12/21/03 jmsynth good mindless fun, in the right frame of mind 4 stars
9/08/03 Laura Stuart Any movie with James Remar in it I have to give a 5 star! 5 stars
5/18/02 R.W. Welch Nothing inspired here; basically an stew of other adventure flicks. 2 stars
4/03/02 cat yup, a pre-zorro CZJ shows her talent and star potential. 4 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Billy is looking hot, but is in a shit movie with the talentless Swanson. Nuff Said 2 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat When I was a little kid, this was one of my FAVORITE movies to watch. 4 stars
1/13/01 Avenger Girl this movie is sad,the plot and action poorly directed. 3 stars
7/31/00 PJ meloun The look is there, but not much else 3 stars
3/19/00 Richard Wright Over-the-top action film in the style of a comic book: it long outstays its welcome. 2 stars
7/14/99 J. Random Hacker Check your brain at the door, kids 3 stars
6/20/99 Ah Dooey Ryan_A's review said it all. 2 stars
1/11/99 demon_shredder I thought it was pretty cool. 4 stars
12/07/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just bad. 1 stars
11/12/98 Bad Kosh Another comic hero who makes a dismal appearance in a movie... Yawn. So bored... 2 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Here is an unoffensive 'action' film that, at least tries to, capture a spirit of adventure 3 stars
8/28/98 Johny Blah 1 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Lee Falk would be spewing. Why be so camp? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Jun-1995 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast