Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome74.42%
Worth A Look: 15.7%
Just Average: 4.07%
Pretty Crappy: 2.91%
Sucks: 2.91%

6 reviews, 136 user ratings



Dog Soldiers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"This one's got BITE!"
5 stars

Being a Limey, living in Britain is sometimes a pain. All the great films get released in USA first. 'Oceans 11', 'Black Hawk Down', 'Signs', 'Ali', 'Road To Perdition', the list goes on and on. By the time they're released over here there's always the slight feeling of dissapointment that I'm not discovering them at the same time as everyone else. But not with this one. 'Dog Soldiers' was released in Britain back before the World Cup even kicked off. And now it's my pleasure that the rest of the world can sample the delights of the kick-ass, balls out fun that is 'Dog Soldiers'.

'Dog Soldiers' begins with Private Cooper (Kevin McKidd) on training with Special Ops deep in a forest at midnight. When he passes the test Captain Ryan (Liam Cunningham) orders him to shoot a dog. Cooper refuses and is kicked out of Special Ops.

Fast forward a few months and Cooper is back in the regulation army, this time in the Scottish highlands under Seargeant Wells (Sean Pertwee). They're not there long however before they come under attack from something they're not quite expecting.

Werewolves.

Beating a hasty retreat they bump into the severely injured Ryan who is also on manouveres and local lass Megan (Emma Cleasby) and retreat to her cottage where they are besieged by said werewolves...

It's a simple premise that has been done countless times before and the film mixs and matches elements from 'Aliens', 'The Howling', 'An American Werewolf In London', 'The Thing', 'Evil Dead' and countless others. What's amazing then, is that for a film that plunders from the past so mercilessly is that it feels so fresh and invigorating. It does so because writer/director Neil Marshall gets three things right:

1) It's scary

2) It's exciting

3) It's funny

Getting one or two of those elements to both work in a film is difficult enough, but all three? Neil Marshall deserves a firm handshake and a $20 million budget. It's scary because he keeps the werewolves in the shadows, giving us only glimpses and gory flashes of their handiwork. And it is gory. 'Blade 2' has nothing on this.

It's exciting because this isn't your typical army-outfit-against-invaders movie. Where most movies like this give the soldiers a seemingly inexhaustible supply of bullets, grenades and bombs, this doesn't. Every bullet is accounted for, making every counter attack vital as their supplies diminish leaving them with only household items to defend themselves with by the end.

And it's funny because Marshall acknowledges how ridiculous the situation is and injects a vein of black humour to stop it getting too po-faced. Witness one soldier having his entrails ripped out and then chewed on like a sausage by Megan's dog. Or the scene where they try and super-glue them back in. Honestly. It's so insane it borders on genius. These three elements all combine to give one of the most relentlessly entertaining, Saturday night thrill machines, I've seen in a long time.

Marshall also knows how to work with his miniscule budget. He keeps the werewolves in shadows because in truth constantly revealing them would show up the small budget. Keeping them in shadows makes them more effective and makes their few appearances even more shocking, right down to the frantically shot, edge of your seat climax.

'Dog Soldiers' has a slyness to it too. Events that even in a werewolf movie seem stupid, take on a new meaning towards the end that make the audience go "Ah, NOW I see what's going on..."
It's this respect for the audience that makes us respect Marshall's effort even more.

And the cast throw themselves in with as much relish for the material, as Marshall has. McKidd is a solid, gritty leading man that refuses to be beaten by a pack of dogs in a performance that brings to mind Kurt Russell in 'The Thing'. Pertwee is also excellent as the cockney geezer Seargeant. The rest of the cast fill their small, yet distinctive, roles ably. It's always a great sign when you honestly regret some of the characters dying. You know the feeling when Bill Paxton gets chomped in 'Aliens'? You get this several times in 'Dog Soldiers'.

Yes, it drags at times with some exposition in the cottage, and if you look closely you can probably see mothballs on some of the werewolves. But when you see how the director and cast have such an abiding passion for the film you can't help but get dragged along yourself. It's got better action than 'xXx'. It's got more horror than 'Red Dragon'. It's funnier than 'The Tuxedo'. It's werewolves versus soldiers. It could remain a cult movie ever, but it deserves more than that. It deserves to be seen and loved by everyone.

link directly to this review at http://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6150&reviewer=293
originally posted: 11/02/02 08:29:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/08/17 Mark Louis Baumgart One of the best werewolf movies EVER. Rewatch it all of the time. 5 stars
7/22/11 Rob Superbly paced low-budget masterpiece,a must-see for fans of quirky and stylishhorror 5 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT BLOODY, VISCERAL HORROR FILM 2 stars
10/04/10 jared Spoon is the shit!!!! his fight alone makes this an awesome movie 5 stars
9/17/09 Richard Only plot hole: Megan heard gunfire the night before, yet not a shot gotten off by the SF 5 stars
5/04/09 Ben Awesome 5 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
6/25/07 CODY slow at first but cool action and horror movies, with great looking werewolves 3 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK If the british army cant find a bunch of dogs, we need better funding from blair. 2 stars
10/29/06 Richard Agree completely. Best since An American Werewolf in London 5 stars
9/07/06 Ric Eh, Predator was much better. 2 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist No morph scenes, but still a good, well depicted werewolf flick!! 4 stars
4/11/06 ducka One of my favorites 5 stars
12/22/05 Dan Sylvestre Outrageously gory, refreshingly CGI free, don't miss it. 5 stars
10/04/05 firthy the best film in existance it couldnt be better 5 stars
10/02/05 cooper the uath... tha uath... 5 stars
9/04/05 Kaz Fantastic, Really funny 5 stars
8/29/05 Ian Superb, especially the psychology of the characters 5 stars
8/14/05 scott jebbia great movie 5 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington This movie does NOT FUCK AROUND! Very badass. 5 stars
7/10/05 daveyt Long way from foundation, good work Neil...!!! 5 stars
5/16/05 E-FUNK Ranks up there with 'Howling', 'American Werewolf', and 'Ginger Snaps'. Cool fucking movie. 5 stars
3/17/05 megan good flim 5 stars
2/15/05 Jack Mack For my money the best werewolf film EVER! 5 stars
2/01/05 buda This movie rocks! 4 stars
11/16/04 Gooey Its the best werewolf movie ever 5 stars
11/13/04 Craig Jeffrey Best brit film in years. I cant get enough. Pertwee is amazing (Again). 5 stars
11/13/04 X $ % & ! Loved when the guy stabbed the wolf 100000 times. 4 stars
10/27/04 Steve Newman Great to see a UK AWESOME film - go watch 5 stars
9/26/04 KD Great action stuff 4 stars
9/22/04 Vince Pretty cool, but maybe slightly overrated by the efilmcritic crowd here 4 stars
8/26/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best werewolf movies in a long time 4 stars
8/17/04 Destroy This Movie I loved this movie. Disregard Destroy 5 stars
8/16/04 Electron Overlord This movie kicked mopped the floor with the other werewolf film. But transformation... 5 stars
7/02/04 Stab Wounds Lots of blood and guts. 5 stars
6/04/04 Dean Rapp The werewolves costumes, took away from the movie. 4 stars
6/02/04 Mr. me Better than American Werewolf in London, & better than the Howling 5 stars
5/14/04 Andrew Lekar This is one of the best werewolf movies that I have ever had the privlidge to see. 5 stars
5/12/04  Shaun Rose I wish more movies were made today like this one. 5 stars
5/10/04 me Kickass Shit! 5 stars
5/05/04 Stephanie Mansi The Film was Brillient i loved eevery minute of it . 5 stars
4/18/04 Jon Great big sloppy fun 5 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt Definitely no GINGER SNAPS, but pretty good once it gets going! 3 stars
4/14/04 Naomi Vingoe It's such i kool movie me and my friend watch it in a movie marathon 5 stars
4/04/04 Electricshadow So much potential. BUT! THe werewolfs were embarrasing, as was the dialog as was the plot 1 stars
4/02/04 Lord Durvok 2 Rips off so many movies it hurts 3 stars
4/02/04 steney spoon aka darren morfitt looks like Sam beb he is gorgeous and so are the wolves 5 stars
3/01/04 Charles Tatum Finally, a twist on the werewolf story 4 stars
2/28/04 slimmypee I LOVE DARREN MORFITT AND DOG SOLDIERS 5 stars
2/24/04 Cheyenne Conley LOVEIT!!!! w/ SEXY SOLDIERS 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Awesome little werewolf movie with soul. A must see for lycanthrope fans! 5 stars
2/02/04 Eloise 10 stars!!!!! love it love it love it love it 5 stars
1/21/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best werewolf flicks in a long time. 4 stars
1/15/04 Vince Entertaining... but not that great. 3 stars
12/11/03 Micheal Fantastico!!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Witherspoon This is a fucking masterpiece. 5 stars
12/08/03 justin o'connor fucking great film 5 stars
12/01/03 Sammy The little film that no one heard or cared about when released... Now a cult classic! 5 stars
11/10/03 Renegade Bushido British swear words, Spoons stand, and awsome werewolves=cult movie classic 5 stars
10/19/03 Josh Standlee Those werewolves are friggin' huge! 5 stars
10/14/03 Gary GREAT 5 stars
10/12/03 Angel LOVED IT!!! LOVED IT!!! LOVED IT!!! 5 stars
9/28/03 Eloise Fan bloody tastic. Hollywood should be very afraid, this budget flick kicks their fat asses 5 stars
9/08/03 Carly Weston the best, and I've seen a lot lately 5 stars
9/07/03 Mikal Trimm Does for werewolf movies what 'Near Dark' did for vampire movies--made them cool again. 5 stars
9/06/03 R.W. Welch Basically The Alamo with werewolves. Okay, I guess. 3 stars
8/25/03 Amy R. M. Absolutly Awesome!!! I love everything about this film and its my no. 1 fav. in the world! 5 stars
8/16/03 dwukwiat KANIMO@poczta.fm the best fight scene in the kitchen, die dog die 5 stars
8/12/03 Rudiger "I hope I give u the shits, you fucking wimp!" - Classic. 5 stars
8/10/03 trent hughes the best wherewolf movie of all time!! 5 stars
7/23/03 Jan Fan - fucking tastic and Darren Morfitt is gorgeous 5 stars
7/18/03 mcculloch ,???? sweet meat,and a dash of intestinal pleasure! 5 stars
7/11/03 Alice Amusing 3 stars
6/24/03 HEATHER WARGO it's one of the greaties werewolf movies that i have seen and i seen them all. 5 stars
6/22/03 Davey Packer Best portayal of squadies in years, (fuck 28 days later!) 5 stars
6/16/03 Freya Howle I love it! 5 stars
6/08/03 Amanda Roberts As an ex military girl this film reminds me of why I joined up and of how much I miss it! 5 stars
5/11/03 Jack Bourbon Great accents, dumb dialogue. Fun movie, though. 4 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Didn't like this at all. I didn't care one iota for this crap. 1 stars
4/21/03 Tak ***** 5 stars
3/31/03 YES Best action/horror flick since Pitch Black. The action is fast, intense, and thrilling. 5 stars
3/30/03 Elendil I'm getting too old for this shit. 1 stars
3/29/03 Zedi fuckin brillant 5 stars
3/27/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Yeah! Gore, horror, and humor! 5 stars
3/12/03 Dave Parker Complete agreeance! One of the most entertaining horror flicks in years! 5 stars
3/11/03 Sean Connery Suck it, MrChri5. Suck it long, and suck it hard! 5 stars
3/03/03 MrChri5 whats up with all the reviews? Its nothing special but worth renting. 3 stars
2/15/03 matt awesome 5 stars
1/27/03 TheBomb69 good movie but there was some holes in the story 4 stars
1/17/03 Mike HOT SHIT! BUT NOT AS SCARY AS OTHER MOVIES! 5 stars
1/03/03 DAN ANDREWS 2nd BEST FILM EVER AFTER STAR WARS! 5 stars
1/01/03 Vince Reed THIS BLOODY SOB F'ING ROCKS!!! 5 stars
12/31/02 Debbie Fantastic! Definitely worth OWNING! 5 stars
12/30/02 Stephen Butcher Brilliant, having been patiently waiting for the DVD release to show all my friends 5 stars
12/29/02 Isaac I didn't want the movie to end, it was that good! 5 stars
12/23/02 carl burton funny 5 stars
12/23/02 MASTER ROBIN FLANNIGAN The story was good and the acting was good considering the "type" of movie it was. 5 stars
12/22/02 wishdarrenwasmine this movie kicks ass and spoon was so hot...mmmmmmmmmmm...spoon 5 stars
12/16/02 Becky Great acting, fun horror, and good humor. So good, I even bought it on video. 5 stars
12/15/02 GILBERT FERROL ACE VERY VERY GOOD 5 stars
12/14/02 Brian Iwinski For not much of a budget, they pulled it off. I was entertained from the opening credits! 5 stars
12/13/02 Ashley West the best movie i've seen in ages. it scared the shit out of my mard arse friend. love it. 5 stars
12/10/02 nwo a lot of blood and guts!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/09/02 Paul Doherty Great film. Has true British grit, and humor. UK makes some great films. 5 stars
12/08/02 Sean Horan Good movie, great ending, and a surprise for the genre. 4 stars
12/08/02 weaselteet KICKS ASS 5 stars
12/08/02 MICK SWEEEET!!! 5 stars
12/08/02 Uter A nice homage to the multiple genres. McKidd (aka Tommy) and Cleasby are worth it alone.. 5 stars
12/05/02 Patrick Durkin Best werewolf movie since "American Werewolf in London" and I think better 5 stars
12/04/02 CADET GWA , QUEENS ROYAL LANCERS THE BEST OF THE BEST SIR 5 stars
12/02/02 billy boy its was fucking scary as hell 5 stars
12/01/02 Yo Mama! Holy shit...that was pretty scary....I don't think I'll be eating sausages for a while!!! 5 stars
11/27/02 Ultimate Judge Boring. Not Scary. Ridiculous, crappy monsters. And did I mention that it was BORING.. 2 stars
11/26/02 CutterNewmoon Thoroughly enjoyable despite obvious plot holes and bad physics. 4 stars
11/25/02 Mr. Teeter Quite frankly, the laws of Physics were not evident in this picture which detracted from it 1 stars
11/24/02 Spunk Pumpkin heads body with lassies head? More holes then a pack of swiss, no predator for sur 1 stars
11/23/02 d v good 5 stars
11/20/02 Mason i thought it was dogshit 5 stars
11/19/02 Did We Watch The Same Movie? Great in spots, but the worst looking werewolvessince Lon Chaney 4 stars
11/19/02 Full Moon's Fury FANTASTIC!!!! .And Cooper is so sexy!!!! I luv it when they're gluing the Sarg bac 2gether 5 stars
11/17/02 SilverFang I loved that movie! its awsome! and the werewolves are soo cool! 5 stars
11/17/02 Kyle Fuck. This deserved a U.S. theatrical release... 5 stars
11/16/02 Bullpen "Bloody awful, if you ask me..." 2 stars
11/13/02 me had great black humour to add to the frightning scenes 5 stars
11/12/02 Film Dude Yeah, this was on Sci-Fi back in August... 5 stars
11/11/02 Maggie Griffin Forget the bland horror movies where you only see a shadowy werewolf with bad lighting! 5 stars
11/09/02 Stacey A really great movie... *So much suspense* 5 stars
11/07/02 Robert Sandlan What the Blair Which should have been! 5 stars
11/05/02 i see Wasn't this on SCIFI back in March? 5 stars
11/05/02 Colin McCarthy Finally someone remembers what makes a great horror flick. I love it to bits. 5 stars
11/02/02 STEVE WATCH WITH GINGER SNAPS,HOWLING,CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF AND THE WOLFMAN. 5 stars
10/09/02 Steve.M One of the Best all action horror/action movies ive seen 5 stars
9/25/02 Michael Roberts Best film I ever saw involving werewolves 5 stars
9/22/02 gary salter the best werewolf movie ever!!!!, tons of action, gore,mayhem!!!Saw it at a local horror fi 5 stars
9/22/02 STEVE WHY DID IT NOT GO TO THE THEATRHER?SCOBBY-DOO AND MIB2 DID AND THEY STINK! 5 stars
9/20/02 Rastabub Great werwolf movie, I saw it in the US on the sci-fi channel. See Ginger Snaps, too! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Nov-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast