Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.6

Awesome: 17.98%
Worth A Look: 13.48%
Just Average: 12.36%
Pretty Crappy: 22.47%
Sucks33.71%

6 reviews, 53 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blue Crush
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"As if..."
2 stars

There was not a lot of hype about this movie. The hype I heard was from Ebert and "That Replacemnet Guy. " Still... they both gave it two thumbs up, so it couldn't be that bad. Could it?

No.

But, it IS bad.

1 part Beach Blanket Bingo and 2 parts Dirty Dancing. But with waves...

Massive killer waves.

If that last The phrase means as little to you as it does to me, well you may find yourself (God, forgive me) WATER LOGGED.

The waves are deep, but the plot is shallow.

The sexuality was there, but the plot was shallow.

The visuals were radical... but alas.... the plot was shallow.

Every fucking time a film like this gets uncommon praise, another disappears without an echo. I am so jonzin' for a rant that I will describe (from every crevice) why this movie sucks.

Circumstance: It has a pretty and capable actress in an underdog role.
My Reaction: I was reminded of Flashdance in an unconfortable way.

Circumstance: The hot chick "incidentally" winds up with the jock.
My Reaction: Motherfuck?!? Can an average guy at least get a shot? Does "Say Anything" ring a bell?

Circumstace: The shots of the pipeline were killer.
My Reaction: Like fucking wow. The sky is also blue.

I was going into this flick with high anticipations. It doesn't suck and you may be diverted for one and one half hours.

Overall,this isn't a feast of suck. But, it makes for a good appetizer.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6071&reviewer=167
originally posted: 02/20/03 07:16:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/21/15 David Hollingsworth Poor man 1 stars
3/26/12 CoolChick So what they're hot??? THE PLOT SUCKED. More like female DEPOWERMENT. 2 stars
11/07/08 Tiffany Losco I really liked this movie. Love the surfing 4 stars
6/06/08 PAUL SHORTT A DEAD IN THE WATER DUD 1 stars
5/31/07 zack sanoe lake is the only reason why I likehe movie, Kate Bosworth ok, and that other chick 3 stars
9/24/06 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson The leads are attractive & natural & Stockwell's love for surfing is commendable. IT SHOWS! 5 stars
10/18/04 TITS GREAT FILM N WOULD I FUCK THE LEAD 5 stars
9/07/04 Jim Story: Nonexistent. Bikinis: Skimpy. Surf Footage: Amazing 4 stars
7/26/04 Karin Johnson You couldn't pay me enough money to watch this shit again. 1 stars
6/27/04 Kade I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! I think its the best movie ever!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/02/04 ROSE IT WAS AN AWESOME MOVIE 5 stars
5/23/04 LARRY CIELOSZCZYK LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/06/04 andrea premecz I think its the best movie ever. But I guess if your not for surfing you won't get into it. 5 stars
1/08/04 TheOthersFan Let's have us some more do-the-nasty sequences and less daytime soap melodrama 2 stars
1/04/04 DM Hmmmmmm, do you think Dr. Chumley disliked it? 1 stars
1/03/04 Nicole UNBIELEVIEBLE once u get a test u can't let go, u can't stop watching it 5 stars
12/09/03 Dave T ABOSULT CRAP, 1 OF THE SHITEST MOVIES IVE EVA SEEN, WORST STORYLINE, DUN WASTE UR MONEY ! 1 stars
11/22/03 BluDud3 Crap + bad boobs 1 stars
10/05/03 Kitty It was okay, though not as great as I expected. 4 stars
10/01/03 Frank Soucy it sucked 1 stars
9/04/03 Ingo Ok, so the tube shots are great. But that doesn't make a good movie. 2 stars
7/27/03 crazy one of the best movies i've seen. awesome. 5 stars
7/23/03 MDR That shit is hott 5 stars
3/22/03 Lauren Gramann it was really good I loved it 5 stars
3/03/03 velvet Sunscreen, better storyline,more curvy bodies, no moaning, Michelle R no longer rules. 2 stars
3/02/03 JR This review was right on!!! 1 stars
2/24/03 the clergyman '' don't criticize a lie you ha..BLAH BLAH - I hope you die matthew. very soon. 1 stars
2/20/03 Mister Bigglesworth If Ashley Judd, J-Lo, or aging Meg Ryan could surf, this would be their "date" genre flik. 2 stars
2/17/03 Jessica Surfing rocks.Chix rule.And Girls DOMINATE!And life sux withought the surfing 5 stars
2/16/03 Matthew Koenig Don't criticize a way of life you haven't lived. 4 stars
1/14/03 Muppet the wonder surfer Sanoe Lake is hot. 3 stars
1/12/03 Simone The movie was just like any stupid teenage love movie with the same type of plot. 1 stars
1/03/03 surfer surfing is surfing, chicks are chicks, and hollywood is for pricks 1 stars
12/06/02 LJ Friggin awesome movie. Anyone don't like it, they can blow me. Blue Crush is sweeeeeet. 5 stars
9/20/02 Stinger Ignore the criticism...enjoy the surfing & incredible footage 4 stars
9/13/02 Holly MacDonald AWESOME! 5 stars
9/11/02 laron chapman AWESOME AND ACTION-PACKED 5 stars
9/08/02 Patrick This movie was great, the scenery was amazing during the movie 5 stars
9/08/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/07/02 Cliché Master Commits one of the worst cinematic crimes possible...it makes chicks in bikinis boring. 1 stars
9/07/02 Tits for the boys… …that's what this movie is about. And Kate Bosworth SUCKS! 1 stars
9/04/02 NavyUboat Hawaii, NorthShore, Waves ++, her inability to overcome - -, new found love - - 3 stars
8/26/02 James Drake The worst movie ever shown at a theatre. It sucks smelly ass. 1 stars
8/24/02 ^ZuLu^ boring stereotype teen-romance and not even beautiful pictures 1 stars
8/23/02 Rampage not even worth a matinee... >_< 1 stars
8/23/02 kitt4film@hotmail.com This must be be for guys cause I'm not buying this stuff. 1 stars
8/22/02 Headshot This is a cool summer movie. It has girls, big waves and bikinis. Nothing more than this... 3 stars
8/22/02 The Chronic Mastubator Probably the mos useless movie in a long time. Dumb & annoying.. completely pointless junk! 2 stars
8/19/02 Ramblin Wreck I moderatly enjoyed this movie the first time I saw it....when it was called "Rip Girls" 2 stars
8/18/02 .Choadushouse. Blue Crush = Crossroads - Britney + Lots of Surfing 3 stars
8/18/02 Peter Brook Some nice tits, some nice asses, some nice surf. All else blows, bigtime. 1 stars
8/16/02 K-ronik Make as many excuses as you like, but this just wasn't great. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Aug-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Dec-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast