Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.74

Awesome: 4.35%
Worth A Look: 3.26%
Just Average: 20.65%
Pretty Crappy: 5.43%
Sucks66.3%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


fear dot com
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Not even bad in a funny kind of way. Just unbearable."
1 stars

The premise of "FearDotCom" is that people who visit a certain Web site are turning up dead two days later. The idea of a Web site killing people may sound preposterous, until you consider that I nearly died watching this movie.

This is a relentlessly morbid, cold and dank film about depraved people doing ugly things. It is unpleasant and exploitative, and unceasingly hellish. And while I have used all of these descriptors positively in regard to other movies, I mean none of them as compliments to "FearDotCom."

This is a film to be shunned and ignored. It cannot be enjoyed, even on the level that one enjoys a bad slasher flick, primarily because it is dull. Yes, dull. The acting is wooden and the story is random and senseless.

The director, William Malone, is the same man who gave us "The House on Haunted Hill" in 1999. That movie, while by no means a good piece of cinema, at least had some effectively creepy images and gigglishly scary moments. In "FearDotCom," he uses the same camera and editing tricks but none of the brains, re-creating the atmosphere but without the impact. It is full of loud sounds and devilish fury and registers nada on the Creep-o-meter.

Bored-sounding New York detective Mike Reilly (Stephen Dorff) is working a case where people have been turning up dead with weird hemorrhaging around the eyes. They think it's a virus, but boring Department of Health babe Terry Houston (Natascha McElhone) says it's not, though she sounds so bored when she says it, I can't believe she feels very strongly one way or the other.

They figure out all the dead people had visited a particular Web site exactly 48 hours earlier, and that they died according to their worst fears. (I don't know how Mike and Terry figured that out. Maybe you can go to MyWorstFear.com and find out the worst fear of anyone in the world. )

The Web site in question is www.feardotcom.com, and it is run by a crazy man called The Doctor (Stephen Rea). He was the perpetrator of Mike's one unsolved case, and now he kidnaps women and tortures and kills them live on the Internet. Mike even knows the guy's real name, yet he could never capture him. Now, the madman runs a Web site, yet apparently no one can trace it and figure out where it's coming from. In real life, I think the NYPD is somewhat less inept than this.

I like the look of this movie; however, I liked it more when it was in "Seven," which Malone has clearly watched way too many times.

The movie is an indictment against using terror as entertainment. The people who visit the torture Web site, after all, die as a consequence. So essentially, "FearDotCom" is telling the people who would watch and enjoy "FearDotCom" that they shouldn't. And I agree. You shouldn't watch this movie -- not for moral reasons, but because it sucks.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6085&reviewer=247
originally posted: 08/31/02 13:12:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/25/11 Wa Wa Weitz Just awful. Crap, exploitative crap, derivative crap, boring crap, crap crap crap. 1 stars
9/10/07 kristina The movie was orgasmic :D 5 stars
6/08/06 Frank Rountree This movie was bad all the way around, everything! 1 stars
4/03/06 JRE horror films arent supposed to be predictable which is exactly what this was. dont watch it 1 stars
11/25/05 shell bell Not only was this predictable...it was boringly predictable. 1 stars
11/22/05 Melissa just waiting for something to happen, hard to hear, boring 1 stars
10/26/05 deadwiz Not scary, just weird. Had some interesting ideas. 3 stars
10/25/05 Richard Brandt Seems ghosts could just come out with what's bothering them...Wait, this wasn't The Ring? 2 stars
10/22/05 baseball-nut I have to agree with the majority....this was CRAP! 1 stars
9/01/05 ES Nothing here your life won't be better off without 1 stars
1/04/05 Joe England From what I saw, "The Ring," with "du you want to plé?" constantly fed onto the soundtrack. 2 stars
1/01/05 Sarah Jack Sommersby is a fucking idiot. 1 stars
7/20/04 American Slasher Goddess A boring mess, Jeffrey Combs is once again wasted in another movie. 1 stars
7/11/04 NaturezRevenge 1. The ring meets wannabe hellraiser where girls can have haemophilia and play at old mills 1 stars
6/22/04 Freeman Not bad at all 4 stars
4/10/04 valerie hart this is one of the worst films i have ever seen crap story its so dark cant see the screen! 1 stars
3/08/04 Sean McLean Boring direction and a script that needed some more drafts mars an otherwise decent concept 2 stars
2/13/04 Jingo P. Everyone involved deserves slow decapitation with a saudering iron. 1 stars
1/08/04 tatum Stunning visuals lift dumb story 3 stars
12/13/03 darkofnight An excellent ride that offers a surprising amount of great jolts. Conclusion falls flat. 4 stars
11/23/03 Samuel Good premise, but unfortunately the rest sucks! 3 stars
10/16/03 Jeremy Ach The best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/11/03 Peter What a load of shite, and thats being Nice!!, if the film was any darker You need a tourch! 1 stars
10/10/03 Dumb Like it was the boring movie of all time 1 stars
10/08/03 Stacey !Stupid! 1 stars
8/25/03 feardotgovdotny everyone involved with this four-assed-monkey turd has 48 hrs b4 I start shooting! 1 stars
6/15/03 Alice I have no words for this piece of shit 1 stars
4/29/03 WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME Anyone who likes this even a bit is a TURD. 1 stars
3/11/03 garamy swearingen it is shit 1 stars
1/23/03 nora parsons it is a very good movie 5 stars
1/17/03 othree serial killer, ghost & the net, supporting cast almost pulls it off, DARK! NO fEAR 3 stars
11/16/02 snowconehead Udo Kier is the man 5 stars
11/08/02 SPYDER ITS A RIP OFF OF THE RING, THAT SUCKS!!!! 1 stars
10/31/02 The Velcro Warlock Natasha McElhone, the angel of "Truman Show" is just as wasted here, even w/more screentime 2 stars
10/29/02 Oz got it just right, read his review Lillian, David A — you are RETARDS! Only a MORON could find anything to like in this TURD! 1 stars
10/22/02 Lillian Alston I agree with Eric, the movie had no meaning. I was exspecting something different. 3 stars
10/22/02 Jiz About as interesting as watching roadkill decompose. Yawn-o-matic, fuck you Malone 1 stars
10/07/02 This Movie Sucks The only frightening thing about this movie is the amount bad press it's getting. 1 stars
9/19/02 thejames why did stephen dorff have to be in this movie? hes good, movie sucks 2 stars
9/12/02 Mike G I laughed a lot. The dialogue is painful. 1 stars
9/11/02 Buddha Unconscionably bad. Terrible dialogue, for torture fans only. 1 stars
9/09/02 David A. Just like an episode of X Files. Lead characters are imitations of Mulder and Sculley. 4 stars
9/09/02 Warbandit What a load of bullsh!t. Avoid at all costs. 1 stars
9/09/02 jay shit shit garbage, waste of money, IM soo fuckin upset. crap, shit garbage, donation, damn 1 stars
9/07/02 Cliché Master The only thing scary here was the admission price. 1 stars
9/07/02 Erik Snider is right Not even bad in a funny kind of way. Just unbearable 1 stars
9/05/02 alien Which part of the movies name didn't warn you it would suck? Only suckers could go see it. 1 stars
9/05/02 Jennie sucked big time, stupidist movie ever seen 1 stars
9/05/02 Gregg I think this film should be titled Crapdotcom 1 stars
9/04/02 CARLOS GUTIERREZ VERY BAD MOVIE, IN DIALOGUE AND EDITING 1 stars
9/03/02 The Chronic Mastubator Such a boring turd of a movie. 1 stars
9/02/02 Sugarfoot Piss rotten! 1 stars
9/01/02 Danielle Ophelia Fear dot coma 1 stars
8/31/02 Danny See my review at www.bucketreviews.com 3 stars
8/31/02 Damien Raven Maybe the weirdest damn movie this year. Decent plot, bad acting and dialog, great looking 3 stars
8/19/02 Peter Brook Is this a joke? Fear dot com? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Aug-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Feb-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast